219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Panther Creek State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (423) 587-7046
CGID3404

Panther Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   5   4   7   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
I just overnighted here and did not get a chance to explore much. Restrooms and showers were clean. The site I picked was pretty short, but fine for the car and my tent. Tow vehicle would of had to have been disconnected if I was in a trailer. I arrived after hours and noticed many of the sites had tags on them indicating they were occupied despite being empty. I finally got out of my vehicle and looked at one and noticed it was left over from the previous weekend. This place fit me perfectly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
We stayed here for 3 weeks and really liked the campground. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The washrooms/showers were very well looked after. Campsites were well spaced with trees for shade. We were pleased to find out that the campground is environmentally friendly with their recycling program. We would come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
The sites are spacious and most are level. They are not all deep enough for larger RVs. The restrooms were not clean. There is a lot of day use of the playground and pool so it is very crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Nice park lots of shade problem is getting a spot. They are a first come first served park. It's kind of out of the way to get there and nothing avialable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
I would have rated this campground much better if not for the lousy condition of the bathrooms. Otherwise, the campground was decent, but not quite nice. The sites were well spaced apart and had a lot of shade trees. Many sites were long enough for our friends' 38' fifth wheel, but the paved pads were not long enough to have the whole trailer off of the dirt, which became mud when the rain came. Even our 24' trailer was off of the blacktop pad. As a Tennessee State Park campground, no reservations were accepted and the park filled up quickly on Friday night; with many locals from what we were told. The campground was pretty much unattended; you picked an open site, set up, then paid in a self-pay station. The ranger did drive through a couple of times in the three days we were there and I did see the bathroom attendant twice. Still it would be better to have someone that you could contact in case there was a problem with the site, the bathrooms, or just an unrully neighbor. The park pool is not within an easy walking distance, probably like a quarter mile uphill from the campground entrance. It's open to the public and even campers have to pay for admission. We didn't visit it. We did ride a bit on some good mountain bike trails; that's a big plus for this campground if you're a single-tracker. Also the boat ramp was just a mile or so away if you had a boat. There was ample shopping available just a few miles away on the Andrew Johnson Highway and several restaurants as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
The campground is adequate for a short stay but not extended. The bathroom could use a fresh coat of paint to brighten it up. I didn't use the shower - didn't look clean. The sites vary in size and leveling was required. I stayed in the upper sites, lower sites were full so maybe they are in better condition. Park in general is popular for biking but I didn't see many hiking trails. Picnic areas were popular as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
This is a lovely Tennessee State Park. The sites are not huge, but very adequate for our 35' Motor Home. We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the deer in our yard every morning and evening. The park was only about 40% full on the weekend and about 20% full weekdays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Very nice park,stayed two nights on the way to Memphis.Easy access from the interstate.Nice hiking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
I have camped here for almost 25 yrs. The campground is nice and clean, lots of hiking trails and wildlife. But this year I have seen some things going on I didn't like. People were putting out little "pup" tents and registering their friends "saving" sites for them. This is a "first come" first serve" campground. But a week before Memorial Day 2007 we counted 12 little pup tents at one time, and the worst part is..I seen a park ranger put a note reading..."do not use" on a handicap site after a camper that had been there longer then the 14 day stay. The reason was the ranger was saving this site for their friend. So if anyone plans on coming to this campground better come early in the week, or all the sites are "reserved" when there isn't reservations made at this park. Other then this corrupt way of the reserving of the sites by other campers "friends and family" and also by the park rangers, this park is really nice, But I just hate to see this going on here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$18
This park was great. The deer would just about come right up to the camper. The sites were laded out well. They were not to close and very well maintained. The whole park was clean and well looked after. The menís bathroom even had one of those plug in air freshener things. The check in was smooth (it was a self check in). The site we had was level. This park offers a lot of thing to do. We just went there to enjoy our last camping trip of the year. We do plan to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
Mature state park with ten sites that can accommodate big rigs - but note the 30 amp service. Sites are not typically private but do have shade. We stayed at Site 34 (40ft plus) at the end of the loop and had a private BBQ and play area. There is a Host on site but fees are paid via drop box. Most sites have fire rings (some with BBQ grills.) The creek is very small and visible only from a few sites. The park does have a pool a short drive from the camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Big rigs beware. This is a nice campground, but, is not for big rigs. We were there in a 40' MH and there were about four sites we could fit in. Three of them had tents on them. There seems to be no rules about where you can set up a tent. Therefore, it you are in a big rig, you're taking a chance in going to this campground. If you aren't in a big rig go for it. It is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
Tons of wildlife. I love it here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$16
There is a lot of wildlife at this park. We saw a skunk, tons of deer, and a very curious raccoon. Overall, I thought the park was nice. Lots of playground equipment and sports stuff (basketball, tennis, etc). There are tons of trails. Nice place! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com