220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Greenbrier State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (301) 791-4767
CGID3442

Greenbrier State Park

Camp Information
Sites
165
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   10   7   8   9   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
A really nice park. Lots, while without water are shaded but can be challenging to back into (most uphill and require a turn). Restrooms/ showers can be a hike if you don't get close. Lots are nicely leveled. Kids play area and swim area are not withing walking distance of the camping area, necessitating a drive around to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Maryland has one of the nicest State Park systems on the East Coast and Greenbrier is not an exception. We arrived to a friendly greeting from the campground hosts, a clean, level, groomed site, and great access roads. The bathrooms were very clean and easily accessible and the park is right off Route 40 just a short drive to Hagerstown or Frederick. One thing to be careful of is that the front gate gets locked at 10:00pm (at least in April) and not unlocked until 8:00am. If you have to go somewhere make sure you can handle opening the gate yourself. It is a substantial gate though it swings easily once the lock is undone. Just leave yourself some extra time in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This is a beautiful state park. The sites, while gravel and some not completely level for a long-rig, they are more than adequate with clean and raked "patio" areas. While the sites are heavily treed, they posed no problem for us, even tough we require a 12'8" clearance. Over-the-are television reception was a bit spotty but cell reception excellent. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
Nightly rate reflects senior discount. A wonderful campground.Well maintained and layer out. 90 percent are wooded sites. A well defined level parking spot with about a 100 ft between campers. Our cellphone worked and we found several local TV stations with the antenna. The location was great near I-70 on Rt 40 between Hagarstown and Fredrick Md. A short drive to Antietam battlefield and Harpers Ferry. A great spot for exploring the area. A 10 in my book We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Be careful on what length you declare. It is dumb; the reservation people say the maximum length is 30 feet, but there are 10 or 12 sites more than 60 feet and probably at least as many that are 45 feet, in the power loop. Lake is shallow with poor swimming. Antietam and Harper's Ferry are less than 15 minutes away, and if you're a civil war buff, these are very interesting places to visit. Nearest town is about 15 miles west, but get on Interstate 70 and go to far west side of Hagerstown to other north-south interstate highway, and this is where all the large stores are. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Rate reflects half price senior discount with the free MD Golden Age pass issued on site. We stayed in site C-6 with 30 amp electric, $26.74 per night plus service charge. One night was free and the two day service charge was $8.78, $3 per day plus $1 out-of-state and tax. Our total for two nights was $35.52. Overall a very nice CG, camping pads are level but small. So the driveway is very important for larger rigs. We are just over 35' and the pad appx. 24' x 24'. So most of our front was in the drive, but long and level so we had a good site. Many sites work for larger rigs but you really got to pick and choose as some drives have pretty steep grades and some sites are backed by trees preventing you from backing up too far. Dump station is very nice, but two double 90 degree turns to the very close gate makes the exit a bit tricky. Overall we had nice quiet stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Maryland and nearby Virginia state parks are among the best in the country and this one is no exception. The grounds are wonderfully maintained. The staff is friendly, and they have great activities for kids, including nature shows in the amphitheater and ice cream socials in one of the buildings. The lake has a nice sandy area and there's lots of hiking. If you're in decent shape and can handle some hills, the biking is great too. The heavily wooded sites are spaced out differently but, unlike commercial campgrounds everywhere, you'll never be right on top of your neighbors. (That's the main reason I stay in state parks most of the time.) No Wi-Fi, of course, but my Sprint broadband worked decently (three of four bars). Other nice SPs in the area include Shenandoah River State Park (near Front Royal) and Rocky Gap SP (near Cumberland). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
This is a great place to stay, best in the area by far. Stayed a few days and enjoyed the ambiance of the park. Decent sized spaces. Facilities are older but the same is expected for state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We camped in the Dogwood loop because it allows pets. The sites were all very clean and the crushed gravel was raked out and the fire pit was cleaned out. We backed into the site and found there was no electric on this loop but since we had our dog we had to make the best of it. The restrooms were very clean and even had soap to wash your hands with at the sink! We took our bikes but the hills are pretty steep. Up in the far corner of the Dogwood loop is a play field with volleyball, badmitten, soccer, frisbee, and a picnic area. There are lots of hiking trails and a lake for swimming. The loud speakers at the lake were kind of comical and annoying. If you go on the weekend you need to be at the lake very early to get a table. This was our second time camping here and I'm sure we will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Excellent for a state park.. Has nice shady sites with great pads for tents. Hosts were very nice. Has nice clean bathrooms with hot showers. Only downside is that they have a beautiful beach with amazing landscape in the background, but if you are not staying the "A" loop, you have a good, long hike to get there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We love this campground and have camped here several times. The sites are fairly private, wooded and spaced apart nicely. It is a beautiful area. There is a great beach and lake for swimming. There is a nature center and activities on weekends, such as movies and ice cream socials. There is a camp store on the beach area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Absolutely spotless, beautiful state park with nicely sized, wooded sites. Like all Maryland state parks, everything is top-notch (rich state!). Personnel are friendly and helpful; LOTS of patrols at night give you a good feeling of security. Bathrooms are a little dated, but certainly acceptable. As long as you're in reasonably good shape, the biking on the hilly roads within the park is great. On weekend nights they have wonderful ranger shows. One night we saw a comparison of camping gear from different eras, from civil war times to modern times. On another night they brought out some animals (snakes, huge horned owl, and a falcon); it was awesome. The lake is very nice, with a fairly large, sandy beach area, lots of tables, and a big pavilion. One word of warning - the lake area can get absolutely packed on summer weekends from day use visitors. My son attends a "Hooked on Fish, Not Drugs" fishing camp here every summer and loves it. Also, be advised that they close the main front gate (from Route 40) after a certain time and don't open it up until a certain time in the AM; plan accordingly. The camping area has a barrier that prevents day-use folks from driving around the campsites, which is nice; you need a pass code to operate the gate. Finally, a Sheetz convenience store is about two miles away and tons of shopping, including restaurants (Outback), movie theaters, etc. are about ten miles away in Hagerstown, in case you need some last-minute supplies or you pick a rainy weekend and need stuff to do. State parks don't get much better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
This park is located in northwest Maryland, and the Appalachian Mountains pass through the park. It has a freshwater lake that was manmade, boating and fishing. They claim that the lake is the nicest in the area. There are trails in the park for hiking. Electric hookups are available in the just the C loop. The loops are hilly but you can get your RV level. Nice sites and the bathrooms are ok. The swimming area is nice but a good hike away from the camping loops. Nice rangers and workers at the entrance station. There is a visitor center in the park with exhibits about the area. Nice stay We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Hiking trails of varying difficulty, a well-equipped camp store, a lovely beach, family-oriented weekend activities, good security, boating and swimming in delightful Greenbrier Lake ... if only the restroom facilities were improved! Still, all things considered, this state park campground is a gem. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Since our last stay, several years ago, we have seen both improvements and declines. On the positive side, there are a greater number of family-oriented, planned activities on weekends (ice cream socials, bingo, ranger-naturalist programs, scavenger hunts, children's craft programs). Other positives are a number of scenic hiking trails; a nice beach and swimming area, most easily accessible from the Ash Loop; paddle boat and rowboat rentals; and the rigorous enforcement of nighttime quiet hours. On the other hand, the rest room and shower facilities were inadequately cleaned and are in need of some serious updating. All in all, though, our family liked this campground a great deal, and we plan to return again soon. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
We love this park! We have stayed here many times and love the huge wooded sites and lovely lake. The bathrooms are adequate but do have some bugs. There are camp hosts that are there to help if needed. There are no water hookups but we use a jug for washing needs. We love this place because we don't get that usual packed in feeling as with many campgrounds. We feel like we are really camping and enjoying the outdoors! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This was a great place to stay. We were in the Dogwood loop. The park is clean and quiet. We had a pull-through site that was not level, but we were able to make it work. Most of the other sites are level, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$20
This excellent state park includes a beach and lifeguard-monitored (lake) swimming area, canoe and rowboat rentals, a nature center, and a number of hiking trails. Sites are gravel, with lots of trees, and arranged in loops: Ash Loop is closest to the swimming area (and most convenient for those with small children); Cedar Loop has (20 amp) electric hookups; and Dogwood Loop is the quietest. There are planned activities (including an ice cream social and ranger-naturalist talks) on weekends, and security/noise control is provided by the quite available and generally friendly campground "hosts." This was our family's first campground, and it remains one of our nostalgic favorites. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com