206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Roughrider Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (701) 852-8442
CGID3445

Roughrider Campground

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   3   4   3   7   6   8   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We checked in for a week. The web site said the weekly rate was $210. When I checked in I was told it was $280. I questioned it because of the web site and showed them the web site. There was a problem with a previous web site not being connected to the current one since when these managers took over and raised the price. It took about 1/2 hr. to get my $70. refund. We were given a site, but it was occupied. We called the office and said it was occupied. We were told, "It shouldn't be". Then they came to the site to take us to another site. We started setting up at the second site and were told, "Whoops, you have to move. We are saving that one for long term occupants." We disconnected, and were moved to another site where they told us to "pull in here". We pulled in and the connections were on the opposite site . They then told us to move again. Four moves before they gave us a site that worked. The staff was friendly when we checked in until we got our refund of $70. Then they had nothing to say and we didn't see them again. They have been managers or owners for about 10 months, so should have been more efficient than they were. The laundry is clean but a bit higher than other parks we have been to. They charge 25 cents a minute for a shower. The park is messy. Our site had a broken pen, broken sun glasses, and lots of cigarette butts, so apparently wasn't cleaned up after previous tenants. Most of the sites are occupied by oil workers. Some are junky, but most don't have much stuff sitting around. Most vehicles don't follow the speed limit in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Very nice quiet RV park. The lady working the office is not very friendly. But no big deal. Still a good place to stay We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
I fully agree with the last review. This park was full of long term construction workers. The sites were small. The children of these workers were plentiful and screamed until well past 11pm. To make matters worse a backhoe was digging up water lines directly behind our motorhome at 6am. We were not warned about this ahead of time nor about having the water turned off the next morning. Mud was plentiful too due to repairs. It was expensive and a poor value. The office staff was not nice nor helpful. I would have given them a 2 rating but they were easy to find, seemed safe, and the Wi-Fi did work for a little while during the evening. You can forget about a satellite signal in this park due to the tree canopies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Our family rented a motorhome for the first time and selected Roughrider Campground due to reasonable reviews posted previously. However, we learned that the park has changed ownership and wanted to provide a recent review of the services at this property. We traveled to Minot to enjoy a family reunion and were looking for a convenient and accommodating place to stay. We did not find the campground to be very accommodating. The sites at Roughrider are very narrow, and while they are pull-throughs, you will find yourself right on top of your neighbors. The restrooms and showers were clean, but we were disappointed to discover that showers were not free: it cost $1 for 5 minutes of hot water. The laundry room was clean as well, with comparable prices to the laundromats in town. Our biggest disappointment was our interactions with staff. We did not find them to be very courteous on the phone. Most notably, they gave our camping site away--without confirming with us that we were indeed checking out of the campground--when we drove our motorhome (our only vehicle) to town to spend time with our family. We found this to be very unprofessional. We did not find this campground worth the money. It has newer facilities and is kept clean, but the management did not seem to be as interested in the interests of their customers as they were in making money. It is not a quiet park; rather, there is a lot of traffic coming and going all day--both vacationers and long-term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
There are not many choices in this area. This RV park is more like a housing area for the locals. Loaded with RV's that are trying to be long-term housing. Sites are narrow and very soft. Was not worth the money at all. Could not wait to leave. Would NEVER return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Neat and clean. Some shade. Sites very close together. Laundry and everything new due to flood last year. Lots of permanent residents. Staff very nice - we had to stay extra days because of the wind and our dog getting sick and they were very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Reservations definitely needed at this campground, regardless of when you are traveling. It's either the oil workers or special festivals. I managed to squeak in a one night reservation during a Scandinavian festival. Although I'm giving the park a 6, I want to give the staff a 10. I am currently traveling with an injury and I'm on crutches. When I made the reservation, I mentioned that I needed to do laundry and I had an injury. The staff managed to get me close to the laundry. I'm not saying my site was great, but I was close to the laundry. Although the sites are gravel on ground, my site was fairly level. Didn't need Lynx Blocks to hoist up a tire or two. The sites are "side by side" and once you get your slides out, you need only to open your window, knock on your neighbor's window and say, "Please pass the mustard." I'm not joking! As for the neighbor on the other side (in the next side by side over), well, there is "some" spacing, but not much. The laundry room was very clean and had modern high efficiency washers. Laundry was reasonable, $2.25 to wash, and 25 cents for 5 minutes to dry. Let's just say, $1.50 was enough to dry a load of clothing. Not cheap, but not outrageous. I got a decent Wi-Fi signal at my site. Wasn't blazingly fast, but worked enough for email. I got decent digital TV reception over the air via batwing with Wingman. Basically three network channels and a NOAA weather info channel specific to North Dakota. As for the network channels: I found if you put the antenna one way, you got CBS, NBC, and FOX. If you rotated the antenna 90 degrees, you got CBS, NBC, and ABC. Good reception with Verizon cell phone. I noticed some road noise, but it was tolerable. Price I paid reflects Good Sam discount and taxes. Decent place to stop over on your travels, if you can tolerate the "pass the mustard" situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
The Camp staff very friendly and helpful. Site was level. Guests have to pay for using the shower though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This park has been redone after the flood. The roads and sites are gravel and in fairly good shape. The laundry is large and clean. There are large trees in the park center, but none where we were located. The park had lots of long term guests due to the oil workers. However, their sites were clean and there was no extra noise or problems. You will most likely need reservations as there are only a few sites for travelers; 3 or 4 is all I counted. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This campground and the city of Minot was devastated by a flood in 2011. The campground has reopened and has added sites. Power and water are good. It is all gravel and the new sites are close together. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We stayed here for three days during the fair. Grounds are recovering nicely from the flood and they continue to work on the grounds. Had to follow up when booking as took a few calls to get through but is understandable considering the amount of work happening here. Tent sites are full sun, some shade and fully shaded. Have 8 tent sites available but can accommodate more in the overflow. Very clean bathroom, I realize they are redone since the flood. Coin operated showers, which keeps people from hogging the showers. showers operate up to 9 mins on $4. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Nice, Quiet Campground. Will stay again. Keep up the great work. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
OK for a night or two, mostly long term oil workers staying here now. Fully recovered from floods. Sites are close together but will accommodate most any rig. Would stay again for a night. The store does not have any ice for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Services were quite acceptable. Had occasional sewer smell that the owner addressed and seem to stay away. Gravel site was fairly level depending on where you parked. Good Wi-Fi and reasonable selection of air TV channels. Pull-through site was spacious. Enjoyed our one night stay but would stay longer. Long term sites were not an issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a hard CG to rate. They are still in recovery mode from last year's flooding. All buildings are new as are the site utilities. They have gravel roads and sites. The sites were we were are ALL gravel and very narrow. This row would not support slides and awnings on adjacent sites. For an overnight they are just fine, except the low spot between sites that's just gravel. Again, they are rebuilding, so grass or pads MAY be part of their plan. Wi-Fi was hit or miss as they get through growing pains with their new ISP. I didn't notice a pool, but did notice the large number of long term occupants. Some of the long term units are eye sores. Apparently many CGs in the area have the same volume of long term visitors supporting the oil wells. This could be a nice place and may be when they get finished. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Very nice, spacious and level sites. Laundry room had new high-efficiency machines (although it cost $2.75 to wash each load). A lot of work is being done to even further upgrade this park. Will definitely stay here again on our return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
We stopped here for an overnight stay on our trip to Glacier. It was apparent that they had been flooded by the nearby creak. The gravel roads were being rebuilt. No grass to be seen, all dirt, mud and dust. There was a large pile of rubble near the office, did not see anyone around. We made a u-turn and left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Laundry needs updating. Located about 1 mile from train trestle, but could still hear the train. Too many trees to get satellite. Good for an overnight stop. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Lots of shade trees, some noise from the road and a railroad, but less than many other places. My site was level; the rest look pretty level. Very nice people at desk, new owners? Not sure. Wi-Fi is great if you're close to the office, but they are working on extending it to outer sites. Washers/dryers in process of being upgraded, but are out of commission now. I stayed here last year, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
We enjoyed our shady electric-only site. It was reasonably priced and close to places we wanted to visit in Minot. The owner/managers were friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a fairly nice park but needs a lot of work. Our site (#4) was adequate for our motorhome but was quite close to the neighbors on both sides. It did, however, have trees. The owners were very nice but do not seem to spend any time at all checking on the campground. There are some new big rig sites on one side of the campground and although they are long, and completely grassy, they have no shade and are also very close together. All in all, we probably would not stay here again, although N. Dakota does not offer a lot of choices. The Wi-Fi was sporadic, at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a nice campground with enormous potential. The new owners are working to improve the infrastructure, but some areas, such as the dirt roads that turn to ruts and mud when it rains, need immediate improvement. Pull through sites are long, but with side-by-side hookups you're touching awnings with your neighbor. The water pressure is also sporadic depending on the number of people in the park. On the plus side, the park has many large trees (no cable - we had to use a portable dish to find a hole), is fairly quiet, and is convenient to town. The free WiFi was very strong and the Verizon cell and AirCard service also worked well. The owners and staff are friendly and eager to please; we're confident they'll make the necessary improvements and will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
DW and I enjoy staying there several time through out the summer as we live an hour away. Most of the sites are real good with some rather close too each other. Hosts are great and helpful. Water is less then desirable as it is hard well water. Stains the toilet bowl and water connection. Other than that, we highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Nice park, the sites are a bit close together and your doors face each other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
The campground was clean, well maintained, and quiet. Many of the sites are near the river. Our site was #9 which is a pull-through located on the end of a row with the woods next to us for privacy. The laundry room was clean with a couple of easy chairs and television with local channels to watch while waiting. There were ceiling fans and a stationery fan running inside the laundry room, too. We met the new owner of the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This park recently changed ownership. It is unclear how the new owners will manage the park. We were only able to get an electric only site, no water. Most sites are shaded. Nice playground area for the kids. To use Wi-Fi, one must be able to "see" the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed 1 night. The sites were easy access, and the campground and facilities were clean. We would certainly stay there again. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Beautiful campground. Well maintained with pieces of old farm equipment scattered around for decoration. Like far too many CGs that say they have WIFI, & imply that it works everywhere, this one only works from sites near the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
There was WiFii, but the network settings were not right for my laptop, so it was not of any use. Other than most of the campsites being close, it was fine. I would stop again if passing through, but not to use it as a headquarters. There is a nice little walking path of 1/4 mile or more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
WiFi is available near the office. Lots of lovely trees. It is located on the old highway so it is very quiet. There was a "for sale" sign. I sure hope it stays open as I would definitely stay there again. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
This campground does not have WiFi. It is a well kept campground. The pull thru sites are wide and lovely. The only problem is the train. There is railway crossing very near the campground and the trains blow their horn several times when they cross. So, it is very hard to sleep here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
This is a wooded park well off the highway with mainly pull-thru sites. We didn't find any problem with the water and the wireless internet is very good. The full service pull-thru sites are narrow, the elect & water back-in sites are better and not as heavily used. It is certainly the best in this area, the KOA is a very spartan spot right on the edge of the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
This is our second stay here. We had a shaded pull-through site and the Wi-Fi signal was good. No complaints, although we didn't use the water based on other comments here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
We looked at all RV Park in Minot before looking here. Quietest of all, yes some train noise but not overwhelming. WiFi weak but there. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Limited satellite spaces, ask ahead if important. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Terrible water! Smelly and extremely unpleasant. We also experienced the most unfriendly park management anywhere we visited in the west. Give this one a miss! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Pull through site was comfy; campground was well maintained; with a beautiful wooded area and pond to walk around. The trains were constantly present, but hardly an inconvenience due to the pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$21
Poor water pressure and terrible water. Do not use to drink. Do not fill your tank. Lots of trees so not much chance to use satellite dish. Much train noise but that goes for all of Minot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2004
$22
Very pretty and not bad for a couple of days. Had to switch sites because they gave me an awning to awning site. I hate that. I can not figure out why they do a layout like that except it may be cheaper to install the utilities. They only had a two washer/dryer setup, so we had to go to town to do the laundry. Extra $ for the modem. Very very nice city park in downtown Minot that is a great day trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com