223437 User submitted reviews online!!
Catfish Heaven Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (337) 394-9087
CGID3386

Catfish Heaven Campground

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   1   9   5   10   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This park is quiet and clean. The gravel roads are sufficiently wide. The concrete sites are level but narrow. The utilities worked well, but the pedestals are not in the middle of the grass strip between spaces, so the neighbor's lines and hoses prevent any usable access to the front when the park is crowded. The "pull throughs" are really two back-in spaces combined, but since they are on one long pad you can drive through. There are 15-20 true back-in pads around a pavilion/group kitchen. These will be convenient once the strips in between sites are filled in and grass planted. The grounds are open grass that is kept mowed. The internet is decent. Antenna TV from nearby large cities is great. Lots of dog walking areas. If you like to fish for catfish, there are two large ponds with sloping grass banks (can't report on the catching). The men's bathroom had neither hand soap nor paper towels on two separate days despite it being the weekend and a sign displayed saying cleaning was to occur on both days (someone had attended the bathroom since there was a new waste basket liner). The laundry room no smoking sign was obviously not honored or enforced since the room reeked. The pool was not open (seasonal apparently) although the website did not indicate this limitation. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
This is a nice little park outside of St. Martinville and Breaux Bridge. I actually think it is quite a bit closer to Breaux Bridge. It has fishing (though not when we were there), a playground, a pool and nice grounds. We would have given this a higher score, but the bathrooms were not very clean, but the worst thing was the laundry room. The washers and dryers were fine, but the smoking in there was awful. When you want clean clothes, the last thing you want is for them to smell like you spent the night in a smoking night club. There are big no smoking signs up, but someone smokes in the ladies room that is attached and it stinks up the whole place. I think it is someone in residence there because as I was doing my laundry, there were three different times that I could smell fresh smoke, really really bad. Someone needs to manage this. We would stay again because the park is nice, but I would never use the laundry room again. The rate of 15$ is with a Passport card. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
If you love to fish this is a great park. Everything has a cost (fishing $2, pool $2). There are 2 ponds that are stocked with large catfish which they will clean for a small fee per pound. My family and extended family camp here often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
Made reservations but no one said the office would be closed Monday and Tuesday. The man actually had to check if space was available and we are one of maybe 10. Owner was rude and not helpful at all. Showers are far away. Where are the laundry rooms? Wi-Fi free. This is AWFUL. Pretty area but that is the best I can say about this place. I will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$21
Very clean older park. Easy access to area attractions from this park. Wi-Fi worked great at site. Price reflects weekly rate. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
Not good: I used PA and if not for that, I would have given this park a two. Power was unstable, the surroundings were un-kept. Wi-Fi server shut down, and never did come back. We stayed here two days and could not wait to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Excellent campground!!! We were supposed to stay 2 nights but had to leave early due to family illness. The sites were spacious and very clean. We will definitely be back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Nice park; kind off the beaten path but quiet and very open. Good place if you have pets. Easy in and out. Several covered areas with picnic tables, horseshoe pits, volley ball court, swimming pool and jacuzzi, fishing ponds and meeting rooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
At the time we were there the campground was quite empty and the office was closed. A person came around and told us to select a site and pay later. It took two days to find him again. The sites are somewhat close however unless it is full there is plenty of room. The sites have concrete pads and there is lots of grass around. There are no shade trees which can be a problem when it's hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
We camped here using our Passport America club discount. This is a quiet, out of the way campground with a catfish pond. We just enjoyed the quiet. We were in a very long paved, pull-thru site (a bit narrow. We visited Lake Martin and enjoyed the alligators and the multitude of egret nests as well as other birds. It is a short drive from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We were misled by the website, the website said it was $21.50 per nite and the actual cost was $25.00, no problem, then they charge $2.50 per person per day for the swimming pool, still no problem, then they charge $2.00 per pound for the catfish that you catch, still no probem, then we find out the swimming pool closes at 5:30 pm, this is a problem, and the fish pond closes at 6:00 pm, this is a problem also. The owner came to talk to me once I complained about all the differences that weren't spelled out on the website, he assured me he was willing to make changes. I've never been to a campground that closed everything down by 6:00 pm. maybe he should rethink his occupation. I have 3 kids and we arrived at 2:00 pm, so what were we to do from 6:00 pm. to dark? 8:30 pm. The owner ended up opening the fish pond to us and our neighbor, so we were able to fish. I told the owner to advertise on his website exactly what people will get when the come to their campground. I.E. we charge $25.00 per nite, $2.50 per swimmer per day, $2.00 per pound of whole catfish (which there are plenty), we close the pool at 6:00 pm and the fishing at 6:00 pm. If you tell me all this up front then when I come to camp and I'm not satisfied, then its my fault, otherwise, please don't mislead me with false information, thanks for your listening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
The office is across the street from the campground. We had to wait for someone to come to the office to register us. A note on the door to pick a site and register later would have been a good idea. The pads are paved, the roads are gravel. There are no shade trees around the sites. If you back in to the side of the pavilion, you can have shade either in the morning or evening depending on which side you park on. The sites are really close together with no grass. Grass and shade trees are around the perimeter of the campground. From the looks of the grassy areas, no one was picking up after their dogs. The dumpster was full and smelled the day we arrived. It was running over and smelled even worse when we left 2 days later. There is a nice pool area, a volleyball court, horseshoes, and a playground. There is a large pavilion with picnic tables for large group gatherings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2004
$16
This is a Passport America Park. We stayed there while on a caravan of big rigs. It was rather hard to find. Follow the directions in the Trailer Life directory. It was a nice clean park, spacious and well maintained with grass and trees. Roads were gravel. Site were paved, level and easy to get in to. There were no trees on the sites. There was a pond for fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com