218957 User submitted reviews online!!
Fernwood Resort Big Sur was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (831) 667-2422
CGID3411

Fernwood Resort Big Sur

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   8   6   3   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$70
Yes, this is Big Sur, so you would expect to pay through the nose for a campground. However, for $70/night, you would still expect the showers to be free. More importantly, you would expect the campsites to be level, and for the campground owners to have a realistic sense of what size vehicles can fit into each site. We were lucky that other campsites were available when we arrived so that we could move into a different site after making multiple attempts to fit our 32' motorhome into a tiny unlevel site. The people who arrived at 11 pm with a large fifth wheel were apparently not so lucky -- it took them an hour, in the dark, to get their RV parked. Not sure I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$62
Nice spot near the river. Restrooms were decent. Showers required quarters to use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
We really enjoyed our stay here for 4 days. Overall, we were pleased with the campsite. We give it a '7' for the following reasons: 1) The site was so sloped that I had to use every single leveling block I had. 2) The trash bins were not emptied often enough and were overflowing almost every day. 3) The entrance to the park hiking trails was not marked very well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
It is a beautiful campground on river plenty of trees and close to ocean. Hiking, swimming, fishing my family had a blast. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
We stayed here over our kids' spring break. We were here during the week Tuesday and left on a Sat. During the week it was very family oriented. The campground was quiet during the week. The bathrooms, shower, and dish cleaning area were clean. Our site was right on the river which was very nice. There was a nice meadow where we flew kites and played catch. Would recommend getting a site across the bridge if you can. This is where we stayed, and it seemed a lot nicer. On the negative side the sites are very close together. When Friday came folks showed up for the weekend, and the campground was loud well into the night. No quiet time enforced. Pulling into the campground was not easy. There is a very tight turn at the bottom of the driveway. Our RV is 32 feet and I was able to make the turn with some maneuvering. There is now sewer hookup. We would stay here again but would avoid the weekends and would try to get a site on the other side of the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is not a park for a 5th wheel. The entrance from the highway was such that we hit the 5th wheel,a 25 footer,with the bed of our pickup. The road in was rough and one lane with a blind corner. The "j-turn" at the bottom of the road would have been almost impossible if there had been anyone camped in the two sites next to it. I feel the person who took our reservation was very remiss in not forewarning us that the entrance was a problem for 5th wheels. The area we were camped in had no grass--just dirt. Thankfully we didn't have any rain. One set of restrooms was shut down and the porta potties provided were totally disgusting, dumpsters were overflowing, and electric and water services were placed in such a way that it was a challenge to get everything hooked up. The only redeeming feature was the setting. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
It's just a parking spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
This campground has a beautiful setting, driving down into it is like going into a national forest. The river was freezing cold, but the water was clean and sparkly. Very nice people running it, and a great restaurant and bar at the entrance. Nice live music and food on weekends. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Unfortunately, no sewer and no dump station, but this campground is beautiful and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
We really enjoyed this campground. It is as close as you can get to a state/national park campground with hookups. The sites are a little tight to back into with a MH and the road down the hill is a bit of a challenge to navigate but it really is beautiful. Every site is in the redwoods. Sites 2 and 3 are ideal for a MH and there is a creek that bubbles over rocks directly behind you with your fire ring over looking it. Loved it and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Do not take a big rig!! They will allow a maximum trailer length of 36' but the J turn at the bottom of the steep downward road is very difficult for anything over 25 or 30 feet. We would have probably done damage to the rear of our trailer if we didn't have rollers attached. We were the camp entertainment for the evening getting our 36' fifth wheel into our space. It has nice wooded sites with huge redwood trees and a river behind. The bathrooms were primitive and didn't look clean. Also, there was no sewer hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
Beautiful location on the river. Very quiet. Went with a group of 2 tents and 2 campers. I had to share electric with my friend, even when the brochure showed the site having it's own electric. Getting down the driveway to the campground my fifth-wheel hit the bed of my truck. No dump site available there, we were told to go to State Park about a mile or so away. Due to the entrance being so steep, I will not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
The service from the staff was very low. Much less service than even a state campground. But, that's not the reason to come here. It is a wonderful location. And they do keep it clean. We happened to get a larger site right on the river. If I ever came again I would want the same spot!(Sorry don't remember the site number.) The river is so nice, and the sound of it is so soothing to sleep to. The kids had a great time and played in the river most of the time. The two worst things about this campground are: (1) There are no sewer hook ups, and no dump station. You have to go a few miles up the road and pay to dump at a state park. (2) When you enter (and leave) there is an extemly tight 'J' turn at the bottom of the hill into the park, with tall trees lining the turn. So if your trailer is over 27' well, it is very difficult! That said I loved the stay, but would only return in a smaller motorhome (NOT our 30' travel trailer), and have a 100 gallon gray water tank. Improve the turn into the park, I'd give it a solid 8. Add sewer hook ups maybe a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
The giant redwoods and their aroma make this a wonderful stop on your journey. The river babbles behind the campsites and it feels like Scout camp from days of old. The bathrooms remind you of Scout camp too! They are really primative with dirty concrete floors and showers that barely qualify. There is no dump station so we paid $8 to use the one at the near-by state park. However, about a mile up the road is the Big Sur River Inn and Restaurant. It is not to be missed. Wonderful decks made of native logs melt down the hill to the river below where bent-wood furniture sits in the water. Use the stepping stones and relax as the water ebbs around you. There is Wi-Fi hookup so you can sit and lunch and compute with no one to bother you. We paid $5 for our youngster to swim while we enjooyed the afternoon. Dogs on leashes are also welcome on the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$29
Your in the Red Woods and the river runs through the camp ground. There are approximately 35 electric and water sites. Roads are narrow but I managed to maneuver with my 32 foot Class A in the dark. Very few site would handle a big rig over 35 Ft. If your wanting to use your satellite dish, pick sites 66 or 24 both give you a view of the southern sky. Lots of woods to tent camp in and some tent camp site along the river. They also offer tent cabins for rent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com