219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Buescher State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (512) 237-2241
CGID3453

Buescher State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   6   8   7   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
This is a gem of a state park. While Bastrop State Park is connected to Buescher on interior roads, this park was not affected by the big fire and is still green and lush. It is a blast to road ride the connecting 11 mile paved streets in-between the parks, but know that the hills are very challenging and ideal for training. We enjoyed the beautiful hiking trails that are well marked and shaded. Fishing is free in all Texas State Parks and this lake is well stocked with large-mouthed bass, catfish and trout. The bathrooms are spotless and offer free, hot water showers for campers. The playground is large and wide open and all of the rangers and park staff were friendly and helpful throughout our 14-day stay. This park is just 2 miles up the road from Rocky Hill Ranch, a well known mountain bike park that offers epic cycling opportunities! About 4 miles from downtown Smithville, this park is private, clean and very beautiful. We enjoyed a peaceful stay and we camped here with 2 dogs. In the next several months, all of the hiking trails in Buescher State Park will be open for mountain biking! The check-in office is lovely and many of the out buildings were built by the CCC in the 1930's and offer great historical significance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Great Texas State Park. Good roads for biking, good trails for hikes and a pond for fishing. Quiet atmosphere and friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
We stayed at this park over the Presidents Day weekend. Our camp location was Cozy Circle. The rangers, staff, and park host were very friendly and helpful. Park was very clean, sites were pretty level. Great hiking trails, very pretty place. The weather was bad the first day or so we were there so it is hard to tell what the playground was like, but from a short distance it looked very well maintained. Even with the bad weather, there was a large number of people there, but it did not feel packed. Over the air TV reception was OK, but you could not keep the channels “locked in” very long. AT&T wireless signal was decent. Driving in was a little tight, but I think that keeps this place as secluded as it felt. The cabins looked nice from what we can tell, and the Oak Haven part of the park is where we would like to stay on our next trip. In my opinion, this is little park is a jewel and a well-kept secret. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
OK state park. Sites are short and not level, but are adequate. Quiet park. Showers were somewhat dirtier than other state parks, but not terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
This is a great park for those who want to hike or bicycle or have a safe place for their kids to ride and play. It is quiet, but there is some road noise from a main highway about 2 miles away, but nothing objectionable. Some of the sites were a little closer together than you find in most state parks. While this park is listed as Big Rig friendly, I am guessing that about 30% of the sites would not accommodate rigs in excess of 37 feet. The park staff was friendly and helpful. The park is connected by a beautiful winding and hilly road to Bastrop State Park about 12 miles away. This park road is narrow with blind curves and low overhead clearance, so fifth wheelers and motorhomes beware. Overall, we had an enjoyable experience and we will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$15
This is a typical State Park, with pretty scenery, and adequate, but smallish sites. We didn't care for the fact that the site next door had a fire ring that was almost directly under our slideout, and unfortunately, they did almost all of their cooking there. The park has nice hiking trails, a fishing lake, and a scenic road that connects to Bastrop State Park ( a pretty drive, but don't try it with your trailer- there is very little overhead clearance). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
Very clean, quiet, and great place to hike and bike. The Lost Pines are beautiful. Our camp host on the Cozy Circle was very nice and helpful. Thanks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$14
This is state park camping at its best. Since we live nearby, we have camped here a number of times. The park staff is friendly and willing to do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. There is no highway noise. The park itself is nicely wooded and there is a road that runs between Buescher State Park and Bastrop State Park, Park Road One. Smithville is just a few miles with a grocery store, gas stations and restraurants. Wal-Mart is in both neighboring towns and no more than 17 miles away. If you are looking for a state park without all the bells and whistles but is quiet and relaxing, this is the one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$15
This is the park that many don't know about. It is 12 miles from Bastrop State Park which is one of the more popular parks in the area. Having stayed at both, I like Buescher better as it is more remote and doesn't have the traffic noise that Bastrop SP has. Very clean, nice folks running things. One area of the park is mostly trailers and motorhomes, another area for tents, and another for smaller trailers and pop-ups. Good fishing lake in the middle of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com