217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Yosemite Pines RV Resort & Family Lodging was rated 6 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (209) 962-7690
CGID347

Yosemite Pines RV Resort & Family Lodging

Camp Information
Sites
224
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   3   8   8   8   7   6   10   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Enjoyed the campground - clean pool and it was well occupied in early evening 1st night we were there. Other sport areas, too, plus the petting zoo, all of which my grandson took advantage of. Have a small store (Popsicle time) and a deli which we didn't try. Activities like marshmallow roast/hay rides/line dancing, but too early for us this trip as we weren't back from Yosemite in time on 2 of the nights we were there. Is about 22 mi from Big Oak Flat gate to Yosemite, which was probably about a 25 minute drive, which we really enjoyed both days. Each site also has a light on top of the power stands - most worked. The sites are terraced and they do have nice tent sites, too. Most sites seemed accessible by most rigs. Bathrooms clean enough and well lit (some stains in fiberglass showers) to be comfortable using. They also have cabins and yurts, which my daughter and son-in-law peeked in and said were nice, and they have a nice "training" course on the trail which they explored. Reasonable rates. Would definitely stay there again. Very nice people both as staff and guests. They even led several rigs in after dark (and probably after their work shift would have required it). We had full hookups, but they also have some with just electric and water. No cell service (but the entire area is sporadic and I was told in town that Verizon seemed to work best). Used the Wi-Fi a couple of times and it was easy and worked pretty well, but I was using at off-peak hours. I felt the roads were well marked, so unless they've changed the signs since someone else posted in July, I'm not sure what they are talking about. Also, you probably won't see much green grass/weeds, etc., unless you are there in spring/late fall/winter because there just isn't much water. Considering the sites in the area we were in were all dirt, you might not want to stay there in really rainy weather - I didn't notice any gravel or paved sites, but that might just be me. Very pleasant and relaxing park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Stayed at this "campground" in July. Checked in and was told to go to the site marked by the signs. Only problem the signs were positioned wrong. Problems getting into site. Very run down park for the rate charged. Was basically a red dirt camp witrh dust everywhere. Pool looked like they hadn't added chlorine in months. Ok for a quick overnight but wouldn't stay any longer. Wi-Fi was down most of the time and the channels on TV were snowy. No cell service whatsoever, Looked like most of the rentals were tents... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This may have been a nice park in it's day, but you can see a lack of upkeep around the park and a lot of disrepair. The front/pool area was nice, but that stopped when you got to the sites. Our site was level but narrow. They state 14 cable channels but we were only able to get 4 which were poor/snowy. Went up to the shower/restroom area by our site. The easiest way to put it was nasty. Dumpsters around the park were overflowing the day we arrived. Fine for a stop over night, but we would not stay here again for an extended period of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
Everything within Yosemite Park was booked so we decided to stay here. The swimming pool, which was well maintained, sealed the deal, as we have teenagers & it was close to 100 degrees. Great park for families, with many activities, petting zoo, gold panning, hayrides, hamburgers on grill, etc. Small store and deli onsite were handy. Campground is in a gully so no cell service. Had to use pay phone at office. Wi-Fi was good by the pool/store, but not reliable at campsite. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers in excellent condition. There is daily bus service (YARTS- $15 RT) to Yosemite valley for those who don't want to drive 45 minutes each way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Yosemite Pines campground was a very nice location. It has spots for all kinds of camping – RV, tents, yerts and cabins. The park is very woodsy, and is also very family friendly. There is a small store for purchasing last minute supplies as well as a deli. The restrooms and showers were very clean. Each spot had a picnic table and fire pit. For RVers, there were pull-through spots and back-ins. The park also has volleyball, playground equipment, and a very nice pool with tables and lounge chairs. The only downside was that the Internet Wi-Fi connection was very poor. Another positive was that the web site gave us the appropriate driving directions for RVs (come up route 120). I would definitely recommend this park for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Although others have commented on the dust it is a fine campground. All different kinds of accommodations, things to do, nice facilities, and pool. The National Park is still a ways away, but I don't know if you can camp closer. This is a good place to stay if you don't have reservations inside the park. Would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
I was able to get a site here on short notice when all of Yosemite was booked. The other reviews describe the amenities pretty well, and yes, it's a bit dusty with lots of trees. But I enjoy the trees, it still feels like you are camping but have full hookups. Although the park entrance is only about 20 miles away, the valley floor is at least an hour, with Glacier Point another 40 minutes after that. But when Yosemite is booked, you take what you can get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
This is a great park, well laid out and with lots of amenities, e.g., an on-site Deli, petting farm, pool, cabins, etc. However, as previous campers have mentioned, and for a number of years, the dust is horrendous!! The roadways are in desperate need of a layer of pebbles . Even the 5 MPH speed limit through out the park doesn't help the problem. We had the first site up in Section B and coped with dust every time someone drove in or out. The park advertise free Wi-Fi but in all honesty it was largely nonexistent; it didn't work more than it did. When we asked the office about it they merely brushed us off and said it was a bit of a dinosaur. Very frustrating as there is no Verizon coverage in this area either, so we had no phone and lousy Wi-Fi. The park is about 20 miles from Yosemite National park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$61
We stayed here for a week while visiting Yosemite. Our site # 85 was big enough for our 40' motorhome and tow vehicle. The staff was great and the deli served great food. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This CG needs some major renovation. The roads are in dire need of gravel to keep the dust down. Just walking your dog will raise a cloud of dust. The sites are very small for big rigs. My site had tree branches hanging so low they laid on top of the coach and trees so close as to prevent our awnings from opening. Trees definitely needed trimming. Electric, water and sewer service were fine. Rate posted was with Good Sam discount. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$56
This campground had loads of activities for the children, trailer rides, campfire talks, petting farm, a pool, deli, volleyball court to name but a few. We only stayed a night and only used the firepit and picnic table on the site. We had a pull through site which was mostly flat and had some shade. The hookups were easy and the neighbors a little close! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
All around this park was nice.  The staff was great, and the very friendly grounds crew does a wonderful job.  It had large level spots and they were very accommodating to give us a nice shady back-in.  We were here for a week and a couple of days it hit 100 degrees F. The hiking trail with the exercise stations was quiet original for an RV park. Nice pool and the on-site restaurant food was great. If I have any negatives it would be the dust.  All of the sites and road are soft dirt so even at the speed limit of 5MPH dust is everywhere.  Some gravel or road-base would be invaluable. Also, they should take the "fact" that they offer cable off of the advertisement.  It doesn't work.  I complained and was told the were "working on it." No fault of the parks: we have Verizon and had no service, even in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Park convenient to Yosemite. Lots of children playing and enjoying park activities. The reason for the poor rating is the dust conditions. They have no dust control, and the roads and sites are all dirt, and with vehicles driving around, the dust is swirling and covers everything. Not possible to sit outside and enjoy the weather which was nice while we were there. I spoke with park management regarding dust control, and they just said they were sorry. They do nothing to control the problem. If you have allergy problems, avoid this park. Forget trying to keep your rig or tow vehicle clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
This was a quiet RV park but it had lots of sites. Activities were not being run apart from the petting zoo which was only open at 8 a.m. and you only fed the animals the hay they already had. I felt it was overpriced for the time of year and its lack of activities. It was raining when we were there and our site was boggy. The nature trail is great around the outside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$54
My husband, me, and our 2 kids decided to head out towards Yosemite for a long weekend of rest and relaxation. We usually go to Yosemite Pines for their RV site hookups because they offer a nice range of hookups and options, not to mention some great facilities for the kids. This time, we opted for a premium back in with full hookup and the price is pretty reasonable, in my honest opinion. One of the lovely parts of this resort is the location, it's pretty quiet and close to Yosemite National Park, where we explored for 2 days over the long weekend. We also opted not to drive to the National Park one day in order to take advantage of the various hiking trails that are near the resort, so that's another positive; there are plenty of things to do when we did not feel like venturing out very far. For example, my son just loved the petting zoo and he is still telling us about those awesome llamas! The swimming pool was a very nice feature and was very popular among the young families. The children's playground was a lifesaver when we were tired and just wanted our kids to venture to play somewhere! The convenience store was pretty great as well, because we forgot to pack a few things and with the general store right on the resort, we did not worry about a thing especially when my husband forgot to bring our toothpaste! Overall, my family and I had a blast and I would definitely recommend Yosemite Pines for any traveler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
A nice park with some big rig gotchas. First, if approaching from the south, DO NOT follow GPS directions as it will route you over two roads unsuitable for any larger vehicle, or anything without an engine or exhaust brake. Hwy 49 and Old Priest's Grade are the names of these roads. Fortunately we didn't follow the GPS, and later drove in our Jeep over these challenging roads. Once through Groveland, if you miss the turnoff for Old Hwy 120, you should turn around and use the first entrance for Old 120 particularly for anything larger than a pickup camper. At the campground, inspect your site as many pull through sites have too many untrimmed trees requiring a back-in. Staff is friendly and helpful. In our case remaining after closing for check in. Hookups are fine, no problems. A definite return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
This is a very family friendly campground. They have a petting farm where they let the kids into the corral to feed the animals every morning. There is a playground, a pool (closed for the winter,) volleyball court, and horseshoes. It's a very rustic place (I think the person earlier who said it was very commercialized was talking about a different place.) The roads are dirt and pretty bumpy, no concrete pads for the RV's, but it's very shady and they allow open fires. It's a 20 minute drive to Yosemite National Park where we spent one day and had a great time exploring. The bathrooms are not glamorous but they are clean and fresh smelling. All in all, we had a great time. No cell service though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Terrific family location with plenty to keep the family occupied and within reasonable proximity to Yosemite National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We rated this park on the low end (6) for two reasons, (1) Its VERY commercialized, not rustic and quiet at all. The sites are jammed in there like sardines and its a pretty noisy place. (2) The bathrooms weren't not that nice; the concrete paint on the floors was peeling everywhere and there were no mats on the floor; I slipped a couple times. If you don't mind a crowded RV park, with terrible bathrooms, high prices for the spots, this is your place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Great park for families. Hayrides weekend evenings, petting zoo, pool. Spots are not very private but the evenings have been quiet. My only complaint is there are campfires at almost every campsite and as the campsites are so close to each other, smoke is a real issue for myself with asthma. We ended up shutting all the windows every evening and turning on the a/c. This would probably not be a big issue with most people but it ended up a problem for me. The only other big minus would be a whole lot of dust clouds anytime someone drove by our bus. This is a great park for young families, not for people with breathing issues. P.S. There is no mobile phone reception for most carriers, including AT&T. No phones! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We were lucky to get a site with two trees to provide shade as it was hot while we were there - some sites are in the full sun. The interior roads are dirt but if people drive the 5mph, it's not an issue. There's a nice "nature trail" that goes around the outside edge of the grounds - perfect for walking our dog. Good Wi-Fi and plenty for families with kids to do (pool, petting farm, volleyball, hayrides on the weekend, etc). I would recommend this park and it's only about 22 miles from the entrance to Yosemite - plan for an hour to get to Yosemite Valley (if you don't stop along the way). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We were sorely disappointed. They advertised big rig friendly and we have a 40' motorhome. Had trouble getting into the pull through spot and couldn't avoid the hanging branches. When we left, my husband had to prop the branches up with a long-handled RV cleaner, back out and go into the spot next to us (fortunately it was empty) since there was no way he'd have been able to swing out of our spot without hitting the truck parked in front of our spot or the fire hydrant, tree and lamp post. It was definitely NOT 'big rig' friendly. Thought the personnel at the front desk was disinterested, if not rude at times. They seemed to dislike giving change for the laundry room. If that's the case, then have a change making machine in the laundry. Excellent choice for young families with children, they have hay rides, gold panning, movies ~lots of things for children. Best off in a small trailer. The interior roads are all unpaved and extremely dusty. Would definitely not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Nice park, approximately 1 hr from Yosemite. All in all a quiet friendly park. Some dust blowing around from the cars on the road through park, but not too awfully bad. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$51
It's hard for me to give this park a fair rating because, IMO, it's WAY OVERPRICED. Location, location, location. $50 per day for a "premium" site (non-holiday, $75 three day minimum for holidays), I expect a great deal more. My site is unlevel (rear wheels off the ground by three inches. Yeah I know.) Many sites the same and have trees encroaching on them. All sites need TLC, unless the park wants to be considered rustic. For families, this is a great park with a petting zoo and other family friendly amenities, none of which I need. I was able to get satellite at my site but many won't. The WiFi (free Tengo!) is blazingly fast. As a warning to travellers from Merced: Highway 120, with its switchbacks and SEVERE grades is as scary for a large gasser like mine, as is Red Mountain Pass, maybe worse. I would not consider returning here, but if you don't mind being robbed or have kids, this might be for you. Sorry if this rating is contradictory in spots, but I don't know how else to rate it and be accurate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
This should be a great RV park. It is nestled in trees, far enough off the main road to be completely quiet and large enough to handle big rigs, 5th wheels, trailers and small camp trailers. They also have a bunch of cabins and tent sites. It is about 50 miles from Yosemite and, coming from the West one of the better looking campgrounds. The RV sites are gravel and well leveled. Most of the sites have trees adjacent to them, but you have to be careful not to brush up against them as you pull in. We were able to work around our tree, but saw a large RV scrape up it’s side trying to get set up. The sites and fire pits also needed some clean up and general grounds work. The entire campground is gravel and, when we were there (First week in April), the roads were a mess. There were large ruts in them so deep it was very difficult to drive around and not feel like you were about to loose traction or tip dangerously. They had smoothed out the areas where the owners and service employees drove, but had ignored the areas where the customers had to drive. (seems like that is backwards) They have what could be a pretty nice nature trail. However, it was in very poor condition. The brush had started to over grow some parts of the trail and needed to be pruned. Some parts of the trail were unclear and you were not sure where it went. Like I indicated this could be a great RV park. The owners and staff need to “show it some love” and bringing it back to where it probably once was. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Our family just spent a joint camping weekend with our friends here, with 5 young children and 4 adults. We were met by a very friendly staff who let us switch RV sites (with no problem) to accommodate our young children. Hay ride every night and petting farm was a plus and something our kids really enjoyed. Nature trail and gold mine were a nice walk and also a plus. Pancake breakfast on Saturday (yummy applesauce pancakes) served with a friendly smile and small talk. Our group never left the campground and had a blast. We were very happy that we were allowed to have a campfire. My only issue was the pool: it seemed a bit murky and would have been a super plus if it was heated! All in all we are already planning our next trip to the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
The only good points I have to say about the park is that it is fairly close to Yosemite and the Wi-Fi was adequate. We had a water and electric site. Very dusty but could have been corrected with a little effort. There is a petting zoo for kids. Now the bad points. The most important factor in running a business is customer satisfaction. That factor is totally missing here. Their standard answer is "get used to it" or "take it or leave it". Be aware that there is a $5.00 fee for dumping. So that means you pay the same fee as those who have full hook-ups except you have the inconvenience of having to stop and use the dump station. Maybe I have been lucky, but in 25 years of RVing from coast to coast, I have NEVER been charged for dumping when I was a paying guest at a private park, state park, or Corp of Engineer's park. I will not ever return there and will let everyone I know not to go there. Go with the understanding that you will regret it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
I am giving this a 5 for a few reasons, good and bad. First the good. Super friendly welcome. The two ladies at the front desk were tops. The pool looked very clean and inviting. A cute little petting zoo. Spaces were pretty darn close to flat. Fire rings and picnic tables in every site. Now the bad. Super dusty roads. Any diesel pusher motorhome in motion was followed by a huge cloud of dust. All cars kicked up a nice cloud of dust even while traveling at a snails pace. My site was of adequate size, but another nearby 40' pusher was stuffed into a really small site and they made their reservations a back in February. Dumpsters were always full. Tremendous potential. Interior road improvements would make this place an 8 or 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Pros: Great park for kids. Has nightly hay rides, and a petting zoo. Cons: It's a VERY challenging drive up steep, winding road. VERY scary. Even experienced RVers were somewhat rattled. Had mechanical problems when preparing to leave and descend that dangerous road. Staff was very rude and demanded we leave our campsite inadequately prepared for such a descent. They had ZERO concern for our safety. Recommend camping at the bottom of the mountain instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
The park has some nice shaded and level sites. However, the roads are dirt and therefore it is very dusty. Wi-Fi worked well and was available at our site; cell phone coverage was not available. The laundry facilities were large and clean. The staff were helpful; someone came to our site to make sure we knew that a UPS overnight package was waiting for us. There are a lot of kid activities, petting zoo, tractor hay rides, walking trail, pool, etc. My only complaint is the office gave me the wrong lesser amount "discount". When I audited my bill, I discovered they gave me the lessor Good Sam discount instead of the greater weekly rate discount. I understand about not "discount double dipping", but I feel you should automatically receive the better discount! This park is a LONG drive away from Yosemite Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
Most of the sites were poorly lighted for night entry back into park. The "roads" to/between sites are poorly defined, more like walking paths. The sites are definitely not set up for the newer, larger RVs with slideouts. The only way to get out of our assigned spot was to drive through the one in front of us. The roads to the campground and around the campground are awful! We stayed three nights, only because there wasn't anything else available. Do not recommend this if you have an RV over 20 feet in length; and, it needs to have high axle!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$41
What a dump. Sites are small and not level. Pretty filthy and unkempt. Don't bring your big rig here if you have alternatives available. We moved around a bit before finding a pull-through that would hold our 36' plus tow length, but the front of the coach is jacked up so high that we had to put lumber under the portable step to make it possible to get in and out. (We have a diesel so and the door is in the front.) There is no room for a chair or picnic table beside the coach because the sites are so narrow. They are cut into the side of the dirt hill that is the park. This lousy site was not because of lack of available spaces. The place was almost empty. Its because of shameful park management and dishonesty on the part of people who pretended not to know that they have almost no long or level sites. The pool is pretty and a swim would have been nice in this place, where late September (9/29) brings temps of well over 100 degrees. Unfortunately, it closes at 6:00PM. We were told we would have on-site Wi-Fi, but even at the site closest to the office (that we eventually settled into), the signal was so weak that it came in and out. At least the TV is somewhat decent, with clarity on its 14 stations. The owners of this park should be ashamed. The fact that they aren't, speaks volumes about what to expect. Make this the park of last resort. It is the second to the worst campground I have ever been in during my five years of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
It is about 30 minutes from Yosemite. As we were staying there toward the end of July, full-hookup sites were at a premium. We had some shade at our site but it was still HOT morning to evening. My son says the restrooms were not clean at all. The petting zoo at entrance to park with llamas, goats, donkey. The swimming pool was small and crowded. The desk staff gave us a hassle when we had a legitimate complaint about our RV site. Yosemite doesn't have hook-ups so we had little choice where to stay. We'll look elsewhere if we visit Yosemite again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We came in at night on highway 120 which the campground recommended. It was VERY scary. We have a 40 foot motorhome my husband actually kissed the ground when we got there. This campground is all dirt. Our site was TINY and short and sloped so much on the sides there was no room for our chairs or a picnic table. Basically this was a mound of dirt with hookups. When I asked if we could move I was told "NO" even though just the previous day I had been assigned a different site and decided to extend so they moved me. I guess that was a Big mistake. We were there for 4 days I kept looking around thinking maybe if we were in a different site I could review this better. Nope. The dust, the staff, the laundry room the distance from Yosemite it all factored in to my score. The staff on arrival was "prickly" and I'm a happy go lucky type! This is a good distance from Yosemite took us about an hour to get to the valley floor. The laundry room had 2 dryers that worked, 4 washing machines with one that was broken. When we asked if they could be fixed the lady in the office said that is not their responsibility they contract that out. The grocery store and restaurant next door in town were excellent. Just stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Dustiest place I have ever been to. Roads are dirt not gravel. This area is having a hot (100+) stretch of weeks and way too much dust. Spaces are mostly tight for big rigs. Pool looks nice and many activities for the kids. Good location for visiting Yosemite. Pricey for what you get!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Very attractive lay-out, many sites with shade trees, very children-friendly with special on-site programs for them. Showers got a lot of use so cleaning did not keep up - a minor irritant. Park is 22 miles from Yosemite Park boundary but please know that from Campsite to Yosemite Village and Visitor Center takes about 90 minutes along slow and rather edgy roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
This was a very nice campground. Wide spaces. We stayed here for 5 days and did not have any problems. The entrance to Yosemite was about 16 miles away as I remember, but wasn't bad. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
I would describe this campground as just enough. Just enough cable channels (about 14) to claim cable TV. Just enough Wi-Fi (make sure you understand the slight of hand 2 hour rule) to claim free Wi-Fi. The sites are tight and close together. I was in section B and had to snake out of my site and then try and fit a 33 foot trailer between two VERY close trees to leave the campground. It is still a good drive to the Valley floor so it is just close enough to claim it is close to the entrance. The pool was nice and my wife who grades the restrooms rated them as only average. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I stayed here 4 years ago and the management has changed since then. The campground is definitely worse! The rates are much higher (they were Passport American before) and the sites have not been improved or changed. It is on a terraced hillside and alot of the sites are very unlevel. They are narrow. They do have a nice pool area, laundry (although I was accosted by a worker when heading to do laundry and asked "are you registered here??"). Other activities also that I had no interest in. I had orginally reserved 16 nights as they said they were booked and I could not get 3 weeks (21 nights). When I arrived, I asked if there were any vacanicies and if I could stay 21 nights. I was told there were vacancies but the manager would have to be asked to authorize an 'extended stay'. The next day, I was told that I could not stay any longer than 16 days. This is at a $40 a night rate with no discounts!! The front desk told me that they had 'just about gotten rid of the riff-raff in the park and could not allow extended stays' I was asked twice if my stay was 'vacation or something else'. I am a full timer. I found several encounters with the personnel in the park to be unhelpful and unfriendly. My truck and fifth wheel are very clean and less than 4 years old, hardly what anyone would call 'riff-raff'! Several of the employees and camphosts have very old and unkempt campers with junk all over their campsite. There are also several old ratty campers that are occuping spots with no one staying in them. I was very displeased in general and will not stay here again. It is 50 miles and a good 45 minute drive to Yosemite Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
We were delayed by mechanical trouble and arrived one day late. We asked to have our stay extended one day in exchange to the lost day and showed our repair receipt. The park was nearly empty so extending our stay would not have cost them anything. Answer: No Refunds. Driving around the park, we were accosted by a surly and crude employee who threatened us with eviction because he did not like our driving (we were under the 5 mph speed limit and had a kid in the bed of the pick-up). This park is a big dust bowl, the roads are not paved and the dust gets into everything. I will not be going back and suggest you too find another nearby RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is a great place to stay. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Nice little store. Lots of stuff for kids to do including petting farm, playground / park. hay rides, and campfire stories / movies in the evening. Great feel. Good safe feeling. Felt like I was able to enjoy great outdoors without loosing my amenities. Getting there was hard using New Priest Grade Road on Hwy 120. There are a lot of fun things to do in the local area. Good eats in Groveland. Note: When reserving a site, be honest about the length of your rig. If you low ball your rig size (like we did) they will put you in a small site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
We stayed at Yosemite Pines with my husband and three children. The campground and rv resort is set among pine trees and terraced into the hillside with gravel roads. Great place for the kids as they thoroughly enjoyed the petting zoo, gold mine tour, and movie night! The resort has a really nice pool and tot lot. Although they didn’t have a gym my husband worked out on the fitness bars which had pull-up and chin-up equipment out in the woods. Although the resort is about a half hour to 45 minute drive to Yosemite National Park, it’s a very scenic drive. The waterfalls were great and the whole family had a great time. We returned each night to Yosemite Pines exhausted and either did the movie night or told stories around the campfire. The bathrooms and laundry areas were clean. Yosemite Pines had a small store where you could buy basic foods, snacks, and beer. The town of Groveland is a neat little historic town and we usually bought groceries there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Great campground with lots of fun activities. We enjoyed the pool, walks, and proximity to Yosemite Pines. Natural setting with amenities. You've ot to love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
The location is superb: towering pines, great topography, forested mountains, close to the most spectacular park in the world. The cabins are to die for. We've never seen better lodging of its type anywhere. (We didn't stay in one, but the manager showed us a couple since we were interested in seeing them for a return visit.) The park is large with lots of varied areas, and the sites were comfortably level and sized, with steady voltage from the pedestal, great water (very clear ice cubes), top-notch Wi-Fi, and a great store on-site. It's a solid "10." We love the great outdoors, dramatic natural beauty, and off-the-beaten-path places, and Yosemite Pines was about as good as it gets from our point of view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$80
This place knows that they have very little competition, especially for lodging near the north entrance of Yosemite. We stayed one night in Oct. 2008 in a cabin, very small in size for the money. I agree totally with the earlier reviewer who said "When a park requires you to pay in full before you arrive, a red flag should go up." We brought our dog, thinking the $25 we were charged for her was a refundable cleaning deposit. Warning, it's not. IF YOU BRING A DOG, THEY WILL CHARGE YOU A $25 "CLEANING FEE" FOR A CABIN. The clerk was indifferent and unapologetic to our surprise and unhappiness over this charge. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$29
Throughly enjoyed our stay at Yosemite Pines. Yosemite Pines is a scenic park set in a woodsy setting with sites terraced into the hillside. The park is located about a half hour drive to the western entrance Yosemite National Park. Free Wi-Fi worked great. Our kids loved the petting zoo and gold mine tour. Even tried panning for gold. Next time we may stay in one of the nice cabins or yurts. The on-site staff was very helpful. Showers and laundry room were clean during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
When a park requires you to pay in full before you arrive, a red flag should go up. The people are not very nice at all. It's unkept and red dust got into everything. There was a family of 5 RVs there for a reunion and they had a blast. We were happy that most of our time was spent in Yosemite which was still a good 30-minute drive away, just to get into the park. If you can't stay in Yosemite, I guess the best thing you can say about this place is that it's one of the closest parks to Yosemite. The town nearby is quaint. We had great Mexican food at a restaurant on main street and good pizza from the local pizza joint. Good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We camped here over the 4th of July weekend, which is a good test on how well a campsite is maintained. First the positives: Location, within 1 hours driving distance to Yosemite Park, Mercer Caverns, Sonora, Lake Don Pedro, and minutes from Pine Mountain Lake. If you stayed on the grounds, the pool, playground and petting farm were a hit with the kids. There was also a really cool cave/former mine at the top of section C. I had limited interaction from the staff, but they seemed friendly, kept the place quiet and were helpful. Areas of improvement: The restrooms/showers were cleaned daily, but with the crowds, should be cleaned more often, as they got pretty dirty in between cleanings. Yes, it's dusty. However, I don't think there is much the owners can do about it. The rec room was closed, and some of the playing apparatuses were broken. Our site, and from the looks of things, many of the other sites, were not level. Our site was about 20 feet from our neighbor's hook-ups, and yes, we could see their big red sewer hose. The owners should plant some bushes or something. The pull-through sites seemed pretty tight. But our back-in site had plenty of room for our trailer, awning and a 10 x 10 pop-up canopy. Living just 3 hours from this Yosemite Pines, I'd stay here again. The kids really enjoyed it, which I guess is the whole purpose for going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
I stayed here 5 days and 4 nights. I will not be staying here ever again. What a total let down for what I was expecting from the website about this Park. Sites VERY DIRTY, UNEVEN, AND LOTS OF ROCKS!!!! Hook ups were located at the front of the site, not very practical. The only good thing about this park was the WiFi, NOTHING ELSE!!!! Pass this park by, you'll thank me later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
This is a terribly sardine packed city with a LOT of dust. There are gravel sites (semi gravel), mainly dirt roads with no speed bumps for the 7 out of 10 people going over 5 mph., thus creating more dust. We also enjoyed stepping out the door of our motorhome and having the neighboring RV's sewer pipe within 8 feet. Nice view ain't it - no sitting out along side your rig enjoying yourself here folks. Owners: Plant a bush or re-design, or put big rigs in bigger sites, ie restructure your CG. Lose a couple-three sites to make larger ones! Go ahead and charge us more, but give us some room. Why this one item wasn't designed as most campgrounds have it, (hook-ups at or near the rear of the site- not towards the middle-front), is the main reason why we wont be back. Big rig back-in sites are very small. Why I'll give them a three rather than a one: The kids enjoyed themselves, restrooms were clean and the Wi-Fi worked good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
We stayed here on our visit to Yosemite. Everything in the park is okay. The bathrooms and showers, nothing fancy, but clean. Everything is gravel, not much grass anywhere. Everything is dusty, even without wind. Wi-Fi works good. We drove by the petting zoo, and really couldn't stomach the smell. There are lots of tents around, but not in the RV section, which is up a hill, around the store, through the cabins and in the back, which is okay, just don't spin your tires on the loose gravel. The reason I give this place a four is management. We checked in, and the lady working the front desk was friendly. She helped us with information on locations or restaurants, etc. When coming back from eating out, we drove up the graveled hill to our site, the management, pointed at us and gave us a, "hands down" gesture, meaning slow down from 7 miles per hour. We slowed then tried to get up the hill and our tires starting spinning in all the loose gravel. He promptly continued his gestures with a nasty scowl on his face. That was our first experience with the happy people here. Next problem: the things you see on the website aren't as they appear. In the pictures you see lots of green grass, I don't know where this is. Next, the closing of the General Store: before 7:00 p.m. and the pool closes at 8:00 p.m. promptly, at the end of June. Check his hours at his website, pool hours until 10:00 p.m. not so. We questioned the front office, we were told just about word for word, there were no pool hours, the owner closes it when he wants. This was true, the pool had about 20 or so people in it and lots of people around the pool. The owner kicked everyone out as we arrived at 7:55 p.m. It also appears there is a youth camp or group in the lower part of the park close to the laundry facilities: at least 30 or so kids running around unsupervised. When we did laundry 2 of the 4 washers were broken. It is sad as this isn't a bad park. I just wish their website would update with some honest pictures and times for their facilities. If you go through all the rules they try to enforce you would hope they follow them too. Unfortunately they know there is nowhere else to go once you are in their park and that's how we were treated. That cute little guy on their website, is just a poorly painted picture on a board in the park, I think it is supposed to be the owner, but don't expect the smile. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This park was nearly as good as the other listings would lead you to believe. We had one problem with our initial campsite, but the management quickly rectified the situation. The biggest problem is the distance from Yosemite. You might think otherwise by reading the website. It takes nearly 30 minutes just to get to the entrance of Yosemite. If you are going to the village, it's at least another 30 minutes. We put over 300 miles on our truck in four days just driving to and from and around Yosemite. Overall, the park was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We were here 2 nights. Some bathrooms were closed, and the swimming pool was closed. we were not told at the office when we registered. WiFi was not working for us. Spaces are tight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Nice park with easy access to all sites. Wi-Fi is free and can be picked up at all sites. Pads are dirt and gravel leaving the potential for leveling. Some “grassy” areas for pets. At least 1 hour 20 minutes from RV park to Yosemite Village. Would have rated park higher if it had better grassy areas. Any rain here and you’ll have a big mess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Web site states Big Rig friendly, not so. First site they put us in was smaller then RV and RV hung over in back and front. Site was not level either. Went to upper camp area and site was hard to get into with larger RV. Had to back up and pull forward several times. Quite area and nice surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Park had very few campers so was very quiet. Nicely maintained, friendly staff. Trail wraps around the park for walking in the woods. They picked the space and spaced the campers far apart for privacy. Free WiFi worked great. Reservation website didn't have a box for AAA discount but they offer it and we're supposed to get a credit. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$55
The sites are excellent, panning for gold was fun and included in the price - yes, I found a few flakes of gold. The petting zoo hours are very limited from 8 to 10 AM. The pool was very nice, in fact all of the facilities were clean and in excellent condition. Each hook up area had its own small light on it to help you hook up in a late arrival. The crickets were wonderful to listen to at night! There is an actual gold mine on site - just be certain to take a flashlight as it is pitch black in there - also you need to crouch over. One other thing that I really appreciated was they had a free marshmallow roast at the main pavilion, They even drove a tractor around with a trailer (hay wagon ride) and took people to the roast!. Do they go out of their way- yes they do! I hope to return here very soon. Oh yes, the note about the road being tough for big rigs - it's true. I pulled a car behind my motorhome, and there were times I was nervous, but DO follow the campground directions from Los Angeles, they were spot on, I took both ways here (drove it on the second day). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
This is a good spot for trips into Yosemite, although there is a good 45-60 minute drive to the valley. The campground was clean, same for the red dirt that covered our spot. We had a spot within eyesight of the bathrooms (where one of the WiFi antennas was located) and WiFi worked well. With a small petting zoo and a hay ride on most nights, my kids were entertained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We got a nice pull-through spot close to one of the Wi-Fi antennas, so we got great internet service. But the park is in an area where we could not get any cell phone service (AT&T) and they have only one pay phone at the office. The park is in the forest and most of the sites have plenty of shade, and there is a nice walking trail with a par course. The laundry is small and pricey; the cable TV only has about a dozen stations, which we thought was really strange; and there are no newspapers available. They have a nice pool, but the week we were here, it was always packed with a large group of teens from France. They also have a small petting zoo, which is nice for the kids, but adds to the general bad smell around the campground. We couldn’t figure out why we would often get a whiff of a garbage smell as we walked around the grounds and even when we were at the pool. We finally discovered that the staff was moving the garbage from bin to bin with a tractor loader and then shoving it down as far as possible to make room for more garbage! During the entire 8 days that we were here, not once did we recognize that there had been a garbage pickup. Unfortunately, if you want to go to Yosemite, this is the closest campground to the north entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$65
I give it a 5 because I will blame the heat for some of the misery I felt, after all it was 105 degrees. The staff was not the friendliest, one of the caretakers yelled at me about something and said "I told you about this yesterday", the irony is I had just arrived to the campground that day so I still have not idea what he was talking about. We had some loud rowdy neighbors that were up until about 3 a.m. and nobody shut them down. It was an ok stay but I will probably not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Nice place, but a crazy drive to it. Big rigs beware the twisting narrow mountain approach. Plenty of room for each campsite, especially for a private park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Being close to Yosemite was our first reason for staying here. Yes it's in the mountains and is somewhat dirty but overall pretty nice. The gravel sites are flat and the petting zoo was a favorite for our young children. The people were great to us and we enjoyed staying here. Again, since a lot of this is in the trees and the lots are gravel you can get some dirt in your RV but it was not a reason to dislike the place. In fact we will come back to Yosemite Pines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Campground is located on a hillside with individual spaces terraced along the access roads. Our November, off season, visit found the park quite empty. Rainy weather provided rather muddy conditions. The parking spots are graveled and supported our coach properly, but keeping muddy footprints out of the coach was a problem. (A little more generous width to the gravel parking pads would have been nice.) Wi-Fi service was spotty -- the signal would be lost from time to time, then, when resumed, I'd often have to log in again. I was disappointed that this campground had dropped out of Passport America, as we found them through the Passport catalog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
We just returned from a stay of a couple of weeks at this campground so I'd like to do what I can to straighten a few things out. This is a very good campground that has had it's problems over the last few years. It has had different owners over the past few years but has now been purchased out of bankruptcy by a management company determined to bring the camp back to life. The present owners have had it less than a couple of years but they are already putting money in. The pool, which received several complaints, has been rehabbed with new plaster, tile, and a big new filter. The sites received bad press because they are all dirt. That is true. A guy they hired to level things off scraped all the gravel off, leaving red dirt. The managers know this and are trying to reestablish the sites by bringing in gravel and doing all they can to spread it and compact it in. The facilities are very good. There are clean restrooms, a neat club room, a small store, and a 24-hour laundry. The wi-fi worked great. For the kids, there is gold panning and a cool petting zoo. My kid went to feed the animals every morning and they (the humans and the animals) always treated her well. Sites were good. We are on the top level, area B, and our site was very level. My jacks went down only to stabilize, not to establish level. Hook-ups worked well and I had no complaints. Each site had a fire ring, a table and plenty of room. If I sound like we liked this place, we did. We had stayed here years ago and after I read the bad reviews, we nearly passed on it. I'm glad we stayed here. The managers are obviously trying to improve the camp and the owners are spending money to improve things. We will go back here in the spring to enjoy Yosemite after it wakes up from winter. I recommend you try this camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
After being mislead by another campground in the area, my family and I had to scramble to find another place to stay. The folks at Yosemite Pines were very accommodating and they helped salvage our vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
This park is on a red clay hillside with very little gravel in the sites and if there's any moisture, you'll have to leave your shoes outside or face terrible, permanent carpet stains from the sticky clay that will mound up on your shoes. We had to use 4 wheel drive to get into our site because of the way the sites are positioned--but not all sites are as difficult. The bathroom by the pool and rec. room was filthy, but the upper one by our site was clean. The staff is curt and acts as if they couldn't care less if you ever return--which we won't be doing, even if we do come back to Yosemite. I called for reservations and was rudely told to "hold on", while I heard the clerk carry on a lengthy conversation with a camper. I finally gave up after using way too many cell minutes and made reservations online--but beware, if you make them online, they're totally non-refundable which was not a problem for us--just a warning. We needed quarters for the dryers to finish up our laundry and asked to buy a roll. The clerk told us we'd have to drive to Groveland to get quarters. Apparently the campground doesn't own the machines and they don't care whether you can use them or not. While it's probably not the worst campground we've seen, we have been on the road for 6 weeks all over the West and have stayed in so many wonderful ones that this one was very disappointing. On a positive note, they did offer free wi-fi and had very basic cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
This place is not what their web site advertises it was a muddy mess! Pool was green, their petting zoo was ankle deep in mud. I can understand just getting going from winter but man! r.v sites are all on side hills very little gravel no concrete. We left did not stay there and we won't be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
After having a bad experience at Yosemite Lakes, moved down the road to Yosemite Pines. Yosemite Pines is about a half hour from the main entry to Yosemite Valley. The park has a rustic, woodsy feel, with gravel roads and a terraced hillside setting. The staff was very friendly and helpful and a campworker guided us to our site. The campground has a very well stocked convenience store, pool, and a tot lot for kids. My kids really loved the petting zoo which featured a pair of lamas. They also have a number of cabins and yurts which seemed pretty neat to stay in next time. The free wi-fi is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This campground only looks good in it's own advertising. The sites were small, cramped and very dusty (no stone base or grass). The pool was a disgusting dark green and my kids would not go near it. Restrooms were dirty, showers were cold, paper towels not refilled. No working machines in laundry. Staff would not honor the advertised AAA discount-said it wasn't valid if I booked online! Campground is an hour to Yosemite. Would only reccomend this place as an absolute last resort We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
This is one of the worst RV parks we've ever stayed in. I had read good reviews about this park and was really excited to try it out. It started off bad with the rude staff. The sites were dirty and uneven. I was never able to level our trailer. The pool was so disgusting my girls didn't want to swim. After all that it takes an hour to drive to Yosemite. We will not be returning and recommend you find another RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$37
The staff was friendly and the amenities were nice. There was a nice rec room with free air hocky, ping/pong and a big screen TV. There was also a nice new playground and the pool was nice. The only real complaint were the actual sites. Ours was very small and very off level. We could not even find a level spot to put the picnic table, which made frying scrambled eggs next to impossible. Also the sites are just dirt. Some had gravel but ours did not. So we tracked dirt in everywhere. Don't even think of staying here if its raining. Also it was too hilly to bike ride around the park. We've stayed at nicer places for less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
I agree with most of the previous comments re: the improvements made by the new owners and better management staff. The one major improvement that I hope is high on the list is to asphalt the dirt/gravel roadways servicing the camp sites. It gets quite dusty with vehicles driving by. The restroom/showers were adequate but not the most modern. No matter how often they clean the restrooms, the red clay dirt that people drag in because of the unpaved roadways creates an immediate dirty situation. The new yurts and cabins are nice and offer a good alternative for tent campers. I camped in a trailer with water and electric only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$33
Getting to this park requires climbing a very steep grade from hiway 49. I would not recommend descending on hiway 120 unless you have an exhaust brake. The turn off to the park is not well marked. I found the sites to be adequate but very dusty as none of the access roads are paved. During my stay, the park lost all water pressure and it was not restored before I left. I was not impressed with this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Nice wooded type spots with friendly staff . Easy access to camping spots with a big rig and had a great time with our 5 y/o at their new playground!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Yosemite Pines has undergone a major improvement since we stayed here three years ago. The facilities included a well stocked general store, clean bathrooms, and best of all free Wi Fi! The park has a very woodsy feel and it's terraced into the hillside. We even saw a couple of deer in the morning. The cabins looked great but they were booked when we stayed there. Lots of amenities including a tot lot and pool for the kids. The park is about a 20 minute drive to the main entrance. Will come back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2004
$32
We went to this park specifically because the website stated they had internet connections at some sites: this is patently untrue. Management did direct us to a phone jack in the rec room, but that's hardly the same. In addition to this irritation, the men's bathroom had standing water, the office has *three* different sets of operating hours posted, and you get to figure out which is correct. In the rain the entire place turns into a muddy disaster that you will track into the motorhome no matter how much you wipe, and that red mud looks so good on the carpet: if the sites were properly gravelled this would not happen. The "arcade" has two video games, one of which does not work. We won't be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Overall, I was very happy with this campground. Staff was pleasant and facilities were well kept. Pool was in need of restoration. Internet access was a kiosk in the camp store. I do not know if there was a modem hookup for your own computer. Campsite trees give a nice woodsy feel but need to be pruned to avoid scratching vehicles. After reading the negative reviews I was fearful of trying this place but was happy that I did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$35
If you do not need hookups and want to stay in Yosemite, check "yosemitesites" for space availability. Unfortunately, the summer months are usually booked. If you are driving from the Bay Area or Sacramento I would recommend Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Campground in Groveland. There are new owners and managers of Yosemite Pines and they have put a lot of money into the park and campgrounds, bought a number of new cabins, tents, etc., and renovated the clubhouse and store. Bathrooms are clean and the place now looks great. Lots of great amenities including pool, petting zoo, gold mine tour, clubhouse, etc. In addition, campground has hookups. If you want to stay in a little more luxury than an RV or tent, they have cabins for rent as well. If you are coming from the south entrance, try High Sierra RV Park. High Sierra is located in the heart of Oakhurst and is walking distance to shops and restaurants. It has a great location and is a quaint little RV park and campground situated on the banks of the Fresno River. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We stayed here several years ago and am surprised how nice the park has turned out. The owners have apparently put in alot of money and hired new on-site management. The park offers a nice, woodsy feel with many shaded sites. It's about a 30 minute drive to the north entrance to Yosemite. If you are coming from the Bay Area this is the place to stay if you need hookups as Yosemite National Park does not offer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
We had a great time. Was here a few years ago and the place NOW looks great. Always like the location. Now the park is looks great as well. May be new managers - something changed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
I saw this park listed as one of the eighth best RV parks to see in the country by Travel Explorer. I had read some of the older reviews and was a little suspicious. Since my wife and kids were coming fom San Jose to Yosemite for the weekend we decided to check it out. By far the nicest park and best location to Yosemite from Route 120. The new owners have completely renovated the park and they have a great amenity package. It's one of the newer parks and they have a petting zoo, huge pool for the kids, cabins. Next time up we will probably stay in a cabin and they are pretty neat. I would definitely recommend this place and will come next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com