220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Marin RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (415) 461-5199
CGID346

Marin RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   6   9   8   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$58
We stayed at this RV park because it was convenient to San Francisco, Muir Woods, and the Pt. Reyes National Seashore, and it was perfect. It was within walking distance to the ferry. The nightly rate is high for the park itself, but there are few options as convenient. They did give AAA and Good Sam discounts. The sites are very tight, but the driveway was wide enough to maneuver into the sites. The office staff was very helpful with directions and visitor information. They had a huge laundry room which was very clean. I would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
The sites are narrow and just gravel. The staff was friendly. The pet area was through a fence and was a weed/sticker patch with the railroad tracks going through it. This is a perfect place to catch the Ferry to explore San Fransisco. Ferries are walking distance. Bakeries and and restaurants are walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$65
Park just the other side of GG bridge in Marin area. Close to ferry terminal, buses, and TJs. Backs up to bird refuge with great trails to walk dogs. Staff is really helpful and accommodating. No, the sites are not really wide nor treed. They do not have lawns. We come for the city and the hiking, not to hang out in an RV park. The prices increased recently, but so did land values and property taxes. The economy is good here. So, if you like to hang out in cutesy parks, don't come here. If you want a convenient and safe to stay in SF, you will like it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This park is convenient to the ferry to San Francisco. Sites were level, but very close together. They were separated by a railroad tie. The staff was nice, but oh, so many rules. The showers were clean and worked well, but the shower area looked like what I think a prison shower area would look like. All in all, a just about decent place to stay, but certainly not worth the rate we paid. We would not choose to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$47
I was concerned about this park until I arrived. It's clean and in a very unlikely location. It's close to everything ! The staff are new and extremely friendly. Spaces are all back in spots. I found them plenty big. The manager gave us two spaces (price of one)because we have five slides. We could have survived with one space, but truck parking would have been difficult! Stayed here Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day 2013. It's all about location. The dog area was great and I will come back. You can walk to Ferry and go straight into San Francisco. Any problems reported in past are changed. Feels safe, great staff, nice little park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Clean park. Well run. Handy to shopping and public transit. Located right by the ferry to SF, so great for sight seeing. Our motor home is small, so we use the showers and these are nice and clean. WI-FI however, is almost useless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This is a park that gives you good access to San Francisco. You are a ten minute walk to the ferry system to San Francisco and there are bus stops close by. The park has cable TV with a few channels. The Wi-Fi is really bad but at least they tell you that up front. There is a small pool on site. The staff is great. They will help with information with sightseeing and transportation. Roads are paved and sites are completely gravel. Sites are not large. Make sure you have reservations as this park does not have a lot of spaces especially for big rigs. Also, follow the directions on their web site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We really enjoyed our four days at this campground. Granted, the spaces are tight and there are no trees, but what can you expect this close to the city? I think this is the closest campground to the city that's acceptable. The sites vary a lot in length and width, but the management knows exactly what will fit into each campsite and assigns them accordingly. All the sites are gravel with a paved road in the middle. At the back of the campground are acres of wetland with walking paths where you can take your dogs. They have doggie bags and a pet waste trash can right at the opening to this which is convenient. The staff in the office has a wealth of information about what to do in the area, and most important, how to get there! We walked the 10 minutes to the ferry to the city, and it was a great way to travel: only $4.75 each way for a senior. Our son rode the bus from the city, and it dropped him off right at the campground. Our site was in the back and we heard no road noise, but I think you might hear some from the front sites. It's an easy drive to Sausalito or Tiburon. There's a great Trader Joe's within walking distance and a Safeway not far away. We tried to visit Muir Woods, but the roads and parking lots were packed with people and cars (on a weekday!) so we turned around and left. If you want to see redwoods, try the Samuel P Taylor State Park instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
The location next to the Larkspur Ferry to San Francisco is the main reason we stayed here. The RV park is good, however the spaces are close together and slides do reach the edge of the space. Toilets and showers are older but clean. It is a short drive to Sausalito and the Golden Gate Bridge. In a three or four day stay you can take the ferry to SF, enjoy the shops and restaurants of Sausalito, and get great pictures of the GG bridge. There is a nature trail at the back of the park that goes through the marshland and is good for bird viewing. You stay at this park for the location, so don't get upset about the tight spaces. We would definitely stay here again to show friends the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
This is a great, and very convenient park. The spaces are gravel and rather tight. It can be noisy towards the front, but does become rather quiet after rush hour. The park backs up to some sort of reserve, so you don't have traffic on all sides. The restrooms were clean, the staff was very helpful. It is walking distance from the bus into town, the ferry to Embarcadero, and an easy drive to the marina. The other plus is that it is walking distance to Trader Joe's. We will be back probably once or twice a year since we are fans of "The City". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
The main reason to camp here is the location. It is about 10 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge right on the 101 Hwy (I mean right on the 101). The ferry to San Francisco is a 10 minute walk away. (Don't even think of driving to the Ferry. Commuters fill up the lot early.) There are very few RV parks in the area so your choices are quite limited. Your RV is parked cheek to jowl with the other RV's (space was 17' wide) on rock. A number of RV's appeared to rent two spaces to have some room. The place is neat and clean the the employees are friendly. This is not a resort park. It is a place to park so you can visit the area. It is noisy from the 101 traffic. I would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The location is an excellent choice to leave your rig while going into San Francisco. While in an industrial type area, it seemed adequately secure, but overly so. This park has no grass, no space and no charm. It is a parking lot of gravel sites and a paved street. However, we could walk to the commuter ferry and it was still a good choice to park and ride from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Reviewing this park is difficult. If it were anywhere else, I would rate it a "2" due to VERY tight spots, freeway traffic noise, maneuvering issues, and overall lack of appeal. It looks more like a parking lot than an RV park. However, I wanted a park that was convenient to San Francisco, was safe, was near grocery stores and restaurants, and included easy freeway access and transportation options that wouldn't leave me spending my vacation in traffic. Based on my criteria, this park deserves a 10. The ferry terminal is an easy 20 minute walk. Grocery stores and restaurants can be reached in less than 10 minutes without getting on the freeway. It's an easy drive to the Golden Gate Bridge, to Marin Headlands, Rt. 1, and the Nike Missile site. We didn't use the park restrooms, but the pool looked clean, and the staff was very helpful with directions. Yes, we had to close our awning to allow the neighbor to park, we had to get used to the road noise (not extreme), and we had to figure out how to access the freeway, but it was all worth it for the convenience, and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Not having been RV'ing for long, I have to say the primary benefit to this place is location location location with a relatively short walk to the ferry terminal, short being about 1/2 mile. Other than that there is a Trader Joe's near by, but not much in the way of restaurants. The showers and restrooms while private, reminded me of an old high school locker room. The staff was friendly and the the hook-ups worked as expected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Great small park near San Francisco. 10 minutes to the bridge, 20 minutes to San Francisco. Very friendly staff. We stayed two weeks and would return. Parks are hard to come-by near San Francisco and this one is perfect to stay and discover San Francisco. The ferry to San Francisco is withing walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$43
Nice staff. Park has paved road and back-in gravel pads. The sites are long enough for big rigs, some sites are wide enough to accommodate units with bump-out on two sides. Close to ferry that takes you to San Francisco, lots of places to go locally. Good Wi-Fi and you can use satellite. They have a big laundry. Out back of park is an estuary, this has a trail for pet walks. Park is a small lot in city, the freeway runs out front. The sound of cars did not bother us, we enjoyed our stay and would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
This park is all about location. Sites are VERY close to each other. This is an ideal park to visit San Francisco. A 15 min walk to the Larkspur Ferry and 30 min ride to pier 1 at a reasonable price. It's 10 min to Golden Gate Bridge by car. Manager provides lots of SF info at check-in. Don't miss the (free) vista points 10 min from the park with a great view of the Golden Gate bridge and the San Francisco Skyline. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This is a great place to visit Muir Woods and Point Reyes. Have one of the staff tell you the secret on how to view San Francisco from the north side of the Golden Gate. Would have never found it without them. The campground is level and paved but the sites are composed of gravel. This makes it hard for pets and bare feet. There is not a tree in the place but it is mostly cool in the area so that is not as important as in other places. There are no picnic tables and space between sites is minimal. The skunks are real but did not have a problem. After dark take your flashlight so you can catch the reflection in their eyes and be able to avoid them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. One stays here for the location. It's a short 10 minute walk on a well-lit pedestrian/bike trail to the Larkspur ferry to the historic Ferry Building on San Francisco's Embarcadero. from there it's only a block or two to the cable cars, historic F line trolley, or the municial buses. The Golden-gate Transit bus also can take you into and out of SF with the Lucky Drive bus stop for Larkspur only a block walk to the rv park. Trader Joe's is 3 blocks away and gas stations are also nearby. The park itself is very clean but the sites are very close, not allowing for awnings if the rig next door has slide outs. We met 4 different staff and all were extremely helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
This RV park has people three feet away from one another, although regulations (which they give to you upon check in) clearly states that per fire regulations there should be six feet between rigs. Not the case here, they pack you in like sardines. The water & sewer hookup's are located at the back of your RV site so you need a double long hose to access it, unless your hookups are located in the back of your rig. Bathrooms had leaky toilets and shower stalls where you could see person next to you showering. Showers had not been cleaned recently. The office, pool, laundry ALL close at 8:00 PM which also happens to be the time which the SKUNKS come around each RV site to see if any food has been left outside. People in site next to us had their dogs sprayed by the skunks. Marin RV park personnel never once mentioned the skunk problem when we checked in. We barbecued one night and two skunks came to our site to see what the wonderful smell was. Needless to say we had to retreat to our trailer. Wi-fi was a joke, slower than dial up internet. Over priced RV park that is really quite boring. I wouldn't recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
Great location for San Francisco travel and walking distance to the ferry. A good city location. Wi-Fi worked fine. Not very elegantly looking with small pool. Sites are small. Nice management and very helpful. We would stay here again due to location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
We had one of the largest sites in the park - and it was not big. Many of the sites were barely large enough for a class B. The location was great. Lots of hiking trails right out back for our dogs. The ferry to San Francisco was just 10 minutes away. Wi-Fi in the park did not work well - we used our own Verizon Hotspot and it was great. Directions online from the park were very good. You must follow them exactly to find the park. We would camp here again preferably in the same site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
Location is a 10, the park itself is a 7. Directions and "signage" to get to the park are very poor, and it is difficult to maneuver. We missed our turn and ended up driving our motorhome-while towing our car, through a residential school zone with school letting out. 10 minute walk to the ferry that takes you to San Francisco and a 5 minute walk to the bus stop. All gravel back in sites, fairly level and extremely small!! The ladies at the front desk were extremely friendly and accommodating. Basic cable TV and poor WiFi. Tengonet is terrible no matter where you are. GREAT walking area at back of the park for dogs and bird watching along the bay. Also, walking distance to Trader Joe's, Bev Mo and Marin Brewing Company. Card access restrooms. We will definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Friendly quick check-in. The site was not level. I had to use boards under the duals. The water and sewer were at the rear which was the highest part of the site. I had to use the front of the site which required an extension of the water and sewer line to be used. We had a good view of San Quentin prison and was close to the ferry to SF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
Location is perfect. Short walk to Larkspur Ferry - Great for taking in an SF Giants game. Also close to Trader Joes, a nice convenience. All hookups (including sewer) are in the far rear of the site - bring extensions. Marsh at the rear of the campground offers a delightful view of the Bay. Campground is along highway 101, although we stayed at a site further away and road noise was negligible. While not a "scenic" campground, the location and rate was perfect for exploring SF, Marin Headlands, Stinson Beach areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
Great location near the Larkspur Ferry, but buy a Clipper card if you plan to take it often, as it's $36 round trip for 2 to the SF Ferry building! The park is basically a big parking lot, with clean restrooms, laundry and showers. But its proximity across the bay to SF makes it a great deal at $42 a night. Looked like a lot of the folks were monthlies, but an upscale bunch generally. Right off the highway 101, so it was easy for people to find us to visit. Trader Joes is right up the street. Not much to look at, but put together well and a great staff to keep the place clean and orderly. We will return for a month next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$44
We stayed after new managers took over, and were pleased with the new office friendliness, courtesy, professionalism, and a real desire to accommodate. Until this visit. I just couldn't believe what the female manager was telling us: we could only have one card key ($10 deposit) to access the rest room facilities, regardless we were two adults on board. We offered to pay another key deposit and were told to coordinate handing over the card key back and forth if we couldn't go at the same time. What kindergarten insanity is that? When my husband took the card key with him I was left with no choice but to call the office again, where the manager again argued over and over - until I changed tactic, and asked her what she really wanted for the second card key - $20, $50 $100. Then she laughed and said that is a good way to make money. That I could now come to the front office and she would give me one. In addition, this manager did not give us us any paperwork, no map, no Wi-Fi access, and it's not like there were busy as we arrived in a rainstorm, solitary new visitors. Instead of assigning us a generously sized space, in a park half empty, she gave us a space even our small rig couldn't fit into, and her husband (who seems to be a really nice even-keeled person) had to call her to get another space assigned. Yes we are the ones who had left a really glowing review of this park, and now, all we can say is: beware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$44
I agree with the previous reviewers. This campground is fine for an overnight and convenient to visiting San Francisco and the Bay Area, but the sites are just too narrow for comfort. We stayed here a week in order to visit family nearby and found the site pretty uncomfortable. No picnic table, no space to put out your chairs. Our neighbors were so close to us that we kept the blinds shut so we did not look into their RV. Site is gravel, level, and the utilities worked fine. The water hook-up is on a wood fence at the back of the site. The pool was not heated. The laundry room was fine. The front desk had lots of helpful tourist information such as ferry schedules costs of the buses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
It was exactly what we wanted & needed to visit San Francisco and vicinity. We walked to the ferry daily which took us right to downtown SF. From there we walked or jumped on their transit (trolley, streetcar, light-rail or bus). The management was very knowledgeable and helpful with our SF visit plans. We got a Good Sam discount. They also have a 7th night free promo when we were there that we missed. If you plan on using the ferry, get a clipper card free from the machine It saves a ton on the ferry fee! Note that the ferry service is limited on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Vastly improved, the best value you can get in Marin County. We travel a lot in MH's, TT's, tents, you name it, in the US and all over the world. That being said, I find reviews must take into account the neighborhood, local setting, i.e. city, town, country, the type of park (i.e are they committed by law they must rent to long term residents and their hangers-on, on the grounds as well) etc. We stayed in this Park many years ago and were hesitant to return. We are DELIGHTED with the improvements. We certainly plan on making this Park a regular part of our itinerary. The management has made pro-active changes. They cleaned up the fences adjacent to a wonderful wild-life preserve. There is great bird watching! Their grounds seem more organized and a lot cleaner. I don't know *how* they got certain long term residents with "issues" more under control, cleaned up, and not bothering the visitors, but they have. The security is wonderful. Finally! Cameras 24/7, and public facilities (baths/toilets) closed when they should be closed for the security of all. This park is close to big cities and faces issues not faced by your pretty little park nestled high in the Sierras with an acre of land per picnic table plus 2 deer minimum guaranteed photo ops. Get a grip not a gripe, folks! Do you know what "people" try to get away with these days? There's a price to be paid for location, location, location and the mandatory closing of restrooms at the management's discretion is one of them. They keep this park quiet and clean. Needless to say, the location is fabulous. The air is fresh and clean, so is the water. Close to anything and everything you need. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Very easy access to San Francisco from this park, either via the bus which stops right across the road, or a 10-15 minute easy walk to the ferry. We recommend the ferry; it is very scenic. This is definitely not the camping in the woods experience, but you trade that for the convenience of being so close to San Francisco. It is basically a parking lot, but there is a nice walking trail out into the estuary, for dog walking and bird watching. The pool is a nice touch. Laundry on site. The host was pleasant and helpful with great information about San Francisco. Overall, a nice, clean park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$57
Big parking lot, don't expect anything pretty, but the sites and pool area were clean. Why do they close rest rooms at 9:00 PM?? They have combination locks so I don't understand that. The only reason to be there is access to the city by ferry, otherwise it was not a place I'd pick to stay unless just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Located very close to the ferry and bus to get to San Francisco. Staff were really helpful with A LOT of information on the area. Park was clean but spaces were close. Utilities worked well but we are used to having long hoses. There is a huge area just outside the park for animals. We took a drive into town and saw our first redwood grove: cool. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
This park is a great location, but noisy because of the 101 freeway. The sites are just gravel, no tables or shade. Please be aware that they CLOSE their restrooms from 9 p.m. until 7:30 a.m. (as well as closed from 5-6 pm for cleaning). This may present a problem for some folks, and we found the closure hours excessive. If they opened earlier in the morning it would be more acceptable. We've have only visited one RV Park in Oregon that closed their restrooms, and that was from 10 pm- 6 am, which seems more reasonable. The staff was helpful with good local information. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This is not a resort by any means, but that is not why you would stay here. It is a great place to visit downtown San Francisco from. The front desk person was extremely helpful and friendly upon check in and supplied us with a ton of information on what to do and how to get there when visiting the city. The sites are on the small side, and have hard pack gravel surface. On the positive side, rain is not much of an issue here. Hooking up to water and sewer was a bit of a challenge because the sewer is in the back of the site, but the sites slope towards the front for drainage. Depending on where your sewer connection on your rig is, it may be too far to drain up the slope. I also needed two lengths of sewer hose and water hose to reach the connections. The park does have a small pool, which looked crystal clear. There are some long term residents here, but their sites were clean and well kept. There is the ever present freeway noise, so the farther you get to the rear of the park the better you will be. There is an old train track right next the rear of the property, but the train has not run in years. In fact, the fence is open at the rear and the grass is mowed short to provide access to a nature preserve area to stroll or walk your dog. I would stay here again if visiting the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Sites are unbelievably small for the price. Lady in the office was snippy and outright rude at times. They are pet friendly as long as you keep that pet on a leash every moment. Laundry is expensive. Great location close to ferry. Noisy because of highway 101. Warning: if you want to stay here happily, follow the rules or they will make try to make you feel like you are in 3rd grade and in trouble! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
I'll repeat what the other reviewers said. Convenience is what I'm paying for. Because I have a small trailer, I'm parked with no more than five feet on either side of me in a single space with my truck parked in front, but paying the same $50 plus tax as the larger sites. Fortunately, the people who live here are very nice, and I'm gone most of the time. I don't watch much TV, but whats here is appears to be good, and the WiFi is good for the most part. The woman in the office was very pleasant. Her husband backed my trailer in for me: I could never have done it. Again, a very pleasant gentleman. I have rated the park as a 7 because I expected a parking lot, and the convenient location warrants it. It's a hard place to find: use these coordinates on your GPS. N37.94175 / W122.51439 (it's my site, but I'm right near the street so it might help you locate the place), rather than the address. There's a lot of traffic and short streets to navigate. Aside from the short walk to the Ferry, there's a neat trail called the Bay Trail. Great walk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
Unbelievably tiny sites, had to keep all within the red blocks laid out, couldn't even use our awning because their rules said you couldn't go over the red line. We have 3 slides and were able to put them out but no room for a table and sitting outside the RV was cramped to say the least. Great location to the ferry to get to downtown San Francisco, but that would be the only reason we would return here. Staff was good and helpful but for the money, the site was not worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
Read the past comments. This is a parking lot with sites so narrow that fire code prevents you from using your awning (even window awnings) unless you rent two adjoining lots. Still, it's the location that will always bring people back, in spite of the down-sides. HINT: Try to arrive during the day when others are out touristing. That way you'll have more room to maneuver into your slot. Not all sites are equal in width, and when everyone is home, with toads and trucks parked in front of their units, it can be a delicate operation: especially if you are between two large fifth-wheels with many slides and a large truck. One person said that the lady in the office was snippy. I found her fun, friendly, and very helpful: ready with plenty of information. Cable TV is terrible: few local channels. The lady in the office even apologized for it before handing me the cable sheet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
It's the location! With easy access to the 101 freeway, this campground is clean and neat. Office and the hosts were friendly and efficient. Parking was tight on level gravel. It has all back-in sites. A large number of the guests are relatively long term. Very pricey: but you have no other choices close to the Golden Gate Bridge and this part of Marine County. Although it's not a great choice we would stay here again: because of it's location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
This was our very first campground ever in an RV, as foreigners, British, we had no idea what to expect. The check in guy was very unhelpful as we arrived just before closing, that was made up by the camp hosts the next morning that really tried hard to get us to the Redwood Forest. The campground is basically a car park near the freeway, there were lots of long term lets there. The sites were quite narrow but well kept and level. The shower facilities were immaculate and well kept. I would say an ideal site for getting in and out of San Francisco or John Muir Park. I only gave a 6 due to its location and tight fit of vehicles, service from the camp hosts and cleanliness deserves more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
A surly, arrogant and snippy check-in lady made a very poor first impression. On the other hand, its location, location and location. If you want a relatively secure park close to everything in the Bay Area, you don’t have many, if any, other choices. This is a very tight park for big rigs. There is not much room between sites. Awnings are out of the question, due to stated fire regulations that require at least 6 feet separation between rigs. I don’t think we had that much space between slide outs without adding awnings to the equation. The drive is paved, but the back in sites are large gravel. There are no pull-through sites. 50 amp, WiFi, sewer and water were very good. The rating ignores the poor check-in impression, discounts the tightness of the sites and is heavily weighted toward the location. We would stay here again because of the location. We stayed here for one week and the rate reflects the weekly rate including tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
Nice park. Good price for the area although more than I like to pay. Level gravel lots. Friendly staff. Wi-Fi, cable and cell phone worked well. Pool. Office staff informative about surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
This park has level gravel sites and paved roads with friendly staff. Easy access for big rigs (back-ins only), decent pet walk, & good cable TV selection. Rigs with slide-outs get TWO spaces (because the single spaces are narrow) which was really nice because it gave you room for the car and chairs. The Golden Gate bridge has a $4.00 toll for south bound traffic, but NO toll for north bound traffic (US-101), so getting back to the park is free! Read park web site for directions to park. My Garmin GPS wanted me to take some strange turns off I-880, so I used a MAP to get to the bridge and once I got over the bridge the Garmin did just fine. The ferry into town is only one mile away and it dumps you at the ferry building downtown. From there you can bus your way, ride the trolley cars ($5.00 a person now) or catch the subway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$57
Nice parking lot-style park, great location, wide spaces, quieter than you would think being on US 101. They clean the rest rooms around 6-7 p.m., which is kind of unusual in our experience, but there are two sets of rest rooms, so you can use the ones they're not cleaning. The rest rooms are very nice, modern. The door locks have proven problematic for some people--all three of us found ourselves helping other campers use them at some point, and they're a pain if you're carrying anything. The Wi-Fi is fast most of the time. The cable doesn't have a ton of channels but is fine. The staff is very helpful with regard to information about getting around San Francisco via public transportation. It's a short walk to both the bus and the ferry; we used both and found them very nice (tour bus-like buses). A Cost Plus and BevMo are a less than 10 minute walk away; a Trader Joe's is opening in that same mall soon. The pool is heated. I was going to use the laundry but thought it too expensive ($2.50 for a hot load). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$48
Rate was $43 + tax - $47.30. Wi-Fi worked OK, easy walk to Larkspur Landing for ferry to San Francisco or for restaurants etc. Staff very friendly and helpful. It's a small place next to the freeway and many seem to be staying for months at a time. Good place for a couple of days if visiting SF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
As far as RV parks close to cities go, this one is pretty good. It is a parking lot, but the sites are well-maintained and most are large enough for big rigs. The facilities, including showers and laundry, are clean and up to date. The staff is very friendly, and they helped us navigate the convenient public transportation from the park to the city. From what I could tell, this was the least expensive park in the San Francisco area, and there is no reason to pay more for the others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Park was exactly what others had stated. Sites were close together but manageable, even a 1st timer like myself could manage. Staff was very friendly and helpful in providing assistance. Access to the ferry was convenience so that we didn't have to drive into SF since we didn't have a car. We stayed 2 nights and would visit here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
A 7 is the highest rating that I give a parking-lot style RV park with units crammed in together. However, because we had slide outs & they were not full, they assigned us two spots which helped. Motorhomes have an advantage here since when you back in you can actually see pretty green hills (in spring anyway) above the other rigs from many sites. A couple of sites also have views out to the large adjacent wetland preserve, which dog owners will love for long walks. There is also a pretty good animal hospital adjacent. We have two laptops, and the new wifi worked great on one and not that well on the other. We were 3/4 down the row away from the office. Satellite worked fine with no obstructions, & they have extensive cable TV. Office staff was very accommodating and friendly. The reason we stay here is location - 20 minutes to Oakland/East Bay or The City. It's a 1 mile walk to the Larkspur-downtown SF pedestrian/bike ferry but the price has skyrocketed since our last visit ($14.20 roundtrip) making it much cheaper to drive if you can find free on street parking. Marin county is beautiful and there are fabulous parks all over. This is our second stay here and because of the location and amenities we'll probably keep coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
A typical California large-city type campground. Sites are extremely close together, but park is clean & well-kept. Very convenient to the ferry and San Francisco. Office staff are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$44
We would rate the campground a 4 and the staff a 10. We were really happy with the management. Very friendly and accommodating. The park itself is just basically a parking lot. If you are using this location to park your RV and explore the surrounding areas (like SF), then it should work. But, you couldn't be more crammed in next to adjacent sites. Pool was closed when we were there. Mobile home park nearby had some shady characters, but we didn't feel unsafe in this RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
This park has location, location, and location if you want to visit the San Francisco area. You can walk to the Larkspur ferry or take a bus (40 minutes) to the city's downtown. Great laundry, fine bathrooms. An added plus is the excellent network of biking/hiking trails in the area. Also, the park is adjacent to the Corte Madera ecological reserve (marsh) which had fabulous birding when we visited. Staff very friendly, new office under construction - due in the spring along with WiFi. Downside is it's basically a parking lot and adjacent to the freeway, so there's lots of traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
This was a really horrible park in a really horrible area. When we drove in we thought we were in some kind of a gypsy camp with run down permanent sites that were packed in really close to each other. We didn't feel safe the whole time we were there. My husband tried to use the amenities and the code wouldn't work and he couldn't get in the door. The path to the ferries was blocked so we had to rely on taxis to get us to the ferry terminal. The people in the office were nice but alas the park was a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
This was a pleasant park extremely close to San Francisco, just over the Golden Gate Bridge. We parked here for a week and enjoyed the sunshine and terrific location to the city. We were just up the road from the ferry to the city when we didn't feel like making the drive, we would take the ferry. We have a large rig with three slides and they gave us two adjoining lots without an extra charge to accommodate our needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com