220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Mustang Hollow Campground (formerly Lake Corpus Christi Mathis KOA) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (361) 547-5201
CGID3416

Mustang Hollow Campground (formerly Lake Corpus Christi Mathis KOA)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   9   8   3   2   7   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Rustic campground. Nice folks in the office. Level gravel, with table and tree, fire ring. Good bathrooms. Two toilets and three showers at the upper area. There are three other bathrooms down by the lakeside sites; but the roads down there very rutted. Wi-Fi very slow; no cable TV. Roads badly rutted. We had a nice big site in front and couldn't see the permanent trailer park further toward the lake. Pool too cold for me. Bathrooms old, but clean. Very little highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2013
$37
I need to reiterate an earlier review. Although the staff is friendly, this is NOT the place to stay if you want a good night's sleep! Start with loud diesels coming in and out of the park until after 11 PM. Follow that up with a 4:30 AM train that sounds like it is coming straight at you. Should you be able to fall back asleep, you will be awoken at about 5:30 with more diesel pick ups running up and down the road as apparently these people are leaving for work. The one next to us "warmed his truck up" for about 30 minutes before pulling out. We will definitely not be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Our truck broke down again and we sat on the side of the freeway for 2 hours. Eventually, we found a KOA nearby and asked if they could help. The husband of the work camper couple came out, hooked up our trailer, and towed us to a beautiful site overlooking the wildlife reserve and pool area. We ended up staying 2 nights while figuring out what to do with our truck. We felt welcomed right away. Yes, there are a lot of permanent residents there, but the park was clean and inviting. There are several wild birds, including peacocks, walking around and they will even stop to pose for a picture. I am so grateful for all the help and hospitality we received from this KOA. We will stay here again when traveling through this part of TX. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
The staff was wonderful. They led us to our site. The office is open until 8pm. We were in sun until evening, as shade tree was behind us. We did not care for Mesquite beans falling on top of trailer, but other than that, it was a very nice park. The Wifi worked well. We loved the resident peacocks parading around the grounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
Where to begin? Dirt roads with big holes, train tracks 15 yards from campsites, many pipeline workers and permanent residents in trashy sites, dog waste not picked up, the laundry room stunk because washers drain back up into empty washers. I had to rewash my clothes twice in order to get the stench out of them. The closest grocery store is 12 miles away, the closest Wal-Mart is 22 miles away, Corpus Christi is 35 miles away The staff was friendly but we would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
We spent 3 nights here and would not go back again. We were given a site that was totally inappropriate for our 38 ft 5th wheel and told that nothing else was available. The trees interfered with the slides, the site was not level and it took us over an hour in the pitch dark to get settled in. The owner apologized to us the following morning and said we never should have been put there (duh!) as there were lots of big rig spaces in another area of the park. The park seems to be filled with long-term residents and while we were unhitching there was a loud, foul-mouthed, verbal dispute happening in the site next to us. The trains make a heck of a noise, the park is not well-maintained, and we were surprised that it is part of the KOA program. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We chose a nice long pull through with full shade on the west side. Nice quiet park this time of year. Park is on large lake and has a fishing pier with room for some small boats. Water has a strong sulfer odor. Pool water was extremely warm, not unusual this time of year but all the same was not refreshing. Could be a little cleaner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
I have been here over two weeks and I have yet to find a dirty bathroom or shower and I have used them all. I don't understand why you folks call this place a dump. Yes, It is very rustic with lots of trees. The roads do need some work but they are not bad enough to cause equipment damage. I did not find any "Rotting Trailers" or a "Green Pool" The pool is nice and clear. The drinking water does not stink. The closest RV spot is better than 100 yards form the RR tracks not "100'" but yes the Train is loud. The Train comes thru once in the middle of the night (so far) and twice during the day. The owner and staff have been most helpful. This place is for people who like the rustic outdoors of South Texas. If that's not your cup of tea then stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
The roads could be improved upon, but overall this is a nice campground. Friendly people, clean park and nice amenities. I've been coming to this park for fifteen years now and am never disappointed in my stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
My husband and our children have been camping many different ways at the Mathis KOA over a ten year span, and we love it. The restrooms are so clean here they are tempting to sleep in on a cold night. We are pretty sure there is a secret bathroom fairy because they are always clean no matter if there are one or fifty campers. The roads are just fine if you are real campers and love rolling hills with wildlife to see. The peacocks still entertain our children who are now sixteen and thirteen, and yes they still collect feathers. The people that own this park make it hard to leave: they are so family-like and fun to talk to it makes it hard to pull out and make that drive home. Usually the ride home the conversation always goes to those darn good pancakes they serve and why I cannot make them like that! We love the pool because it is a clean, safe area for us and the kids now and when they were young. Just wanted to get the truth out even though we are not totally hip on sharing our paradise with the world. As young campers we know good family places are hard to come by and we want to make it easy on others when trying to keep good old fashion camping family time alive! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
I'm not sure who should be more ashamed of this campground the owners or Corporate KOA. Where do I start?: horrible roads, very outdated electric hookups; in fact the first site I was given had services on the wrong side; at the second site when I opened the electric box to plug my motorhome in I discovered no outlet at all, just open exposed live wires. How could this happen and how do they get a presidents award for '08? These are the questions I want to know answers for. Bathrooms, office, and game room were quite disgusting, including roaches. I cut my stay very short. This campground in one to just pass on your travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This is a very poorly kept camp ground, I would never go back to it, I'd rather camp in a wal-mart parking lot. Its 10 miles to a store that offers anything. The roads are in bad shape. It's name is missleading, yes it sets on Lake Corpus Christi how ever it is a 50 mile one way trip to Corpus Christi. I found the staff to be very unfriendly. There is a very nice state park on around the bend from this one, that still puts you in the same area and about the same driving distance, but better kept, nice staff, good facilities, and will stay there next time I travel threw that area. They have a sign on the front window that says they offer wifi, however it only runs at a min., and makes net service hard to retrieve. I had to give it a rating of one only because this site wont allow zero's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$38
Nice overnight stay right on the lake. Staff were helpful with a problem we had with are RV, would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This park is so old the electrics, sewer and water hookups are in constant 'breakdown' mode. It appears the owners have bluffed the KOA standards team. Their internal roads badly need grading and the owners do not set an example on the speed limit, throwing dust through everyones RVs.The worst KOA we have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
This campground is for those who want to see nature outside their rigs. It is unique with it's rural outdoor atmosphere. The people here all seem to be "country friendly". It's not for everyone, but for those who keep coming back, it's a real home type atmosphere. We'll keep coming back! We came for a month and stayed for 3 1/2 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
A wonderful state park, lots of wildlife and beautiful scenery and a wonder full fishing lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Sites are not marked very well, roads are in need of repair, sites are not level. The park is in need of repair and clean up, a lot of the sites appear to have abandoned trailers and campers with a lot of junk on sites. Was not able to get to the lake due to the roads in bad repair. Would not recommend this park to any one. It is questionable as to why KOA would even have it listed with the shape that it is in at this time. We have stayed in numerous KOA parks and this is the worst. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
This park has great potential but needs some attention. There is great disparity between one section of the park to another. We were first taken to the D section where the sites were so bad you couldn't even drive through the dip to get out of the pull throughs. We finally ended up in A which was adequate. However, the restrooms were so dirty that I wouldn't use them and there was trash on the ground. This is absolutely the worst KOA I've every stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
This park is over 20 years old and really needs some work. There are too many trees in the drives that makes it hard for a "big rig" to get to the site without hitting them. The 30 amp service consists of "old ceramic fuses". If you're lucky you might get 22.5 amps from 30 amps. This park is quite a way off the interstate and it doesn't even make it a nice place to spend the night. I would never go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$31
Just off I-37 and about 45 minute drive north of CC. Park appears to be older. Non-paved sites. The only negative is sites are very close to each other. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots of Peacocks roaming about-outdoor pool-very large playground area-family friendly-lake access. Active train tracks only a couple of hundred yards away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com