219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Dosewallips State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (360) 796-4415
CGID3413

Dosewallips State Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   8   9   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Clean park, good hookups (not all sites have hookups), clean bathrooms, pay shower worked well (but only 2 for entire campground), and open meadow loops. Note: WA state charges more for non-residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
Nice state park. We arrived on a Thursday. The entire park may have had 6 campers. Very quiet. But come the weekend, the whole parked filled up. Lots of families. Great hiking trails. Sites are spacious. Costs are high in WA state parks, in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a beautiful, spacious campground. Sites are plentiful and located among tall trees and meadow area. A very limited number of sites looked to be available online, but many were open the days we were there - I would have chosen a different site within our ring if the system were different. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is just another well-run Washington State Park campground! The graveled, full hookup sites are arranged as spokes on circles but, in contrast to what we had experienced at other WA parks, in this park the center of the circles had towering trees which added to the overall appearance and privacy. The sites are fairly wide; we had #31 which was wider than average and it even had enough of an angle through the trees that we could get satellite TV. There is some noise from the nearby highway but it was hardly noticeable. WA parks aren't cheap but they're well-maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
It was very wet when we stayed at this campground, so many of the sites were closed. It is a very pleasant park, but it is very close to the highway. This was during the winter with our windows closed, but it would be another issue in the summer with windows open. The wildlife here is great. We saw five Bald Eagles at the same time! There are very few satellite sites because of the trees. Our Verizon phone and data card worked well. It is an interesting area, particularly if you are into birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$6
Beautiful park, well-maintained with spacious sites with mature trees and grass. Good trails to both the Dosewallips River and to Hood Canal. Lots of bald eagles and some ospreys. Will definitely come again and stay longer. Price reflects senior off-season pass rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
A very spacious wide open campground. No privacy sites, you see your neighbors. Campsites along the highway gets noisy during the day, but the noise goes away by nightfall. Only 2 digital TV stations, FOX and FOX 2 (acuweather channel). Lots of children at the campgrounds when we went. If you like river fishing, oyster shucking and/or digging clams, they are all within walking distance away. Elk was seen during our stay although we didn't see any, it has been said that there are elks here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This is a scenic, green state park with large trees, expansive lawns, and nice walks down to the Hood Canal. There are hiking trails in to the forest and it is quiet and peaceful in May before school is out. Some of the sites back up to Highway 101, which is not a problem in winter when your windows are closed, but it could be a problem in summertime heat. The rangers were polite and helpful and the cell service is great here. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
Very nice park. The sites are laid out in "circles of ten" with lots of grass. There is good spacing between each site. Lots of trees for shade (and for entertaining cats who like to watch little animals run up and down the trees...). Since this was winter, parts of the park were closed. But the part that was open had full hookup sites (w/e/s), partial hookup sites (w/e) and some "electric only" sites, as well as tent sites and some camping cabins. The rate I paid is for "full hookup." The "partial" was $1 less. I don't remember what "electric only" was. Tent sites were $14. Restrooms were fairly clean for a state park. Showers required tokens, 50 cents for 3 minutes. For those who don't have satellites and rely on antenna, I got two digital channels. Verizon Air Card worked here. Believe it or not, there was even a camp host! I talked to them and they were great people! The camp hosts told me that there wasn't a ranger at night, but one could be called within 15 minutes if needed. Park wasn't very crowded when I was there, only three RV's. Great park if you like to RV in the winter time. In Washington State, only the parks on the coast stay open year round. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Hosted this park for the month of October. This is a wonderful park with a great staff. Six miles of moderate hiking trails. Three cabins with room for an RV and three platform tents with room for a small RV are available. Problem with the platform tents is the pit toilets. Campground has limited number of shower stalls (2 in the main campground). There's a beach available for seasonal clamming/oyster picking. A large herd of elk (up to 70 strong) can be seen in and around the park in the fall and winter. Within walking distance of 2 restaurants, a gas station, and a liquor store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
Another great Washington State Park. Beautiful, located on the river and across the road on the bay for picknicking. Only downside is some sites back up to main highway 101: which is noisy during day but not much traffic during nights we were here. Big sites, firepits with wood available. Some pull-throughs and big back-in sites with mostly trailers: we were one of a few large motorhomes but we still had plenty of room for our rig, with space to spare. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a wonderful campground with a wonderful layout. There are large trees for shade with large open areas for children and pets to play. The campground is monitored and picked up each day by the staff of volunteers. There is access to the river and the Hood Canal. We watched deer and elk walk through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice state park. I liked the wagon wheel arrangement as the sites were quite large. Ours was uneven but we were able to level OK. Only one loop has sewer and if you want to be by the river, there are no hookups available. We used this park as a base to explore Olympic NP which was an hour drive and also the Kitsap peninsula which was also and hour drive. Campground was full on the weekend but most cleared out Sunday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Very nice campground. The hosts were a really nice couple, if you go, make sure to meet them. We loved the circles for parking the rig, lots of space. Lovely setting. Very well maintained. The park staff are friendly and knowledgeable. One complaint, fires. Seems that people like to have their camp fires burning from dawn until bedtime. It would have been PERFECT except for my asthma, and the impossibility to keep the windows open. Other than that, the place is great!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Park has 100 sites but only sites 1 through 40 have water, electric, or sewer. This is an outstanding park to bring kids or grandkids, and this past weekend it appeared that everyone in northwestern Washington had. As a result it was a bit noisy, but that was okay. Lots of kids, dogs and bikes, and plenty of room for all of them to be outside enjoying the park. Sites are all situated on circles at the end of driveways. This provides all of the sites with a good amount of privacy, and easy access. Interior roads are good paved, but the campsites themselves are dirt or dirt/gravel mixed. There are acres of well maintained lawns for the kids to run about on. There is both salt water and fresh water access, but we never made it there as the grandkids were having too much fun close to camp. One word of warning. Make sure that you are well stocked on groceries as there is little or nothing nearby to stock you up. Again, for senior types looking for a quite weekend. It ain't gonna happen. Looking for a great place to take kids or grandkids. This is it We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Had a wonderful weekend at Dosewalips SP and hiked in the Olympic National Forest. Campground was well spaced out (wagon wheel parking makes it feel more open), plus there was a large open space between the wheels where kids could play. Lots of children and pets, but not overly noisy. A bit of road noise from Hwy 101, but not too bothersome. Well patroled by State Park employees and they keep the park clean. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Beautiful state park on the Dossewallips River. Lots of salmon spawn in there in September - a sight to see! Nice small restaurants within walking distance north and south. Good beer to the south, good pie to the north. Reserve in advance for weekends thru the state park web site or 800#, for $7 per reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$22
This is a great Washington State campground and is located in a popular area on Hood Canal. There is bike riding,hiking,clam and Oyster digging in season and just an all-round sense of relaxation. There are a couple of good restaurants located in walking distance. The camp sites are set in circles and large enuff to afford some privacy,but close enuff together so that if you are in a group you can feel together. There is one LARGE group site and a smaller one, but these fill up early. The campground also has several large platform tents for rent at $35 a nite.. Wonderful family experience,but get your reservations in early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com