214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Memphis East Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (901) 388-3053
CGID3435

Memphis East Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   4   7   2   7   4   6   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This is a tired, looks like an x-KOA, campground. The sites could be made more level. The power poles look like they are going to fall over. There was dog poop everywhere. If possible, I'm going to try and find another campground on the way back home. Didn't like this place at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
I read the reviews for a park before deciding to stay there, and I read them again before writing mine. That said, we stayed here 3 nights while visiting family in Memphis, and the park was much better than I expected from some of the reviews. I'm glad I stayed here, and I'll stay again. The Western side of the park is a mobile home park, and the Eastern side a campground. You can get there directly via Canada road, or go on to Monroe and come in the back entrance. Back entry minimizes speed bumps. Park was clean and quiet. Rest rooms tidy. We had no problem with our site being level, or with the electric as some others report, but our rig is 30 amp; not all sites have access to 50 amp. This is an old mobile home park / campground, and shows it, but the owners keep it up and have made evident repairs and improvements. As I said, I was pleasantly surprised, and I WILL stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
The park is in the middle of a mobile home park. We paid an extra $1.50 for 50 amp service. Although Wi-Fi was free, it was basically nonexistent. Following GPS directions took us through the mobile home park where there are very poorly designed speed bumps that really rattled us at a very slow speed. The campground store was empty for all practical purposes. The rule to pick up after your dog was ignored by previous guests at many sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
The best thing I can say about this park is that I would come here again. There is nothing special about it but it is quiet and easy to get in an out of. GPS and their road signs were different but both will get you there. You will not choose this park for its beauty but it sure is a welcome stop. Pappa Johns Pizza delivers right to your lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This park is in very rough shape, very difficult to figure out the electric. The electric on our sight was not working at all so I had to cross my power cord over to another one. Most sights were only 30 amp. The place is real run down, bathrooms were very dirty no one around on the weekends the sites were not level at all, had to put the front end of my coach up high. We probably will do our best to find another place when in the area, not worth the 30 bucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This was a decent, inexpensive place to stay while we explored Memphis. The staff was pleasant and the laundry room clean and efficient. It is attached to a mobile home park, but it is a nice, well-kept park and seemed quite secure. There is a pretty pond with friendly ducks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Per my girlfriend: "The bathrooms/showers are nasty. We were there a week, and they were never cleaned -- not once. The trash is never emptied." I shower on-board my class "C"; but the place could use a good up-grade. For example; pulled-in Saturday early afternoon to find the office closed; site maps and instructions in the late registration box; but not a contact number in the event of a problem. I pulled to my site and the folks across the aisle showed me their sewer was inches from the top with 'waste'. A fellow came over as I was setting-up and said: "Be sure your electric works -- it wasn't down here the other day." The place is what it is; limited sites have full-hook-ups; most water-electric only and so, if you shower on-board, fine (I suppose). The sites I've stayed at in my years of coming through have been level and shaded, but when the same problems with electricity and the bathroom/showers exist -- come on, now -- is this a 3rd World RV Park? Yes, we'd likely stay there again. What's the options in that particular section of Memphis, Bartlett, Germantown. Memphis East in Lakeland is conveniently located and that's the biggest plus to be said about them. And while they have a Good Sam rating; time for Good Sam to drop-in unannounced! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Difficult to find. Office is closed on the weekend. Power system is hard to figure out, you have to switch on your post from a different post. The best thing that can be said for this park is that it is in the middle of greater Memphis. We will probably stay there again when we visit family in Memphis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We chose this campground as it was easy to find from I-40 and close to Memphis. It needs cleaning up but to be fair, they are doing some construction. It has full hook-ups with cement patio slabs if you can find them under all the pine needles. We probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Interesting place located at the back of a residential trailer community, which is nicely kept. Sites are mostly pull through with full hookups. Easy in and out, and far enough away from the Interstate to muffle the road noise. Good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a Good Sam approved campground, but I think its been a while since they've seen it. I wouldn't really call it a campground, its a few spots in a large mobile home park, which makes it almost impossible to find. You're looking for a campsite and you just see mobile homes. The sites are not level, we actually had to move to another site and even that was unlevel, but good enough for one night. There was a lot of trash all over. It looked like the dumpsters hadn't been emptied in weeks. The management office was literally empty. Don't plan on getting any supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
A very terrible place. Good Sam should remove its endorsement. The site was unlevel and muddy, requiring muddy everything to make level. The electric pedestal was not of sufficient height to allow using my surge protector. I then watched an adjacent camper "throw" his electric breaker switch with corresponding tripping of my power. This several times. Dog waste around the bit of grass at the site. As mentioned, could not wait to get away the following morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Regular campground with pull throughs, plenty of room, but watch the posts at the ends of the site as someone mentioned earlier. Maintenance looks a bit iffy: dumpsters were full when we arrived and still full the next morning. Park says to leave trash at site, which some previous campers did and it was still there. We wanted to fill a propane tank, but the guy who does it was not in yet at 9 AM, "Should be here soon." A motorhome was also waiting for propane so we decided not to wait on a "should be soon." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Stayed here about six prior times to most recent visit, but never before with a female companion. Per her comments (and she was upset): In 3 days the women's bathroom was never cleaned. For example, the trash can was still filled with tampons. (At least remove the sign "restroom cleaned daily 11:30 am-12:00 pm.") This bathroom was never closed or cleaned. Was obvious to the eye, that the floor was never swept or cleaned; toilet had a ring pre-dating the invention of the RV; hot water for showers not always available (1 out of 3 days: cold). Our site had clear evidence and aroma of dog waste. Not the smell to open a window to or walk outside. The can of pop from a previous occupant was under the table all 3 days. Would I stay here again? It is convenient to where I need to go in the area and I use my RV's shower. The reservation and registration is easy and friendly enough. Access in and out of the level pull-through is very good. Many sites are decently enough shaded. I've used their laundry in previous visits and is decent, too. But the 2010 Trailer Life Directory's 8.5 (out of 10) review of its bathroom, given my companion's experience, is a pipe dream and far removed from reality. I have to say, given my numerous visits, they don't do much up-keep and it is well-past time they invested a few $$$$ bucks. At least this time, the 20 amp circuit in my site's power box worked. That isn't so at every site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is not a destination RV park. Just a decent place to stay for an overnight. Its a little hard to find. We were westbound and saw the highway sign just in time as we were beat. Pool looked nice if we hadn't been so tired. Sites are level and higher than the road so safe in heavy rains. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Campground was OK. But watch out for those silly posts buried into the ground around the camp sites. They stick up about 2 feet. We didn't see them and damaged one of our wheel covers (hub cap). If a person would get one of those jammed against their campers it would cause a great deal of damage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
We camped here 5 days. The park is located in a trailer park. The RV pads appear to be abandoned spaces. It was nice enough for a stop over. It has convenient interstate highway access but it is far enough away so there was no noise. Stores and shopping are nearby to the south. Memphis is about 20 minutes west. Our 50A full hookups worked great. There is no wifi. Pads are gravel and partially shaded. Ours was reasonably dry during heavy rain. Most sites where pretty muddy. The pull throughs are real tight turns. Big rigs might be better off backing in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
As they say, first impressions are so important. This campground is in the middle of a mobile home park so we almost turned around and left. But since it was late, we decided to spend 1 night. The staff in the office, while not rude, was certainly not friendly - just very business-like. The site that we were assigned to was quite tight to get into and when we put out the awning, we almost touched the slide-out of the unit next to us. The site had only 30 amp electric but the water pressure was good. Our neighbors told us that the only other campground nearby was even worse so we opted to stay here 4 days. The restrooms/showers were clean and in good shape. The small lake had lots of bluegill so the grandkids were happy with that - but not so much with the small "playground" available. We do not recommend this campground and will probalbly not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We spent two nights there. The fishing pier was very old and swayed allot. We couldn't access the rec room in the evening due to no one in the office after 5:00 PM. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
As an overnighter this was fine. We had a pull-thru so we didn't have to unhook our toad. Water pressure was fine and no problems with our 50amp hookup. We had sat. and cellphone reception. We noticed that not all of the sites were level but we had no problems getting her level. I noticed a sign at the office that there is a laundry and shower facilities although we didn't use them. We were looking for a quiet place off of the I-40 and this was it. We would stop here again if traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$1
My wife and I have stayed here several times. A nice quiet place with large pull-throughs in a beautiful wooded area. Worth driving to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
Thought this was going to be an "easy" off/on from I-40. Signs were very hard to follow and down a couple of very narrow secondary roads. Almost missed one of the turn signs which would have made a very tough turn-around with the toad. Last leg is through a residential moble home park. Arrived after closing (about 9:30 PM) but found a box for late arrival. There were instructions to fill out the forms...but no forms. So does that mean that the 3 open sites are reserved for others? I guess not since we found a site anyway and parked. As we rode through we realized that the sites are all pull-through, on a dead end street. We were lucky that there was an opening..had it been full, we would have had to unhitch the toad and back out! There were a lot of long term campers there with work vehicles, dogs, trash cans, etc everywhere. We stayed in a spot with a permanent trailer next to us that had dogs barking all night. Next morning, I was up to hit the road early, waited on the office to open, and was told that I owed them $28 plus tax, paid them and left. Next time through here, I'll keep going! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2003
$26
Poorly maintained grounds. Tree branches were all over the sites and covered with ticks. Not a pleasant stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com