218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Heron RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (530) 475-3270
CGID3433

Blue Heron RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$69



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   3   7   9   10   10   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$69
About 15 minutes from I-5 to the RV park on a county road. Nice check in. It is very secluded and quiet. Beautiful green grass with very large cement pads, but not much shade. Everything was very clean. The river was beautiful but steep sides so you had no access. The owner was very nice and in talking with her she said she discourages people with kids. Our 9 year had nothing to do except to ride her bike a short way. We had to store our garbage in our tow car at night and put the garbage out in the morning because of the animals. If you have no children and want to just relax then this is the place for you. We would not stay here again with a child. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$64
River sites thoughtfully staggered for great views. Large rigs will either complain about the 6 miles in, or will use the short ride to de-stress as they head from I-5 noise to the beautiful Klamath River bank. Trees & grass, clean park & facilities. Inconsistent water pressure, good power, minimal WiFi. Million dollar views. Birders will appreciate. We will stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
About 6mi. off the I-5 @ exit 789, so just keep going. We stayed one night January 16,2014. Lovely cement pad sites with pull-throughs or back-ins. Right by the river. There is a restaurant on site, but we knew it would be out in the boonies so we were prepared with our own meal to cook. I must admit if you came in the summer the sites do not have trees, only trees are along the shore of the river. A little pricey for winter @ $20 + taxes for the night, but hey you're in California. When we drove in we didn't know where the office was, but a lady jumped in her vehicle and came driving up. I guess they winter here in their 5th wheel, so very accommodating. We'd stop again. Yes they have Wi-Fi, but park near the restrooms. No TV signals, but then again the mountains probably block anything. They are Passport America clients. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
We drove 6 miles on a terrible, narrow and bumpy road to get here. We requested a site on the river, but were told that we could not have it because they were only for motorhomes. The managers were not very accommodating and the place was empty. You would think they would have welcomed anyone. If they are concerned about somebody damaging their property, perhaps they should have had one of their employees guide you into your spot, therefore minimizing the probability of damage to their sites. The restaurant was closed (Mondays) so over all, not worth the price or the bumpy ride in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
We chose to drive six miles out of our way to stay here due to other reviews we read. Plus in speaking with the owner over the phone, and hearing about the restaurant and the prime rib special, I was sold. The park is right on the Klamath River. Most of the spots are nose in. Personally, I think someone made a mistake in design. Anyhow, we stayed in a pull through, which was concrete and fairly level. We went to the restaurant for Prime Rib to find it was sold out. We opted for steak and ALL of the food we had was EXCELLENT. We were one of two rigs in the park. The other appeared to be resident. It was very peaceful and quiet. No cable and be aware - NO cell phone coverage. If you like to fish, and you like the remoteness, this is definitely a place to go. The owners were great and very helpful. Restaurant was great. However, I would not go six miles out of my way again to stay there. The rate of $30.00 was the Passport America rate, which I considered to be very high for the park and it's amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$46
First to comment on another review issue. The 6 miles of road to this park is easily driven in a 40 foot diesel pusher towing. This park has outstanding curb appeal with most of the sites nose in overlooking the beautiful Klamath River. Sites are super sized concrete set in a staggered fashion so everyone has a substantial view. There are no pull throughs but all sites are easily to get in and out from. Spacing between sites is about as large as we've seen. It is very quiet with only the river noise. Satellite reception is excellent and the concrete pads are about dead level. WiFi is very slow. Water pressure is good as well as all utilities very modern. Great place to fish if you want, plenty of open areas to walk the dog, bathrooms and laundry modern and clean. Bring food as dining is very limited for many miles; althoughs the resort does have a restaurant that appears to be open April through December. Landscaping is pretty much lawn but a substantial amount of it. This park was well conceived and built properly for large, modern RVs. Will definitely be back when traveling interstate 5 in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
We stayed here two nights. Early season and we had the park to ourselves. The location is off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. Great oversized pads for parking, nose into the Klamath River with a nice green belt between your site and the waters edge, AND I will be darned - actual blue herons fishing the waters there. Climb the hillside behind your spot early in the morning for the best views of Mt. Shasta and the valley below. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
What a beautiful park. We were faced out to the river with a large concrete pad surrounded by grass. Our schedule only allowed us to stay there two nights but we will return. We ate in the restaurant and it was fine and enjoyed our conversations. The park doesn't like the wild horses that come down from the hills in the evening to drink from the river and eat the grass (because they have to pick up all the waste) but they provide a nice feature for the guests. The owner's beautiful pony is allowed to wander freely during the day dragging his lead and then is led back to its corral in the evening by the staff in a golf cart. Quiet park in the extreme. Great RV park. Want to go back when the salmon are running. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
We love this RV park. Yes, it is pricey, but they do have a special where you pay for 3 nights and get the 4th free. They also take Passport America. The owners run the place and they are really nice and they also have the Fish Hook restaurant (we ate there several times) and it is good. Every site has a view of the Klamath River and the park is very quiet and peaceful. There is no cell service. I would have given the park a 10 except both times we were here, they were having problems with their Wi-Fi as well, which meant we were totally off the grid. Probably a good thing! We already have reservations to go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
Very quiet park about 7 miles off Hwy 5. Concrete pads, clean restrooms. Along Klamath River--should have a boat for successful fishing. Restaurant on site. No other amenities. Very overpriced for what you get. Owner does not enforce their own rules--dogs run loose despite their "dogs must be on leash rule". Will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
Very beautiful and quiet. We only stayed overnight but would like to spend more time at this park next time we pass through. Very friendly staff and very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$43
Gorgeous campground by the river. Each site is positioned for maximum river view. Staggered so your view is not hampered by a neighbor. Six miles off Hwy 5. No cell service or cable TV, but strong Wi-Fi. Hosts are very helpful and friendly. Definitely no traffic noise. Just the sounds of the water running by, blue herons in the treetops and the sounds of geese flying overhead. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This is one of the nicest "campgrounds" we have ever stayed in; it is located right on the Klamath River. The owners have situated each pad so that you have an unobstructed view of the river from the front and side of your rig. The spaces are huge, each with a concrete patio and table; there is a greenbelt between each and a lovely lawn sloping down to the river. It is a very peaceful, tranquil riverfront setting. My husband could fish right in front of our rig, and I could sit in my chair reading my book and watching. They have a very good restaurant right next door; excellent food and quite reasonable, and with a full bar. The owners are lovely people and very accommodating. We hated to leave and will certainly be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$60
We came through here on a 4000 mile trip through the Northwest, obviously staying in many places. We planned two days and stayed four. This park is the best we have stayed in. Your unit faces the Klamath River with very wide spaces between sites and plenty of grass. How peaceful. The owners could not have been more hospitable. We will be coming back many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
This RV park was spectacular. We stayed in site #12, which had a full view of the Klamath River. The sites are concrete, level and spacious, with lawn between the site. They are staggered, so that neighboring sites are set back from yours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$59
A delightful place. A blue heron fishes all day long. Motorhome nose-in sites are right on the river. Back sites are not on the river. Level wide concrete sites. There is not a city nearby for supplies so be sure to bring enough food. There is nothing *civilized* to do, but that is not what one would come out here for. This is a quiet place. Be aware there is no cell service out here but your satellite will work well. Wi-Fi is available but slow. Immaculate restrooms with murals and shampoo. A restaurant on site is a plus. (Breakfast all day long). Hosts came out to meet us as we drove in. Overall, a nice place but I felt a bit pricey. Rated a 9 because no pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
This park was beautiful, on the river with nice roomy sites and grass. Although it was too expensive: that would prevent us from going back unless I heard the fishing was really hot. The road from 80 was a bit rough. The campground host and the owners whom we met in the restaurant were really nice people. We saw the space station go overhead while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$59
Beautiful setting in the middle of nowhere. Very nice park, but due to there not being much to do in the area and the "rule" that 5th wheels are not allowed in the riverfront sites (even when those sites are all vacant), it is quite expensive compared to other similar rv parks in Northern California. I believe if it were priced more in line with other RV parks, it would be booked every weekend and the rv'ers would be more inclined to eat at the quaint little restaurant onsite. Overall, great place, just too much money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
What a great place. Well worth the detour off highway 5 out into the country to get there. Sits right on the river, with great bird watching, mountain views, and QUIET. Pristine restrooms and showers. Charming camp host. Super level concrete sites with grass surround and picnic tables. They also have their own restaurant which we did not try, but would be a nice break from your own cooking. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
A very nice RV park with sites facing the Klamath River. Beautiful weather and friendly people. A nice restaurant and good food. I hear that fishing is good and that you can fish from the banks or hire a local guide for a day of fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
We decided to try this park and were not disappointed. It is Lovely and right on the river. We were in site #14 and would request it again. We were delighted with the cement pad and daily trash pickup at the sites. Fish Hook Restaurant is in the park and has good food. As others have written, there is virtually no cell phone service, and we weren't able to pick up internet service so the reason for the rating. Yreka is only about 18-20 miles south which has just about everything you'd need. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
This park is a little off the interstate, but it is worth it. What a beautiful park right on the Klamath river. Huge concrete sites with a great patio area. This is an extremely well maintained and clean facility with a large grass area. Very friendly owners and staff. The restaurant is within walking distance. The two hour raft trip was fun and very relaxing. Lots of wildlife along the river bank. We will definitely return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This was the most beautiful and relaxing RV park we have ever stayed at. Even without the amenities such as cable, phone, pool it deserves a 10. It is a bit off the beaten track. It is about a 7 mile drive down a twisty river road from Interstate 5 but well worth the detour. If you are just planning to spend a night you will want to stay longer. The sites are huge and although there is no shade next to the pads the river is lined with trees and you just haul your chairs to the trees and enjoy. Whether you enjoy fishing or just watching the wildlife along the river - it doesn't get any better than this. We were there for the month of August and although we were right on the river - no bugs! Word of warning - if you are staying awhile - stock up on foodstuffs. If you need anything more than beer, milk, soda and bread it's a 45 minute drive to the nearest major grocery - north or south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
This is a small place, but this is a beautiful park. The river right in front of your site , makes it perfectly gorgeous. There was no cell phone service out here. The site was a bit of a drive away from the freeway on a little road that was one way at times. If you are out for the beauty and maybe some great fishing ~ this is the place to be. I pictured fathers and sons out at the river fishing and having a wonderful time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
The good: This is a beautiful campground, with good hookups and very wide, easy to get into sites. The sites are level and include a nice picnic table. The location is great- right on the river with beautiful scenery. The restaurant on site (Fish Hook) has surprisingly good food. We had the prime rib that they serve on Friday and Saturday- pretty good. The restaurant also has a full bar. The bad: We were at this campground with 2 other rvers- all a family. For whatever reason the owners would not let us have sites next to each other. The campground was only at about 30% occupancy and the sites next to us were wide open for our entire stay, but they were completely inflexible about moving us so we could be near each other. They claimed other campers were coming - but that proved not to be the case. Word of warning, be very, very specific about what sites you want (if it's waterfront or next to another group) before you go. Also, for some reason, they won't let trailers stay in the waterfront sites- which is ridiculous. Again, if you are specific and demand the site you want before you book you should be fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
Very enjoyable two week stay. One of the few parks we have encountered with true 50 amp electric service and 80 PSI water pressure which made for a delightful stay in both warm and cool weather. It is a major big friendly park with huge parking pads and equally large patios. With the Klamath River's ever changing scenery right in front of your coach, your stay is sure to rate at the top of the scale for R&R. Many driving excursions are available nearby. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
All the comments of the location are true, very nice location. One comment: Workampers beware. There is a reason why they have trouble getting good help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
This is a first class park in every way. There is no question this facility deserves a “10”. It begins with the friendly greetings from the owners and staff. The location right on the Klamath River is second to none and the great on-site restaurant serves good “home cooked” meals. This park has earned several return visits from our family. There are no exaggerations in any of the positive comments in the other reviews. This park is definitely worth the short trip off I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Very nice surprise. The setting could not be better, as mentioned in prior posts. Truly Big Rig friendly. This park is what a "10" park should look like. The well water is safe ,but does have an odor which comes and goes. I do think the owner is working with city engineers and will fix that problem. Spent a quiet relaxing week here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
This park is one of nicest we have ever stayed in. The sites are level, huge and most face the Klamath river. There is green grass separating each site. Our children were able to walk across the grass and put their fishing lines in the river. The staff are very friendly. The only reason I didn't give this park a "10" rating was that the water smelled awful, so make sure your water tank is full upon arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Amazingly beautiful site with generous concrete pads generously angled to almost parallel the river which is just 15-20 feet away. There is plenty of grass but no shade. Everything is new. Bathrooms are roomy and very clean. There isn't a camp store. Fires aren't allowed. Nice restaurant on grounds. Staff is very friendly and we rented equipment to tube down the Klamath River and they picked us up downstream. Beautiful, generous riverfront sites make up for the other small issues, so we rated this park as a "9". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
This is, by far, one of the most relaxing, friendly, laidback small parks we've ever stayed in. Due to circumstances beyond our control we've had to cancel reservations, re-make them, then shorten them, then extend them - all without hassle, much to our relief. The owners & staff make you feel so welcomed, you promise you'll be back - and we promise! Our site was a long, wide paved FHU pad facing the beautiful Klamath River where, sitting out on our patio we could watch the fishermen or just the fish (actually jumping out of the water)! We opted to stay put in the evenings and have our dinner at their on-site restaurant all 3 nights of our stay - it was a treat - no cooking! Wifi (free) was good but we used our own Verizon Broadband Access. If coming from I-5 south & you'd like another scenic option, get Kathy's road directions that have you exiting about 15 mi. north of Weed at Montague/Grenada, keep right and cross the RR tracks, take an immediate left and follow that road until it turns into Ager Road (A-28); when you reach the "T" intersection; turn right and you're only about 3 miles from the park on a narrow, winding country road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Great place if you love peace and quiet (six miles off I-5 on a country road), great scenery and plenty of wildlife. I am sitting on my double wide concrete patio using the free wifi writing this review with a small rapid boiling in the Klamath river no more than 75 feet away. The park is laid out so you pull into the slots with your MH at an angle which give each MH a view of the river in your own front yard while not a view of your neighbors patio. So far sitting on our patio we have seen otters, giant blue herons, white American pelicans, osprey , ducks, geese, sandpipers and kingfishers to name just a few. The park also has a multitude of water sport equipment they rent, we did the rafting and the price was very attractive. If your children need a playground and pool to be entertained this might not be the place but if they like watersports, fishing and nature then they will like this place. The park owners and employees are friendly and helpful. Repeated stopping by to ask if everything was OK and did we need anything. We would stay here again and would give this park a 12 if we could! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$40
The Blue Heron RV Park is part of the Klamath Ranch Resort. The park is new, built in 2003 and is considered an "up-scale" park due to the very wide sites, large concrete pads, extremely well kept grounds and buildings and their high nightly price. They cater to mostly motorhomes with all waterfront sites for motorhomes and only 5 fifth wheel sites. The park is for the fisherman. It is within a few feet of the Klamath River where the fishing for Salmon, Steelhead or Trout is a year-around draw. The fishing attraction is equal to the attraction of Alaskan rivers with professional guides and boat rentals available. The resort is also within 1 mile of the Iron Gate Reservoir. The huge positive for us since we are not fishermen is the hiking, great road and mountain-bike riding and the quiet of the area. I hate RV parks next to a freeway and this one is 6 miles off Interstate Five near the Oregon-California border. I would have given this park a 10 but could not since it does not have cable TV hook-up (probably because fishermen aren't interested in TV) and no WI-FI although if you park within 2-3 spaces of the on-site manager/owner you can pickup and login to the weak signal coming from the office. There is also a good on-site restaurant/bar with great outdoor seating available during the warmer seasons. This resort is being developed as a destination resort and can easily be that now if you love outdoor activities. It is worth the short drive if you are headed north/south on Interstate 5 and want a quiet retreat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com