206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Pyramid Lake RV Resort was rated 3 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (661) 248-0100
CGID345

Pyramid Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   2   1   1   3   6   7   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
At one time this was a nice park, but it is old and has not been kept in good condition. It needs a lot of paint and improvements. The owners were nice.The Wi-fi was terrible and barely worked. No TV. It's okay for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
I wish I could post photos of the terrible condition of this park. I wish I had read the reviews before I visited. I wish I had never tried to use the 50 amp power connections. I wish I had not brought my dog. I wish I had sprayed for roaches as soon as I arrived. I made big mistakes when I decided to go to this dilapidated place. The power had no ground and blew out our converter, our microwave and our 42 inch TV. The non English speaking manager would not accept responsibility for the power problems and was rude on top of it all. The place is all weeds and broken everything, and there are roaches all over at night. The picnic tables are most all beyond use, and the water pressure the lowest I have ever seen. But we were lucky - our water worked. Many of them did not. All of the people we talked to there complained of power problems. We went out today and spent almost $900 to replace what was broken there, and still they didn't offer even a refund on our rent. Please, please do not go to this place no matter what! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
One of the worst parks we have stayed at. Bad water and low water pressure, might say no Wi-Fi, power was OK. Big problem: the owners are Korean and speak very little English: so communication is hard, but they want money for everything. The pads are full of sand burrs and goat heads: very hard on our 4 legged friends. The noise from I-5 is deafening all night long. Never Again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Positives. Large wide gravel/dirt sites with a cement pad with a table. Bathrooms are clean. Negatives. Low water pressure. Cable TV only has 8 fuzzy channels. Wi-Fi is very slow. Park is not well maintained: weeds everywhere. Miniature golf unusable and rundown. Kids area unusable, could be a hazard. Roach infestation throughout the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2011
$50
I almost don't know where to begin describing this dump. To begin with, we made the mistake of "reserving" a site prior to arriving. Boy do I regret doing that now. First when I made the initial reservation, I was quoted a nightly price of $39 for up to 6 people per site. However when I submitted the request, I found I was charge an additional $11; $1 for 50 amp service, and then a further $5 for each person over 2 in the group. I called management, and asked why the additional $10 charge when there was only 4 in the group, (2 adults and 2 kids), all I was given was yes this was true and they do charge for up to 6 in a group. Sadly I accepted this and decided to press-on. Once I got to the "resort", the horrors only just begun. The first warning was trying to access the campground, which is set back in the mountains. You need to pass what looked to be a dump yard, before you reach the duct tape signage. The clubhouse was totally in bad shape. I walked in and the place looked like something out of an old western. Complete with dust and debris everywhere, a portion of the ceiling caving in from water damage. The online pictures of this place were very deceiving. The camp store is little more that 1 or 2 wire racks. Certainly not the full-on store we were lead to believe. If you don't like wild life, i.e., snakes, raccoons, and such, I suggest you keep looking. They posted signs everywhere about these being about. Especially the one about if you find a snake please report it to management. Considering the state of things in the campground, I fully expect many critters to roam freely. Cracked roads everywhere, cabins that look props for horror movie set. The mini-golf area that my kids wanted to use was pealing, overgrown with weeds and debris. I mean when you already know snakes and such are about, why leave the cabin doors open and inviting for animals to visit. The surrounding brush is excellent breeding and nesting areas. I mean this place really stunk and looked bad. If not for the lateness of the hour, we would have left immediately. I would not have cared if I wasted $50, there are much better places a few more miles down the road. Do yourselves a favor folks and just keep driving down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
This site could be wonderful, but is not a resort as advertised. The whole area is covered with weeds. It has broken pavement and furniture, buildings and picnic benches with peeled paint, rough and/or burned surfaces, out of service bathroom stall, broken and duck-taped signage, broken screens and plastic furniture. The laundry room was clean, Wi-Fi worked well, and hookups were fine. However, ground is uneven, and our bicycle tires popped on the rocky, sticker-filled roads. Too far to walk or ride bikes to the lake. There is a half-court basketball area, children's play area, volleyball area and swimming pool. Pool was clean, but jacuzzi was filthy and outside shower didn't work. Play areas are run down and have weeds. Weeds around propane tanks at cabins could be fire hazard. Trees were lovely. A couple of months with a good grounds crew would dramatically help the location. The church/meeting room and several other buildings did not appear to be useable. It begs for clean up attention first, followed by fixing broken items, removing discarded mattresses and other items strewn around, paving roads, replacing broken concrete, and refinishing picnic tables/benches. The store and one meeting room have items of interest to travelers, TVs, pool tables, videos, and snacks. The people are pleasant and do patrol the park and want to make sure fire rings are covered for safety. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$49
I was surprised a little by this park… for some reason being right off the freeway I didn’t expect the wilderness atmosphere. The park could use some cleaning up. If the time were invested in this area the park would be perfect. It has a large game room, a small miniature golf course, and a small pool and hot tub. All of which were useable but as previously stated could use some cleaning. We used this as a midway stop on our track home however this looks like it would make a great base camp for boaters at Pyramid Lake. Nice pull through sites, If my daughter didn’t need to go to the doctor we would have loved to have stayed longer and explored the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This RV park was spread out and our site was a long way from the lake. Still a decent place to stay. There were a couple of people who were rude. The pony tail woman was fawning all over my children and she smelled of booze. Don't know if they work for the campground or just stay here. Still will be back from time to time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
We stopped here at the end of the day and it was a great stay. An almost empty park so we had it all to ourselves. It has a great kids playground older but very functional. The kids loved it. When we drove in there was a goat in the front. Kids loved that too. Got a great spot with no one around. There was one other overnight camper there for the weekend. We hiked up the hills and had a lot of fun with that. They have miniature golf which the kids played 2 games and loved it and were ready for another round. There are 2 horseshoe pits too. The place is a bit run down and needs some maintenance so maybe a B- type of place. There is a Korean family running the place and very accommodating. They also have propane here which we filled up for $2.99 per gallon. But was nice for the one night we spent here. They have a nice clubhouse with Billiards and an old fashioned shuffleboard set. The pool was there but not heated. The hot tub was drained for season. It did get cold and our hose froze. Overall nice and you are definitely one of a few this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Stayed here for only one night. This park was recommended by someone in Acton (which I should have known was a problem, they aren't any better there). What a bad recommendation. We wanted to camp near some water but not at this campground. The campground was all but empty (they put us right next to each other) and the bathrooms were locked. Glad we didn't need them. The management is very rude and seem to be a little tipsy. They seemed upset because my last name was Latino in origin. The campground is not recommended to anyone for any reason. Don't come here unless you like this sort of thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
We stayed here for one night the day after we bought our new trailer (first RV for us). The facilities were adequate. The site seems like someone tried to make it very nice a few years back, but lack of interest seems to have let it run down some. There were maybe three other RV's staying here that night, all of which got here late and left early. There is a playground and a pool in decent repair. There is a miniature golf course, but it is run down and unusable. The family running it was very nice and there is a small store and rec room available. Overall a good place if you need to stop for the night, but wouldn't recommend unless you plan on boating at Pyramid Lake for multiple days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Called on cell phone to reserve space, person that answered phone talked very fast and was hard to understand, but I was able to get directions. Check in was quick, first impression was this is an older, somewhat dirty RV park. Has nice pull throughs, I was assigned space 108. Sites are gravel with a cement patio pad. Took dog for a quick walk and found nothing but thorns around campsites. I had to walk the dog on the pavement all the way to the front office to find a small part of some what dead grass for him to do his business. When I got back I hooked up as usual but found the sewer pipe had no room to screw on the adapter. I found a couple of rocks and set them on top and opened my black water tank. All of a sudden it was a Robin Williams moment, the adapter started to take off because the drain was completely plugged! I shut off the valve but it was too late, raw sewage everywhere! By this time I was livid, I then looked at other campsites and found they had a different types of septic hook up. I found a stick and dug through the thorny weeds to find a hidden hook up. There is no excuse for this. Why wouldn't someone keep the weeds from growing around the sewer hook ups! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Not a bad park but based on the reviews, people seem to either like it or whine about it. Had no problems or hassles. Quiet, great weather and easy to relax. Family was nice enough, seem happy enough to stay out of your way. Not much in terms of activities but I noticed there was a caravan using one of their club houses. I had to pay extra for 50 amp but still much cheaper than the RV near Castaic / Magic Mtn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
It is an ok park, not as new and fancy as some, but the kids had fun. We stayed here twice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Pyramid Lake RV Resort is anything but a resort! We are at this location now, and it is in VERY poor condition. The trash in the dumpster is over flowing. We missed the turn-in completely because there was NO signage leading us to the park. The sewer opening is only for a small hose. It is really bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This park is in complete disrepair. It would take $400,000 to get this back into shape. Trailer life camp book rated this place 8/8*/6.5. There was no water in pool, spa was filled with algae, and the mini golf course looked like a cement truck had been dragged across it. The grounds are unkempt and weeds and wild grass cover many RV pads. If you don't need electric, stay at the rest area a few miles up the road and save your $40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
This park has so much potential. It looks like management has spent some time in cleanup of some of the sites and have cleaned up the restrooms and showers. The clubhouse really needs some tender loving care and a little money thrown at it. I think $36.00 is too much for this park at its current state. A good place to spend one night, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
If you are in a pinch and can't find a WalMart, then this is the place for you. I used my Passport America which helped, but then was charged $5 per child extra, then another $5 for 50 amp service. The laundry facilities were dirty and the men's shower only had 1 shower stall working. That stall looked like a science experiment. I'm sure when this place was new, it was much different but that's not the case now. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$32
It is a shame to see a once-nice campground being run into the ground, with inadequate funding being spent on maintaining and upgrading. The new owners are trying hard, I believe, but their standards may not the same as typical American expectations. Also should mention that it might be OK to camp here in summer months, but the shower/restroom was barely heated in January, so wear your sweatsuit to the showers! The pool is seasonal, there's no spa. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
I was shocked at this RV park. It is run by folks that do not speak English and has little understanding of the language. I walked the park and saw dog fecal on and around the sites the pool if you want to call it, was you don't want to know. I found that it is becoming a dumping site for migrant workers. Not safe we we just left and looked south to Valencia Village. It was better but WAY OVER PRICED. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$37
Please someone buy this place and make it better!! Too windy run down miniature golf. Sketchy front desk guy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
Parking slabs were cracked and uneven. Very dry and dusty. Pool tables in the game room were not level and out of shape. The Mini golf was in need of repair. We never used the pool because it was not appealing. The office/store was only good for Ice cream and that was about the full extent of the service. We are not interested in going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
An absolute DUMP. Surcharged us for 50amp service. The pool/spa IS NEVER AVAILABLE even though they try to say it is temporarily out of service (see other reviews of this park). Dusty, dirty park. Feral rabbits everywhere (dog owners beware). The place just needs to be bulldozed over and returned to the desert! Stay away. We overnighted because we needed to get off the road. But, what a production when checking in. They honored our Passport America but the guy checking us in was either on drugs or someting else because he could not communicate clearly about anything at all and really creeped us out. STAY AWAY. Keep driving south and you'll find a Wal-Mart that is more accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
We've stayed here 3 times on our way to somewhere else. It hasn't been crowded which is good because the sites are real close together. They don't clean often as there were dog droppings in our sites each time we were there. Numerous burrs in the grass makes it tough to walk your dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$33
Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Sites are uneven gravel, patios are small, cracked and not in the right position for a bigger rig. Extra charges for both 30 and 50 amp. Mgmt claims they have cable TV, but don't believe it. It's nonexistent. Was initially told Passport/Escapees/Good Sam would be honored but, when arriving at the park late morning, was told that in order to get those discounts, we would have to leave and come back at 3 pm (mind you, the place was almost empty when we got here). When asked what that was all about, manager went on and on about supposed rules and regulations of the clubs. Basically, all non-existent nonsense and a poor excuse to charge full price. This place is definitely not worth what is charged, it's not even worth it at half price. We stayed overnight only because we were very tired, not willing to drive any longer and needed to rest. Didn't even bother levelling or putting out slides. Also, being so close to I-5, it remains noisy. Without a doubt, would not stay here again and don't recommend anyone else does either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Mediocre. That's the best word coming to mind. The positive: Nice layout, easy access to pull-through sites. Nice landscaping, but could be updated and kept up better. Full hook-ups *. The negatives: Close to I-5 highway and noisy outside. Pool and indoor spas were closed due to weather? * A $2.00 surcharge for 30 Amp and $3.00 charge for 50 Amp? Why not just include in overnight charges? "Lots" of rules & regs, gave us the impression there must be some need - local issues? Can't dump gray water? WTH? We did anyway - we were hooked up!! We tried but failed to find a warm and fuzzy feeling for management. Just say communication problems. Wireless access was weak and not very reliable. Still, overall the problems weren't overwhelming, we weren't bothered by anyone and we needed a hang-out for a couple days due to weather and work catch-up. Worked fine for that. Wouldn't camp here for pleasure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
Poorly maintained, cable TV is a joke - unusable, $2 & $3 surcharge for 30 and 50 Amp Electric Service, trash left to blow around, weeds, puncture weed everywhere. They did honor our PA Membership so our 2 day stay was 1/2 price. New owners are aware of numerous deficiencies but seem to be under the impression they will fix themselves with no effort on their part. Definitely not worth $35/night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
This is one of the most promising parks we've seen. Unfortunatley, the management team has let the park go downhill. It has so much potential it is a shame to see it in the shape it is in. The management seems to believe that they are doing the visitor a favor allowing them to visit there. The grounds are a mess and red ants attack whenever you stand still. We could not allow the childern to play in the playground for fear of ants etc. attacking them. The only reason we chose to stay was a seperation on our 5th wheel tire that would not allow going any further. The pool was tolerable, but the hot tub was filthy. I'm hoping that the owner or management does something about the current condition of this park. We will not be staying there again unless things change. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Used to be a Western Horizon Park, went private in April 04. It was a clean park, hardly anyone there. There was a language-communication problem upon check-in. After talking with other guest, it appears they charged a variable rates depending on what card you come in with, however they did honor PassPort America. Limited TV stations on cable, they did charge additional $2.00 for 50 amp and the spa was not working. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com