218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Frontier Fort Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (701) 252-7492
CGID3426

Frontier Fort Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   8   6   5   5   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
I'm not sure where the last poster actually stayed but it clearly wasn't here. This place is a pit. They are charging $25 Passport America which implies $50 for a regular site. The roads are definitely not paved, they are dirt, the sites are dirt with tiny patches of dying grass in the small spaces between each one. The sites are full of trash and cigarette butts. They are crammed one on top of another and back to back. This is by far the worst campground we have stayed in during 4 years of full time RVing. I would never stay here again and would leave immediately if it weren't a week-end and I can't find anywhere else to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
The attraction here is Frontier Fort itself (home of the world's largest bison statue, petting and feed-the-bison zoo, etc.), not the campground. Most sites are occupied by (very friendly) long-term oil-patch workers, and for the most part well kept and clean. Casual restaurant on site (did not try). OK for big rigs with careful maneuvering (very large adjacent parking lot makes it easy to turn around, and doubles as overflow campground--without sewers). Sites are quite close to each other, and everywhere is dirt. We would stay again but only for an overnighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Twenty two per night was the Passport America rate for a full hookups site. Sites are close to each; but slides can be deployed but not awnings as there are also trees between the sites. Campground sites are level sand and gravel but the road there is paved, not dirt/mud as described in previous reviews. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Jamestown is the home of the world’s largest buffalo. They have a live buffalo herd near the campground as well as a buffalo museum and old west town. There is a restaurant on site that, although lacking atmosphere, has surprisingly good food. Jamestown is a nice small town that has a selection of national stores/restaurants as well as local stores/restaurants. We received three bars of 4G on our AT&T phone. There is free Wi-Fi in the campground which worked well for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
The campground itself was fine for an overnight stop. Long pull- through spots. There is a mile or so of dirt road to get to the park that makes it less desirable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Access roads smooth enough gravel. We have a 40 ft MH with slides on both sides. We were charged $20 (Passport) for a pull through site. Sites are too narrow with trees encroaching on both sides so we ended up using two back to back sites. Hookups are common to two sites. The park was set up for trailers. The pull through sites besides being too narrow, are not level. Only OTA signal for TV is FOX. Verizon signal good for phone and internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
The park is average at best. Not bad for an overnight stopover, especially with the Passport America rate of $18. If you check-in after hours, you have to go upstairs to the bar and find someone that has a few minutes to process you in. The bar workers were very friendly but the process is a little awkward. The sites are gravel and fairly level. The park has many trees but it was still possible to get a good satellite signal for TV. The biggest negative to this park was the bathroom/shower facilities. They could definitely use a good cleaning. Better yet, they need to be updated. I would stay here again for an overnight stop but nothing more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
As the other reviewer states, this is an OK park. I was just grateful to have a place to stay with the Labor Day weekend beginning. My overall assessment would be to call it "rustic". Had a nice shady spot and did not use the primitive showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is an OK park. Its quiet and there are trees which offer shade in the hot weather. Some of the sites are not real level, but you can work with them. I had to trim the tree at our site before opening my slide. However the sites are long with plenty of room between you and the next site and they all have picnic tables. We stayed here for 3 nights, and would stay here again. The nightly rate was Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
General Description: Pleasant setting; lots of trees. We had a pull-through Tip: Check in is at restaurant adjacent to park. If you come in after office closes go upstairs to restaurant. Pros: • Reservations available; in our case, without one we would not have had a site. • Water pressure, and power were fine. • Showers rustic, adequately sized; generally OK. • Very easy in/out. • Park of Passport America Cons: • Very tight side-to-side sites. Final word: we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Not a destination park, but certainly more than adequate for an overnight or two. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a 50 amp pull through with FHU at the PA rate of $20. There is a bar and restaurant upstairs from the office/store. They are open 4-10 daily and serve a varied menu at very reasonable prices. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This park also has a bar/restaurant, gift shop and museum on-site. The RV park seems to be a low priority for them. It is not very well-maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
There is nothing fancy about this place. This is a functional RV park. The sites are kind of level but within the parameters of the leveling system on our MH. The bathrooms and showers a functional and clean with good hot water and 1 washer and two dryers said they have 50 amp service and I looked around and didn't see any...Gravel sites with free Wi-Fi, pretty slow. However Verizon MiFi worked fine. There's a restaurant and bar above the office that is open from 4-10pm and is a big hit with the locals. Lots of steaks to choose from at reasonable prices. I had a plate of ribs that was OK. We spent 2 nights here and checked out Jamestown and then went out to the missile site and took the tour. I'm not sure I'd recommend this place for a destination but it works for 1 or two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Good little park for an overnight travel stop. Convenient to the interstate and didn't have a problem with road noise. The check-in staff was extremely accommodating to give us a site where we could use our roof mounted satellite. The campground roads were smooth and our site was level, but not very wide. Site was a pull-through and easy to maneuver for a big rig. The Wi-Fi was excellent. Didn't have any luck getting local channels with the antenna. Verizon signal was excellent. The rate stated is for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Price is Passport America. The place is kind of dumpy, but it's a good overnight and within walking distance of Frontier Village which was a lot of fun. It's also quiet. There's room to walk the dog. Good Verizon cell & air card connection. Saturday night prime rib at the restaurant was great and well priced. Okay for a couple nites but glad I paid Passport America price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
The rate reflects Passport America discount, but barely worth that. We asked for a pull through site thinking we could leave the tow car hooked up. Wrong, we could pull through one site and into ours and unhook the car because the site we pulled through would then be a back in site for someone else and be right against the back of your unit. The Wi-Fi was spotty at best. But, the restaurant and lounge above the gift shop did serve an excellent meal at reasonable prices. If needed, I might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Located in walking distance to Frontier Village. This is an OK place for short stay. The sites were mainly pull-thrus with two sites sharing an electric box. The spaces were tight with barely enough room to extend slide-outs. There is a gift shop and reasonably priced restaurant at the entrance. The small bath house includes 2 washers/dryers and clean restrooms. WiFi was free but poor reception. There was no cable and we could only pick up two stations with antenna. Cost reflects passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Not level. Trees blocked satellite. A lot of permanents. I would try other park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We have stayed here 2 days. There is plenty to do in the area and decent shopping and restaurants. The restaurant in the park is a typical bar and grill but the food was good and reasonably priced. Hookups worked as expected, sewer in our site was not above ground, site was level and the Wi-Fi was good. The laundry room and bathrooms with showers, while not particularly attractive, were clean. Price is Passport America. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
The rate given includes the Passport America discount. Most hookups are back to back and end to end. Drives need some attention. The site where we parked sloped quite a bit from one end to the other, with the sewer hookup running slightly uphill. Would we stay again, probably not, would check out the other campground in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a great place to stay with one exception. The entry road (one mile) is not paved and when I got in, my tow car was brown and not black. Reminded me of some of the roads I encountered in Alaska. Other than that, it's clean, has courteous staff, and nice shaded slots but open on the south so satellite is useable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We have two complaints. 1) the grouchy attitude of the owner, 2) the fact they do not honor the 50% Passport America fee (the full rate being $24 with PA rate starting at $16. When we mentioned this to owner, he became angry and told us we could look for another park somewhere else. We did. On the positive side, it is readily accessible from the freeway and near a frontier village and museum. Food at the restaurant was good and prices also good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
The people in the office were friendly. I did not use the restrooms, but I checked them out. They were fairly clean, but you had to walk through a dirty laundry room to get to them. The site was level, water was leaking on one of the faucets outside. There were quite a few older rigs where people my have been living permanently. It was convenient for touring in the area. This campground needs a lot of work. I would probably stay here again strictly for the convenience. The $18.00 cost was with my Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Office personnel are friendly though often handicapped by not being allowed to make decisions without talking with manager. Latter is often short-tempered. Full daily rates are about $24 though Passport members are charged $18. Passport America has been notified of this. Manager says "if you don't like it, leave." Easily accessed from freeway and into campground. Great for (very) short stays. Handy to downtown. Full time residents can be noisy with no relief available from manager. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Nice gift shop . Within walking distance of attractions . Nice area to walk dogs or let them run a bit. Very good price . The sites are narrow and a little dusty . Overall good for a night or two . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This place is a DUMP. Little more than a dirt and gravel parking lot with patches of dry brown grass and lots of tall trees. Very few sites can get satellite reception. Nearby train tracks with train noise. We were in the back row next to a construction/truck company with old abandoned trucks on the property. Park is almost full with long term contact workers in older run down rigs. Passport America rate and reliable full hookups with good water pressure. Good proximity to the Buffalo Museum (worth a visit) and visitor information center with friendly staff. OK for an overnight convenient to the highway. I would find another place to stay next time if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Very well kept park, clean and neat. Good sized level gravel sites. Close to local attractions and buffalo herd. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Nice park with an interesting frontier town attraction adjacent. Nice gift shop. Nice bar and restaurant with roof seating. Buffalo roam the hillside next to the park, including 3 albino buffalo. Nice museum on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
This is a Passport America campground, and a good place for overnight and nothing more. We arrived late (8:30pm) after a long day but the owner was very accommodating and put us in three spots so we won't have to unhook our trailer. (All the pull thru sites were full.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Kind of a depressing spot. They put us next to a permanent rig that was very decrepit and had foil insulation and duct tape at odd angles in every opening. Beware the restaurant. We've been here twice. The first time, my wife was served raw chicken. The second time, she thought it would be safer to order a burger. We both ordered them medium -- mine was well done and hers was (you guessed it) raw. It was barely even brown on the outside and when she cut it in half, the knife was covered with raw burger. When she sent it back, they microwaved it and brought it back out. Another negative was the restroom. It was quite clean, but it's constructed entirely of particle board so it looks cheesy and poorly kept. Worse yet, the men's and women's restrooms/showers both open off the laundry room and the women's is in the back so guys with laundry can hang around the open door of the women's room and women have to squeeze past them coming out of the room. My wife is not usually worried about this kind of stuff but she wouldn't use the facilities here at all. One final word of warning: They have a full-grown buffalo inside a VERY rickety fence in the park. He will charge the fence if he finds you annoying. He stops at the fence but, if he kept coming, it wouldn't even slow him down. One of the regular residents told me that the buffalo often gets out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This is a Passport America Campground. The roads and sites were dirt. The sites are narrow. The better sites were reserved for permanent residents and non-Passport America campers. The picnic tables were old, broken, and useless. There were several dirt bikers joyriding around the campground while we were there. The restrooms and showers are a mess and need to be updated and remodeled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
A good place for an overnight stop. Nice level pull thru sites. Sites are close together but there are lots of trees. No problem opening slide out. The restaurant is OK. The gift shop at the store was nice. While the bathhouse was rustic it was very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Just a place to hook up, dump and sleep as far as I am concerned. Cheap price and no amenities. VERY rustic and I did not even want to look inside the shower building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$12
Campground is OK and well worth the Passport America price. Short distance to the Buffalo Museum and Frontier Fort and it is very interesting. Very nice store at the office. Restuarant and lounge over the office with lots of local color and short walk back to your campsite. Restuarant packed with local folks for the Buffalo burgers and beer. Modem is awkward at the front desk as people are checking in. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2004
$22
We also stayed here in 2002. PA park so the price is really good. Nice, with easy access and good food in the cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com