221730 User submitted reviews online!!
Rancheria RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (530) 335-7418
CGID351

Rancheria RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   1   3   7   9   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
For a remote location this is a pretty good park. The year 2014 has been a drought season for this area of California along with wildfires. The owners have done a good job maintaining and operating the park under these harsh conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
Nice park in the remote Mt Shasta area. Lots of trees and sites around the small lake/pond. Showers were huge rooms! Clean. Thankfully a wild fire that hit this summer (came as close as 2 miles) spared this park. Thank you, firefighters! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
I have stayed at this park a number of times over the years most recently in July. It's near Hat Creek, nice sites and close to the area I like to fish and hike. I noticed in the last comment about the recent fire and the owners leaving.. I called up to see if the RV park is still there and was informed it was. However the park owner lost her home in the fire along with her neighbors homes and business. I hope you post this as an explanation of why they may have left so fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Park has had little maintenance since we looked at it a year ago. Planned to stay with a group for six days. Staff a bit unfriendly to customers. Fire caused the park to close in the middle of our stay. Rather than deal with irate RV'ers about a refund, they locked up and left. They abandoned their customers to the threat of an approaching forest fire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Water pressure in this park is almost nonexistent. On top of that they water the grass during the morning when normal folks would like to take a shower, further depleting the water pressure. There is hardly enough pressure to flush to the toilet. The free WIFI is a 2 hour coupon per day on Tengointernet. The internet service is incredibly slow, and two hours from the first time you sign in you are kicked off for the day unless you PURCHASE more time. Regardless of whether you purchase more time, you are limited to 160mb per 48 hour time span. After 60% of that 160 is used your speed is decreased to dial-up speeds. Buy the way, it isn't the park's fault, however there is NO cell service from any carrier within 8.5 miles of this place. This is a great place to go if you like to be dirty and don't want any contact with the outside world. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Nice park. Rustic without being a dump. No cell service. Wi-Fi is through Tengo and is $2 a day. Easy to maneuver and we have a 40ft RV. We stayed in a long pull through site that was pretty much level. Fuel is about 15 miles away in Old Station. I like this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We had a back-in space near the front. The sites are mostly level everywhere. Most sites are back in, but there are a few pull through sites. We were very happy with our one week stay. If you have satellite, there are places where there are no trees blocking. As mentioned, there is no cell coverage here. Drive north 22 miles to the town of Burney and there is service. I like that all the roads are paved at this place and there are grassy areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
When leaving we had to pull forward to site # 56B to dump, we got put into site 56A going the wrong direction. Friendly staff, cafe is pricey. No cell phone coverage unless you drive back toward Susanville and get higher. Nice atmosphere in the park like all high California forest setting. Close to Mt Lassen NP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Rancheria RV Park campground is surrounded by trees. A very scenic campground but somewhat isolated. Because of its location there is no cell phone reception and the two pay phone booths onsite do not accept coin for making long distance calls. Little restaurant onsite serves very good food and the dessert pies are homemade. WiFi is free for two hours a day and very, very slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We had a nice pull through with grass all around and it was quiet, clean and a nice base to explore the Lassen, Shasta, Burney Falls area. Also, the temperature was much cooler than Redding and the surrounding area. Restrooms/showers/laundry were clean and well stocked. They have a nice restaurant in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We came here so we could visit Lassen Volcanic National Park. However, there was a forest fire there so we couldn't go. It has been very smokey here & caused us a lot of allergy problems. We had reserved for a week & when I asked about leaving early I was told no refunds, only a credit for future use. We won't be back again so that didn't work for us. Since we're full timers, we don't have the option to just go home & we didn't want to lose our money. I can understand a no refund policy, but I think in this case they should rethink that because it's not really a healthy situation. There is no cell or mifi service for Verizon users. I heard some people were able to get AT &T if they stood in the right spot. They give you 2 hours of free wifi & it's very slow. Since you can't use your own internet, I don't think they should give you a limit. We used our own satellite, but I heard there were limited channels for the cable they provided. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but I heard it was good. They have a small grocery store & there is a Safeway about 20 miles away. It is expensive there. Overall the park was clean. By Monday morning the trash cans were overflowing & smelled really bad. They didn't get pickup til Tuesday, so they do need more trash cans. There is a small lake, but it's really nothing but a green slime water hole with a few ducks & a lot of cattails. Some sites have trees & some are in the open. Don't take sites 26-39A because they border the busy highway & are very noisy. The laundry is cheap & pretty good. The staff all seemed friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Friendly staff at check in. Site was reasonably level with table and fire ring. The grass needs some attention and mowing but the overall ambiance is nice. Lots of trees to provide shade. The cell phone service is bad if you have Verizon. I was unable to get any signal. The small restaurant has a nice menu and the "chile verde rice bowl" was great. The small lake is catch and release. A nice place to stay if you are going to Lassen National Park or Burney Falls. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Nice park in a pretty setting. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Food is good in little cafe. Sites were decent size and trees were mature. A little weed whacking is in order, but tolerable. Laundry is cheap and efficient. Not close to anything so stock up first. The sound of crickets and frogs at night lull you to sleep. Would stay here again. Best sites are on the far side of the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Only park in the area that is open in winter. Friendly staff. Convenient for Lassen National Park and Subway Lava Cave. Sites were a little muddy, needed more gravel. Wi-Fi worked fine, but free access limited to 2 hours a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We used this park as a base for exploring Lassen Volcanic NP and the surrounding area. This park was adequate, but the owners and staff could give more attention to details and customer service. For example, when we pulled in and registered we were simply assigned a spot. The lady at the desk never asked if we'd like a spot along the "lake" even though some were available. I only discovered them after we were all set up and I went for a walk. Our site's fire pit was full of cigarette butts and trash and stayed that way for the entire three days of our stay and I noticed the same situation in other empty sites. The showers in the restroom were clean and spacious, but in the one I used the light was not working and the hook for hanging up your clothes was broken. These are simple things to fix and really add to a park's good impression in my opinion. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Wi-Fi arrangement is weird. We were given two coupons that got us a total of 4 hours connection for free, then we had to purchase more time for $2 a day, but like someone else said, you are limited to a certain amount of data transmission each 48 hours and I quickly neared my maximum, at which time my connection speed slowed to a crawl. You'd probably be OK if all you do is check e-mail, but if you want to upload photos to a photo sharing site for instance, you will quickly reach your maximum allotted data amount. I've never encountered this sort of Wi-Fi arrangement before in all our travels. All in all, this was an OK spot to stay for a few days, but we will probably check out the other park in the area if we pass this way again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Friendly, efficient check in. I had one of many long back-in sites next to the lake. Store and restaurant on site. Didn't use the Wi-Fi so no comments about it. I have no complaints and didn't notice any deficiencies so there is no reason to downgrade from 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Nice park with large sites and plenty of elbow room. Liked the restaurant on grounds in this rural area. Pond was very scenic with lots of ducks, frogs, etc. Used the free Wi-Fi for 2 hours per day and worked great. We liked the no cell phone receptions to allow for a more relaxing weekend. Fishing and sight seeing in area was wonderful. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very nice park. Not very full when we were there as it was the start of summer and mid-week. Restrooms and showers were clean. Nice hikes in the forest nearby. Never noticed the trucks going by on Highway 89. Staff was very helpful. On-site restaurant was average. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This was our 2nd visit to the park. Park is clean. No cell phone service but wi-fi is available for 2hrs in a 12 hr period each day's stay. Very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Our site was okay except for the three adjacent sites that had what appeared to be permanent residents using them. We never saw anyone here, but they were very cluttered with "stuff" even though the rules state nothing is to be left out around or under the rigs. Fire rings were a mess as they were being used as trash disposal. The office staff was borderline rude. Went to the store to buy milk. Never was greeted or told how much I owed, had to read the register as the clerk was in a conversation with another employee. Was not acknowledged through the whole transaction. Will not use this facility again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
A few strange things occurred with this campground. You cannot reserve this campground on line, only by phone. I called them and we reserved 3 nights in a 50 amp site. We received confirmation to my email but for 4 nights instead of three, with the rate indicated to my credit card. We figured we were in no hurry so decided 4 nights was fine and let it go without re-contacting them to ask them to correct their error. We arrived and the counter clerk said we were quoted too low of a rate, and it would be an additional $4 per night for the 50 amp space, even though we had email confirmation at the lower rate. No appology, and "attitude" on full display by the counter clerk. We agreed to pay the additional $4 per night rather than move on late in the day. We were then asked if we wanted to pay for WiFi. The campgrounds website clearly says free WiFi. Free WiFi at this campground apparently means one connect per day with a code, with a max time of 2 hours. 2 minutes or 2 hours once logged on, one "free" time per day. Or so-called unlimited access for $2 per day. Except all connections, "free", or "unlimited" is data restricted. You can use 96 megabytes per 48 hours, then you are slowed to dial up speed. After 160 megabytes in 48 hours, you are kicked out of the system for 48 hours. First time I have EVER seen this plan, and "free" is an outright fabrication in my opinion. The campground is fine, but a bit close together for some sites which included ours. Good water pressure, good electric. Zero Verizon cell or air card access, even with roof antenna and amp. I detest nickel and dime charges that are not disclosed in advance. I detest attitudes by personnel who are collecting our funds in return for service. I detest mis-representations like "free WiFi". We will never, ever, stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
At first impression, I almost gave it a 10! Our site was backed up to the lake, and our particular site allowed about 50' on either side before the next site! However, most sites, while with adequate spacing, aren't that generous. Few pull through sites, but well designed and angled sites, with wide streets make backing fairly easy. WiFi was available cheap, but not free. WiFi worked poor to lousy in our site: had to be outside to get a signal most of the time. Deposit for restroom keys was a pain: get a combo lock like most other campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Beautiful park and lots of area to walk your pets. The site we were in was level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
A perfect place to stay and explore the beautiful area. Our campsite was right on the edge of a beautiful little lake with catch and release huge trout. The park is spotless and the staff make you feel like family. There is access to Burney Falls Park, Mt Lassen Park and several fishing streams within a few minutes drive of this place. The food at the Cookhouse Restaurant there is excellent. We plan to return next year and stay longer just to enjoy the RV Park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here one night as a stopover when traveling from the Oregon Coast to the Lake Tahoe area. This park is in a wooded area with a pond in the middle. We let the kids fish in the pond after obtaining a free fishing permit from the office. (Live bait and barbed hooks are not allowed, however.) There is plenty of room to maneuver big rigs; we had a pull-through site. There is mostly dirt and sand around us; almost no grass which made things messy with kids. We normally use restrooms and showers at parks; however, this one required a key (with deposit) to access. Since we were planning to leave in the morning before the office opened (at 9 am), we decided to forgo the key and not use the restrooms. WiFi was okay, but only allowed 4 hours before getting kicked off until 8 hours passed. We are not sure why they operate it this way? There is good food at the restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We stayed in the grass area across from the store which was nicer than the dirt areas next to their lake. Very nice folks. You have to leave a deposit to get a restroom/shower key but then you can't return it before 9:00 in the morning to get your deposit back. Made for a frustrating departure time. Would have been nice if they explained it up front. Restaurant was out of most menu items we wanted. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Had a nice grassy site that wasn't on the lake. People that worked there were friendly and the meals in the restaurant were very good. It would have been nice if the store & restaurant would have opened before 9:00 A.M. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We were in site 56A which faced the cabins. Site was large with table and fire pit. Staff and personnel were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good and fairly priced. WI-FI was OK. We did not have any cell service from Verizon. Telephone booths are available for credit card use. We'd probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We have camped here the last four years in a 38 foot motorhome, with slides. No problem with access road, or dirt. Best hidden secret in Northern California as far as I am concerned. Wonderful staff, and clean campground/RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
The camp sites are large and shaded. Many pull-throughs. The park borders a forest so there is a lot of wildlife. The park also has a small lake, nice store and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Very nice park. Quaint little lake with hook and release fishing. Close to Hat Creek for great fishing. Convenient registration and clean semi-level grounds. Great store and out-door barbeque grill. Night personnel very friendly and accommodating. Upon making reservations we asked for a lake side site and paid for a lake side site. I was given a few different sites that had the lake view bur upon arrival we were put in the spot recommended and the view was completely blocked by tall thicket, thus therefore no view. We were disappointed and asked the next day to move to a site that had a view and that was open. We were told they were completely full. That night, the campground was not full at all. So being lied to was quite disheartening and very much a let down. This is a great campground but I would check it out for sites prior to taking their recommendations and watch for those lies. We will return in the future but with site knowledge this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Strong WiFi and some of the most spacious showers and restrooms I've seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
The lake was a pond, small and sad. Half of the sites were very close to the highway with big trucks going by at all hours. There were no patrols at night, and when contacted about unruly guests, the managers declined to enforce the quiet time. Most of the people there were nice retired people with their dogs, very quiet. However, we found the park so small that when two groups got very loud and disrespectful, it really affected our trip. Both the RV and camping sites were small, there was not much privacy which probably enhanced the noise problem. The bathrooms were clean and nice, the shower house was lovely with hot water. However, we will not be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
I totally agree with the last review! Will not return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
The "lake" was more of a pond, but still scenic. The sites had a cable TV outlet but no working cable. Everything else worked fine. We didn't check out the bath house but thought the park was nice. It's more camping than rving. There was road noise on side of park closer to highway. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice Park. We are 65 feet long, plenty of room. Sites along road may have some highway noise, but we were farther back in the park. Well stocked store, reasonable rates. We stayed a week, and will stay again. Several shady sites available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
We had FHU site #41 which was level dirt/gravel with some shade, next to the laundry room; laundry was clean and well maintained. Our site was not on the pond but we were treated to a chorus of frogs every evening. The park roads were easy to navigate; we have a 30 ft class A. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful and we liked the wooded, natural quality of the park. Lassen Volcanic NP was a nice day trip although much of the park was still closed for the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We found the park staff to be unfriendly/rude. We had prepaid cash for one full week, had an emergency with our pets and had to leave after 4 days, not a penny of refund! We had quite a bit of road noise Will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
We had a site around the pond, which was entertaining, to watch the ducks during the day, and the bats at sunset. We didn't like the fact that we had to move our rig for the last day, because someone else was coming, but they never showed. Only a few of the sites are shady, most are in full sun. The restrooms were never cleaned in 4 nights we stayed here. The men's restroom had somethine that looked like human waste on the stall wall, and there were numerous cobwebs and other insect debris on the floors. The laundry room was very nice, and the store well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Very nice clean park. Owners are friendly and will do what they can to accommodate their visitors. Restaurant open Thursday-Sunday. Park has a large lake for fishing, float tubes, etc. Laundry is clean and so are the restrooms and showers. Recommend this highly. Park borders the national forest for hikers, dogs, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
The Rancheria RV Park in Hat Creek California was clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We've been here twice, the last time was for Thanksgiving. It is a nice small park, close to Highway 89 but the noise is not disturbing as there is not much traffic at night. The pond is small and is for catch and release fishing but nice to look at and fun for kids. There are not a lot of facilities for kids but plenty of trails through BLM land to the back of the property. Close to Hat Creek for trout fishing, to Burney Falls, Lassen Park, plus the towns of Burney and Fall River Mills. The park is open year round but it can be cold and snow bound in the winter, summers are pleasant temperatures with cool nights (yes, we used to live in the area but, no, I don't work for the park). The staff is friendly the store was well stocked for a small park store, and the cafe serves good food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com