218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Auburn Gold Country RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (530) 885-0990
CGID3492

Auburn Gold Country RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   6   8   9   7   8   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
I can say a few things positive - it was clean & quiet. It also was packed with full-time residents with few available spaces. We were crammed into a narrow short site between two full-time residents. Couldn't extend our awning & couldn't walk around the RV with the door open or anything else left open. Also, couldn't go around to the back of the rig as the tow hitch was touching the small dirt cliff along the back. This is not a resort or even what you would want in a "vacation" destination even if only passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
Overpriced is probably the best word to describe this park. It is not bad, it is actually reasonably clean and maintained. It is certainly better then many parks that are majority "long term" tenants. But for the price I would expect more. TV was by OTA only, the Wi-Fi was bad to marginal. The office (and main building) was only open from 8 to 5 (bathrooms 24/7). When I compare it to the park in Nevada where we spent the previous night it really comes off bad at 2.5-times the cost. The cheap park had an office/store that was open 24-7, on-site 24-7 security, a bar, a restaurant, cable with 50 channels (about half a dozen premium ones, HBO, etc), multiple Wi-Fi hot-spots, etc, etc. I can't see ever staying there again and could not suggest it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Stayed here for a week and on the last day the wife broke her foot. I went to the office and asked if we could stay another 2 nights while she sought out treatment. Was told nothing available and had to move. I understand that, that being said, wifi was very iffy no cable TV OTA only. Had a pull through site but had to disconnect. Site was not level and had to use leveling blocks. Staff was friendly and restrooms were clean. I feel the place was way overpriced considering the poor wifi and no cable TV. Furthermore while out walking the dog I noticed more than one "lookout for rattlesnakes" signs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
Very nicely kept former KOA. However, at least some of the "pull-through" sites require disconnect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Very nice park. We are in a spot with no sewer, but it has water and electric. Most sites offer sewer, but cost a bit more. There is a separate dump station we can use. It is quiet -- far enough away from Hwy 49 to not hear it much at all. There are a couple of cabins for rent, and occasionally there is a tent camper, but mostly RVs. Quite a few permanent, but they are very nice, clean rigs and sites. No one ever leaves messes or does not clean up after their pets (signs make clear if they do they will be asked to leave immediately, no refunds). Bathrooms and showers are always clean. Basketball half court, swimming pool, laundry, large washing sink, picnic tables. Wi-Fi is not good, but for simple email or light web surfing would be sufficient. (Maybe better in other locations -- we do not have a good spot for reception, however.) Friendly staff and RVers. Shade trees at most sites. Weekly rates available, as well as monthly. But monthly campers must apply for this with credit checks, deposits, etc., as though you were applying for renting an apartment or house. Utilities in that case are billed separately, unlike the daily/weekly rates. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Many, many long term residents. Seems many are working in the area as they are gone all day. Didn't seem to be many vacationer spaces and the ones we were in were hot and cramped and no place to park the vehicle by the time the trailer was parked. There were places down at the end of the row for vehicles, but that was a bit nerve-wracking as it is out of sight and the bed was loaded with travel stuff. Office and grounds staff are all friendly and helpful and the park is clean and neat. The showers are old and a bit worn, but clean and pressure is good. The showers are stuffy and hot with little ventilation available. TV off the air and Wifi worked fine, unfortunately, the park goes through TengoInternet as do many others... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Nice park, very clean and the owners take obvious pride in this park. The sites are small and close together, but have tables at each one. All the amenities are available (pool, playground, laundry, etc.) Great for a few days when visiting this historic area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
A very pleasant RV Park from the first phone call until the morning we pulled out. For as many RVers (a few are fill timers....that were also very friendly) as were there (Memorial Day, 3 day weekend), the park was amazingly clean. The restrooms were clean at all hours of the day. The pool was actually very warm, and the water was clean even though it was crowded. 50 amp pedestal, so I had to use the 30 amp pedestal. The pedestals looked to be installed not long ago. I took many photos of this RV park but this forum doesn't have the ability to post photos of the RV parks being reviewed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
From the very first call, we were helped with everything for the next two weeks. The park is gorgeous, amazingly well kept, and the staff and even guests are friendly. I can't say enough great things about this park. We will recommend it to anyone who is ever considering being anywhere remotely near this park. Unlike some other parks we've stayed at, this one is serious about picking up after your pet.. No doggy landmines! And their bathrooms are spotless and meticulously maintained. Everything you need is within walking distance, and a pleasant walk. I also received my bank card there, without any problems, even without paying for a box. There is a reason so many people have chose to live, or do long and extended stays. A beautiful park that I already miss; especially, the friendly people and the resident turkeys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice RV park. Everything worked well, and we had some nice trees to provide shade on the hot days. We parked in the first site in the first row. The site was asphalt and slightly sloped in the rear. We had to use several pads under the back jacks to help in leveling. The site was wide enough that we could pull our tow vehicle up next to our 40 ft. RV. The road to and from the park off of Hwy 49 can be difficult because of traffic, but we found a side street between Target and Safeway that had a signal and was easier. We had a good experience with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
This park offers various levels of sites. We stayed in a premium back-in site, and that is what we are reviewing here. The site provided a small concrete patio, two shade trees and a bit of lawn. The site was nice and roomy and we were lucky enough to have nothing on the other side of the road but a nice oak grove giving us a relaxing view. Office staff was pleasant, it was quiet, and convenient to Grass Valley and Auburn. There appear to be many long term folks in this area of the park. The park is nicely kept. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Price reflects Good Sam Discount. Nicely kept park. Our site had a special spot for the tow, which was nice. My only complaint was the approach to our site. We are a 40 ft rig and we were in the 1st row, 2nd spot, so it was a tight turn right to make the 1st row then a quick tight turn left. Almost impossible and for someone who isn't a great driver, it would have been. Luckily, my husband is great! Location was good for visiting friends in Rocklin. Site was shaded and level and quiet. Easy access to downtown Aurora & I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Price reflects weekly rate for a premium pull-through asphalt site. Staff was friendly and helpful. We encountered some low branches on the way in off of Highway 49 as well as at our site. Wi-Fi was good as was our Verizon and Mi-Fi. Very convenient to shopping. We have stayed several times before and will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
It is so strange that there are no nice RV parks in and around Sacramento. That being said, this is the nicest, nearest park. We were visiting relatives in Lincoln Hills and did not like any of the other options. This park is an old KOA. There are some permanents, but they are in good condition. We felt safe and secure enough to leave the rig while visiting all day. Showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. No cable but we did get some channels with the antenna. Wi-Fi was ok. We would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
An all around nice, well kept, but older RV park which used to be a KOA at one time. It's a convenient location for visiting the greater Auburn, Grass Valley, and Sacramento areas. Some sites are a bit "snug" on the sides, but there are sites which appear to be roomier. The permanent residents here have some very nice looking sites complete with concrete pads and walkways. The manager was friendly, accommodating, and very helpful with providing local information and local restaurant suggestions. Water pressure and power here were adequate and the free Wi-Fi worked fine. The price listed is with a Good Sam discount and taxes included. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$49
We had called earlier in the week & asked about price & sites for the coming weekend. Were told that it would not be a problem this time of the year & the price was $44/nite. We got there on Friday & they had one spot available for Friday nite only. The price was $49/nite. We were not very happy as we had planned to stay for the weekend. If they had said we should make a reservation, we would have. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
This is a well maintained park and accommodated our needs nicely. It is situated in mid Auburn and close to many amenities. There is even a disc golf basket for those who would like to practice golf. Sites are in various areas of the park for those who prefer shade vs. sun. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Great campground, everything was spotless, Good Sam rate. We had a pull-through site which was asphalt, back-in looked to be gravel. Site was level, with a picnic table. Our connections were in the front of the site, it took about 20' to reach the electrical plug. Free Wi-Fi was fast, antenna TV got several channels. Swimming pool, hot tub, and playground. Restrooms and showers were clean. Quiet at night. They have a community fireplace near the playground, with wood for sale in the Office. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
Auburn Gold Country RV Park was nice and we stayed one night only. The facilities were clean and the playground was nice. The person (a man) who answers the phone and I believe runs the park is not very nice and would not go out of his way to help us. We arrived at the park at approximately 5 pm. I quickly gathered my laundry that needed to be done and went to the laundry room. The machines only took quarters, so I went to the office and there was a sign that said closed and that the manager was making his rounds. The sign posted a phone number to call the manager if needed, which I did. I told him that all I had was dollars and asked him if he could please give me change. He told me that he had change in the office but that the office was closed and he could not help me. I just found him to be very unpleasant and unhelpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
We stayed here twice, and great both times. The access road to the campgrounds off 49 is a bit sketchy - WACTH that turnoff - comes up quick, perhaps better signage? Despite a bumpy narrow ride on the way up, it is totally worth it. Lovely facilities, great site, very clean, a bit of a problem with kids and dogs running around your trailer making a racket when you want to sleep in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
Stopped overnight. Sites weren't level and pet walk is just a strip of tall grass. Management was nice but we didn't use the facilities. No cable but we did get TV channels with the antenna. Wi-Fi had a good signal and free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$47
This is a nice, clean, and quiet park right in the middle of Auburn. The pool and playground are nice. The owners have indeed updated the infrastructure there; the utilities were newer and ours worked flawlessly. There is a small camp store with a limited selection of RV supplies and sundries. That's not a problem because you are within walking distance to a Target, K-Mart, and grocery store. The bathrooms were very clean. There is a nice clubhouse with a big wide screen TV. Most of the spaces had concrete pads, which was great since it rained a lot the weekend I was there and I avoided having to deal with a muddy mess. There are some trees and grassy areas so you don't feel like you are in an urban campground or RV parking lot. That said, the spaces were small and the overall layout of the park felt a little cramped. The backside of the park had a fairly large RV storage area which didn't provide for the greatest view, but it wasn't too bad either. By far, most of the people I saw there were long term residents, but there were no junky RV's and their sites were clean and uncluttered. There was no cable TV. Overall, this is a decent place to stay and I would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
This park is in town and convenient to all the businesses listed in the previous review as well as within walking distance to the Safeway and AAA offices and Blockbuster. However, you do feel as if you are in the woods and the park is quiet. We could not use our TV because of the trees but this is not a problem with most sites so if you intend to use your satellite dish be sure to mention this. I would also recommend reservations if your plans include a weekend visit. There are many different festivals in the area. The new owners are investing a lot of money into updating roads, the club house etc. We camped here for 8 weeks and there is a nice mixture of long term and short term campers. Long term campers must have a credit check and a well maintained rig. You are expected to keep your area clean and clutter free. There is a nice pool, hot tub and playground area, and a lot of room for the 4 legged friends. The laundry room is open 24 hours. There are other less expensive RV parks in the area but we felt safest here. The entrance is easy to negotiate. Avoid driving big rigs down 49. The park is 2 ½ miles from Interstate 80. Take the Bell road exit 123. Turn right at the light just past the Blockbuster on to Quartz road then left at the church. The campground entrance is on your right. Tents are welcome too and the bathrooms are security coded and clean. A deep sink is available for doing dishes near the tent area. They also recycle. We loved Auburn and the Grass Valley area. The campground is only a few miles from the American River and Auburn Ravine Recreation Area. The park office has information on places to go panning for gold. We also enjoyed visiting local wineries which were welcoming and unpretentious. There is great microbrewery in down town Auburn. We would love to return to this area and highly recommend Gold Country RV park to anybody for both long and short term stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
As other reviewers have stated, this park is getting a lot of attention in the landscaping side. They are trying to update the park. The park does suffer from being old (probably 60's) so the sites tend to be close together and roads a bit narrow. The pool is large with nice new patio furniture around it, found it to be a bit cold (weird since they have solar heating) but refreshing. Lots of permanents here with kids, so it tends to be used quite a bit. They have a playground and small basketball area. The park is walking distance from shopping (Target, Safeway, Ross and more) but you don't feel like you are in a city. We stayed in the low 20s which have paved sites, but they are shorter and narrow, but we squeezed in. Be careful of the trees as they hang over the sites (good for shade, bad for roofs). The on-line map does not show the different site grades so here it is: 1-19 (except 16): Premium pull-through with 50amp, wide paved spaces. 20-23: Standard pull through, 30amp, paved, shorter, not as wide 16,24-29: Standard back in, same as above 30-47: deluxe back in, wider than standard 48-66: Premium back in, nice wide spaces on a lower level. From what we could tell, past 23 was mostly either full timers or perms. All in all a nice park, but limited for transient RV'ers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
The Heated pool is NOT heated. Beautiful park, great staff, good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$44
This is an ex-KOA campground. Older but well kept up. The staff were friendly and helpful. The assigned site was a bit cramped and too short for us, but we made do. The nose of our 5th wheel did stick out into the roadway a bit so that was a worry. We had to wait for another site to vacate before we could leave due to the cramped quarters. The campground is out of the way if you are traveling Higway 80. We would stay again if in the area and needed an overnight place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Nice, roomy park which has been recently remodeled, and it shows. Quiet, clean, in the middle of Auburn. It has walking access to Safeway and small shopping Center. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$49
The park has really upgraded since our last visit. Many large pull through sites built and almost every site has 50 amp electric now. New paving throughout park and the access road KOA Way. Remodeled in and out clubhouse and the store is open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
This was a former KOA park that now is operating under new owners. The owners are really turning it into a first-rate park! Several upgrades are being worked on, including a stone-covered office building, new landscaping, and new road surfacing. It is a good location for visiting Grass Valley, Loomis, Auburn, Nevada City, Sutter's Mill, and Placerville. We will definitely stay here again next year! It will be a "10" with the new improvements! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
A very nice park. They have obviously been upgrading the park as there are new improvements everywhere. Check-in staff was very friendly and very helpful. Has a really nice swimming pool and hot tub. Excellent location close to box stores, restaurants, a golf course, and area attractions. I thought the price was a bit high (we were in a premium pull-through site) but it's the only park in Auburn and there were only three available sites that I saw on a Wednesday night. Price is obviously not driving away business. Sites were level, good-sized, and landscaped. I'll stay here again next time I'm in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
We had reserved over the internet specifying we needed satellite from our dome. The first site they put us in not only did not have satellite but also only had 30 amp and we did not have room for our car. The second site offered also did not look hopeful for satellite reception and had some low branches. While we were working with a staff member to crop the low branches and possibly head in backwards, someone else moved into the site. We wound up in a back-in with the long timers. The site was too short and there were so many cars at the parking area we could not find a place to park during the weekend. I had to go back and ask for a receipt. The road into the park is very bumpy and there was lots of construction. There is also a peculiar circle drive with "no parking between signs" which is difficult to do in a longer motor home. There were other low branches making it difficult to maneuver. Children were screaming in the pool before 10:00 a.m., and although the dog area was newly cut, it was at least four inches tall. In addition to the construction noise, there is a nearby airport with loud low-flying single engine planes that had quite a bit of traffic. While we were struggling to find a spot to fit, there was a nice site that was "reserved" but empty that evening, so someone else apparently got a service which was not offered to us. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
The park was awesome. The staff was very friendly. We loved the Auburn area. The park has been remodeled and looks great! We recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This park will be a 10 when all the planned improvements are done. The plans are extensive. The new management is very friendly and helpful. Park is in the middle of everything and easy, short, drive to everything you need. Don't hesitate to stop any chance you get. Great home base for exploring the gold country without giving up good restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
RV park has reopened under new ownership and management. Beautiful clubhouse renovation with new furniture and large screen TV, free WiFi, and the park is very busy making other improvements. Large pull-through and back-in spaces. Very nice area and park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
This park will be reopened on January 16, 2009. The owner of Sacramento Shade RV Park in Sacramento has purchased it. They plan a number of improvements. You can call the manager at Sacramento Shade at 916-922-0814 to make reservations for January 16 or later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$1
As of October 3, 2008, this campground is closed and up for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$41
We stayed in this park because we were taking RV driving lessons in the area for two days. As a result, we were gone most of the day. The park is a former KOA and an older park. It has a pool and jacuzzi which were nicely maintained. Sites seemed close together but manageable for a newbie driver. Front desk staff were friendly. We saw a number of other employees working the grounds, trimming trees, etc. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$36
We stayed in this park while taking a class with the RV driving school. As a result, we left the park each morning and returned each evening. Access was good for our 42' coach using a back-in space. The campground was attractive with many trees. The park requests that no carpets be placed on the lawns adjacent to each parking pad. SIgns indicated that sprinklers would run in the early morning hours (but during our winter visit, this did not occur). Spaces seemed close together. Park didn't have much charm. I doubt that I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$44
This is an older park which was a KOA. The sites tend to be small with only a very few 50 amp. sites. There are very few RV parks near Sacramento. The road into the park is quite rough. The roads inside the park are ok - but narrow. Good shopping and restaurants close by. I found an excellent independent coffee house (Court House Coffee) in old town Auburn with free Wi-Fi. There is no Wi-Fi or internet access in the park. I was at the park during a period of heavy rain and could not do a full review of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$34
Former KOA. Park is pretty well kept, but we were put in a site in a row with full-time residents' pretty run down trailers. They came and went all evening. The hot tub was nice; some laundry machines were out of order. If we ever need to stay here again we'll pay a couple extra $ for the "Prime" sites. They are primarily occupied by travelers and seem better landscaped with grass and plantings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
Older park, with some nice pull through, 30 amp sites near the office are the nicest. 50 amp are back-ins only and in an area that is mostly long term and older rigs/live-ins. Park is a decent place to stay, but not a destination park. I was in a 40 ft. Motorhome pull-through right near the sewer dump and pet area. There was not much choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$32
FYI, I have not stayed here yet, but this is the former Auburn KOA campground . I had a devil of a time getting the phone number, since it is not listed anywhere yet that I can find. So I will list it here for informational purposes. For the reviews go to the listing for the Auburn KOA. My rating is not based on staying here yet. I will rate it after I stay. Their phone number is 530-823-5435. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$32
We stayed here April 2004. This was a great campground. The sites were shady with plenty of trees, though a bit narrow. Some people won't like the rocky ground found in the sites - it would be better if it was pea gravel. There is a nice pool and spa, along with a large playground area and lawn. We were there over Easter, and they had a fun Easter egg hunt for the kids the day before. It has a nice rural feel to it, and is off the highway quite a ways. Everything about it was peaceful and enjoyable. Staff were always around and helpful. The RV sites don't have fire pits or BBQ, and they brought us a small portable BBQ when we asked. Also we killed the battery in our TV and they jump started it for us. There is a large tenting area next to the RV area. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com