214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Renfro Valley KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (606) 256-2474
CGID3486

Renfro Valley KOA

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   4   8   9   7   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Escorted to site, great customer service and friendly staff - willing to answer any questions. They even went overboard by assisting a large family on wagon ride even though all equipment was put away. The children loved the ride. Placement of utilities was good. Our site was level however you can tell others definitely were not even with blacktop. The wifi was so so - always had poor connectivity per computer - slow to not working a lot of the time. The store was very reasonably priced and carried necessary items. Had good pancake/egg breakfast on Saturday morning for a cost. The pool was very clean. NOTE: Entry and exit from the campground involves steep hills. If back in the area, will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
One hot and humid afternoon the camper next to us burned trash in the fire pit on his site. It is literally 8 feet from the side of our coach. The smoke was dense and the smell nauseating so we had to close all our windows. When confronted and asked to put it out he could only apologize. The park owner came over and told him the same thing a few minutes later. But get this; this camper works for the park and it’s his second year doing so. And he is the park owner’s brother to boot. The WiFi is poor at best and very unreliable even on days when there are only a dozen or fewer campers in the park. If, like us, you need to be able to regularly use the internet you should bring your own service. The place is good during the week but fills up on weekends with loads of noisy kids and traffic on the campground roads. So the noise increases beyond that which usually accompanies all the employees driving around in golf carts. None of them walk anywhere and our neighbor was accustomed to commuting to and from his trailer in either a gas engine powered golf cart or sometimes a tractor. Very unprofessional and insensitive to the quiet enjoyment of paying customers. The environment is wonderfully green with plenty of woods to walk in. This is a typical KOA complete with rental cabins which also tend to fill up on weekends. When we arrived we told them we would stay a month. According to management available spaces were limited. They said they had so many reservations there were only one or two spots for a month long stay. Because the first site was impossible to level our coach in we were given one next to an employee who made a lot of noise when talking with his father or grand kids. In the weeks we stayed we saw many days where only 5 or 6 of the total number of sites were occupied and so concluded we were relegated to where we were because we got the monthly rate and the management could rent the better ones out for the full rate. If we were not here solely for medical reasons we would have left after the first week. The exit driveway connection with the adjoining highway is very steep and is marked with deep gouges made by tow bars. We could not avoid adding ours regards of the angle of approach. We stopped across the street and discovered a part of our tow hitch was torn off. Possibly this can be avoided by removing the hitch entirely and driving the toad out separately. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
It's between a 6 and a 7 rating. We hit this one on the way down and I forgot about it, otherwise we wouldn't have hit it on the way back. People are nice, Wi-Fi works fine, cable is great, no problems with electricity or water. The sites leave a little to be desired. Ours was not exactly level and really not the greatest shape. Roads can be a little tight for the big rigs like ours. Doable but you really have to be careful. If we were to come this way again we would look for another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This was a disappointment. Check in was pleasant. Asked about WiFi and they said it is very sporadic and doesn't work well. It never worked. Site was a pull through but a little short. Pleasant campground otherwise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is one of the good KOAs. Check in was efficient. Site was spacious: asphalt pull through and long enough we did not have to unhook our towd for the one night stay (site 16). No satellite (too many trees) but good cable selection. Sprint reception excellent. Road in is as described: one way narrow and steep. Exit is two way and steep. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We paid $37 with the KOA Value Card and were assigned site 35. Site had asphalt with was nearly level: we had to do a little adjusting. A lot of pull-through sites which is nice. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. We didn't venture out and stayed only one night so can't comment on all of the amenities. Ladies in office were nice and friendly. Road into campground is steep and narrow: one way in and one way out. We would stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very nice Park in a beautiful area. Easy access to interstate but no road noise. Friendly staff. Modern and clean restrooms and showers. Free WiFi and cable TV. Pet and Kid friendly. We were here the second time now and will definitely come back. Only con is that there is no blacktop or gravels in front of the sites in the sitting area. After a rain it can get a little bit muddy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
It's a KOA. It's like eating at McDonalds--you know what you're going to get. I wanted a place where I could count on having what I needed and not have to second guess the reviews of other campers for other campgrounds in the area. This place is great. Pool, shuffleboard, game room, mini golf, shady sites, and most importantly, it's very quiet here. We did our laundry and the owner told us which dryer ran longer and hotter. I would stay here again without a doubt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Overall a very nice campground. The office staff is outstanding - will do anything to assist you to have a good time. They had many activities for adults and children throughout the weekend. Entrance is a very steep hill and exit on other side of campground is just as bad. The one big negative is most of the sites are not level. Many of the sites have blacktop surface however not level - we had over 3" levelers on one side and still not level but did not have enough wood etc to raise more. This was evident throughout the park. Realize park is older but they need to repair the sites one at a time to bring the facility up to date as it will not be cheap to do the work but in time all would be good. If in the area again, we would stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Nice, quiet campground. Big rig but tight for our 45 ft Motorhome. Could not get completely level. Hope to stay more than one night next time so we can take in some of the area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$39
This park was great! The registration folks were very efficient. The sites were large and clean. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The downside is that there is not a lot to do in the area. Berea seemed good but 2-3 hours in the craft stores is plenty. The Renfro Valley Music shows would be great I'm sure but check ahead to make sure they are on. If you get here out of season, there aren't many shows. There is a terrific pioneer village near the music hall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
The entrance to the campground was up a steep one way hill. The trees were well trimmed and did not hit my camper. We stayed on a pull thru full hookup site, #81. Our site was literally on the side of a hill. I noticed that all the sites in the 80's and 90's are on the side of the hill. I looked at the other slots and spoke to some of my neighbors that had the same problem as I did, that was the sewer hookup was above the camper. The sewer would not drain properly. The guy next to me could not put his awning out because of trees too close to him. On my lot, if you wanted to sit outside, it was at the ends of my camper because of the steep grade out of my door. The water pressure according to my Watts T56G was 22PSI. My neighbors also complained of the low water pressure. Due to the holiday weekend, the park was packed. The brand new transformer the CG installed did not hold up to the load and blew causing us to be without power for about 6 hours. I did not use the facilities but my kids tried to use the pool but it was too over crowded. The staff was generally friendly. Wi-Fi was very spotty and at times would not work at all. We used iPhones and a laptop to access it. The cable TV was excellent and you received a great number of stations. I will say the amenities that I did see, looked well taken care of and the grass was cut and trimmed appropriately. If I go back to Renfro Valley, I will stay at the another park in the area over the KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Nice Campground. Steep Hill on entrance. Nice playground for kids, pool, Bounce pillow. Right off I-75 but you can hardly hear the traffic. We stayed one night on the way though Kentucky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Very easy access from I-75-were only here one nite but there's things to do, antiquing, Hall of Fame, water sports close by and the park has a pool and other activities for kids; there's mini golf and shuffleboard. Sites are easy to get into and shady. There's an enclosed area for the pets and even a field close by where pets can be walked. A nice park, nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
I only rated this park as an "8" which might seem low but I will explain my concerns. Overall, would I stay here again if in this area? "Yes." The park staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our first assigned site simply would not work with our trailer. The staff member who lead us to our spot went back to the office and got another site for us. We were lead to the new site and the staff helped me position the trailer watching for trees. The park is very clean, restrooms/showers were spotless, the camp store is very nice. While we had no children traveling with us, I could see several nice activities available and all were very well maintained. Concerns: Several of the sites are fairly tight with trees. This is good and bad. Lots of shade, but difficult positioning because of limbs. Some of the sites are very close and if the park is full there would be issues. I noticed some sites that would be a really wild to get level on I think. Our site was not that bad. About half of the sites are paved with grass and the rest are gravel with grass surrounding. Entry/exit to the park will make you pause. The level indicator on my truck recorded an "8" degree incline for the entry and it is narrow. This may not sound like much of an incline, however it is significant. As I stated earlier, we would stay here again. The park is strong enough to out weigh the other concerns. The rate I showed was with a KOA discount. We stayed here three nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Came during Memorial weekend and it was packed, which took away from what otherwise might have been a more pleasant stay. Bath/shower facility is small for the number of sites. Pool is small. Nice kid's activities and good sightseeing nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend with the park at full capacity. The park staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Site when full are tight and some are not as level as you make like but the roads are all paved so there is no dust. We would stay here again. If you have kids there is lots to do at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Very friendly, helpful staff. Hookups were convenient and worked well. Escorted to site. Site was graveled. Cable TV was very good. Wi-Fi was free and was he strongest and most consistent I have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
We only stayed for one night, but I would not mind spending several days here. You can tell the campground is older, but it is well maintained. Sites are paved or concrete. We stayed next to the office and the site was very level. I was also able to get a signal on my dish, although in some of the other sites, it could be difficult, especially when the leaves are out. Wi-Fi was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. This was one of our favorite KOA's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Nice park. Lots of trees; beautiful this time of year. Earlier comments about digging in steps are unwarranted unless you park to the far right side of the site. The road out could be a problem if meeting traffic, but not so likely. Some of the older hardstand sites would be a problem for leveling, but the vast majority are level. Staff was friendly. Grounds neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Great park, our dogs loved the enclosed dog run. The showers and restrooms were excellent, but the best part was the staff. Super friendly and very helpful. Electric service was good, Wi-Fi reception was good, we didn't try to receive TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
The nicest bathrooms I've ever been in, tile, automatic lights, spacious stalls and very clean. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
The road leading into the cg is a little steep but not too bad, however there were spots with holes and uneven roadway which makes your unit shake a bit. The first portions of the roads after registration are paved however they turn into gravel. They were in very good shape. Note the upper portion of the cg is relatively level with some sites with pads, but the lower portion of the cg is tiered. As noted in previous reviews, it was mentioned about digging out for steps: depending on which sites you get, this could be the case. Our site actually was level, but there was a slope to the right of the travel trailer whereby sitting under our awning would be awkward. Other sites you could see by the wood being used, as not being very level. We also noticed that some of the sewers were “uphill” from the site which makes for a lot of fun when emptying the tanks. Water pressure and taste was very good. The play ground looked very nice to occupy the children along with the pool that was open. The staff was very kind and considerate. WiFi note: if you are towards the other end of cg from office, forget about using their WiFi. The prices in the campground store were within reason. We will return as it has potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This campground is older and has some serious needs for work on the sites. We reserved a site which has 50A electric and length. After three attempts to put the trailer on the site we ended up moving to a level 30A site. There are very few level sites. My recommendation is to walk to the site you are renting prior to completing your business at the reservations desk. Cable TV and WiFi are good. Roads into and out of the campground are narrow. Road in, is one way. Poorly marked however. If we came back to this area we would seriously look at another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
This is an older park and is definitely NOT "big rig" friendly. The road coming in to the park, and a different road leaving the park, are both very curvy and narrow. It is impossible to avoid tree branches and if you meet another vehicle, one of you will have to back up, possibly up hill and a considerable distance. We reserved their most expensive site but could not use it unless we jacked the rear wheels off the ground or dug out an area in the adjacent bank so the coach steps could fully extend. And this was with a tree branch across the top of the living room slide. Later in the day I saw where another camper in a 42' coach had taken a shovel and cleared an area so his steps could fully extend. And finally the wifi did not work. I would never return to this park, even in a much smaller coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Wow! In nine years of travelling I've never given a 10 to a KOA. Price includes tax and KOA discount. All previous positive remarks remain valid: excellent park and facilities, very nicely maintained, great, hard-working staff and totally modern and immaculate rest rooms, laundry and showers. A slightly off-level site was easily compensated for. A fifteen-minute drive to Kentucky's artisan centre at Berea. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
We have stayed here 5 times in the last 2 summers. We enjoy coming to the shows. Staying at Renfro Valley KOA has always been a great time. The owner and the entire crew go out of their way to make sure of that. Looking forward to going back in April 2010. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
A very nice campground and well cared for. It has a very nice play area for children, and very clean pool, and a dog run for your best friend. The camp store was very well stocked with practical items. My only criticism is that the spots are fairly close and facing each other. If the park was busy you had better like your neighbor. However, if you are traveling in a group I think the facing sights would be nice. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This campground is, by far, the best one we have ever stayed at. The owners & staff bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. They treat you better than family! The driveway going into the campground is one-way, as is, the exit drive. It is secluded enough that you don't feel you have to hold your children's hands every minute. They had all kinds of activities for the whole family without nickel & diming you to death. Staying here is like visiting your childhood home!!! We are always greeted with a smile. Beyond excellent!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This is a park that works best for those with a medium or smaller RV, children, and who use the restrooms. For those of us with large motorhomes and who are only passing through, it is at best an average park. A narrow, climbing road leads to a cramped registration area, and we were led to a level gravel site that was steeply terraced and nearly precluded the use of passenger side slides. The free cable TV and Wi-Fi worked well, and Verizon cell and AirCard also were strong. For an overnight stay, there are less expensive and easier to access parks in the area. We'll pass on this park if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This park has one of the best restrooms we have seen since starting full timing over a year ago. Everything seems to have been updated since the previous review. We enjoyed staying here and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
This is a great park in the heart of Renfro Valley.The shady sites are great and the staff is one of the best in Kentucky.This park is always clean and they are happy to shuttle you to the shows. Mens restroom have been remodeled and is GREAT. This is a wonderfull park for an extended stay or just a stop over if you are passing thru. Conveinent to I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
This is an older KOA that has not been updated for quite a few years. We stayed overnight and it was fine for an overnight stay but, I would not stay any extended time here. The campsites are small and the campground is not 'big rig" friendly, a 34 foot motorhome would be a challenge at the majority of the sites. The campground is situated in heart of Renfro Valley which is the reason most people come here. Overall, I was not impressed with this campground, it is on the lower scale for KOA's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This CG had everything we need. The owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. (Some other KOA CG have not been like this for us.) The store was nicely decorated and they had a little bit of everything. ALL the facilities were spotless. I love clean bathrooms and laundries! They had free crafts for the kids and a free magic show as well. Cable and wifi actually works! They had a free shuttle to the music shows and they were happy to take us when we wanted to go. They treated our pets as well as us. Very pet friendly CG. (the only reason I didn't give them a 10 is..no spa pool) We will stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$31
Typical KOA with easy access to I-75. Cable TV actually worked. A little overpriced for what you get. Good place to stay overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com