219016 User submitted reviews online!!
Hat Creek Hereford Ranch RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (530) 335-7171
CGID350

Hat Creek Hereford Ranch RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   7   5   8   7   5   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Site was dirt and needed some leveling. Picnic table, some shade, fire pits. No TV, Wi-Fi was not working. Restrooms & showers were old and needed upgrading. Quiet at night. Working cattle ranch around RV Park. Hat Creek Radio Observatory on Doty Road is open to visitors 9 to 3 Mon - Fri, self-guided tour is informative. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This park is a good distance from the highway, so it is quiet, but the long gravel road to access the park is quite dusty. There are also lots of flies, but consider that it is in the middle of a working cattle ranch. Some sites are spacious and easy to connect to hookups. Others are awkwardly perched on a hump. The common areas are planted with nice flowers, and there are many grassy areas including a play area and swim beach. The ground is riddled with squirrel/gopher holes, and there are many lava rocks, so watch your step. The bath/shower rooms are in need of repair. The ladies' room had mirrors that were cracked and taped, peeling paint in the showers, and rusting fixtures. The roof also was rotting, and the windows covered in dusty cobwebs. The fire rings are crumbling. This park needs some repair, but the location is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This park is next to Hat Creek with some excellent fishing. Clean showers and restrooms. Also, Burney Falls is a beautiful place to visit 15 miles north on highway 89. Many lava tubes with in 10 miles. There is a general store on site where you can purchase a fishing license bait and tackle. Also a small lake with swimming and fishing on site. Great place to camp with a friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
The price is with a Good Sam discount. Destination campground, dark and quiet at night. A 1/4 mile gravel road entrance. Use this location on your GPS: 17855 Doty Road, Hat Creek, the other is the mailing address. The full hookup sites are on dirt, the Electric & Water sites are on grass. Our site was close to level, with a picnic table and fire pit. Lots of trees. Showers and restrooms are old but clean. They have a fish pond, $8 for 5 fish if you can catch them. An area of the fish pond is roped off for swimming, but the water didn't look inviting. I didn't see a kids playground, just a horseshoe pit. Free Wi-Fi through TengoInternet (slow), no cable or antenna TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Place is clean and quiet. Very dusty, and the sites are close together. This is out in the middle of nowhere with no cell service. Hook-ups are at the back, making it inconvenient. Would probably not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We have stayed here many times. Owner and managers are very nice. Access roads has never been a problem. Beautiful relaxing campground with all the amenities we need, including Wi-Fi. Hoping the year there will be cell phone service since Livermore Labs has closed their space listening site which blocked all service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Sites were good size. On-site trout pond was well stocked, and my son had a great time catching them. Proximity to a lot of great fishing. Burney Falls, Subway Cave and Lassen National Park made this an ideal location for a long weekend stay. Look forward to going back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
We camped here in a 40' 4 slide motor home using our Good Sam discount. Personnel were very nice and helpful. The road going into the campground was dusty but pretty smooth. This is a treed campground with dirt, fire pit and table. It does have a swimming area. This is on a working cattle ranch. We would probably check out another campground in the area, is we were passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
A decent park for a quick stop. The access road leading in and out is very narrow. I'm not sure how it would work if two motorhomes with dinghys happened to be coming and going at the same time. I'm glad we didn't have to find out. Not many sites have sewer connections. I doubt we would stay here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
What a great little family park! It is older and not squeaky clean but it is spacious, the staff is very friendly and accommodating and the WiFi out in the middle of nowhere was superb. There is no swimming pool but the streamside swimming area was a hit with the kids. If the restrooms and showers were a bit more up to date, this park would receive a "10" in my evaluation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Great location for easy access to Mt. Lassen, Burney Falls, and Subway Cave. Stocked pond was great, my four year old landed a couple nice trout in just a few minutes. Our site was very spacious. Showers were clean. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We've camped here over the last 30-years in tents and now in our travel trailer. The owners of the park and its employees are local folks who are genuinely friendly and hard working individuals! I can't recommend this park enough. Many grass sites, full hookups, clean and quiet most of the time, swimming beach, lots of shade, small store, lots of things to do for the kids (playground) and adults, fishing at their private pond, all sorts of recreation in this picturesque area including hang gliding and R/C slope soaring on nearby Hat Creek Rim, hiking, biking, boating, golf, and sightseeing that includes views of Mt. Shasta and Lassen. A side trip up to the Forest Service Lookout at nearby Burney Mountain (a 20-mile drive from the park to the top of this 7,800 foot peak) will give you a 360 degree panoramic view of the world that few ever see (this is a 2-wheel drive dirt road but good ground clearance is advised). Hereford Ranch is a working cattle ranch so on rare occasions you get to observe cowboys (and cowgirls) working the cattle. Our kids went from toddlers to adulthood here and we've always felt the area was safe and secure (we never just let them run free throughout the park) and have never experienced vandalism or loss of property. Major summer holidays the RV Park fills so advanced reservations are advised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Located in a beautiful ranch setting. Great owners & manager. Off highway. Stocked pond, Keep fish, 5 per day. Price went up from $7 to $10 a day. Kids under 12 should be cheaper, perhaps one fish limit. Close to attractions, subway caves, Mt. Lassen, Burney Falls, Fish Hatchery. Great for a week's vacation with kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$23
Very nice park. From what I could tell, the tent sites were apart from the rv sites. Very friendly CG Mngr. He went out of his way to find a grill for us to use during our stay so that we could cook our dinner meals in the fire pit. The campground has a lake for fishing which lets you keep the fish and includes a cleaning station. Also has an area roped off for family swimming that is not too deep. Has a play area for the kids that includes a swing set. Nice grassy sites with plenty of shade offer lots of room for those with multiple slides. Very nice place and will definitely go back every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very nice spot, very nice people. More than a half mile off Highway 89, very quiet. Nice tall trees for shade, pond for fishing, very nicely maintained grounds and roads. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com