214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Prospector Hotel and Casino was rated 6 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (775) 289-8900
CGID3478

Prospector Hotel and Casino

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   5   5   2   8   10   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
It is what it is. There are no permanents in the park. It does get busy but it is not full at 8:30 pm probably because they gave up on having permanents. We are pleased we stayed for a one nite stopover on our way thru Nevada. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
Great price for a night with water, sewer, elect. No showers, but restrooms in casino are nice. Food and service were great! Dirt sites with room. Grass in front of casino good for pets. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
Decent, inexpensive place for an overnight or two. Roads and sites are gravel. Pool and hot tub available at the hotel. Free margarita coupon upon check in. Full 4G Verizon signal. Convenient to downtown Ely. The road was fairly noisy during the day but quieted down at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Park is part of a casino. It is dirt/gravel with some grass between some of the sites. They have only a few pull thru's that can accommodate a big rig and no reservations. It is a OK overnight especially if you want to go to the casino. The food at the casino is good and reasonable. All the services worked fine. If we were in early enough to get a spot, we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Sites were close together and trashy but room for our slides. Lots of weeds and trees were not trimmed. First come, first serve. Price was good for overnight. Had to go into the hotel/casino for the restrooms which were not that clean and no showers. There was a grassy area behind the hotel that you could walk your dog, and they provided bags and waste container. The restaurant was average, a bit old looking and the service was slow. Since the park sits by Hwy 93, it really was not that noisy. For the price, not that bad and we were glad to be on our way the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This is truly a dirt spot on the RV Hi-way of life. $15 a night. First come, fist served. No reservations. Very limited spots. Small casino, nice and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Convenient to the Northern Nevada Railway - we rode our bikes to the Station. The WiFi is a little slow, but mostly steady. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
Nothing fancy. Next to the highway. The price is nothing fancy either. Hotel restaurant is good. Portions are HUGE! WIFi worked well, even far from the building. Staff was friendly. It is what it is, and the price reflects what it is. For a night or 2 stop over, we would do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
You couldn't beat the price and it wasn't a bad experience. We stayed here two days. As the other reviewers say, it isn't fancy, but we stayed in the row back from the road and it was quiet at night. The 2 free margaritas were nice. If I were in Ely, I'd stay again. The train museum is worth the price and close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
This is a small, basic campground owned by the Prospector hotel. There are 22 sites of which 6 are pull-thrus. The interior road and sites are on packed dirt with some gravel. There is a small patch of grass (mostly weeds and dirt) separating each site. All sites have FHU with 20/30/50 amp electrical service. The electrical voltage was good. There is neither cable nor Wi-Fi within the campground. There was reception for both Verizon’s air card and cell phone. The hotel allows you to use the indoor pool and spa along with their exercise room. Laundry room was also available but we did not check it out. This is a very basic campground but it is priced right. Diesel at the Texaco station (across the street) was $0.12 higher then other fueling stations. The Sinclair (now Chevron) station on the Indian Reservation was also higher then those within town. There were a number of long term residents using this park. There was little road noise at night but some of the long term residents did leave the park very early in the morning. This campground does fill up early. We would stay at this campground again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
For an no frills overnight stop, this is fine. Some sites back up to a very busy road and near an area where big rigs are pulling in and out. The gravel lot is next door to the Prospector Casino hotel. You pick a site and then go check in there. The cable only works in 18-22 the desk clerk said: that after we set up in 15. The RV antennae does pick up local channels. The two free margaritas were a nice treat (to get you in the casino). Suggest arriving early in the afternoon as it does fill up. Can't beat the price for FHU. No RR (restroom) facilities or showers but have use of the hotel pool I understand but have not checked out. We stayed 2 nights to catch up on washing clothes etc. We would stop again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Only 5 sites have cable and they are back-ins. Sites are gravel and not totally level. There are no showers or bath rooms. You are able to use the hotel swimming pool. We had to park our tow in the hotel lot. They gave tickets for 2 free Margarita's at the Casino. Very friendly front desk staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Definitely a place you are staying just for a night while on your way somewhere else. It was a reasonably decent location. Pretty quiet and close to the Inn where there was a pool, casino, restaurant, etc. The staff was very nice; free margaritas to RV'ers (one each adult). Price was cheap enough. One of the sites did not have its own water source and had to share with the one next to it, but the rest had full hookups. It was pretty level and clean. There were not a lot of spaces; it is a very small RV park. You can also boondock in their parking lot for free. They do not mind at all. We did not see showers, but the restrooms in the Inn were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Don't expect much then you won't be disappointed. Basically a gravel and dirt parking area with hookups, but if you are only stopping overnight the rate makes it worth considering. The sites fill up very quickly so aim to be here by early afternoon, especially if you have a big rig as many of the sites are short and/or not level or potholed. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
The only thing good about this park is the price of 15.00 plus tax. The cable doesn't work. The Wi-Fi does not work in site 10. The parking lot is gravel with huge pot holes and rocks. Check in was easy and you get two free drinks if you want them. The casino is full of smoke smell and people hanging around the front door smoking. It makes it very unpleasant for us nonsmokers. I doubt I would stay in Ely again as all the campgrounds are about the same. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
A relatively inexpensive place to stay that has full hookups. There are a few permanents. No showers are available. There are washers and driers available near the back door to the hotel. You can also use the pool and jacuzzi in the hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
This is a good place for an overnight stay. First come, first served. We were there by noon and by two it was full. There are only about eight pull throughs. They were the first to go. It is basically a gravel parking lot next to the casino. The wi-fi signal was erratic, so we used our hotspot. Right on the highway, but the noise was not bothersome. Did not see any restrooms/showers attached or available to the park. Would return if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Only a few pull through sites, so arrive early. Sites are a good size, but not very level. Wi-Fi is excellent. 2 free margaritas at check in. Can use the hotel facilities, pool, exercise room, etc. A good deal for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
What many others have said -- a great value at $15.00 a night. Very convenient, right off the highway. 2 free margaritas. Restaurant was good enough. We camped here in late March and it was not full, i.e. did not have to get here by 11am to secure a space as others have mentioned. Also, as of March 2012 there seemed to be only 2 sites out of the daily rotation not the 8-10 mentioned in a couple of other reviews from prior years. Would definitely stay here again for the value and convenience to highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Great place to park for a night, only 15 bucks. 50 amp service at all sites. Water is shut off at this time. They also say that cable is not available, but we tuned in many digital stations on our antenna. The "RV Park" is just a gravel parking lot right next to the highway; it's pretty noisy, and the whole place has a run down appearance. No attention is given to upkeep in the RV parking area including picking up litter and dog waste left by inconsiderate RV'ers. For a memorable dining experience don't miss the Jail House Steak House and casino in town. Awesome! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This is a great bargain for $15/night. We got in at 9:30 AM and got the last site with cable TV. The sites are gravel and we had to work at getting our motorhome level. The Wi-Fi was GREAT. There are no restroom or shower facilities available to the RV guests. There was a large grassy area behind the hotel that was perfect for our dog. It was used by the hotel guests with dogs as well as the RV guests. We had a great time in the Casino and enjoyed our stay here. We'd definitely use this park again if we could check in early enough to get one of the cable TV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
This place is a steal for $15. Full hook ups, Wi-Fi and our spot had cable TV. We were told not all spaces had TV, but ours did. Several channels all on Utah time zone, but basic TV only, no premium channels. Its a small park right next to the main street, but road noise was not bad. They only have 8 or 9 spaces that are open daily so be sure to get here early: I was told by staff before 11 AM. For a nice place to park the RV in the middle of nowhere it is great! A neat feature about Ely is the operating steam train and railroad museum, by all means check that out if you like old railroad stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
What do you want for $15 per night?? What you get is a friendly check in at the hotel, a spot to park your RV, Water, sewer, electric and Wi-Fi. Although the interior is dirt and gravel and some of the spots are rutty, it is a place to park while en-route. There is a laundry room at the hotel that is available for guests and you are more than welcome to use the pool and spa. The on site restaurant is handy and the food was above average. Upon arrival, you find a spot and pull your RV in and then go the front desk of the hotel and pay your nightly fee. I would stay here again if my travel plans took me here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a bare bones campground with many long term residents and only 21 spots. Only about 8-10 sites seem available daily. We were warned to get here by 11AM (they do not take reservations) and they were right. Sites are gravel and dirt with a few small trees around, have full hookups but some sewer pipes are VERY high, super WiFi, no cable TV and NO bath house. That being said, it is mostly quiet with a little road noise and for $15 the elec (30/50 amp) is very strong and stable. Is basically a glorified dirt parking lot with hookups. There are few options around Ely and for an overnight or two, is a safe place to stay. Small casino is fun and we did receive two free Margarita coupons. Staff was very helpful in the hotel where you register. Would maybe stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We parked here in 2004 and remembered it as a nice place. Over the years it has changed from a "Holiday Inn" to "Prospector Casino RV Park & Hotel". The place is still a STEAL at $15. We were surprised it wasn't completely full, but glad for the extra space. The folks in the hotel are very pleasant and helpful. They continue to give the free Margarita coupons - other "free bees" have gone since last we were here, but we give the place high marks for convenience, cost and the appearance of the place in general. Animal statues, loads of old prospecting equipment, especially the old log cabin and the ancient "chuck" wagon! We'll come again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Probably not the place for an extended stay, but we enjoyed our overnight and felt it was a bargain - dinner in the hotel restaurant was actually quite good and staff was friendly. Relaxing evening after a day's travel. We would definitely overnight here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
This place is a dump located right on the main road so it was very noisy. We were glad that we only stayed here one night. I wouldn't recommend this place. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
This is an overnight stay only. It's basically a gravel lot with a few trees and full hookups. It's right on the highway so there is some noise. This is first come, first served. Find a site and then go to the front desk to pay. We got here mid-afternoon. Not many pull thru spaced left at 6pm. Now for the good side. The front desk is very nice and friendly. We got two coupons for free margaritas. You can eat in the bar. We would stay again as a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
Decent one night stopover for the price. The sites are not cleaned up or maintained at all. One sight had huge sunken mud hole. At our site, there was a large pile of dog waste right outside the door, and a whole pile of dry dog food just thrown on the ground. Although the fault of very inconsiderate campers, it would be nice if maintenance would keep the RV grounds as nice as the hotel grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This was an acceptable place to stay overnight. The price was right and the space was level. Nothing fancy but did have full hookups and clean restrooms. There is a small casino on the property and the staff was nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Good location and easy check in. No grass or shaded areas. Cable did not work. Close to old downtown. Skip the train ride/dinner. It goes along the road where you can drive yourself. Great Chinese restaurant downtown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Fantastic campground on the way to Las Vegas. The staff at the hotel are lovely and it is a breeze to check into the campground which is right beside the hotel. On check in we were given 2 free drink cards and an access card to the hotels pool and fitness center. There is easy access to both of these from the campground through the rear door to the hotel. Pool and spa were both very clean and well maintained. The campsite was fine for an overnight stop: full hookups a few trees scattered around. It was relatively full when we were here. I would definitely stop again. They have a cafe in the hotel serving good meals and a bar in the gaming area where we collected our free drinks. Overall a very nice stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
We stayed here for four nights in April. We took all five of our grand kids. It was very quiet at night, and during the day. There is a pool on the inside of the motel. So the water is heated, and very clean. Kept the kids busy. There is a nice small casino right down the hall from the pool. Grandpa watched the kids while Grandma played the machines. The restaurant was just OK. When we go back to Ely this is for sure the place where we will stay. Will take the grand kids back this summer!!! First come first served for spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Nice little park to spend a day or two at a great price. No reservations taken, just park in a free spot and check in at the hotel front desk. Level gravel FHU sites, and very little noise from US Hwy 93. Wi-Fi available inside the hotel, but very weak signal in the RV park. Verizon cell and aircard on full signal. Two miles to the heart of Ely, historic Hotel Nevada and public park. Make sure to see the Nevada Railroad Museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
A great place to spend a night or two. It does fill up fast and they do not take reservations. Small Casino and restauant, but clean and friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
This park has VERY reasonable rates for full hook-ups. Gravel/dirt and confusing to get into. Is first come first served. It was full by 4 pm on the Monday following Easter. The $17 is a "winter" rate. Not sure when it goes up. About half the price of the local KOA. Would definitely stay here again, especially as and overnight park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
We just stayed overnight. There were only a couple of spots left at 5 pm when we arrived. Ours was a back-in. Our satellites worked - only a few sites have trees. Not good grading on the interior road & the sites aren't too level, but the price is great. The entrance driveway is at the main casino front, then turn sharp right, go to the 2nd driveway into the RV area on the right. We had to do the "around the block" routine to get back, thinking there would be an RV entrance. The free margaritas at the casino were marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
Good overnight stop. Pick your site and then go in and register. Gravel sites. 6 are pull thru the rest back in. Some trees could use a trim. Truck noise from road behind you is pretty loud until about 10pm then it dropped off to nearly perfect overnight but picked up very early in the a.m. This hotel is no longer a Holiday Inn. Coupon for meal discount was nice. They want you to check out in the morning to get your receipt. We would use it for an inexpensive overnight again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$10
We stayed here as a base to explore the local area. The Steam Train trip in town is worth the price. White Pine county Museum is a treasure. The campground is only a place to park, but it's very inexpensive. It filled up every night [early]. Close to town/restuatants/casino. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com