217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Garlic Farm RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (408) 842-6185
CGID342

Garlic Farm RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
158
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   5   10   7   8   6   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Like other have said, way too many permanent residents and with them come clutter, cars parked in the way, kids running around leaving their toys all over the place. It appears they keep 6 sites available for short term users. It looks roomy on a satellite view but the trees and shrubs are placed in bad places. The trees need trimming and the shrubs are so close I couldn't open some of my basement doors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This place is only good for an overnight stay and nothing else! There are no fire pits, no picnic tables at the site, and way too many full-timers for my liking. The only redeeming factors for this place are the low prices, full hook-ups, and closeness to some fast food joints for a quick bite to eat. But I wouldn't stay here for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Park is mostly long term residents who go to work every day, with a few very tight spaces for over night guests in the middle row. We were advised that one bathroom was out of service and not to use the other close one since the locks did not work. Long term residents cut through open sites with no regard for adjacent guests, driving extremely fast, in spite of many children in the streets. Easy access to propane and diesel at the adjacent truck stop, though speaking Spanish would definitely make your purchase experience easier. We were here for a quick overnight stop, and for that purpose it's OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$46
This is a very nice park if you are passing through, or if you have business in the San Jose Area. The managers and maintenance staff are terrific, and the park is very clean. There is a large amount of permanent residents, but I find that is true of most RV parks these days. These folks obviously took pride in their park. Yes, there are some children playing, but what curmudgeon doesn’t enjoy watching kids have a good time? The park is right off the freeway, and there is a Chevron station right across the street with easy RV access. There are also several fast food restaurants nearby. Best of all, an ice cream truck made the rounds through the park one evening, which earned the park five stars as far as I’m concerned. The bathrooms and laundry were all very clean. We come to this area quite a bit, and plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Nice concrete slabs with a slight patio area, with some nice little landscaping and trees. Cable and Wi-Fi worked fine. There is traffic noise from 101 and there are lots of kids. It is a mostly permanent resident park. The noise died down at night. My Sprint cell and Verizon MiFi worked well here. The facilities seemed nice and the staff was friendly. I would do a overnight here again, even though I think the nightly rate is a little high for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$39
I found this park to be a good midway stop point traveling N/B on US Hwy 101 from Pismo Beach to I-5 and Corning, CA. Good level pull through sites in area of fast food restaurants, gas stations, a truck stop and wash, and other light industry. I fueled with diesel at the adjacent truck stop and price for diesel was cheapest of anywhere in California. RV park has excellent cable TV with close to 50 channels plus HD. Wi-Fi service also provided for free, but it worked for about 1/2 hour during the evening and then no more. To be fair, my one night stop was made during a pretty intense rain and wind storm. Prior review about long-term residents and their loud, diesel pick up trucks was accurate. No problem in PM, but the park comes alive at 5:30 AM which worked for me as that is my dogs normal wake up time. Office staff and long-term residents were friendly. Good class of working people and well-maintained RV's in park. You feel safe. I did use one of the island restrooms and showers. It was very clean and I had seen a young lady cleaning it when I arrived in the late afternoon. I would recommend this park for a one night stop. There does not appear to be any alternatives in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Paved streets with cement slabs for your RV and nice trees - this is a nice park in itself. However, it is about 1/3 full of full-time residents that are young families living in RVs with 2 cars each (in addition to their RV) parked all over the place, most of the men have large trucks they must work out of that they start up very early in the morning. The kids kind of take over the park in the evening running around riding bikes and playing. Yesterday evening a teenager was playing a very loud, out of tune trombone! The park is located in an industrial area near Highway 101 - but you can hardly hear the traffic. Not a destination place, but good for a night or two. The Wi-Fi is not good, you get kicked off all the time and have to keep logging in over and over, then it's as slow as dial-up. Also, there is a strange yucky smell in this town and it's does not smell like garlic! I don't know what it is - one local thought it was from "Gilroy Foods" - kind of burns the eyes! The management here is tolerant of reasonable requests, as we had to have a wheel hub seal replaced on our rig and they allowed a mobile mechanic to come and do it there, which we appreciated because we would have had to take it somewhere and then back to the RV park again. So that worked out very nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Nice park, only about half full. Lots are cement and level but fairly tight if you had neighbors on both sides. Nice front office, good power, water, cable. Wi-fi mostly good, server down a few times for a very short time. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Clean park and handy to everything we wanted to do and see. It is a tad expensive for what you get, but this is California. They pick up garbage/recyclables at your site. Friendly staff. We had partial shade for part of the day. It will get better as trees grow. Would definitely stay here again. The only negative is the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
We had reservations for a week. Very affordable! The place was lovely and clean. Family friendly. Unfortunately, we did notice a lot of full timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
We spent one overnight stay here in a big rig. Front desk person was very nice. Once we got in, there were cars parked everywhere, including in the roadway. Security gates did not work and "have not worked in years" according to the desk person. Laundry was propped open and there were people just hanging out there, such that my wife did not feel safe. Children were running around in the streets until late at night. It is off the freeway and fairly quiet, and there is easy access in and out. We stay in the area frequently and most likely will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed here for 8 nights while we attended the U.S Open golf tournament in Pebble Beach. The park was very clean and well kept up. It is "family friendly" only in that there is a pool. It is small. Our main complaint would be that it is poorly managed. The manager lost our reservation which was made 6 months in advance. The permanent residents seem to have taken over the park. Supplies in the restroom/showers do not seem to be stocked and I assume it is because they are stolen. Teenagers living there almost took over the pool while I was in it with my toddler grandchildren so we left. It is fine for a quick overnight stop, but I would not recommend it for any longer than that. It was very affordable however and a Good Sam member park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
We are here staying for 3 nights. We checked in OK but they gave us the wrong codes to the bathrooms on a sheet of paper. Very frustrating as the office then closed and we wanted to take showers. They say they have Wi-Fi but don't mention it costs you $6 a day. We have never paid for Wi-Fi as of yet at an RV resort, and gave the gal at the desk the name of the service we used at all of them but she didn't write it down so I know they are not making much of an effort to change this. Most of the people here are permanent residents with children. There are tons of small kids and teenagers that hang out in the bathroom areas. One of the permanent people tied their dog up outside and he barks all day and into late late evening. Have to say we've not been to a park yet where that is allowed either. The website looked great but this was a really disappointing stay. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$37
I've stayed here twice before this. The location is good for my travel route on Hwy 101, and I always stop at the Monterrey Bay Aquarium after. The travel plaza next door has all the fuel and conveniences, and there are a bunch of fast food type restaurants an easy walk to your site. The sites are all paved and there are lots of pull throughs. Didn't use the pool as it was January, but it's in great shape and looks fine. I like their little club house at the pool, with a picnic area etc. The Wi-Fi worked fine for me--it's as good as at most places. I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
Check in was a breeze with the gal at the desk. They have cleaned the place up and got out some of the perms. I used the Wi-Fi for email and it worked OK. Not a lot of parking spaces, but the pull throughs work fine. The club house looks good for a small group. (An amazing stainless steel kitchen). The have discounts for local attractions if you ask. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We spent a month in this park: found the Halloween holiday nice for the kids. We found the park to be clean and well operated with a new manager, new paint and close by to San Jose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$46
Don't stay here. Poor internet service. Poor laundry facilities. Poor little swimming pool and an empty club house. Nothing under, over, on or around your RV, so don't bring anything you can't keep inside your unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$1
This is a late review as we stayed at Garlic Farm RV Park in December 2008. We weren't comfortable with a large number of the guests. There was just an unattractive element that gave me the creeps. I walked my dog once and kept the door closed and locked the night we were here. As far as the park, the internet was not working, the electricity went out for a couple hours in the morning and the water tasted pretty foul. This park was not an enjoyable experience for me and we will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$46
Clean, and near truck stop offering diesel at good price. Nice people, but, our site was not wide enough to open slides. Also tree scrapped roof. Poorly positioned big rocks on side of site. It may be that they have better sites to accommodate a 40 + tow. They apologized when I verbally complained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
Stayed here while attending the Garlic Festival. My husband and I were satisfied with the park. I was pleased they offered a shuttle at no extra cost to and from the festival. We had no issues with the management and or perm residents. We would stay here again if in Gilroy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
It doesn't get much worse than this. At least the electricity, water and sewer were adequate. The sites are so narrow that we could not put out the slide on the driver's side. We also got a couple of shrubbery marks on the passenger side because of the lack of space. The office was closed the whole time in spite of a sign on the door advertising normal hours. The key code operated gate was locked in the up position the whole time. No security. Greasy smoke from 3 fast food joints next to the park. Intense road noise from 101 and the truck stop right behind the park. The wireless internet never worked while we were there. Some of the other 'guests' looked pretty bad but we did not have any particular trouble with them. The rate was about 3 times what I would consider reasonable. Do not go near this place. A few miles south of town there are some other parks that are in a much nicer setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
Management was very helpful. Park was nice and clean. Great place to stop when wanting to see nearby attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Nice park; no pet area. Very little grass. The landscaping is mostly large clumps of hard dirt rocks, which are hard to walk on. Upon our check in a man in the office who identified himself as the manager, said he had ‘nothing to do, so he’d help us” get settled in. He went out to our RV, which was parked in the registration area and immediately started yanking on my tow bar. I was behind him and had to yell to him not to touch the tow bar handles as the unit was not straight and they would not release on a curve. When I finally caught up to him, he was waiting patiently for us to straighten up. After we straightened he started “helping” us undo the tow. I was very specific and told him not to undo any cords from the RV but to disconnect ONLY from the car end. He said OK. Less than 2 minutes later he handed me my electrical cord’s adapter - disconnected from the RV. Seeing that the cord had a pin adapter plus my verbal instructions should have given him a clue that this cord has a delicate connection and should not be yanked. I said nothing and we proceeded to our spot. When we arrived at our spot he came over in his truck. He insisted that we park in such a way that our slide trunks wouldn’t open. I informed him of the trunk problems and also the unusual location of our sewer connections and his response was “I know”. It is impossible for him to know the particulars of every make/model of RV, so I found his comment ridiculous. When I told him again that his parking position wouldn’t work for our configuration he got very nasty and insisted saying “I am the manager and it’s my park and I know how to park RV’s”! I told him that we have a similar problem when we stay at a resort in San Diego and we just angle the coach a little and it works well. He answered saying “This isn’t San Diego, and I’m the manager, and you can’t do that!”. I then asked him why we couldn’t angle a little and he said that our car wouldn’t fit on our space. I told him that it was a small car and it would fit. He insisted that it would not, so I moved the car into the space while he watched. It easily fit. At that point he got in his truck and sped away (exceeding his own 5 mph speed limit). We then had to figure out how to park the RV from the unusual position that he had us parked us in, which took us quite a while. He pulled around to the other street and sat there and watched us the entire time. While we had an enjoyable stay, this was not an enjoyable start to our vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This park, with a bit of extra effort, could very well be a top park. The office personnel were nice and helpful. The pool area was extra nice and clean, the laundry was okay as RV laundry go. The restrooms were clean. We saw no dogs or dog waste near where we were parked. We are in a 20 foot van with a tow and had a pull through site. Plenty big for us, but pads would be a bit narrow for big rigs with slides, but doable. The trash area was a real mess with lots of weeds. With these two things corrected, the park would be great. Easy off freeway and easy entrance for big rigs. A man, working at trimming bushes, asked if we were okay, and was pleasant. Would stay here again, just would like to see a little more concern about appearance. Did look like a lot of "live-ins." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This park has paved streets and concrete pads. However, the pads are very narrow. We had to park with the wheels several inches off the pad because of a tree and electric pedestal on the opposite side. (Quad slide rig). Area is pretty clean. Only a few short term/over nighters, most appear to be long term. When I walked the dog, I did not see any loose dogs like were reported in an earlier review. There is a $1/day additional charge for cable TV. I did drive out to the other RV park here in town. It appeared to be cleaner and a little nicer as reported in the reviews. I just did not have time to check reviews before we got here!! The pads were still pretty narrow, though. If we are back in the area, we will stay at the other park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Great for a short stay only. Water real cold in the pool. People smoke in the bathrooms. Trashy toward the back with garbage around long term RVers and it looks to be a junk yard in some spaces. Tweekers run through the park at all hours. Bushes rub and scratch your RV if you have slide outs. Rules are not enforced. Owner appears to not care. Office family to take over the pool area. We stayed here a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Nice park. Good manager. All prior comments apply. Wi-Fi worked well on pad 49 - an end spot. Close to a super wally [no over night parking allowed by the city of Gilroy] and lots of other big box stores. I was here for one night and will stay here again when passing through on 101 to SF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$32
Sites are concrete and narrow, but fairly level. Nice helpful staff yet only 3 people run this park. Clean bathrooms. Laundry was lacking, many out of order machines, needs updating. Pool and spa closed for season the day we got there. Doggoneit. Great water pressure, good electricity. Fairly noisy from Hwy 101. Would stay again. We stayed a week. I noticed a lot of dog droppings on park streets, etc. With limited staff I don't think there is time for the details to be done in the park. Staff was nice and friendly though. With a little help this could be a real nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Too many loose, barking dogs. Permanent residents allow their dogs to run free and do their business. Our site was loaded with dog mess. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
We won't be going back to Garlic Farm. Although the daughters live close by, we will find a different park to stay at. Prior visits to the park proved to be enjoyable. The facilities were clean and the atmosphere was great. Our last visit (Sept. '06) wasn't as pleasant. The restrooms were unsanitary, residents dogs barked all night, and there was dog excrement everywhere. There are so many permanent residents in this park and the rules we were given seem to not apply to them. I had to sidestep several piles of "fresh" and "weeks old" dog waste when I was hooking up. Yuck! On the morning of our departure (we stayed two nights), a large "bear like" dog came to our campground on a leash. The owner was no where in sight and this dog took a huge dump next to our front door. Yuck again. During an evening walk we met a permanent resident walking three pugs. He allowed his dogs to do their duty without cleaning after them. Some of the permanent residents have really changed the appearance of this park. The folks across from us had a large 5th wheel. Old RV batteries and junk was laying around their trailer. Some of the permanent residents still keep their sites clean and presentable but the "flavor" of this park is certainly moving away from classy and quiet. I attempted to give face to face feedback to the manager or owner, but the office was closed due to a family emergency. So, I called and followed up with an email when we returned home. I haven't heard back from the park's management so I assume they're OK with the direction the park is going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
This was our very first visit but we really enjoyed ourselves. The park was very centrally located to so many locations, right off the freeway. The restrooms were VERY clean and the park was quiet. The pool and spa were very nice and overall a very positive experience. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Stayed here for the week of the Garlic Fest. Narrow sites, pool might be finished in Sept. Clean restrooms & showers. No recreational facilities at park. To many unsightly sites (perm. residents). No park security, park rules & regulations NOT enforced at all. O.K. for 1 night stay. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$35
I concur with the previous two reviews. Sure there is no "Garlic Farm" nearby, but it is Gilroy, the self proclaimed garlic capital of the world. If you want to, I'm sure you can find one. It's new and tidy with smallish landscaping. Lots of room to maneuver for Big Rigs w/ many pull through's up to 85 ft. We stopped there for repair of our Monaco at Guaranty RV, right next door. It's right off US 101, so noise is a factor, and there is a truck stop nearby. Diesel prices were a lot cheaper than on the San Francisco Peninsula (by 30 cents a gallon) with easy access (propane too). Within walking distance are a Carl Jr's, KFC and a reasonable coffee shop called Jeffery's. Guaranty RV has a small accessory store along with new Motor Homes to browse. It's an easy drive to a huge outlet mall (cost almost as much as the rv repair), Bonfonte Gardens amusement park, Mission San Juan Bautista and more. Take the Monterey St exit off US 101 call 877-427-5423 for reservations. I'm sure we'll stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a great stop-over park. It has easy highway access, surrounded by a travel stop (fast food, store, RV service, RV Store) and is brand new with wide spaces and cement level driveways. Restrooms are cleaned daily. Highway noise isn't a problem in back of park. Will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$32
We recently stayed at The Garlic farm. Fairly new park. All facilities are very clean with large pull through sites. I didn't see any trash or dog droppings around. Several fast foot restaurants next door to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$36
"No garlic, no farm". Visited in July, returning home to Seattle. Convenient location to main arteries; some noise from nearby truck routes but not objectionable. 158 spaces, full hookups. Plenty of spacing for large and wide rigs; restaurant & RV/truck wash nearby. New park, space landscaping. Park and bathhouses reasonably clean. Not recommended. Could be a good park, but poor management and a needless confrontation by an overzealous 'security' staff soured our experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com