219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Scott State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (620) 872-2061
CGID3419

Scott State Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   6   9   8   9   9   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
We really enjoyed this campground. Since it is a state park, we had to pay the vehicle entrance fee. I chose to purchase the annual vehicle pass for $25.00. The fees to stay two nights was a $42.00 Use Fee and a $3.00 Transaction Fee. The scenery was very nice, especially for Kansas. Lake with fishing, swimming, and rental canoes and paddleboats. Lots of trees and hills for hiking. Viewed loads of geese and saw two deer. Negotiating the park with my 35' fifth wheel was easy. Sites were gravel/grass and almost level. Bathhouse looked fairly new from outside, but I didn't go inside. We want to return to this camp for a future visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This is a beautiful little lake in western Kansas. We stayed here a couple years ago and again had the opportunity on our way to Colorado to stay here recently. I can't say enough about how peaceful and lovely this area is. Our kids rented canoes at the beach house, then swam at the beach area. The Beach House is a little market/rental building that stocks quite a bit of camping supplies. Lots of shade around the spring-fed lake, which sits down in a basin/canyon surrounded by limestone bluffs. The last time we were here I didn't use the shower house. This time we did use it and it is pretty typical of state park bath houses. Adequate, with private toilets and shower stalls. It took the water at least 5 full minutes, maybe longer, to get warm. Just when I was getting ready to give up, the water turned warm. There really isn't a good dry place to dress after showering. But, everything worked and we still thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here, wishing we could have stayed another night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This park has two different loops. One older and smaller with grass sites and the other much larger. A nice place to stay for a nite or two in Western Kansas. Biggest negative is the check in process. You must pay a campground fee along with a check in fee on one computer system. Then you have to pay another fee for just being there, on another computer system. And if you happen to be behind someone also purchasing a fishing license, just take a seat. They have lounge chairs available. I was in the office almost forty five minutes just to check in and get a site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
The setting is beautiful. Coming up on the park you see nothing but cornfields but you come into the canyon of Scott Lake. The park was nearly empty when we stayed on a Thursday night and I had not bothered to make a reservation due to the availability of unreserved sites. This park is off the beaten path so I didn't expect it to be crowded. Of course we arrived during a heat wave and the temp was 108 when we reached the park. The camping areas were gravel with some shaded sites. The RV sites are not next to the lake but only a short walk away. There is a swim beach and it looked like they rented small boats. Our water spigot leaked profusely when hooked up to my hose and we never saw the camp host. The restrooms were OK, not sure I would describe them as modern (maybe that means running water) as another poster said but they were fine and comparable to many other state parks. They did not have any ventilation and thus were very hot so we waited for the sun to go down to shower. There is a historical site in the park, El Cuartelejo ruins, where Pueblo Indians built a 7 room structure back in the late 1600's when they left New Mexico to escape Spanish rule. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
If you are traveling on I-70 through western Kansas and are looking for a great place to camp, go south of Oakley about 35 miles to Scott Lake State Park. Like the other posters have said, it is truly an oasis of beauty in the otherwise drab plains region. Very peaceful, well kept campground with nice modern shower house. Not fancy but definitely adequate with separate private shower stalls. The campsites are spaced well and many are pull-through. And there are an ample amount of sites that reservations shouldn't be needed. Leveling shouldn't be a problem. The lake has a nice clean beach area with small store adjacent to it. There are lots of hiking trails and places to explore around the lake. Camp hosts are very friendly people ... and Kansas campers are very friendly people, too. I would have rated it 10 if there were sewer hookups in more campsites, but the dump station is very well maintained and easy to navigate through. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This campground is a gem in western Kansas. Price is for 50 amp & water, dump station on site. Large sites close to lovely lake. Very nice beach area with canoe/row boat rentals on weekend. Washrooms are dated, but clean. Large trees with a nice view of the lake. Virtually nobody there until the weekend maybe 1/2 p/w sites filled up. Excellent hiking around the lake & into canyon. Make sure you go see the Monument Rocks 15 miles away. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Beautiful state park with a number of camping areas from tents only to motorhomes with pull through spots. There are now 5 reservable sites with sewer in addition to W and E. Some 50amp sites but most W & E sites are 30amp. Wide sites allow for plenty of space to play or sit. Tables available and firerings in the tent areas. The park is filled with families each weekend but the weekdays are quiet. This is a fishing lake so fishing is better during the week. Beach area for swimming and boat launch. No cell, wifi and very little TV reception but this is probably because the park is surrounded by limestone bluffs and prairie hills. There is a prehistoric site at the park which draws many historians. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
A nice campground, and a good spot to see the Museum in Scott City about the surrounding area. Real nice personel there, and it has a map of the inland seas from when this area was under water. Plan on driving out to see Monument rocks. One of the showers are enclosed the other is open air. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$19
Nice quite place even for a holiday weekend. We were surprised by number of people using this state park on such a windy weekend. Being in a low area you don't know its there until you are in it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Several camping sites are available in this park. Sites near the lake were "active" with boaters. We stayed in a heavily wooded camp area with no hookups for three nights. Good walking area. Trees were in need of trimming. Many "widow makers" were just hanging from trees and dangerous. Trees were low and some unavoidable when driving on the roadways. Too bad, because otherwise a pleasant park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$16
This is a beautiful location in a valley. It was strange to come up on it, in nomally flat Kansas. We were only passing by and had to drive thru for a look see. They had restrooms, showers, dump, good roads and ample sized sites. We will certainly stop on our next trip thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com