206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Kamper's Lodge Of America was rated 7 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (252) 237-0905
CGID3504

Kamper's Lodge Of America

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   9   8   10   10   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Great rate for FHU. Pads were level and some sites had great shade. Sites are kind of close but not sardines. Some sites in the back of the camp were old, run-down and dirty. The short-term area was clean. My 5 rating is due to the "work in progress" look of the overall place. There are piles of dirt, run-down buildings and a very gross pool. I'm willing to overlook some of the ongoing improvements but it doesn't look like new work, just continuing work that never gets done. They have a small grocery and tackle shop, but no fishing pond on the premises. There are 4 cute donkeys for the kids to pet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
I like this campground. The rate reflects a Passport America discount. We were greeted by Benji the dog, then his owner, and a staff member. We registered for the night. Very pleasant people. We were led to our site in a golf cart. The site is just long enough for our 36' RV and tow vehicle. It is so level that all we had to do was put the levels down far enough to touch the ground. The fire pits are made of rock instead of the usual metal ones. There are four donkeys in a corral. They're cute and will come over so you can pet them, but they actually only want you to feed them. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
The rate reflects the Passport America discount which makes this friendly campground a steal. The staff advised us to ignore the GPS and provided excellent simple directions. An absolute must see when in Wilson is the Vollis Simpson Windmill Park downtown, which was our primary reason for visiting. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is probably the friendliest park we stayed in. The ground is very sandy so we dragged a lot of that into the RV. Sites are fairly level. The miniature golf course was in good condition (unlike several other RV parks we stayed in.) Our only problem was that our GPS unit could not find the place, but that's not the park's fault. We never saw the donkeys advertised on their website. Now I feel like an ass! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
A little bit of a drive off I-95 N, but worth it. The grounds were neatly trimmed. They appear to be sprucing up the grounds with shrubs and mulch. The sites are level. We opted for CATV for a couple of bucks more than the PA rate. I would recommend this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This is one of the most pleasant RV campgrounds we have stayed in. The people are friendly and the spaces are extra wide. Internet works fine. It's also a short drive to Bill's Barbecue or Parker Brothers Barbecue (and other restaurants, of course). If you are traveling I-95 you'll actually save a few miles (some stop lights though) as I-95 arcs around the Wilson area. Highly recommended. Passport America rate is $17.50 Have stayed twice (and counting). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
My wife and I enjoyed this campground. The owners were friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We were there for one night. The owner gave us suggestions on where to eat or have food delivered. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This is a wonderful park. While it is 18 miles off I-95, RT 301 runs parallel so it really is not out of the way. This park has had new owners in the last 2 years and they are delightful & friendly. Working very hard to bring this park up to a great standard. Our site was level & very long. They even came to our site and picked up our propane tank, filled it and returned it to us so we did not need to unhook our rig. We spent one night and this was a Passport America rate We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
Stopped at this CG in route to Myrtle Beach. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Much effort has gone into upgrading the property. New electric, level lots, etc. Will go out of our way to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
This park is coming into its own. The owner explained to me what he's done so far; and his ambitious future plans, which include some paving. Currently all roads and sites are gravel/dirt. The WiFi signal was fast and flawless, but the park was only 20% occupied. They charge an additional $4/night for cable hookup, which I declined since there was plenty of over-the-air stations. The bathroom are newly renovated, but I wish they wouldn't allow smoking in the restrooms since they're rather small. I have reservations to return to this campground and plan to more so in the future. Rate is PPA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
This park is coming into its own. The owner explained to me what he's done so far; and his ambitious future plans, which include some paving. Currently all roads and sites are gravel/dirt. The WiFi signal was fast and flawless, but the park was only 20% occupied. They charge an additional $4/night for cable hookup, which I declined since there was plenty of over-the-air stations. The bathroom are newly renovated, but I wish they wouldn't allow smoking in the restrooms since they're rather small. I have reservations to return to this campground and plan to more so in the future. Rate is PPA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Quiet, small, campground for an overnight stay. The management was very accommodating and escorted me to the nice, level, pull-through site. It is only about 18 miles off I-95 North (I was heading to Baltimore) and easy to find. If I am ever passing through again, I would definitively stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This park has just recently had new owners (who live on site). They are doing an immense amount of work. They have just installed cable at all of the sites. We stayed at Passport America rate. This park has all of the amenities including a concrete patio. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
We are traveling North and stayed in the park for a night. The people were friendly and the grounds were well kept. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
The new owner was very helpful and friendly. Sites are grass and dirt with concrete patio and were big enough. Quite even tho it is on Hiway 301, no problems with the park and would have given a higher rating had they not wanted to charge to play miniature golf, we have stayed at numerous campgrounds but this is first one that has wanted $5 to play. We would stay again and recommend the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
We stayed here one night in transit and will probably use this CG again. Medium length pull through sites are level and some have shade. We did not use the facilities. Lots of good Bar-B-Q nearby. Interior roads could use some work, but the staff is friendly and trying to improve the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
The park is a work in progress with lots of shade trees and a pool. The people who work here are all very nice. a great selection of shopping and dining close by. We drove to the outer banks north and south and regretted being this far away.We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
This was a very nice camping experience. Started with a very friendly greeting from the owner and her sister. Being led to the site and offered help setting up. The sites were spacious and fairly level. The new owners have owned the park for about a year, and it's obvious that they are working hard making improvements to a park that had become run down at one time. I see a great future for this campground and we plan a return visit. Very pet friendly too. A big plus for our three little dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$12
Stayed here for a night the place is under new owner's. But it need's a lot of work, it's run down a lot. We pulled in and it had a few camper's here, lot of space's but we still got put in one that was very muddy and wet. We stayed at PA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Nightly rate is Passport Club rate. Nice campground very friendly new owner who is upgrading campground. Two brand new bathrooms are now finished with showers. We had stopped for one night and stayed 5 instead. Peaceful country setting. They have donkeys and some chickens in fenced area, a playground for children and one rentable cabin available. Site was level. New water and waste hookups at most sites. Will return again on trip back to the north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Wonderful new owners who are working very hard to clean it up. We had no problems, easy parking. It will be a good stop over place in the near future. PA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
First impression when you pull in is not very good. It’s a little rough. This place is really not ideal, but it’s not bad either for a place to park with full hookups. Certainly nothing special. Electric was good. Site is long and level with a small concrete pad and picnic table. Picnic table was rugged and landscaping was minimally maintained. Free WiFi worked fine. The site we were assigned to was spacious, both long and wide. The area on the drive to the campground on US301 looked quite dumpy. We didn’t venture away from the campground, but if we stay here again I would not plan on doing any errands in the area. Definitely fine for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Good small campground. It is a very old campground, but it was well taken care of. The new owners were making improvements. The pool was remodeled and clean. New electrical and water was being upgraded. The Wi-Fi worked well. No bathhouse available, just a bathroom with one shower. And they were run down a bit. Probably clean, but we chose not to use them. Great playground for the children. A pet donkey was interesting. Well stocked store onsite. Overall, a good quiet place to stay. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Rate reflects PA for a week. ($123) Nice rate since Passport America is accepted for a week. Park is nice with level sites. The pool is now open and open to the public. However after 5pm only for park residents. Has a small store, propane, and a donkey to feed/pet. The new owners are working hard to improve the amenities and sites. While we were there they were adding more sewer sites and upgrading the power. They have plans to add putt-putt golf and lots more fun stuff. The owners and employees were very friendly and helpful. We fished and visited several attractions the week we stayed. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Nice little RV park. Gravel roads and good size sites with cement patios. Trees but not enough to block rooftop TV dish, good reception. Sprint cell phones and internet access worked well. The parks Wi-Fi worked very well. Pool was empty but was freshly painted, should be ready in a week or two. Very friendly owners. Laundry was small and dark so did not use it. Price was Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
Very nice little park, very friendly on site owners. It is on a busy hiway, and on calm nights could hear trains. Good satellite. Excellent Verizon cell/data. Some spots are muddy after a rain, but good level sites with concrete pads. Pool was being repaired. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
We enjoyed out stay very much. The only problem was that it was quite far off Route 95 - thus the PA rate was important. Very clean and such nice people running the facility. The donkeys on site were an added piece of fun. Easy set-up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
We stayed at this park for a couple of days. The staff were very friendly and informative. The campground was not easy to find as there were no signs along the road, and GPS did not recognize the address. The swimming pool was not open due to off season. Good Wi-Fi access, but no local TV stations. Would stay here again, now that we know how to find it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is just a privately owned park that is nothing special but adequate. Easy access to campground and campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We only stayed one night, using Passport America, but found the campground was decent. There had been torrential rains the day before so everything was wet with lots of mud puddles on the road. The facilities are showing some wear - for example, the porch roof on the laundry room seemed in imminent collapse from rot. There are some burrows, horses and chickens on site so the kids would enjoy them. Don't know if they give rides in the summer? We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a nice family campground. The staff was extremely helpful. The sites were level and reasonably spacious. It was very conveniently located. We stayed here for 1 night as we were traveling between destinations. Unfortunately, the pool was closed due to a leak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Rate shown Passport America discount. Site gravel pull thru and level. Wi-Fi worked most of the time. Older campground that could use some paint and a few repairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Passport rate. Roads are mostly dirt that turn to mud when it rains. Exit road is about washed out because of the heavy rain we've had. Site was level, but mostly grass/dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This ia a nice place. The owners are super nice and take care of their park. We asked for a fire ring and one was there before we turned around. My son had a bad tire on his rig, they recommended a tire store and bam, they fixed the tire. It was a very pleasant stay. We were here for 4 nights, and would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
We stayed here for the Memorial Day Weekend and the rate is Passport America. The electric hookup was excellent, our site was very long, the grass green. Restrooms were old and inadequate, but clean. The pool was being repaired. Roads are poor and, after a rain and from drainage from the pool, they were muddy. The park was quiet, even on the holiday weekend and we enjoyed our stay. We had a good Verizon broadband signal and Sprint phone signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We are travelling on US 301 and needed a stop before our planned one further north. This park was definitely fine for a one night stay at the Passport America rate. The staff saw us arriving and met us at the office then took us to our site on her bicycle; she was very friendly and gave us all the info we needed for WiFi. We did not utilize any of the facilities. Would stay again if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
$25 for water, electricity and sewers with a discount for Good Sam and a number of organizations. This campground was recommended to us and the park reviews have been good. It is an older park with some permanent sites. The sites are close together but they do have full hookups. There is a pool, a store, and donkeys on the property. Everyone was very nice here but we would only stop again for a quick overnight. Actually, my husband and I feel that if you are in this area that this campground is a good deal. It does need some work but everything works and it is clean, quiet and everyone is nice but they do tend to mind their own business. It is in Wilson, NC which has a nice historic district, shopping area and a super Wal-Mart to stock up on supplies. It is also near Bailey, NC where the Dan Finch Pottery is and that is another reason we wanted to stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$12
This park was definitely fine for a one night stay at the Passport America rate. We did not utilize any of the facilities. The people were friendly. Would stay for one night again if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Nice get-away place for us: close to home. Check-in was painless and smooth. The office and store is a little outdated. Directions to campground needs to be more specific for access from Hwy 264 as our Garmin did not recognize there was a left turn lane exit for the campground. Campground owners seem to be striving to make it look nice and are cleaning it up. Traffic noise was not an issue although the park is close to major road. The Wi-Fi worked good. The pool area looks nice but we did not use it. The sites are a little unlevel but manageable. Think we may come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Beautiful area! Pull through site and wonderful service. Had some trouble with the wi-fi during our stay. We did get it up by the last day. A lot to do in the area. Easy access, very wide site. Did not use the showers- but all other facilities were wonderfully kept! Camp staff was friendly and helpful in getting wi-fi up and going. Very busy during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Very nice and quiet park. Hosts are extremely friendly. Rates reflect Passport America. Only problem is that pool is opened to public from 10am till 5pm. Campers only after 5pm. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
There are decent-sized level grass lots with paved patio and picnic table. There is no cable but good TV and broadband reception. It is very well maintained campground and friendly hosts. There are a few shaded sites; most are in the sun. There are some seasonal year-round RVs but they are mostly in the back and are taken care of. There is lots to see and do in the area. We visited the Rose Garden. Wilson is a pretty neat city with beautiful old homes, lots of shopping choices, art museum, several golf courses, etc. It is not too far from the Raleigh/Durham area and about 15 miles to Rocky Mount. We would recommend this campground to anyone and we did come back here after a short trip to the Kitty Hawk area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
This is a pretty little campground that is nicely arranged although there is no privacy. There were a few big trees, and full hookups. The pool is open to the public until 5 pm then campers have it all to themselves. The staff was nice and helpful and led us to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Family oriented campsite. Extremely nice hosts. Quiet and spacious. Pool is open to public from 10am to 5pm. Nice place to get away for a weekend of camping. Will revisit a couple times throughout the year as it is close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Just staying overnight on our way to Virginia. As previous reviewer states, this is a no frills park, but our overall impression of the park is very positive. Roads are dirt/gravel but in good shape. Sites are large, dirt/grass. with small cement patios. Grass is recently mowed. Park is neat and clean and feels safe. We paid $17.50/night under Passport America for full hookup site with 50 amp and free WiFi. We would definitely stay here again if our travels bring us this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
A quiet Passport America park in the middle of North Carolina. No frills but the park is conveniently located off US 301 and I-95. Make sure you read a paper map because our GPS sent us to 301S rather than 301N. They offer WiFi but no CATV; local channels via antenna have good reception. Park owners have some farm animals stabled/caged on the property: chickens, donkeys, goats, horses. Will definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This Good Sam park has been undergoing many upgrades since the current owners purchased it several years ago. It is now in very nice shape and the owners are delightful folks. The area has a lot of large trees, although we had no problem getting DirecTV reception. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$12
The owners of this Passport America park are lovely. I came for one night and decided to stay for two more but didn't have cash. No problem, I went out for the day and came back with it. The wifi is strong. There is good cell and satellite TV reception. The sites are large and level. It's not a destination resort, but certainly a good place to stop for a few days. There are some permanents here, but it's not scummy. The owners have been working hard for three years to make it nice, and they have succeeded. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Small campground on a main highway. It has many worker types in older trailers. Very quiet, owners are pleasant, hard working and appear to be making improvements as they can. The pull through site we were on had a new electric panel 50/30/20 but most others were older type single amps. The gravel on the site is well past needing enhancing. Sites are not well marked. But we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
I called and made reservations and they didn't bother to tell me the pool was broken. I have 3 children and they were very disappointed. I will not be camping here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
I'm not sure why this campground exists. It is a parking lot just off the main highway with dirt roads and tight sites. It has nothing that I am looking for in a campground. About the only amenity it has is a pool. It is OK for an overnight but I can't see where it would be considered as a destination. One positive is that it is in the heart of the BBQ belt and we had a good one in a local establishment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
I camped there for six days, roads to sites are gravel. They were filling the swimming pool, and grading the roads while I was there. PA rate is $15.00 a night, I will stay there again. I have a 35' "A" with PU toad. Camped on site B1 with full 50 amp hookup, it was about 45' x 70'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2005
$30
If it hadn't been so late and I wasn't so tired, we would have moved on once we saw the place. Small sites and rutty and muddy roads. Basically the place was a dump. Avoid it if you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com