206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Pelican Point RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (650) 726-9100
CGID348

Pelican Point RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   9   9   1   4   8   8   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$52
Charles Dickens may have had this RV park in mind when he wrote “It was the best of times. It was the worst of times.” I can’t say enough good things about the office staff. They went way above and beyond in providing excellent, friendly, professional customer service. It started when I made the reservations and said I would be joining several rigs that were coming at the same time. She was very accommodating in putting us in the same general area of the park. She followed up a few weeks later with a phone call to make sure I was still coming after one in our group canceled. The morning of the day we were to arrive, I received a call from them to let me know they had a broken pipe in the men’s restroom and it would be out of order for a couple of days. She wanted to make sure this did not inconvenience me. Check-in was fast and efficient. We were escorted to our site and helped to position our rig. This was first class, professional customer service all the way. That was “the best of times” The park itself is fine. The only minor negative is the sewer connections are not standard. They are smaller than the smallest standard adapter. The office has connections to lend you for a $10 deposit but even the connections are not standard and it required a little adapting of my hose and some duct tape. Now, for “the worst of times”. Rules, yes lots of rules, written and unwritten. Most make perfect sense and are very reasonable. I couldn’t understand, however, why my friend was not allowed to park his car in the adjacent, vacant space for a few minutes while we stood talking in front of my rig. It wasn’t like he was preventing someone from coming in. The space remained vacant for the next 3 days. Up to this point I was very puzzled by the previous negative reviews. Then, I talked with the third person in the office. The previous description of “rude” and “snarky” are perfectly accurate. I will add “unprofessional”. Certainly a detraction from the park. She is enough to keep people from returning Now for my rating: The first two office people: 10 out of 10. The tops, the best The park: 8 out of 10. Aside from the sewer connection, everything was OK The “rules”: 5 out of 10. The last office person: Negative 5. Be professional. Shakiness has no place in this industry. Save that for your girlfriends. Over-all: 6 out of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
Sites had a little more distance than many of the RV parks we've stayed in. Backing in due to a pole and where the hook ups were located took longer than usual. Friendly / helpful staff. We were here during the Pumpkin Festival, one of the busiest times of the fall for this area and the park was relatively full, but very quiet. WiFi was slow, Verizon worked well. When the fog lifted we had a nice view of the sunset out the back window of our RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Maiden voyage in our brand new fifth wheel and we couldn't have picked a better place...was weary after reading reviews on the tripadvisor site, but we are so glad that we came here. First, for us, it is only a 2 hr drive to this coastal RV park, and although it is not ocean front, from our site (#54) we could see the ocean. 2nd... the lady that checked us in could not have been more helpful! My husband mentioned that this was our first time and she personally helped him with perfect directions on how to back in our rig!!! (supposedly a 35'9", but when she measured, it came up 37'). Third, when we could not get our TV reception thru the cable, she sent her husband right over to come check our site's cable which was fine, so we knew it had to be something with our rig. After asking permission to enter our rig, he helped us figure it out! Most of the sites allow you to park your vehicle right next to your rig, but also offer overflow parking onsite. You are right next to the beautiful Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton and Golf Course and a 3-5 min walk to the beach/ocean. After dinner, we liked walking over to the Ritz Carlton for enjoying cocktails while watching the sunset at their outdoor fire pits. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
We love this park. This is the second year in a row we have camped here - three weeks in 2012 and a month this year. We are planning on two months next year. You just can't beat the location (overlooking the Ritz golf course and ocean beyond that) and quietness of this park. To top it off, Half Moon Bay downtown is a few minutes away with great restaurants and niche shops. The review would be a 10 if there were more amenities like a hot tub. There are several negative reviews written (esp in Yelp) that almost prevented us from staying here last year - I am glad I did not overreact :). I'd like to address some of the review comments based on our experience and interactions with the staff here: Rules - yes they have MANY rules and are strict in enforcing them. To be honest though, none of the rules have bothered us. But that is probably because we are not partiers, are okay walking our dog on a leash, and don't have a motorcycle or car trailer (they are very strict on no motorcycles as they said they had problems in the past). Park Gorilla - these comments from other reviewers made me laugh when I read them. He is actually a very nice person when you get to know him a bit. He has asked all the other staff to let him deal with any issues so he is the one who most people complain about, but we have had no problems at all with him. Then again, we are okay with following the rules. Check-in: They definitely have a strict check-in policy about late arrivals - BUT they tell you this when you reserve a site and when they call to remind you of your upcoming reservation (which was nice, by the way) so it would be hard to be surprised unless you are driving in late without reservations. The problem for them is they are a small park with a core staff and want to help you with backing into the sites since people in the past have caused some damage and there fore don't want people coming in late and trying on their own. Residents: about 1/2 seem to be year round and 1/2 short-term. Usually we avoid parks with many long-term residents, but the long-termers here are almost all pleasant and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Absolute worst RV experience, ever. The list of "No (fill in the blank), No exceptions!" was insane, and delivered with a belligerence and snarkiness usually reserved for 14-year old divas mouthing off to their moms. In an area with chronic fog, mist, and light drizzle during August, the "no campfires, no canopies of any kind" rules made no sense. Although planning to stay four nights, the whole experince was so miserable, we decided our vacation was more important than the money, so we left after one night with no refund for the other three because, guess what? "No refunds, no exceptions!" We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$50
This is an old park. All sites are concrete pads perpendicular to the road. The pads are double so you park your trailer on one side and your truck on the other side, if that is your set up. There is not much room between the rows of sites so that backing in at 90 degrees is very difficult. We have a 27' 5th wheel and barely made it work. The park attendant came to the site with us to make sure we didn't use the empty site ahead of us to line up better! The price is high but there is little around, so no competition. We could barely see the ocean in the distance over the dunes and golf course, but we could hear the waves during the night which was pleasant. I doubt that we'll ever be in the area again, but if so I'd really plan to stay elsewhere just because of the difficult parking. Better for class B or even smaller class C rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$56
We have camped here every year in our 5th Wheel for over 6 years and hope to come back for many more years to come. The location is simply fantastic; 5-star golf course/Ritz next door, beach cove that is walking distance and pet friendly. We head into Half Moon for fabulous food, drink, and music at "It's Italia" and "Cetrella's" and during the day head out for Fish & Chips on the pier. The park is quiet and comfortable and gives us the relaxation we are seeking. The RV staff are friendly but can be strict, sometimes short, however we have come to love them too and sympathize with their hard job to make it all work. They decorate during October and with the pumpkin patches everywhere it makes the place a harvest delight. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
We actually stayed here for several months in 2010, but forgot to write a review. The managers are a bit odd and particular, but as long as you follow the rules, they are very nice. The "many" rules are not so many, nor as ridiculous as some have said. The posts about being turned away if you arrive late are correct. We were cutting it close and called to notify them and were told we had to be there by the office closing time (7, I think), no exceptions. We all know how things go wrong when you travel. If you don't make it early enough, there are no alternatives. There is no Wal-Mart to stay in the lot. There are a couple of nearby supermarkets, but I doubt you could sleep there. They do have a good reason for no late arrivals, but we believe their strict adherence is ridiculous. The park is nice and clean. There are many long term residents who largely were very nice. The weather is nice. The nearby beach is great. You can hear the waves from your RV. Our monthly rate was $900, cash only for monthly. Dogs are accepted. Aside from peculiarities, it is nice. We would definitely return. Any other remotely close park on the peninsula was not nearly as nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
Quiet area a short distance from the freeway. Easy access, even for big rigs. Large flat pads and the manager helps you back-in. Close to beach is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
The park could be a great place to visit, it is near a good dog friendly beach and is located in a great town. The problem is the management they are rude, offensive and overly driven by rules. We arrived at noon and had to leave the park because check in is after 1:00. Our campsite was open and it was not busy. The manager of the park regularly confronts guests for minor infractions. I could here him yell across the park because someone had parked in the wrong spot. We were yelled at and threatened with eviction for supposedly leaving sewer waste in a camp spot the year before. We had not been in the campground the prior year. It was not a pleasant place to be because of the rudeness and overbearing rules. No, no, no, the answer is no: is the philosophy of the park. Another problem is the condition of the restrooms. They are small and dirty. The women's restroom has had a broken toilet for 3 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
The location of this park is spectacular! The facility itself needs a lot of cleaning and TLC. The workers are friendly but, they really need to invest some money into renovating this park, it could be so much more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We stayed here for a month and a half while waiting to move into a house and the rate reflects that. We had absolutely no problem with any excessive rules that others have. This is a great place to stay, very quiet and everyone is friendly. The staff isn't overly friendly, but they aren't rude either. The walk to the beach is a very short one down a trail. Dogs are allowed on the beach and I took my dog down in the early morning when no one else was on the beach to let her run off her energy. When the tide is low, the tide pools are fun to walk around and explore. The laundry facility is adequate. I did not even go into the bathrooms so cannot comment on them. There is a very small store but we did not use that either. As stated before, the sewer hookup is smaller than most others. Since we were staying long term, they couldn't let us borrow an adapter but they would sell us one. We went to Wal-Mart and bought one for a whole lot cheaper. All in all, we had a great stay and will come back for a future visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a nice park in a lovely location. We had no trouble with the "rules", as others have mentioned. There are good walking and biking trails next to the park. It was quiet and peaceful. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Verizon worked just fine. Hook-ups worked well, except for the dump at our site, which was higher than our van's outlet. Even though the park was not full, they would not put us near our traveling companions, who had larger rigs than our class B van. That was our only complaint. Apparently only certain size units can go in each spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Park view of golf course, and depending on site, ocean is what makes us want to come back! Some staff are nice; others lacking customer service skills! Way too many rules make it feel more like a military community. The views saved the rating from being total zero. We know now the difference in how much better it is to stay at places who truly care and appreciate your business. The sites all have a little grass so it gives it a less parking lot feel to it. Replace manager and find positive ways to tell rules, and this would someday be a destination oasis! The strict rules of check in/out are unreasonable given there were plenty of open spaces! A little flexibility will go a long way!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
Sign, Sign, Everywhere a sign. Remember the song? You will when you stay here. It is a nice facility with some idiotic rules. Check in at 1:00 not a second earlier, so us early folks get to try to park somewhere near the park. Oh, and check out is 1:00; you figure it out. The female staff was friendly, the younger male lost his sense of humor and ability to smile a long time ago. Park is clean, tight, and is a short walk to the beach. Not bad, just silly about the rules, and signs, signs, signs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Nice location about 1/3 a mile from the beach, near Ritz Carlton golf course. Back in sites only, that aren't super level but clean. Staff is less than friendly. Not rude, just no normal courtesy-good morning, how can I help you, etc. Dog friendly with a grassy area to walk the dogs in. Check in is from 1-8p and don't be late. There are multiple signs that they do NOT check in folks after 8pm, NO EXCEPTIONS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This is a GREAT park. Great place to call home! All the staff are great. We stayed here 6 months and felt like part of the family. Location is just the best. 25 minutes to SF. Great for biking, hiking. Half Moon Bay has wonderful food and shops. The beaches are just great. You are literally a 5 minute walk to the beach which is uncrowded almost all the time. For people who I see have complained about the rules and rudeness of staff: there is a reason they enforce the rules. It keeps the park quiet, clean and nice for others to enjoy. There is limited parking space, hence the "rule" about no additional trailers. They make pet owners be responsible for their animals. No abandoned barking pets allowed inside RV's. My only wish is that the laundry room was larger (more machines), but our laundry always managed to get done. We LOVE this park and highly recommend it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$41
This was a wonderful park to stay in for my husband and I and our two dogs. After reading some of the older reviews, we were concerned about the way some travelers were treated, but the managers went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We loved the short walk to the beach which never had very many people on it. There's lots to do in the area-downtown is charming and has lots of shops, beaches are great, and there are many outstanding places to go for great food. We are making Pelican Point our go-to place for weekends away from home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
This is a nice little campground with a friendly staff. The spaces are short, but nice and wide. The rate posted reflects a 7 day, cash discount. There is no WiFi, which would usually be a showstopper for us, but there isn't a big choice in this area. The only big negative was the very small sewer inlets. They will lend you an adapter free of charge, but dumping from a large hose into a small adapter will cause some leakage. I would never dump anything but gray water through such an arrangement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
We enjoyed the stay in this park. It was a long walk down to the beach. It was quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$43
This is a nice RV park within walking distance of the ocean and golf courses, plus the CA coastal trail, where you can hike or ride your bike. We stayed here in our class B van, so it was easy to get into our site. The sites are all back-in. There was nice grass lawn in between each site. There was cable TV, so we could watch Thanksgiving football! The management was very nice and helpful. Also they give a discount if you pay in cash. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$49
This is a great location with a view of the ocean or golf course from most sites. Less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. 10 minute walk to Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton hotel and golf course. In previous reviews there were some negatives about the staff. My experience has been quite the opposite. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They do enforce the park rules but that is their job. The 8:00 pm arrival rule is strictly enforced to accommodate guiding arrivals into their respective spots. Give this park a chance, you will be pleasantly surprised. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
There is nothing fancy about this park, but it was clean and is in a great location. It is right next to the beach and golf course. It is great for cyclists and walkers. The restrooms were plain, but very clean. It is close enough to drive to San Francisco easily. We enjoyed the town of Half Moon Bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$54
We absolutely love this RV park. We return every year for over 5 years - always our best beach experience. We plan ahead to get the sites closest to the water - they are more private. We love the beach cove nearby and the golfing next door. We heard the park may have some future development plans and may build a hotel instead. A MAJOR loss for those of us who love this place so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
Do not understand the bad remarks, this is a great campground with nice and helpful people. We came in on a Monday when the first big storm was coming in from Japan with rain and wind. The guy that checked us in came right out and helped me back in and get hooked up in the rain. We had no problems with a 34-ft motor home with a car. Stayed here 3 nights and would stay again. The walk to the beach is great and the showers and laundry room where very clean. This is not a resort: it is a great family campground. There are full time units here but everything is clean and there's no trash. If you need a great park outside of San Francisco, then stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
Was shocked by negative comments. Have been here several times and staff most helpful. A bit controlling re guiding you in space but they do it well and just strike an attitude. Sewer hookup was too small this time but they were great re providing an adapter free of charge. Who could be unhappy in this beautiful ocean view next to Ritz Carleton? It's breathtaking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$48
We have stayed here several times over the years and when planing our latest trip we read the reviews and were shocked at the negative comments. We figured things had really changed. We almost did not come here, but we had business close by so chose to take a chance. Much to our surprise the folks in the office were extremely helpful and cheerful. There do seem to be some new rules that are a little weird - where you can and cannot park with our size rig, in spite of being willing to pay the additional fee, but we did get a nice spot with an ocean view. It is a little pricey when compared to some of the other places we have stayed on our most recent trip, but we do have an ocean view (at least until another rig moves in next door)! Unless things change over our stay we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
Motorcyclists beware ! This park is NOT! motorcycle friendly. Having stayed here before in our travel trailer, i decided to try the park while on a Christian motorcycle ministry trip. I tow a kwik kamp trailer that is similar to a pop up tent trailer and have never had a problem with any RV park taking it. I was told they didn't allow anything that could be towed with a motorcycle. I advised them that we were ministers and riding Gold Wings that were very quiet. They didn't care, they weren't about to rent space to anyone on a bike. So, if you are riding a bike, "Keep moving" We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
This is a small, quiet park conveniently located next to 2 golf courses and the Pacific Ocean. Not to mention a Ritz-Carlton within walking distance. We had spot 56, while not terribly big, it was bigger than many that weren't on a corner as we were. We have 2 small children, and while there isn't much to do at the park for them, the beach is a short walk and worth visiting for the day. We camped here in a Class C, and we really enjoyed listening to the ocean at night with our windows open. You can't see it, but can definitely hear it. We did have a golf course view from our spot which was nice. We particularly like to visit in October when the weather is sunny and during Pumpkin season. Although this time we will be trying Costonoa and I will be eager to compare; however, I would return to Pelican Point as well. The price seemed a bit steep, but probably because of it's proximity to the ocean, very close! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
As much as I hate to give any park a bad rating, I just cannot help it this time. This is a nice, clean park, but that is the end of it. The cable t.v. has a few local channels, most are California channels that do nothing but play infomercials. No internet, no WiFi. The spots are very narrow and you have to back in, (no small job) onto a narrow piece of concrete. Then you must park next to your rig. That leaves just about enough room to open the truck door and leave dents in your trailer. This is one of the parks that are so common now days. It was built way back in the days before slide outs. Back when we towed narrow trailers with half ton trucks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The Pelican Point RV Park, in Half Moon Bay, California, is within walking distance of the Pacific Ocean and is located 30 miles south of San Francisco on California Highway 1, about 50 miles north of Santa Cruz. The park, originally constructed in the 1970s, is clean and well maintained, but not for everybody. For adults looking for a quiet place to spend a week-end or short vacation, it provides a great place to stay. Like many coastal locations the weather is usually over-cast and comfortably cool, with clear cloudless sunny days a rare event. August through November will provide the sunniest days. The park itself is also located next to two golf courses, and the area has many paved paths that provide nice bike riding or hiking opportunities. The nearby town of Half Moon Bay offers some good restaurants, and some nice little shops along Main Street, although the park is about three miles south of town and transportation can be a problem. There is a public transportation (Route 17) which stops a short half-mile walk from the park. (Use the path that starts at the south-eastern corner of the park; it’s flat, just turn left at the second bridge and walk to the office of the neighboring Canada Cove Mobile Park where the bus stops.) Pelican Point does offer cable TV and phone hook-up, but unfortunately no wireless internet access is available. But for families with kids, be warned, there are no playgrounds, swimming pool, or other activities for kids except horseshoes. The near-by public access ocean cove is small, and unfortunately has a strong under-tow that would make swimming dangerous. There is no movie theater in Half Moon Bay. During our stay the staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities included two showers for the men and three for the women. They were clean and quite adequate. The sites were all back-in with full hookup. They had small picnic tables, but no fire pits. The only problem we faced was the site disposal dump tube was smaller than the standard size, and we had to borrow an adapter from the office ($10 deposit). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$41
Clean park. We only stayed one night but it was quiet, even with a few small dogs and some children. Checked in after the office was closed and paid in the morning. Sewer connection in our spot had an undersized receptacle so we had to use the main dump site, no big deal. Small store, people were friendly enough. Looks like they are doing some renovating with a few spaces being rebuilt. There are, what looks like, some full timers but things were pretty clean. Concrete pads, picnic tables and an ocean view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Little difficult to get into, but worth the effort. This is a beautiful location on the Pacific Coast that shouldn't be missed. Nice walking trails. Couple of nice cafe's in the area for breakfast. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$36
Clean and quiet RV park. We were the only trailer with children. We loved the short walk to the beach. Some sites have great views of the golf course and/or ocean. Staff and fellow neighbors were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$36
Friendly staff. Paved streets, concrete and grass sites with picnic table. Small store. Very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$32
Some sites are narrow if you have slideouts. Sites are level and deep. They charge extra for each person beyond two people. If you have a friend come and visit you during the day, they charge a visitor's fee of $2 per person and $3 per car. Beautiful views of the ocean. Walking distance to beach access (which entails going down a 55-stair walkway). Adjoins the golf course owned by the new Ritz-Carlton Hotel nearby. Golf cart paths are also good for taking a walk along the shore (about a 50-foot dropoff down to the water). We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com