220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Lane RV Camp was rated 6 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (760) 256-5322
CGID3398

Shady Lane RV Camp

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   9   7   5   10   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
We arrived late due to traffic and the manager was waiting for us and took us to our space and helped us park. We did not use the TV, but it was offered for free. We had a fuse blow and the manager looked for one but did not have it and then called stores in town and found one. He even offered the use of a camp vehicle so I wouldn't have to disconnect. Laundry facility is first rate. Not the most lovely part of town but would stay at this park again in a heartbeat. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is a quaint little park that is surprisingly comfortable and friendly. There's a $2 up charge for 50 amp service. No cable service, but they'll give you a Dish receiver and a cable to hook to your TV set. They took about an hour trying to get ours to work before giving up, but there is decent antenna reception of a few channels. Bathhouse is small, rustic, and clean. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. There are a fair number of permanent/seasonal rigs here, but not a problem. Sites are gravel and more or less level. Each has a small concrete patio and picnic table. This is a good spot for an overnight in the Mojave desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Good Sam. Fairly easy access to dirt and rock with concrete pads. Owner is friendly and accommodating. Restrooms are dated but very clean. Laundry has 3 sets of machines and clean plus cheap. Some sites are back-in and big rigs are pull through. CG fills up in the late afternoon so reservations are a must. A good place to break-up a long drive. We spent one night here and would return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We spent a night here on our way to Davis. In 40 days of camping, this was by far one of my favorite campgrounds. Like many other campgrounds, it has clean restrooms and shower facilities. But beyond that, Shady Lane is a friendly and delightfully kitschy place. Among other things: 1) when I called to make a reservation, the woman who answered the phone gave me directions and told me she would come get us if we couldn't find the place; 2) the campground office is an old Airstream trailer; 3) there is free candy in the office; 4) when I asked whether there was an extra charge for our dog, the owners looked surprised and asked whether other campgrounds impose such a charge; and 5) the owners took us to our campsite and gave us a copy of the local TV guide as well as the campground rules. Yes, this is silly stuff, but it added to the down-home feeling of the place. My husband loved the fact that the full-timers in the park were desert characters. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Barstow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
A small park with gravel roads. The pull thrus have a concrete pad with picnic table and a few trees between sites. Registration is very easy and the $31.50 rate is Good Sam discount. The restrooms and showers are very clean but very old. Laundry is great with 3 washers ($1) and 3 dryers (.75). The owners are friendly and guide you to your site. Shopping and restaurants are within 4-5 miles. Grounds are kept clean. Would stay here again with no hesitation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This campground is good as an overnight stay along I-15, I-40 and CA-58. The staff took us to our site and helped us park. Interior roads and sites are dirt - they could really benefit from a gravel topping throughout. TV worked well as did the Wi-Fi. The I-15 freeway is a bit over a mile away so there was no traffic noise. We would overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Helpful and very nice staff, directed us to site and assisted with parking. Very clean, quiet and away from freeway noise. They were genuinely glad we came. What an idea! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This is okay for a one night stop, but the facilities are old and don't even have latches on the stall doors. 50 Amps, TV, and internet are all extra. They put us next to a permanent resident, and it was really a narrow site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
As others have said, this is a good park for an overnight. Very quiet, yet close to I 15 and I 40. Regardless of what Trailerlife says, they do have 50 amp (it's extra). And they do have Wi-Fi for $5 a day ($25 a week). We had no problem getting in our site in a 38' motorhome. And another 50' bus chassis with a dingy came in after us, so they can handle big rigs. Staff are very nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is good for an overnight. The best you could say about this park is that it is very quiet. We didn't unhook. No WiFi, no cable but the manager did offer to supply cable and a receiver to hook up to Satellite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
No freeway or railroad noise. Roads and sites are dirt and close together. Power and water were good. We would stay again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
They do not have cable. If you can get to the back of your TV then they will give you a satellite to use. There is not no local TV for the antenna. Nice owners. Great for an overnight stop We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Very basic park on the outskirts of a California desert town. Managers are very nice and helpful. It was a bit tight for our 39' RV but doable. We had some shade but it was still quite hot and the direct sun was intense. Manager offered a free satellite receiver hookup but we used our own satellite dish. No over the air TV reception. Price included extra $3 charge for 50 Amp. Did not include extra $5/day for internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
It's a good overnight RV park, but I don't know that I would stay longer. They charge $3 extra for 50 amp service which is included in my $30 rate. Small family owned park on dirt, but there was a concrete patio to step out on. Friendly guys that run the place. Wifi and TV are available. We had a full hookup pull through site and we fit just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Barstow is a hard-scrabble town with little luxury or sophistication. Shady Lane also fit this description, but the facilities were fine and easily accessed, the restrooms/showers were spotless, and the staff was friendly and helpful (recommended the excellent Idle Spurs steakhouse nearby). If you've got to stop in the middle of the desert, this RV park is just fine. But, we've still no plans to move to Barstow! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Rate is Passport America. Greeted by staff as soon as we arrived. Sites had just been raked. Staff showed us where everything was and then said to come and pay when we were comfortable. Cable TV is $1.00 extra and Wi-Fi is $5.00 extra. Washrooms and showers are tired, but very clean. Laundry room is good. Office is very old. There is a fence around park so it feels safe. Noticed a staff member making rounds late at night. Not fancy but a great stop over. Would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Warm professional greeting on arrival. Escort to site. Site is wide enough for slides and long enough so that we did not have to disconnect the toad. Site is level with a small concrete patio. Nice landscaping. No fire ring. Washrooms are very dated but clean. Wi-Fi is PAY! $5.00/day or $20.00/ week. Points lost for pay Wi-Fi and dated facility. No fuel of groceries within walking distance. Pick up your supplies before you park. Price reflects $1.00 for cable TV and Good Sam discount. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Very friendly staff. Cash or check only. Internet access available for $6 per day. The park is a little tired and could use some landscape work, but it worked for our overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Greeted right away at rig. Very friendly. Site was tight for a 40 footer, but was able to do it. Not sure about a 42 to 45 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Very nice spot to stop for a night. Staff helpful with getting in our spot. Good cable TV ($1), all hookups good. Looks like they are working on a WiFi installation. Not near RR or freeway noise. Located on Old Hiway 58. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
This has everything you HAVE to have for an overnight stay. Friendly professional check-in and escort to site. Sites are level and on dirt/sand. "Extras" such as 50 amp and cable TV cost extra. I would recommend this park for overnight only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Feels and looks like Barstow. An older park. Staff was helpful, sites are a bit small. Restroom and showers are clean and old, but worked fine. A good place to spend the night. Cable TV was very weak and costs $1.00. If you need 50 amps it's an extra $3.00. We would stay again if we need a place to rest when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
I read the comments about this park, and have to disagree with the negative ones. We were planning to stay one night, and ended up staying four. The park is older, I would agree, but hard as I tried, I couldn't find any trash laying around. Didn't see many of the full-time tenants, the ones who were out were friendly, not at all "scary". The cement patios are new, and the park staff were trimming trees and raking leaves every day. It is a DESERT area - so grass will be non-existent (a waste of scarce water). The park was quiet, there are several good restaurants close-by, and many attractions to see. The Route 66 and railroad museums were very interesting, and free. We would certainly stay here again. The nightly rate is with a Good Sam card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Really helpful staff. Tight campground, well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is an older camp, with not many sites for larger rigs, but a friendlier staff you won't find anywhere. Our site was barely long enough for our 36' fifth wheel and we had to park the truck sideways at the back. There is no grass, just gravel sites with some trees. There is cable TV but no Wi-Fi. The laundry room has 3 washers and 3 dryers, which is more than we've seen at much larger campgrounds. But there is a large number of permanent residents and they tended to be noisy in the evening, with barking dogs. But basically we liked this place better than others we've seen in the area and would probably come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We camped here in a 40 footer. Very nice men run the park. Drove us to our site first and then we paid to check in. Nice procedure that doesn't keep you sitting in the middle of the driveway. Sites were gravel and clean. No playground or activities for kids within the park. Good water pressure and good electricity. Make sure you see the railroad museum and the Calico ghost town. If you like fossils, etc., see the Early Man site. We stayed two nights but would stay longer the next time. There is also the Deep Space Radio Communication center and sometimes there are tours of Fort Irwin. Great town and great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
A very basic camp site with friendly and accommodating staff. Great for over nighting but nothing else. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Park has cable TV, no internet. Simple, basic place to stay w/reasonably well-maintained accommodations. I am grateful that anyone is willing to live in, and operate a campground for me to stop at, in Barstow. The overall surrounding environment is generally inhospitable, but these kind folks provided us with a better place to stay than they would have had to provide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This is just a place to park and rest, then move on. Really nice people running place, must give them an A for effort. This is an old converted mobile home park full of mostly older RV's that haven't moved for years but are not unkempt. They have about a half dozen spots for overnight parking. Showers are clean but old and in need of upgrade. Our Verizon Card worked well and the park cable TV is a bargain for the extra $1 charge. 50 amp is $3 extra. Above rate is for space, cable TV and 50 amps. Can't say I wouldn't stay here again, but wouldn't go out of my way to come here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
This is an older looking campground with closed in sites, but you will not find nicer people to get you checked in and set up. Super clean bathrooms and laundry. They went out of their way to tell us about local attractions and things to do. A drive-in movie is across the street with 2 screens open 7 nights a week, Cool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
We have stayed here in winter and summer on the way to California from Phoenix. It is a good, clean place to spend the night. The staff is very friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to head you on your way and get you to the cheapest fuel in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is an old, but very clean camp. Friendly is an understatement for the staff, they are helpful and kind. It is an extremely quiet site with a lot of long term residents. Restrooms, showers, laundry room, and grounds are kept in first class condition. The hot water was hot and the cold water tastes good. They did everything possible to make me comfortable. This site makes it easy to get in and out of Barstow. They provided a map and directions for everything I needed. I'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
The owners were very nice, and the staff was helpful getting us to our shady spot in the very dusty park. We were parked next to a full-time resident in a travel trailer who must have had too many cats. The smell emanating from her space made me gag. The bathroom had no soap and, although clean, looked so run down that we didn't want to shower there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We didn't stay here since they were full and I think that was a lucky break for us. This was a scary place. This is "dog patch city". Most of the park was semi-permanent residents who don't take much pride in their sites. The staff was friendly and helpful, however, and did call to the KOA to the east for us to see if they had space. I was never so glad to get out of a place! The campground guides overrated this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
This is pretty much just a stop over place. It is a little funky but quite acceptable. We were escorted and directed into our pull-through site. Folks were nice, price is appropriate for this park. Only warning is that it is all dirt/sand. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$60
Great place away from everything though I don't get how they treat it like a motel and charge you more for a person. It's not like they're coming in cleaning your mess up or anything like that, but this one was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
We are month-to-month residents here. The owner is rude, nosey and heavy handed when dealing with people. Our visitors are monitored by the owner staking himself out in his golfcart in front of our coach from beginning to end of their visit. He rifles through our US Mail we receive telling us what we have when he drops it off. The water pressure here is very poor. He waters the Athos/pine trees for nearly three hours daily thus shutting off water to the paying guests at the park. The California State Board of Health and Water Quality are currently monitoring the water wells along Soapmine Road for poisonous nitrates. This park's owner has not notified us tenants of this event. He recently listed this RV Park up for sale and literally does not care to maintain it for the current paying tenants. It is nothing but a last ditch, port in the storm spot for one overnight, then shake the dust and sand off yourselves when departing here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
Old time style park. Very nice people, but colorful. No credit cards. But low prices. A church right next door if you are so inclined. A big plus of this place is that there is no freeway or train noise. I rated it a bit higher than some would as I sort of like the little bit of color. But I am funk tolerant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Despite the previous review we found the staff at the park to be very friendly and helpful. Pull through sites were easy to access, level with a concrete pad and also shaded. Cable TV was an extra $1. Washrooms are older but very clean. There is a detailed map of the area provided with directions for continuing on your journey. I have stayed here before and would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Adequate RV park for a one evening stop. They have permanent residents that aren't so attractive. The cable is good and the managers are nice. Easy to locate from the freeways. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
I don't know about any of the amenities because we drove in and drove right back out. We chose this park because of the average review TrailerLife Directory gave it. This is not an RV park that any family would want to stay in. From what we saw when we pulled in, there were numerous long-term residents in broken down, old, trashy trailers. Some of the residents that were out and about looked very questionable. The park is located in a run down part of town. I will not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
This is a small and old park, but the cleanliness of the facilities ad the extremely helpful staff make up for it. It was a oasis in the desert for us. We will never forget the kind owner who was more concerned with our personal comfort than getting paid for the stay! We will stay again if ever in the area, and will recommend to friends! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
We stayed here due to mechanical problems with our motorhome. We planned on staying 2 nights at the most and ended up staying 3 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and cooperative. The park is old, the baths, showers and laundry is old but is clean. It is very quiet and the staff gave us a great tip for dinner at the Idle Spur steakhouse. Good place for an overnight or in case of an emergency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
Clean and secure. Not much else to say. Roads are dirt/gravel and fairly level. Good cable TV no internet. Bathrooms are old like this park, but clean. Overall, fine for a one night stay. We stopped due to a sand/wind storm with 60MPH winds. Staff helped us set up in the storm, and are nice folks. No credit cards, cash or check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This was an old park but was keep very clean. Some old units. Management was very helpful and friendly. Good place to spend over night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Old campground with too many full time residents in old trailers. OK for an overnight. The owner is very nice and means well. But beware of her advice of taking first street to get back to main (it's a terrible road full of potholes) and her advice to use the American Travel Center on main street to gas up. The pumps were in terrible condition; didn't take credit cards at the pump; and my unit ran very rough on that tank of gas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$23
Nice place for a one night stay. No frills, but plenty of room for rigs to 36ft. Great cable TV, and staff very helpful. Overall, very quiet and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
We stayed there on our way through to Arizona. Owner/manager was friendly and helpful in getting us to our site. It was quiet there. The sites were level, gravel-paved pull-throughs. The showers were kind of funky with the dressing area of the first shower also being the path to the second shower. There was an unhealthy looking growth of mildew on the grout between the white floor tiles in the shower stalls. The curtain at the window in the dressing "room" was so thin there could be absolutely no privacy after dark. We would stay there again, using our own shower, if we were passing through again, but definitely would not make this a long-planned destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This is a small old park but very quiet. We were a little reluctant about staying at this park when we first arrived, but once we were settled in we felt quite comfortable. The owners are extremely nice and friendly, they directed us to a neat restaurant down the road called Peggy Sue's Dinner which is so cool. Spots are limited for large motorhomes, suggest you call ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
It's not pretty, but it gets the job done when you have to stay in Barstow. Shady Lane is fairly quiet, about a mile from the freeway and the trains. It's near a junkyard, but that's not a problem. The manager was very pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$26
Outstanding customer service! We got lost (best not to follow on-line mapping directions) and the manager met us in his car and led us to the park and into our site. Once near the site his assistant took over and told me exactly how to turn to get the rig (Class C + boat) into the spot perfectly to be by the hookups and be easy to get out in the morning. The park is older, but well maintined. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$20
This park is old, but well maintained. It's a good stopover on I-15. The park is small and mostly dirt. The staff is very friendly and helpful, making sure you have directions for your next day's travel. Cable is $1 extra with lots of channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2003
$19
It was very rundown when we were there, and the sites were quite tight for slides. I will say, the people were very, very nice. We did have to pay $1.00 for cable for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com