206616 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Louise Trailer Campground - Electric Hookups (Parks Canada) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (403) 762-1550
CGID3472

Lake Louise Trailer Campground - Electric Hookups (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
189
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   8   8   6   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
The reviewer from August of 2012 really said it all, and nothing has changed that we could see. Bear warning was out, and nearby trails across the Bow river were closed. Showers clean and very accessible if you avoided the peak times (morning and late afternoon) and time your visit to the dump station the same (NOT in the morning when folks are trying to head out!). Keep the dog on a tight leash but there is plenty of space to walk your pet. Friendly, young summer staff at entrance station and I frequently spotted cleanup/maintenance crews going around to the rest rooms/showers, etc. Yes, you are only getting electricity, but where else are you going to stay if you want to be in the area? Would definitely stay again (and bring bug repellent!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Located withing walking distance of town and near many beautiful hikes and sites, this paved campground offers very long pull-through sites. Despite being rather spacious and somewhat shaded by large trees, the sites put two rigs side-by-side facing opposite directions, giving it a bit of a cramped feel. Electrical hookup was convenient, but we didn't have water or sewer. There is neither WiFi nor laundry available. The bathrooms were spacious, modern, and clean. There are many ranger led hikes, and evening programs are available. This is a nice enough spot and even without full hookups, it seemed a decent value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Every site is a long pull through; probably 90 feet long at least. They put two RV's in each pull through which means if you want the electrical pedestal on the left side of your rig in the pull through then you have to pull the opposite way of the other rig. That means your door faces their door. With two rigs in a pull through it can get pretty close and crowded. I think this park is over priced for the amenities which are 30 amp and water only with no sewer. Nevertheless, due to it's proximity to Lake Louise it is packed all the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
The RV Park is part of the Parks Canada system. We arrived with a reservation and found the camp staff to be accommodating and friendly. We waited in line for approximately 20 minutes to check-in. On weekends and holiday periods you can expect to wait in line 30-60 minutes, even if you have a reservation. We were assigned a pull-through site that was approximately 90 feet long, gravel and level. All sites are side-by-side with another RV camper next to and facing the opposite direction. All RV sites are big rig accessible, pull-through, gravel, and level. Hook-ups were electric (30 amp) only with good voltage. No water or sewer at camp sites. The RV dump station has six separate dump sites, is located near the entrance to the RV Park and has excellent access with easy entrance and exit. Some sites have fire rings for which you will be charged an additional $8.80 per night for a campfire permit that also includes firewood. The RV Park is located in a dense forest that provides a lot of shade; our site had sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon. The bathroom / shower building had five showers for each gender. All had modern fixtures with tile walls and floors. The shower stalls were large with a separate changing area. The women’s bathroom / shower building was very dirty, had mildew in the corners and had a musty smell. During our stay the women’s bathroom sewer system backed-up into the showers and sinks and was out of service for one day. The men’s bathroom / shower building was clean and well ventilated. There are also several small bathroom buildings with toilets and sinks throughout the RV Park. The RV Park is next to the Bow River and walking distance to the Lake Louise Village and Samson Mall. Lake Louise, the Lake Louise Chalet and hiking trails are a 10 minute drive. Moraine Lake and the Moraine Lake Lodge and hiking trails are a 20 minute drive. The RV Park is close to Highway 93 and there is some highway noise. A railroad line is also very close and creates a lot of noise throughout the day and night. Bears are a small problem and a clean camp is important. WiFi is available at the Lake Louise Village and Samson Mall for a fee. We stayed four nights and paid $32.30 per night, not including taxes. Parks Canada also charges a daily park entry fee of $19.60 for each vehicle in the Banff and Jasper National Parks, in addition to RV Park fees. An annual park pass is $136.40. A fire permit is required to have a campfire and costs an additional $8.80 per day, including firewood. This is a very popular area and reservations are highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Large heavily wooded sites with close access to a hiking trail along a beautiful mountain river. Most sites are suitable for big rigs. The bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean for the heavy use they get. This is a busy park, and there are likely to be lines at check in and at the dump station. You can walk to the Lake Louise Townsite. There are hiking trails along the river that start from the campgrounds but some were closed due to bear activity. If at all possible it would be a good idea to have reservations if visiting in July or August. They do keep a few sites available for 1st come, 1st serve. The campground was completely full every night we were there. We really enjoyed this area and campground and stayed 7 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Poor check-in service. Arrived and had to wait 30 minutes to check in, we had booked in advance. Sites are not private and felt more like a parking lot. Really did not feel like we were in the mountains here. Sites are gravel. Loads of bathrooms, no problem there. Minimal showers and they are very much needed as there is only electric available, no water/sewage available on the sites. Fire pits are limited and in small quantity, so disappointed we could not sit around a fire when the nights cooled down. Beautiful surrounding area. If you're visiting the area you're not going to have a lot of choices as to where to stay, this is pretty much it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Large park. Clean restrooms and showers. Park had not officially opened yet as we never saw anyone in the ranger station. Payment was on the honor system. Some of the pull-through sites still had snow in one end so we had to back out, no big deal. Dump station available, but water was not on yet. Trains were very active during the daylight hours but not so much at night (or we were just so tired) we didn't hear them that much. Took a Gondola ride at the ski area. Very pretty views. No free Wi-Fi in area - even downtown. Several places had for $. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Sites are odd. Two together so you have to think of how you want to be in comparison to your close neighbor. Quiet but usual train runs through. Picturesque area. Safe. Dump and water on the way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The Lake Louise campground is a very good campground but a couple of warnings. This is a large campground and many of the sites are sloped significantly from back to front. If you got a big unit arrive early so that you can change out if needed – they let me do this. Also you share a site with neighbor who pulls in the opposite direction which can make if very tight if he got there before you did and didn’t pull in correctly. If you are a light sleeper, you’re in trouble because rear of the campground is right along side a very active train track with trains that run throughout the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
A river runs through this narrow valley, and two roads. Oh, and a mainline railroad. In between sits this very nice Parks Canada campground, handy to most everything in this small town. All sites are level gravel, arranged as pairs of very long pull throughs, where two rigs sit door-to-door. These site pairs are widely spaced out in a deep woods of alpine fir and pine. Interior roads are paved. Electric only service, with a few scattered bathroom or shower buildings. One sewer dump station, but it handles six rigs at a time. Cell service is good, but no Wi-Fi or cable. Then there are the trains. They pass close by the campground, closer to some sites than others, all day and all night. At night, when they blow their horns, it helps to know that almost all the people staying in the up-scale $200/day condos and cabins are also awake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Great campground. The pull trough sites were level and easy to get into. The trains were noisy, but they weren't annoying (we enjoy trains). We would stay here again if we had the opportunity to come through here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Great location. Nice pull through sites (a little tight dependent on your neighbor). 5 bay dump station. Needs more showers/bathrooms. Bathroom near our site had sewer issues. Right on the Bow river. Make sure you request a site with a fire ring if you desire on check in. We dropped our trailer, got settled, then inquired about our non-existent fire ring: too late. Those sites are closer to the train tracks. Tough choice, more train noise and a fire, or closer to the river and no fire. Will stay here again when we return though. Amazing country! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
No W or SW, but great large level sites. Lengthy check in process-up to an hour. Heavy use of bathroom during peak season puts a demand on them and do not expect anything but luke warm water. After you get by all the above it is a great location and a better place logistically than Banff if you are going to the glacier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
There was a nice view. It was irritating that in order to be able to have a campfire that a camper was charged an additional $8.00 on top of a $32.00 camping fee. If the intention of the park is to "not have" or to "cut back" on having a campfire, just say, "no campfires." This is money grabbing and not a good impression for a national park. Sites were long. Restrooms were clean and conveniently located. Location was beautiful. Everything was well kept. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
We stayed three days and used this campground as a jumping off point for visiting not only Lake Louise (a short 5 minute drive away), but also the town of Banff. All sites are pull throughs and will fit the largest of rigs. The 30 amp electric worked very well and we had no problems with low amperage. Sites are shared by 2 rigs with units pulling in on opposite sides. We would recommend this campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Considering this is a National Park campground, and the only RV park in the area, the facilities are disappointing. There appeared to be only one shower block for the whole campground, though there were lots of toilet blocks (but no hand driers or paper towels!) The sani-dump was very dated and poor compared to others we used. And yes, there is a lot of noise from the rail track! Very disappointed with the lack of recycling facilities (coming from Europe where we are used to recycling paper, cardboard, glass tin cans etc. and not just bottles with a deposit). Went one night to the talk/ film about bears which was excellent. Not really within walking distance of the main centre of Lake Louise which is a shame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We were pleasantly surprised. Park is very woodsy with large sites. Although 2 campers shared a site, pulling in from different directions, we had plenty of room. We were disappointed there were no water hookups, but they have a large (6 rig) dump area with fresh water fill up. Very nicely done. Yes, the trains are loud, but not that frequent. We would definitely return. But get here early if you don't have a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a beautiful park with wide pull through except you go back to back with a neighbor and must run water and electric under your rig. There is a train track close by and the trains run early in the morning and late at night so it is a bit noisy. There are tall pines throughout the area and a river with a hiking trail and bridges over the river for loop walks. There are views of rocky mountains and glacier views. Our favorite park in Canada. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Ugly: the train! It's horn kept us up all night! We left and went to a first-come, first-serve campground for the other time we spent in the Lake Louise area. The area is beautiful, but is lacking in shops and restaurants that can be found in the Banff city area. Would definitely look for other facilities if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
First: I was surprised how easy it was to make reservations online. Much easier than any US National or State Park online. Second: we loved the way they kept RV's separate from tenters. Our biggest complaint: no water at the sites. It they went to the trouble to run electricity, why not water? Next: the way the sites were set up, most motorhomes could not open onto the picnic table pad unless you had and electrical cord long enough to run under your RV. If not, you had to face away from the table area. Also, it would have been nicer if they could have assigned those of us staying longer term in one area and the overnighters in another. Four of our 6-day stay, we had new neighbors. With 189 sites, we would have preferred a site in the back area out of the way. Some sites are cramped and others are nice and large. We saw larger RV's assigned to small sites and little cabovers in big spots. Finally: this park is right by the train tracks with trains and whistles blowing day and night. Canada is a beautiful place and we will be going back one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Signage to campground good. Check in was quick and efficient. Access roads to sites wide but needed some maintenance. Long, flat gravel double pull-through sites with electricity only (30amp). Electricity pods/picnic table in strange place if using them as back to back pull-through. The grounds are treed site but it was easy to get in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
Very quite campground. Located near all outdoor activities and well maintained. Lack of sewer not a problem due to 5 land dump station. RV parking at Fairmount Hotel is good and sufficient. Parking at Lake Moraine is not adequate during peak time of day. Good location for Bannf due to congestion in Bannf. Also, easy access to Jasper Ice fields area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
The Lake Louise area of Banff National Park has a small town (not really much of one) and two campgrounds – one for tents that’s in an electric fence and one for trailers. Some trailer sites are shared sites, which is two trailers park side-by-side, but each “site” still has its own area with a picnic table and electric. There were free good hot showers and washrooms. They also offer nightly ranger talks in the tent area of the campground. You can hear the train – day and night, but it isn’t too loud. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This campground offers electric-only hookups. Our site was across from the dump station, which also had water spigots to fill up your RV. Each site was twinned with another site, but we thought there was plenty of room. Not much shade. The bathhouse had five showers and many stalls. The sinks were the kind where the water doesn't stay on, so bring a stopper. It was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
We left beautiful and quiet Whistlers Campground in Jasper National Park and entered railroad hell. We were located in the row farthest from the tracks but it didn't make a difference.The sites are set-up to accommodate 2 rigs per site and it is very tight. Once our dining slide went out we could have passed the Grey Poupon mustard to our neighbor. On the plus there is a very nice walking path that runs along the stream in back and it is a good location to tour Banff and surrounding areas. We saw everything we wanted & had enough of the trains to depart a day early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Location of park is wonderful, with the Bow River so close. We were surprised to find no water hook-ups, but simply filled up the fresh water tank with the potable water at the dump station. Some pot-holes were still very much in evidence. There were only four showers for women and four showers for men for the entire trailer campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
Only thing derating this park is the train noise. Majority of sites are doubles so you're close to your neighbor, but sites are level and its a great area to explore and enjoy. River alongside campground for a nice stroll. Mountainous scenery is spectacular and ample scenery withing close drive. Highly recommend the drive to Moraine Lake; it is every bit as special (perhaps more so) than its famous sister Lake Louise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
The campground itself is nice but if you are in a large RV and are in one of the smaller shared sites it is a bit cramped. Right now the roads are horrible and the pot holes are big enough to lose a small child. I have a real problem with the reservation service. If you call ahead to reserve a site you pay a reservation fee. Then if you decide to extend your stay you must move to a different site that is not one that can be reserved over the phone. They also do not tell you that the park is right next to the train tracks and that the train blows its horns night and day as it passes. It is also right next to a beautiful river so if you can sleep through the train noise and ford the potholes it is a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$21
Close to nearby Lake Louise, this RV Park in situated in a beautiful, dense forest area with 189 pull-through sites in the summer and 30 various ones in the winter. Some sites are twin sites (two units per spur). A sani-dump station is available as well as 30 amp power hook-ups, flush toilets, showers, and recycling bins. It was quite snowy here still in March 2005 so no water was available at the sites, but you can refill your tanks at the washroom H20 room. The short drive up to Lake Louise delivers you to a very scenic lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com