223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Timberland Campiground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (603) 466-3872
CGID3407

Timberland Campiground

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   9   10   10   10   4   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Clean campground with average size sites. Owners nice and friendly. They give guests a packet of info they put together for visiting and eating in the area. Wi-Fi available only at the rec room. I was disappointed about Wi-Fi at first, but the rec room has a TV and seating areas which make using Wi-Fi comfortable. The facilities are older but adequate. Close to many things to do in the White Mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Stayed here for proximity to White Mountains/Mount Washington - an excellent choice. Nice, friendly new owners as of 2012 - very conscientious of providing a very nice facility; campground hosts very friendly, as well. Very clean bathrooms & showers. Yes, railroad tracks right behind the back row of sites, but we never heard a thing; owner said they don't run every night. Got good Internet reception. Didn't use pool, but it looked nice. We would absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Size for our RV for back-in shaded site was good. Great park and easy access from the road and close to many activities in the White Mountains. Laundry area and pricing very good. Fire wood price very high and also charge for showers. Camp store has a variety of items and gifts. The fire truck ride is a hit with the campers. The printed list of driving loops and what you might see moose, covered bridges and waterfalls very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
They do offer a 10% discount on rates for Good Sam. The water/sewer/electric were all good. Roads and sites are mostly dirt with some gravel. Most sites have a good amount of shade and a fair share of bugs (bring your spray). The cable worked well, but we could only get Wi-Fi in the activity room or laundry room. Wi-Fi worked very well in those areas. Laundry area was very clean, as were the restrooms. Showers were $.25 for 10 minutes. Owners provide printed directions for area drives which are well done. They work with you if you need to make a change. Most RV sites are pretty close together. There is a nice camp store on premises. We liked it here and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
It doesn't get any better than this. The location is beautiful. It's shaded and a short walk to the Androscoggin river. The facility is first class and the owners/managers are wonderful. They both work constantly to maintain the campground and it shows. The fact that they love their work also shows. The campground is family-oriented with lots of things for the kids to do. I stayed here two months and traveled in the local area. It's a few minutes from Mt. Washington and many other great sites. All the facilities work. Dave & Laurie are very responsive to reasonable requests. My space is cool and well-shaded. I based the rate on the monthly rate I paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
What a delightful place to stay. The owners go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay. Close to White Mountain. Kayaking on premises. Campfires ok. Bathrooms are very well maintained. Kids rec room and adult rec room. Nice playground. Plenty of walking trails. Wooded sights and also shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a gated campground and the sites are gravel with lots of tall trees. The management provides each person with a list of loop drives and recommends good places to eat. We took the Mt. Washington Cog Railway and that is a great tourist activity. Our Verizon MiFi worked well here. They have cable TV with 3 channels. It is quiet and we would recommend this campground and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
New owners (nice people) have owned the park 3 years, but have done NOTHING to upgrade. They did change the name, but have not changed the sign on the highway, so it is very confusing to find. This park has not seen a load of gravel in 30 years, most of it is washed out leaving un-level sites. Cable has three poor quality channels and too many tree for satellite. Bring lots of bug spray, they are terrible. How Good Sams can give this park a 7.5 rating is beyond me. We stayed one night and left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Very nice quiet park, wooded and scenic. Would have given them a 10 if their Wi-Fi reached to the sites and they had more than 3 cable channels. (1 channel didn't come in well, and you couldn't pick up anything on the antenna). Could only get Wi-Fi in the combination rec room/laundry or the "adult lounge" and they close at 9:00, so couldn't use cable after 9:00. Nice warm clean pool. Beautiful walk down to the river, which was scenic and great for wading. Well-stocked store and gift shop and very, very nice owners. There was a train track behind the park but trains didn't blow horns, so it wasn't bad at all. A lot of truck noise from the road, but mostly during the day. Activities during the week and a nightly "hay-ride" for the kids. Cute playground shaped like a pirate ship. Showers were coin-operated but clean. $1.75 washers and $1 dryers that weren't overly efficient. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Price includes Good Sam discount. This is a well managed older park. Great people running the place and very helpful with area info. This park can accommodate larger rigs--our 40' fit fine. Couple of tight turns, but I've seen worse. There are only 4 50amp sites. Several are pull throughs which are really long. Not very level but no problem with the levelers. Park is very wooded so no satellite and no TV other than 3 channels on the provided "cable hookup". Extremely low water pressure-- not useable direct-- had to use storage tank/ pump. No W-iFi to the site although there is a nice area with a free hot spot. Bathrooms good/nice pool. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
The owners are among the nicest we have met. We had no problem with our site, but some big rigs would have a little difficulty with tree branches and leveling. Has cable TV, but gets only the three major networks. There is a train that goes by about 11:30 pm. These don't bother us much, but must be mentioned. The location is perfect for visiting Mt. Washington and the owners have a short orientation and materials advising making the best of your visit. I would have been happy to spend a few more days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
An oasis in the RV park desert of New England. Right off the highway; be careful not to pass it up. Very pleasant and helpful new owners. Small store. Clean, roomy, level, and fairly private site within the midst of the pine forest. Very pleasant. Security is good. Convenient to the nearest town, where there is good restaurant service and a Super Wal-Mart. Wi-Fi is centrally located, not at your site, and it's free. Good interior roads. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nice people. Mixed grounds some shaded some not, grass or dirt pads. Mosquitoes very bad. Good hiking or dog walking path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
We found Timberland Campground to be a great place to stay. Our site was wide and secluded by pine trees. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The laundry appliances were spotless and looked new. Our Verizon hotspot worked fine and the cable TV channels were very clear. There were only 3 cable TV channels, but so what. This is a campground. And let's not forget about the owners. They went above and beyond any expectation of outstanding customer service. We had an accident that required emergency room service. He took us to the hospital (it was about 20 miles away) and picked us up after a 2 hour treatment. We'd return here any time we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
My husband doesn't usually get into the rating of parks we stay at, but he did on this one. He wanted to give it a 3. I had to give it a little extra for the potential that the "new" owners (have had it over a year now, I believe?) might still use to their advantage. But it was extremely cramped for maneuvering - my hubby was just barely able to get our 40' rig in and out of the place. It has cable but only 3 channels - hardly worth having. I don't think they had many 50 amp sites. The only Wi-Fi they have is in a specific room (so we used our Verizon air card - other reviewer was right, that has good signal there). Their are train tracks right behind the last row of sites, and while we were more removed and only heard one train go by - it scared us half to death! It was in the middle of the night and woke us both out of a sound sleep (no horns but still loud). Since it was raining when we got there, the owner switched us into a different site, which was a pull-through. I know she was trying to be helpful, but the site she moved us to was very unlevel, and I was afraid our geriatric dog wouldn't be able to get in or out of the RV with such a big step at the end! Thank goodness he made it without injury - but that's not the kind of thing we want to experience! As the park is currently set-up, we would not recommend it or stay there again. The playground looked nice, and they had decorated a bit for Halloween, which was fun. The owners seem like nice people, and I want them to do well, but I have to be honest. With some substantial changes, maybe. Other reviewers have given it very high marks - ones we can't agree with - so obviously other people enjoyed their stay more than we did! So maybe that would be you too? Just giving our opinions on our stay... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Timberland Campground's new owners are doing a terrific job of making this a welcoming and delightful place to spend a few days. Located very near the White Mountains National Forest, this campground is surrounded by beautiful scenery and picturesque villages. The campground itself is nicely wooded and very neat. Bathrooms and showers are kept scrupulously clean. Basic WiFi and cable TV allow you to stay in touch with the world if that's what you want. We loved listening to the trains that pass by the campground once or twice a day. This is one that we hope to revisit in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Agree wholeheartedly with the previous writer's comments, and want to add a few of our own. We found that we had very good reception with our Verizon wireless air card, as was the reception with our cell. We were scheduled in for four nights, but enjoyed the relaxing time in this campground so much that we stayed for another night. Not only did our surroundings relax us, but so did the new owners. Can't say enough for staff and their friendly, courteous, willing-to-help attitude. They were extremely friendly and helpful!! Both came out to wave goodbye as we left. They had much to do with our enjoying our great experience RVing in northern New Hampshire. We would, without a doubt, return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We stayed a month and renewed for a second month. What else can I say? The owners are dedicated to service and making the camper happy. Rate shown is the monthly rate to which add electricity. It is a long haul from TN but we expect to be back. We happily escaped the summer heatwave here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This campground is under new ownership this year. While it has always been a relaxing, friendly place to camp, the new owners have already made improvements such as a new pirate ship playground, nightly hayrides, and a rental unit. Their enthusiasm and positive attitude make for a very pleasant camping experience. More upgrades, improvements, and activities are in their plans for next year. We look forward to coming back in 2011. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We loved this campground. It is partially wooded, very large but not crowded together, feels like being at camp. Although it's an older camp in regards to buildings, the camping facilities are up to date. New owners will continue to update, especially the WiFi. Currently only available at the office area. The owners have good knowledge of the area and offer info on drives, hikes and the White Mountains. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This campground just changed ownership and the new owners have really nice ideas for this beautiful campground. They already installed a new pirate ship playground for the kids and do a nightly hay wagon ride, which our kids really enjoyed. They are looking to add some cabins soon which we would definitely consider renting. We will return! Really pleasant stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
There is no cable or Wifi available. Our site (48) backed up to a train track with two very noisy trains daily. The laundry facilities were the worst I've ever used. The dryers would not dry even after adding more and more money. There is only one dumpster at front entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
The best part of this park is the quiet location. We thought about staying in the Conway area and were glad we didn't, as that area is so commercialized and hectic. If you have kids, Conway would probably be more appealing. For us, we liked the serenity of Timberland. We were able to explore the White Mountains and northern New Hampshire easily and without congestion. The facilities are dated but spotlessly clean. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This campground is listed as Shelburne, NH and it's conveniently located off Highway 2. It is very convenient to Mt. Washington and other area attractions. The sites were very level and the people at reception were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We had site #30. Pull-thru with full service. Cable TV has 3 stations. No WiFi. Too many trees. Leaves and branches fell on top of slide outs. Only dumpster is at front office. Picnic tables are "gross". Old- moldy and we didn't touch them. Rec. room and laundry room smelled so moldy that we didn't use them. Smells real bad. $3/day charge for A.C. and or heater. Owners were very nice but this campground needs some clean-up & paint up... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
WOW - the train noise at night was an added bonus to the un-kept appearance of the park. The unlevel sites added to the rustic feeling. I would NEVER stay here again. The owners were nice but MAJOR work needs to be done, including moving the park away from the train that rolls through at 2am. Spend your money wisely and stay at a KOA. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
It's a very nice park. The roads could be wider, but it's okay. Lots of trees, so no satellite access. Quiet. Site was level. Personnel very nice. Well stocked store. Easy access to Gorham... the moose tour is a must! We were there in July and there were LOTS of mosquitos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$24
Close to road, some truck noise during the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
This was one of the worst places we have stayed; the bugs were so bad that we could not take our kids outside and had to run them to the truck. The picnic tables were very dirty and moldy. The sites were just big enough to get a trailer into. The grass was long, but they did have a nice pool; but it was hard getter there because of the bugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2002
$21
This park is very rustic. Roads were gravel/dirt. Sites were dirt and not very level. There were lots of trees making it hard to get in to some sites. Electricity was low voltage. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com