223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Royal View Camp Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (719) 275-1900
CGID3397

Royal View Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   4   10   6   1   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Owner/operator is very nice and tries to be helpful and accommodating. Overall the place is really clean and well maintained and even though somewhat close to a major hwy, there was really no noticeable noise. The spots are hard packed gravel and very level with easy in and out. I noticed a very nice and private tenting area that you can also tell is well maintained and noticeably separate from the RV area. The only negatives, but only for some, water pressure is very low (but still usable), no cell service (unless you have a monster booster), and camp internet is limited (but usable for email and such). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This was our first visit and enjoyed our stay here. Roads and sites are gravel but well maintained and not dusty. We had a premium site which was a bit larger then the regular sites and worked for us. Not a lot of shade but that was not a concern as at that altitude it wasn't too hot and it made it easy to aim our satellite dish. The campground was kept clean and was well maintained. The staff and especially the owner treated us well. Our daughter visited one day with her daughter and dog and the owner explained the dog rules quickly and showed her the walking paths and exercise yard. We did pay the extra fee for extra guests but when my daughter decided to stay overnight in a tent the owner deducted that from the tent fee. Quoted price was with Good Sam discount. We will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Staff (charged my cell phone) and owner (helped hook up my hitch) very helpful. Nice shade trees, clean heated pool, nice enclosed dog area with green groundcover, roads and sites crushed red gravel - very clean with no dust. No Verizon cell phone coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Welcome to a gravel parking lot with a few trees here and there. We paid for a premium spot. What we got was less than. A standard spot had trees, burn pit, tables, and were closer to the pool and activities. The premium sites were on the outer edge, with no trees, no table, no burn pit, no Wi-Fi and cost $10 more a night. Check in staff went over ALL RULES and more RULES AFTER the money was handed over. Management made it very clear even though it was Labor Day weekend he was closing the pool at 7 pm Sunday for the season. Plus side, easy pull through sites and close to Royal Gorge. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We appreciated the owner's attention to the park policies which are reasonable and thoroughly spelled out upon arrival. The park was very well maintained. We recommend you go up the trail for the most amazing views of the Royal Gorge Bridge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Very nice campground, but we won't be going back soon. The facilities are quite nice. Very clean, all pull-through and ample length and width. Dog park has grass and there is a large tented area that is the nicest I've seen. We don't use park showers often, but the cost was $1 for seven minutes. Not unreasonable, as they have to haul in water. I would have rated it higher, about an eight, were it not for the attitude of the owner, which was apparent from the second we entered the office. Heard he took over two years ago. Reminded me of some Army sergeants I encountered years ago. Flat affect. If dogs bark, you get kicked out. If dog messes and you miss it, $50 fine or kicked out. Sign telling you to turn in your neighbor if they don't pick up after their dog so he can ask them to leave. See their website for a complete, exhaustive, long, humongous list of rules. Jeez, lighten up! Life is waaay too short! Group rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Can't remember the exact price now, but I think for two nights it was somewhere between $90 and 100. Other than our site being very unlevel, the campground was OK, except that the driveway lanes were way too narrow. When we mentioned our difficulty getting in to the owner, he got really mad and told us he would refund our money and that we should leave. It was hot, we were already settled in, and my husband was too tired - otherwise, I would've been out of there in a heartbeat, no matter how hard it would've been to find another place on a Friday night! The owner is the reason for the "1" rating and why we would NEVER even consider staying at this campground again and cannot recommend it to anyone else!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Since we stayed here with a caravan, I don't know the nightly rate. Very clean park. Good Wi-Fi but no antenna TV reception. Would rate it a 9 or 10 if they had cable TV. Close to Royal Gorge. Canon City is 12 miles away. Friendly staff. All gravel sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
This is one of my favorite RV parks to visit. It is far enough away from Hwy. 50 that road noise isn't much of an issue. The sites are clean and well kept. There are plenty of trails to hike inside the park and there some spectacular views of the Royal Gorge from some of the sites. The park itself is quiet, the owner friendly and hard working. My wife and I have stayed here for several days two years in a row and I have been impressed each time by how hard the owner works to make the park a great place to visit. I enjoy the park not just for the trails and the peace and quiet, but for the wildlife. In addition to an occasional elk that wanders through there are a number of species of beautiful birds that enjoy the park's trees and bushes and sing all day long. If you're looking for a quiet, well kept park where you can relax and watch the rock walls of the Royal Gorge change colors as the sun sets, this is your kind of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We will not stay here again. The staff was unfriendly and rude, you have to pay for showers, and we were charged $4.00 per person per day after the two of us. We paid for premium sites and we were told we would have a night view of the Gorge. We didn't have this view until our last night when all the motor homes behind us left. We have been rv'ing for years and we didn't appreciate being talked down to and loaded down with rules. We are over 55 and know the rules!! We have never paid extra for family members or for showers. It was quite a disappointment for such a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very clean and plenty of things to do. Close to the Royal Gorge and Canon City. Read several of the reviews of the hosts being rude but did not have that experience. Did see them get angry at other people, but that was for not following the rules (diving in a shallow pool). If you feel the need to speed though the campground or disregard the safety rules clearly posted at the pool, you should probably stay somewhere else as you will get put in your place. As mentioned before, they strictly enforced 5mph speed limit; keeps the kids safe and the dust down. Will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We loved our stay. The park was quiet, friendly and well kept. We noticed some down grades by others because of rules. The one rule we liked was the 5mph. This kept down dust in the park. The others were in place to avoid problems and to tell parents to not just turn there kids loose as we've seen in other parks. We will return without question. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Unless you have "perfect kids and pets", I would give this park a pass. The hosts were unfriendly, unhelpful and super rude. The hosts gave the impression of instantly disliking us. We spent the entire week trying to avoid them so as not to give them reason to kick us out. Husband had to listen to a 15 minute lecture on the rules which sounded more like the reasons we are looking for to kick you out while the rest of us were stuck outside waiting in the truck. We were afraid to let our kids have fun and have our dogs walk past other dogs. To keep this short, I would only recommend this park to couples without kids, dogs, or barking dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Unfriendly to us and our friends, not pet friendly. Went across the street where they were exceptionally nice. We heard there have been many negative reviews about this place. Will NEVER stay again. Would not recommend it either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations. We had a nice long pull-through with 50amp. The park is very clean and well maintained. The owner went out of his way to help us with sightseeing information and discount coupons. It is a very quiet park back from the road, with a nice view of the Royal Gorge bridge and surrounding mountains. They are very strict on pet owners who do not leash and clean up after which I was impressed with. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Really enjoyed our stay over Memorial weekend. The place is immaculate and they have some electric only sites in the trees (called "deluxe tent") that were perfect for our popup. I doubt we will ever see cleaner bathrooms and showers. I know some reviews have commented that the owners seemed rude, but that was not our experience at all. They did go over the rules and were probably not the type of folks you'd invite over for dinner, but that really didn't matter. Their park is beautiful and we will stay here again. The only holdout to a 10-star was the WiFi was sketchy, (however cell signal was good.) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
We stayed here for 10 days and really enjoyed it. We were here before the park was ready to open but the owner welcomed us anyway. We were in town to see our boy who was going to school in Canon City. Todd went out of his way to make us feel welcome and see he sights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
We camped here to visit the Royal Gorge area. After researching the area, we found the price to be one of the more reasonable. When we arrived, we were told that any unit over 34 feet must pay an extra $3 per night for a 50 amp site; there was no option to have a 30 amp site. On 2 of the 4 mornings we were here, our surge protector shut off our electric due to low voltage. We had a nice pull-through site with free Wi-Fi, but it was extremely slow, about the same speed as dial-up. The campground was very well maintained and clean. All the sites were gravel. The pool looked nice, but was closed for the season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We stayed here while we golfed the Four Mile Ranch Golf Club. It is a well run campground and the management was very competent. The restrooms were some of the cleanest I have seen. The showers use tokens: 1 token for 7 minutes cost $1. The entry road has fence posts which every 50 feet or so in the middle and sides which creates a narrow pass through. I guess they do this to control speed. We would stay here again. You can see the Royal Gorge Bridge really well from several places in the campground including one of the hiking trails. The putt putt was fun and there is a fenced dog exercise area. There are some good tent camping sites available as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. There are many campgrounds in this area, but this is one of the nicer spots. The campground is very quiet, set well back from the highway. The sites are nicely sized and reasonably level. There is neither cable TV nor off-air TV available, but not a big deal for us. The pool has some issues. It appears that there has been some frost-heaving of the pool and concrete, which broke some of the underground pool piping. Instead of jack-hammering the pool deck to properly repair the problem, the owners have 'cheaped out' and completely sealed off two of the skimmers, and run under-sized surface piping to the remaining two. The result is that the pool water is murky and the pool walls are somewhat slimy. Too bad, this would get a top notch rating otherwise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Boy, we are very sorry that we didn't read the reviews about this campground. We certainly wouldn't have wasted our time or money. The owners are extremely unfriendly and controlling. The LONG list of rules is read to you like you are in elementary school. The only thing missing is the owner asking you to memorize the rules. It took fifteen minutes to check in and over half of that was about the rules. Don't do this: over and over. We should have left then and gone across the street to Prospector's RV Park. Every time we drove by Prospector's our kids wanted to go play there on the bounce trampoline, sprinkler/water play area. (We ended up going over there and paying to use some of their facilities (pedal cars, pool & trampoline) so the kids could have fun.) Royal View campground is not kid friendly. The pool is freezing cold, Wi-Fi is available if you have 20 minutes to log on just to check your email. The minature golf took the kids 10 minutes. The kids have to be with you at all times and don't even think of breaking the rules. A family next to us was kicked out by the police because the owner felt they were being disrespecful. Save your money and stay across the street if you have kids or pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We found the owners to be very friendly and the park was nice and clean. I would stay here any time we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Management was not friendly and downright rude. Too many rules for a small campground, found it hard to enjoy because of all their rules. They went as far as calling the sheriff due to rules being broken. Sites were graveled and nice, restrooms were clean. Pool was extremely cold and mostly closed due to weather that we could not see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Booking Fees Held Hostage and $50 Nuisance Fee were the first indicators that this may be an unpleasant place to stay. Shortly after booking and paying for a premium site online for a 2 night stay, we discovered that there were wild fires in the area that had actually resulted in closing this campground down. So we immediately attempted to contact the campground in order to cancel our reservation. After two or three days, we were finally able to get in contact with the owner. He told us that he could not guarantee that the campground would be open for the days that we had booked online, that he would not refund any of the prepaid camping fees, that the wild fire was out and the swimming pool was blue. So we decided to go ahead and stick with our original plan. The campground did reopen just in time for our stay, but the wild fire was not out; it was only "contained" with many areas near the campground off limits and patrolled by troopers. Needless to say, use of the fire ring, which was the distinguishing feature of our more expensive premium site, was banned due to the still burning wild fires in the area. And this camp "resort" charges you to use their showers. When we arrived, the owner made sure to reread most of his overzealous rules back to me. His rules included a provision to charge a $50 Nuisance Fee and ejection from the campground without refund if we broke any of his rules. These rules included a 5 mph speed limit along an empty quarter to half mile gravel road from the main road to the camping area; no child 17 or under in pool without a parent/guardian; no unattended pets; no pets with bad manners; no leaks; elbow attachment required for sewer line; etc. The owner takes these rules very seriously and in talking with another camper, I found out that the owner's wife had actually chased down one camper to their campsite and chewed them out for going a little over the speed limit. The owner had made a point about the pool being blue when we attempted to cancel our reservation and it was advertised as a heated pool. Unfortunately the owner kept the pool closed most of the time and pointed at the clouds in the sky as his excuse to not open the pool. We did finally catch the pool open on the second day and it was a disappointment. The heated pool with the blue water was very cold and the water was cloudy. The wireless signal was almost non-existent at our site and was so slow as to be almost unusable where there was sufficient signal strength. The owner said that internet access was via his satellite dish which had minimal bandwidth. He explained to me that when you fly you may get "free" peanuts, but some folks are still be upset if they can't get crackers. So I guess he thinks of his "advertised" wireless internet access as a "free" service to the campers and we should not complain if it is too slow to use? If a feature is advertised, then the cost of that feature is built into the price and is not free. The pet area had a dead rat in it. The miniature golf greens had rocks scattered on them. All of our complaints can be resolved with new management or a new management approach. It is extremely rare for me to post a poor review, but this experience was a very ugly blight on our family vacation. Overall and excluding the management deficiencies; the campground is nice, clean and has plenty of amenities to keep the children busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Park is off the highway, so no road noise. Has a distant view of Royal Gorge bridge. The driveway has large rocks spaced along the center, which makes for a tight fit when driving in. Road/sites are gravel. Site spacing is narrow. Staff was friendly, laundry was clean. Water and power was good, cell (AT&T) was weak. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a royal gouge at $35. No cable TV, no TV signal, no Verizon service and the space is barely flat enough to level. No room between spaces. I would look for a better park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
As stated in the earlier review, there is no Verizon phone service available. From what we noticed in the week we were in the Canon City area, this park is by far the best. The manager was constantly working in the park making improvements. Depending on your site, a minimal amount of leveling may be required. There are so many things to do around Canon City (don't miss the gold mine in Cripple Creek) we were sad to cut our visit short in order to move onto Fruita, CO to have cell phone service (wife still works). We would definitely stay at Royal View when in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Clean, friendly campground. Sites good size, level & have nice views of the mountains. Owners very friendly & helpful. Verizon Air card worked well, however no Verizon cell service or TV service. Lots of things to do in the area. Owners putting in a lot of work on grounds, setting up activity areas,etc. All sites nicely raked gravel. Nice hiking trails on grounds with views of Royal Gorge Bridge. Stayed 2 nights, will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Selected this RV park based on reviews here and proximity to the Royal Gorge. RV park site stated level sites but they were far from level. Since we were here off-season we requested a premium site based on the rate of $28 (site said $23 but that was incorrect when I asked). I didn't see any difference between the regular and premium sites other than the premium sites were at the end of each row thus affording a view of the canyon, hills and the Royal Gorge. The owner was very strict but we didn't have any problems. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
My experience at Royal View Campground was absolutely miserable. If you are thinking of camping in the area of Canon City, don’t stay there. Unless you want to be lectured to, have the rules read to you after you just read them (like you are a child), even get yelled at for minor offenses like having your pet on a 10 foot leash instead of a 6 foot as specified in their rules. The owners have the property up for sale, and you can tell by the poor customer service they are just plain burned out. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We were a little hesitant to stay based on previous reviews but were glad we did. This a fabulous RV park of the high side of gently sloping hill with fantastic views in all directions. The sites are gravel, well maintained and clean. The park is undergoing some significant upgrades but not in the camping area. Now the hosts. This is a park in a major tourist area and the staff is very busy. We had no problems, in fact they were more than courteous, BUT if you are the problem. You will have a problem. The park's owner saved us more than one night's camping charges with discounts and directions to off the path area attractions that most others miss. We will highly recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Overall park is very good; however, internet access is poor (connection to Wi-Fi hub @34MB/s; however, little or no bandwidth to internet available.) No cable or local TV reduce the overall score. Confirm comments regarding staff; however, this is to benefit campers like us without pets or children. Facilities are clean and well kept. Site was 15 level within 6" with left to right fall. Do not expect a refund if you change your booking. The rules were made very clear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a nice CG. Office personnel are great. I'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I agree with the previous review. That owner was obnoxious with his rules, and it made our outing less fun. Camping isn't just for old people,and they like to see families having fun. We couldn't let our 16 year old be at the pool alone with his friend? Get serious. The only worthwhile tip is this- send one member of your party to the royal gorge before 9am, and get your early bird tickets for ten dollars, you can go whenever you want during the day, and it saves a ton of cash. Now you all have that tip too, and you don't have to put up with that guys rudeness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We had a premium site which was more than adequate for our motorhome. It was clean, had a unique look and an amazing view. The grounds were crushed rock, 1-2 shade trees per lot with plenty of space. We were thrilled to be in Canon City for our family rafting adventure. Unfortunately the campground is NOT family or kid friendly as the owner has created an atmosphere which is extremely rule bound and tense. I wonder if the previous reviewers that rated this campground so positively had children because the owner clearly does not have any or do they like them. When myself and our family friend checked in (all kids and spouses stayed quietly in campers), I felt like I was being disciplined by a strict principal in that we were read a list of rules and told we would be 'talked to' if we did not comply. In addition, the owners girlfriend felt the need to tell us that our children are our responsibility and not to expect any childcare while we went rafting. I think my jaw fell open and I wasn't sure if she tried to make a joke. It is very difficult to read faces that show no emotion. She was very serious and I only wish I could have replied with a comment but I was so shocked and insulted by the stupidity of that statement. It is very disappointing that a campground with great potential be restricted by such unfriendly and inflexible owners. In fact it was more than disappointing to have travelled over 1100 miles, to our furthest point south, to be greeted in such a rude manner. We have camped in many campgrounds and never have we met more unfriendly hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Price too high for a campground that offers so little. The pool was the only thing going for it yet did not have enough water to let the skimmers get rid of bugs. Customers do that themselves. There was no TV, the internet useless. The owner gave the usual, "there's nothing wrong with it, I use it every day myself." To add to this, our cell phone with zillions of little people running around to keep up the connections, had no service. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
I agree with the previous review. Overall, a nice campground, if you don't have to interact with the owner. He is ex-military, and it shows. Very abrupt, not at all friendly, let's everyone know he's the boss. He brags that he "runs off" anyone he doesn't like. Wi-Fi was so slow it was unusable. We would look for a friendlier place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Overall nice CG. The owner is a little short on his responses. WiFi is not usable in all of the sites in spite of what the owner thinks. The data rate is very slow and very limited. Also my website program indicated that all 500 files needed to be updated from the laptop after I had updated 5 files. Something is not working correct from this CG connection. Also there was no Verizon access along this area of route 50 (major truck route) or in the CG. So forget about aircard access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
The sites are all gravel, very close together and not entirely level. The fellow that checked us in was pretty short with me, but didn't quite cross the line to flat out rude. Fortunately, we were tired and just needed an overnight place to camp. There is a nice fenced in leash off dog area that our pooch enjoyed. If we're back in the area sometime in the future, we'll probably try another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Wow! I am surprised by the comments on Royal View Camp Resort. We camped here in May 2008 & the proprietor was one of the best campground owners I have ever met. He just runs a tight ship. He lives here, it is his home. Would you want someone to come to your home and disrespect your grounds? We stayed here 2 weeks and he was very helpful, friendly and kind. Invited us to his Memorial Day Crawdad boil with his family! Wonderful folks! I would stay here again as the owner made us feel like family. It is the cleanest campground in that area. The owner is a very, very hard worker and takes pride in his campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We visited this campground looking for a good RV park for our 43' motorhome. We did not stay here because the manager (we'll call Mr. T) was so rude, unfriendly and acted like he was so "disgusted with the world," we had to walk out. We also were told he (the park) has a Very Strict Cancellation Policy of 15 days cancelling. Watch out if you decide to cancel within the 15 days! He's unforgiving! On the flip side: This is the nicest park in the Canon City area. Most other parks only have 30 amps, no shade and unlevel sites. At least at this park, there's some shade and full hook-ups with 50 amps. So if you don't care about his attitude, then this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Looks nice, but the sites are too close together, and the trees need to be cut back. My sight (#1), a premium site, was so off level that my leveling system couldn't get the coach level. The Wi-Fi was so slow it was almost useless. The connection was good so the problem must be with their ISP. With only one TV channel available, this place really needs cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Todd and his assistant Gay were more than hospitable. They always made sure we were taken care of. Todd is working very hard on many camp projects to improve on this very special place. Many things to do and see from this area. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Redone 2 years ago. Sites are larger and more accessible. Roads are vastly improved. The sites are much closer to level than they used to be. Wifi works great. Sprint cell service. Nice, open feel. Very clean. Friendly personnel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Road from Hwy. 50 to campground and all roads in park plus sites are good gravel. Sites were close to level, wide, and long. WiFi was free. Sites in front are all new with new hookup's. View of mountains was great. You are very close to Royal Gorge. Canon City is 10 miles away. No road noise here. No cell phone service, no TV channels. New owners are working hard to make this park a great place. One of the better park we looked at near Royal Gorge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
Large sites, great views. The park was changing hands while we were here. I hope the new owners are as friendly and accommodating as the old owners were. No Verizon cellular service in that area. Modem jack in office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Sites were clean, swimming pool needs a lot of attention/cleaning. Views were spectacular. Had to leave 2 days early due to a family situation at home. Even though the sign says no refunds, owner gave us back a partial (48%) refund. Close to most attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
We stayed here for one night on the way to Gunnison on Highway 50. It was easy to get to and in a lovely rural setting. The sites were a little uneven. Satellite TV worked good at our site (we requested a site for it) but our Verizon phones were "No service" so we had no internet access or cell phone use. However, a quick trip back into Canon City provided us with a signal. We might check out the other parks in the area (they all looked nice) to see if they had cell phone service. Otherwise, we'd stay here again for an overnighter. And the price was sure fair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$15
This is a Passport America park. You have to drive 1/2 mile down a dusty road from US-50 to the park. Interior roads are gravel/dirt. Sites are gravel/dirt and most are not level. The sites are narrow and have trees, but are big enough for a big rig with slides if you dont mind your neighbors being close. Maintenance was minimumal. We would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com