221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinto Lake Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (831) 722-8129
CGID3511

Pinto Lake Park

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   10   10   7   7   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We had the best spot in the camp, #28. The sites are grass, which is very nice. The sites are close, but we had the end spot, which was great! The park is very quiet at night. If you stay a week you get a night free. Only 1 washer and dryer, but the first wash was free. The lake was not a draw. But we would stay here again if I the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Claimed to be pet friendly but not the case. You had to sign an agreement to clean up after your pet, etc. That was fine with me, but within 5 minutes my wife stepped in dog poop and tracked on rugs. Wanted to wash rugs but laundry closed at 5 p.m., along with shower house. The sites are all grass, very long grass. There are cable hookups, but they don't work - we were told they were for show only. On checkout I complained about dog poop all around and was told was a city park and they could not control - so why the "contract" for dog owners? We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We camped as a group and were well attended. They gave us a group rate. Management is very friendly and willing to help. The park is older so the spaces are narrow. Enough room for slide out but not slide out + awning. Power is 30amp only, with clean water, sewer, and cable hookup (didn't use) at each space. The park is well used by families and groups. There is a huge BBQ pit (rents for $50) with concrete tables and benches around. There is also a small children's playground with lots of swings, and climbing apparatus. There is also a well maintained baseball field that if fully stocked with good pro gear, the field was always under use while we were there. The lake has small rowing boats and a large solid ground pier to fish from, the lake is well stocked with fish. The park closes to the public at 8pm. Each camper is given a key so they can get in and out after hours ($5 deposit). We camped with 5 rigs and felt we got a good deal in a nice quiet place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
This has been the best park we have stayed at during our travels! It was beautiful with the lake, ideal for our toddler with a playground, huge grass areas, and ducks to feed. It is a great location tucked away but fairly close to many things. The hookups worked well and the space was long enough to fit our 40' rig and our truck with room to spare. We even had family come visit us and enjoyed the picnic areas. The monthly winter rate was reasonable for California at $700. The staff are very attentive and the grounds feel very safe. We will definitely come back when we are in the area! I would say this is the hidden gem of the Central Coast! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
We stayed 5 nights. Had we stayed 6 nights we would have received the 7th night free. Wifi is good. Very secure. Very family friendly. We stayed here and visited Monterey, Carmel by the Sea, Santa Cruz. Very convenient to all of the locations above yet away from the busyness. Great experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
A pretty public park with a beautiful lake and excellent security provides a welcome in-town RV park for visitors on the Monterey Peninsula. Although the sites are small, the park is rarely full so you can spread out a bit beyond the site limits. The park manager does an excellent job of keeping things in good order. Public access to the park is limited to daylight hours and the gates are locked in the evening. Yes, you do get a key. Our grandchildren live in Watsonville, so this is a regular camping spot for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This location is excellent for visiting the Carmel and Monteray Peninsula area. It is approximately 30 miles from Monteray. The park is a popular place for locals to host parties so you are sharing the park with them. The sites are side by side with no privacy on grass. The park is well maintained and all the hookups worked well. It is situated close to shopping. Park personnel were very pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This was our first "learning" trip with our recently purchased RV camper. It was the perfect place for our needs as a retired couple - full hookups for electrical and sewer drain at the camper site, clean with bathrooms and showers too. The receptionist advised my husband to take route 129 instead of 156 which was incredibly important for us to know coming in from 680. This was the slow season so we were lucky to have the end space which looked upon the lake for two days. The location for a visit to Monterey, Moss Landing for cioppino at Phil's Fish House and a great loop walk mostly along the coast at Wilder Ranch was fabulous. However, campers line up right alongside each other which could be tight if full. Also, picnic tables and fire pit are in an entirely separate area. Might not work as well for groups or if you like your own campfire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We were a family on holiday from Ireland in a hired camper, and the welcome we were given was warm and genuine. We were given helpful hints on things to do locally and how to plan our trip around California. I have camped all over Europe over many years, and I have to rate Pinto Lake as one of the best if not the best, mainly due to the host and the extra mile she went for us to make our stay memorable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is the best small campground we have ever been to. Price is right. Parking is close, but not a problem. Park is very clean and had very little noise.The gate is locked at 8pm, so be there before. They give you a key so you can come and go. We found this to be great. You can dry camp in the parking lot for 25 a night. Park is close to many attractions and great food. Campground manager was very helpful. We stayed four nights and we will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This was our first time at Pinto Lake. We were there for a whole week. It was a restful and quiet vacation. Missed having picnic tables at the site and on the weekend it was crowded, but we met some great new friends. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This park is very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and the little lake is a lot of fun to go kayaking and peddle boating. The park is centrally located to go to Santa Cruz and the beaches or Monterey and Carmel. We love camping here and have been coming back for the past 10 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Great location for visiting Monterey and Santa Cruz and the rest of the area, which is very beautiful. The park is very quiet - no planes, trains or automobile problems. The sites are all grass. Sites further from the lake are more level than the ones closer. They are rather closely spaced, but the park only seems to fill up on the weekends. The staff has the longer stay folks spread out so that during the week there is plenty of room between the sites. The Wi-Fi worked better than at any park I have visited. I was able to pick up all the main TV channels over the air with my antenna. My Sprint phone and Verizon Mifi worked well here. This is a city park so there are people around mostly in the evenings till the park closes around 8pm - fishing, playing ball and picnicking. There are little boats available for rent to take out on the lake. We enjoyed people watching, the Little League and nice walks by the lake at sunset. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to be helpful when I had an emergency. I would definitely return and will recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This is a very quiet park during the week, but a lot of activity during the weekends. There are little league baseball games during the spring and early summer months. The park is very well ran by the manager, and always clean and tidy. We have been coming for several years, and enjoy being end land a bit, but close to Monterey, and Carmel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
It is very quiet during the week, but there is more activity on the weekends, due to the closeness to the city park. We had a large site close to the lake. The park is close to town and to a golf course. We would recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Pinto Lake City Park campground was our destination for this trip. We had stayed here for one night last summer to escape the extreme heat inland, and decided that it was so nice that we would return for a longer stay. There are lovely large expanses of grass throughout the park and the campground itself is grass. We saw no mud anywhere in the park. The green grass, the large redwood trees and the beautiful lake all combine for a particularly attractive environment. Mid-week this time of year, there were many empty spaces. The staff is friendly and helpful in every way. There is no cable but the wifi is excellent. There are no fire pits or picnic tables at your site, however, tables are located throughout the park. A large children’s play area is near the lake. There is a County park just a mile or so up the road which has a large dog off-leash park and the town of Watsonville is very close by. The little league was playing every afternoon, but by 7:30 pm when the park closes for day use, it was very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a great little park in Watsonville. It is a city park that has a few RV sites. It sits right on Pinto Lake. There is fishing, boat rentals (in season), a great play area for the kids, and a Little League Baseball diamond within the park. The spaces were grass and fairly level. The views of the lake were great. The gal in charge was great (more later). The place was only about half full when we were there. It is a convenient place to use as a base for visiting Santa Cruz and Monterey. You are able to pick out which spot you want, so we looked around and picked one that was right next to the lake. We originally planned to stay for two nights, so paid the $70 dollars due, in cash, to the gal and proceeded to park our motorhome in that spot. Just after getting it backed in, my wife, who had gone up to the office to tell the lady which spot we had chosen, came running down from the office and said that the gal had forgotten to tell us that #15, buy edict of the the city, could only have small units in there. No problem, we just moved over to #14. A few minutes later she came down to us and handed us back $10 of the $70 because of the inconvenience to us. We said "No, that isn't necessary, it wasn't any big thing to move", but she insisted. We ended up staying three nights and loved the entire stay, and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Friendly staff, wonderful setting on edge of town. Only 5 minutes to full service supermarket and various shops. Very quiet at night behind locked gates. We enjoyed great weather, fishing in lake and visiting local ocean beaches 15 minutes away. We are looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Rate shown includes charge for pets. Site a level grass back-in. All utilities worked fine. Cable TV hookup doesn't work as it is no longer available. Plenty of off the air TV channels. Our site (2) was also satellite friendly. Wi-Fi worked fine for e-mails and browsing, but not much else. Playground, fishing dock, and boat rentals inside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
Do not come here expecting a fancy place. No clubhouse, no cable TV, no showers, 30 amp only, parking on grass or dirt. Restrooms are about what you would expect for a public park. What you DO get: is a quiet place to park, that is reasonably priced for the area, next to a pretty little lake. They do have a good Wi-Fi signal. This is a good location to see both Santa Cruz and Monterey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Basic park, but compared to pricing in the area, it is a great value. Since it was muddy and rainy when we stayed they had the RVs use the parking lot and bump up against the back end of the sites. Since it was lightly populated they allowed the rigs to spread out. Otherwise, for those with slides the sites are only 15' wide, so check to make sure they can space you apart. Two rigs ended up next to each other, and it is very tight with multiple slides. Not much amenity wise, during the day the lake it popular with families (they have an algae problem that you can google about). At night the gates get locked (you get a key), and you have the park to yourselves. Bathrooms are not much to look at (after all it is a county park). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
This has to be one of the most pleasant places we've stayed at since leaving Canada in late October. It is a quiet, serene, pretty park with a small lake (not for swimming). Birds aplenty. All amenities available in the City of Watsonville. The back-in sites are easy in and out, and are very adequate for most units. Electric, water and sewer at every site and 30 amp power. Paddle and row boats to rent. Fishing (kids 15 and under no license required). The WiFi has to be the best we've encountered in any RV Park that we've stayed in. Perfect! Great biking in the area. We've been here for one week and we'll definitely stay here again. The people are helpful, friendly and generous. Don't by-pass this one. One in a million. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
This is a no frills park. Stayed a week. Very quiet. Pretty location next to a fishing lake, great area for bird watchers, and rural stores about 1 mile away. The park is open to the public, but gates are locked from 5pm to 8am; you get a key. Park staff keep the place very clean. No cable but about 15 over the air channels. Sites are narrow but with only 5 spaces taken this was not a problem, perhaps in July/August it could be. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This was a great, dog-friendly place for us, near Elkhorn Slough. It is a great little lake. We enjoyed seeing the families and the children that visit the park. We'd come here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
This is a very quiet park, very clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I had a lake view space where I could set and watch all the waterfowl on the lake. I just can't say enough about this park so if you are in this area we recommend you stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This is a family friendly park. You park on the grass, so it's very clean if you have pets. There is a small playground by the lake with a BBQ and several picnic tables as well. We have been coming to this park for a few years now. We like this place because it is affordable and fairly close (driveable distance) to Carmel and Capitola. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Very quiet and if you have your own toilet and shower and great place to stay. Very convenient for us to stay while visiting for Leguna Seca track. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very pleasant and quiet. Lots of grassy areas for picnicking. It is Convenient to Santa Cruz, Monterey, and Watsonville.The gate is locked at sunset, but they give you a key. There are restrooms but no showers. The campsites are very narrow - only 14 feet wide, so you are very close to your neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Nothing fancy, just a little laid back park with a nice view of the lake. Sites aren't very wide due to the fact that it was built in the 60's or 70's, but they have plenty of length and are grassy. They lock the gate every night at about dusk, but you get a key. This is a city park, so there are rules concerning drinking alcohol outside your RV. We like to camp here because it's very peaceful and is about half way between Monterey and Santa Cruz. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Beautiful setting on the Pinto Lake. No swimming allowed. Narrow level sites. Only 2 sites with direct lake view. Very nice staff. Gate locked from 09:00 PM - 07:00 AM. One has a key on loan. Located 20 miles from Monterey. No morning sea fog! Very quiet place. On the weekends: many nice local families come for day visits and BBQ parties. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This place is a gem! It's about 10 miles from Santa Cruz and 20 miles from Monterey, so you're close enough to the tourist stuff, but you don't pay tourist resort prices. The staff is very friendly, and the sites are reasonably sized and grassy, although a bit narrow, and do not have picnic tables. There's fruit and vegetable markets close by, so you can enjoy the local produce, as well as the central coast weather. Since it's a little inland, the marine layer fog burns off more quickly than it does right on the coast, so the weather is very nice. We'll definitely plan on staying here again if we return to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
This campground is only 3 miles from our house, but we like coming here for a weekend getaway. The grounds are kept up and there is ample room between rigs. The little league plays here and we watched a couple of games while we were here, which was fun. My in-laws come and spend a couple of months here during the winter, which is very convenient. It's nice to walk by the lake, and they have picnic tables and a playground by the lake, so it is very family friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Great find for families with young children. They will like the kids play area, the lake, the boating, the grass where the recreational vehicles park, and the surrounding park where the recreational vehicle park is located. This park is close to Cannery Row, Carmel, and State Beaches. Also, it is economically priced so you can camp here often. Restrooms are in typical, city run condition. Hence the 8/10 review. Fault belongs to city, not the RV park. Did not find "questionable" characters on our visit during Memorial Day weekend but rather families wanting to enjoy time with family which gave the place a nice vibe. Will be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Great little find. You park on grass. Good wifi (fast), cable tv, and quiet after they close the park for the night at 8 pm. Little league baseball played on the adjacent ball field but is over by 7-8 pm. Ducks and geese down by the lake really like you if you have some bread for them. Since the parking lot and park is open to the public, we did see a few sketchy people around but no one bothered us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Pleasant RV park in the midst of a community park with a lake. Day use activities include lake boating and fishing, playground, picnic areas and ball fields, but none of this caused any bothersome noise. In the evening, the day use area is closed and a gate to the park is locked, leaving the whole park to RVers. A key to the gate is available to campers. Campsites have nice green grass and are narrow but long enough that we left our trailer hooked up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Given that it is a community park setting, it was surprisingly quiet. The staff were very helpful. The grassy sites are large all are within a short walk from the lake. It is a couple of miles off of hwy 1 and an easy drive north to Santa Cruz or south to the Monterrey peninsula. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Quiet park nicely situated at a lake. Mens restrooms was without doors. No showers. Friendly owner who is into nature. We would go here more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Good little quiet park. Good location, close to Monterey and Santa Cruz. Good electric, water, cable, strong Wi-Fi. Couple downsides are: the park gets really busy on the weekends, and the sewer connection is higher than the RV outlet (we were parked on a hill). Other than that, nice park, fishing on site, closes at sundown so it's really quiet at night. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
If you are looking for a reasonably priced RV park in this area, this is the only place. Don't expect any glitz here, but they do run a tight ship! They go out of there way to try to accommodate all guests and to make sure everyone is held to the same rules. It is a good base for exploring the coast from Santa Cruz to Monterey without the high prices of all the other parks around there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
We stayed four nights at this campground while visiting family. We enjoyed the quiet nights and convenience to shopping as well as attractions in the Monterey bay area. We needed some work done on our tow vehicle and got an excellent reference from the manager of the park. We plan to always stay here when we return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Great park! Rate shown is nightly rate with a dog, but stay 7 nights and the 7th night is free. We chose this park because of its price compared to other parks in the area, and it's proximity to Santa Cruz (20 minutes) and Monterey (30 minutes). What a pleasant surprise when we arrived! Staff is helpful and very friendly. Park is well maintained and very peaceful, even during the day on weekends. At night we felt safe and secure as they lock the gates at dusk and provide you with a key for after-hours access. Very family friendly park with playgrounds, picnic areas, a ball field and volleyball. The small lake offers fishing, boating and seasonal rentals. All sites are grass. They are pretty level and we had plenty of room as the park was less than half full, but they might be a bit close together if the park is full. There are LOTS of water fowl so be sure to remove/wash your shoes before entering your rig! Expanded cable TV and excellent Wi-Fi included in nightly rate. Any necessary shopping is just minutes away. This is an excellent base camp for exploring the region at VERY reasonable rates for this area. Just what we were looking for. With so much to see and do in the area this makes an excellent base camp at very reasonable rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
Pinto Lake has great wi-fi. I take a 12' jon boat with electric trolling motor. The lake is big and the wild life is interesting. The site was small, but came with cable, sewer, water, and 30amp electric. You get a key from the manager to get in and out after park hours. I will definitely camp here more often thanks to the lake and wi-fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
This small, quiet park is a gem. Great Wi-Fi, friendly staff, catch and release fishing. Sites are a bit tight, but level and lots of grass. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to shopping, Santa Cruz and Monterey. Rate reflects extra charge for dog. A bargain for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This park has 28 RV sites and each one is on grass. There is a playground for the kids and a lake for fishing and canoeing. The lady host was very friendly and helpful. The park is dog friendly and very quiet. It is a half hour from Monterey and Santa Cruz. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
My wife and I stayed at Pinto Lack for four days, October 28th to November 2nd 2011. We had a great time as it was very clean, quiet and a peaceful place to stay. The people that greeted us were very nice and helpful. The water in lake smelled a little but all the water fowl made up for that. Locking the gate at night I thought was good security for all campers. Thank you Pinto Lake for your hospitality we felt very welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
The park is surprisingly quiet given that it is in the midst of a day use park with boating, fishing, baseball, volleyball and picnicking. The park gate is locked at sundown so only campers are in the park after dark. They provide a gate key so campers can come and go before/after hours. Alcohol and smoking are prohibited in the park which was fine for us but it may be unusual for those accustomed to having a beer and smoking a cigarette outside. The sites are very close together (can’t have awning out if there is a rig next to you) but if the park isn’t full, they suggest leaving an empty site in between rigs. It was nice having full hookups with a good cable TV signal. One suggestion to the city is to make the RV road a loop (by the boat dock) so that large rigs don’t have to do so much maneuvering to get in and out of the RV street. Watsonville was a good base camp for us to explore Santa Cruz and Monterey area. The area has lots of fruit and vegetable farms. It was nice buying vine-ripened produce at a good price from the local produce stands. Staff was very helpful with pointing out things to do in the area. All in all a nice park to stay at and we will return when we’re in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is a delightful lakeside park with free wi-fi, friendly staff, and access to the Santa Cruz-Capitola area. One of the quietest parks we have stayed at in our 8 years of motorhome travel around the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Rate posted is the weekly rate. Great location for exploring the the central Ca.coast. We easily went from north of Santa Cruz one day to Big Sur on another day. The coastline is beautiful. I would probably have given Pinto lake a very high rating if it wasn't for the bathrooms. They leave a lot to be desired. But it's the city that's responsible for the cleanliness of the bathrooms not the park. As mentioned by others it's a very quiet place to stay within Watsonville, but close to everything you'd need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
We enjoyed our stay at Pinto Lake. It is quiet at night and secured with a locked gate. Dogs not allowed to run loose. Lake close by, close to all conveniences and other towns. Host was very nice and helpful with anything we needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We stay at this campground several times a year. The location and price is unbeatable. The grassy sites are a welcome change. The staff is professional and friendly. The campground is located in a city park visited by local residents during the day. We enjoy watching them fish, picnic and play little league baseball. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We learned of this park because we were attending a birding festival in Watsonville. We found that it was ideally situated for us to travel easily up and down the coast. The manager was most helpful, both with helping us learn our way around, to helping us find birds, the best vegetable markets, etc. They were extremely responsive in answering emails and questions. It's a small park near a lake and close to shopping. Even though it's a city park with ball games and fishermen coming and going, it was very, very quiet. Gate is locked and 7 PM until 7 AM. The sites are grass, all back-ins, level and fairly large. The hookups worked fine. We had to go into town to do laundry, but that was fine too. We stayed here for 8 nights and would most definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We have not stayed at this park for a few years but are glad we came back. We stayed for three days, visiting the Monterey Coast area, and a great Mexican restaurant called Cilantro’s, in Watsonville. We enjoy the grassy sites instead of pavement that so many parks have. We were allowed to choose our site according to openings. When the park isn’t full the host tries to leave openings between RV’s. The host was very helpful along with her assistant. The lake provides fishing and boating, with a playground nearby. There are ducks to feed, they stayed right at the water's edge. There were joggers and walkers in sight each day. It is pretty quiet during the week, with a few children’s ball games in the adjoining park. Weekend would be busier with more locals. There is a gate (key given upon registration) that is locked at 7 P.M. when the non-campers’ exit, leaving the RV section secured and private. Internet is available, cable with 80 channel choices, full hookups, no campfires, (appears to be a trend in many more private parks now) and no showers, although we didn’t need them as we use our own rig for that. The rules seem to be few but one regarding dogs was fine with us, nothing worse than listening to a barking dog locked up in an RV. Another reviewer stated they were given a chart where to put chairs, perhaps they were being funny, we certainly never saw that. In finishing, the park is green, inexpensive, comfortable and we had a nice stay and will definitely be back again for a great restful stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Very nice , laundry available, cute & cozy in between a park and a beautiful little lake with excellent fishing judging by the pictures in the office. In " the country " but less than a mile from a major grocery store and other amenities. Highly recommended, We'll be back next year when I visit Orion Telescopes again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Neat and quiet park right at the shore of Pinto Lake with friendly staff and neighbors. We completely enjoyed our stay here. No fixed check-out time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We selected this park as a result of its proximity to the golf course and stayed here a time or two before to practice for the world championships without incident. If you are looking for an RV park where a requirement is dead silence and to stay in your closed RV, this is your place. Otherwise I'd go somewhere else. One female host was very accommodating but the older, short haired white female host rules with an iron fist and ruined our stay. While practicing putting in front of the RV at approximately 8 pm, she came up to us and asked for us to stop. I asked if the quiet time was 8 pm and she said "No, but for this it is" and made a new rule. She seemed proud of the fact that she made the 70 year old gentleman near us stop putting as well. The next day at 9 pm we were asked to shut our RV door because she could hear our voices on the dock. We were not loud and having normal conversation. At the end of the stay, she tried to get extra $ out of us by accusing us of having extra people and vehicles, which we did not. All this plus the lack of showers will have me going elsewhere and reporting this host to the city of Watsonville. She even had the nerve to give me a flyer to recommend the park to other users after grilling me about the additional fees! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
No swimming in lake. Do not eat fish caught in lake. Dogs may not be left unattended at any time, either inside RV or on leash outside RV. Extremely quiet, well-maintained park. We plan to return here soon for a quiet night or two away from home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a very clean and quiet campground. The spaces are a little narrow, but very long for extra vehicles. The weather here is almost always very mild and pleasant. The manager is a nice lady who takes the time to greet her guests and offer any information she can. We love this campground and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Pinto Lave RV Park was very gorgeous with a friendly and attentive staff! I had an excellent time and went with the hopes of some R&R. Everything was wonderful except I had an unpleasant experience with a guest that seemed to be living at the RV park. He was a bit of an odd-ball and bragged that he ran a radio station from his trailer. He gave me the creeps and I spent most of my time inside my camper to avoid contact (he was always outside talking to visiting couples). I would visit the park again but in hopes that the strange man moved on to another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Great park - comfortable sites, easy hook-up with large Motorhome. Super staff - very friendly and anxious to assure a good stay for each guest. Quiet and very pleasant. Good base to explore Santa Cruz and the Monterey Bay. Definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We picked Pinto Lake as it was the first trip out in our new (to us) MH and close to our home city. I was pleasantly surprised. The Staff were friendly and very helpful. The site was clean and quiet. I will definitely be going back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
We come here at least three times a year in our 38 foot motorhome with tow. It is the best value in the area. We like the fact that the park is locked up after dark. Hook ups on lawn are rare nationwide, this is a very nice feature. The management is very professional and friendly. The local daytime flavor is refreshing. We will keep coming back as long as we own our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
Odd park located within a county park. The park itself is inundated with families during the day. It closes at 7 or so, and just the RV'ers are left. Bathrooms are fair but has no showers. There is no swimming in the lake even for dogs, but it is fun to kayak. The have boats on site to rent. The lake goes way back, much more than you can see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
This campground was a nice surprise. It is very quiet, small, and has very friendly staff. When we were here we were able to occupy two sites because it wasn't busy, so there was lots of room between sites. You are parked on grass and sites are pretty level. The lake is right by the campground and it has nice picnic area, paddle boats and lots of birds to watch. You can even try your hand at fishing. If we hadn't had commitments further south we would have like to stay here longer. Signage to the park could be better - our GPS wasn't accurate. Park staff are doing what they can to make improvements. Wi-Fi is not the fastest, but it worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
Nice, clean city park. Security gate closed at night (you get a key). Host very pleasant, very helpful. Nice setting, close to public lake. Convenient to Santa Cruz, Monterey. Only complaints we had concerned our two dogs (golden retrievers): (1) park had a strict rule about not leaving dogs in RV if you left the park, so we had to take them grocery shopping and everywhere else, and (2) park had a metal trap set in what looked like a gopher hole in the park grounds; we were fortunate that neither of our dogs stuck his nose or paw in the trap. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We were pleasantly surprised by this little park near Santa Cruz. We camped during October, so it wasn't super busy. The sites have grass, which was a nice change from gravel at so many other parks. It's not a "resort", and is pretty low "frills" but we didn't need that. We needed safe, quiet, and relaxing. It's just a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Santa Cruz. We were able to park at a site that had a direct view of the playground, which was great because our 6 year old could run and play with the kids while we watched from the RV. The management is so friendly and very involved in the park. It's quiet even though it's right off a main road. The gate is locked at night (you get a key), which cuts down on drive throughs in the night. My favorite thing about this park is the water. The lake is beautiful and you have the option to rent boats or fish. The sunsets and sunrise were gorgeous! The price is so much more affordable than other area parks. We will definitely be staying here again and will spread the word to our friends! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We like coming here because it's quiet, close to home and inexpensive. The park must have rules, if it doesn't it will get run over and won't be worth going to. We will keep going back, we really like this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
I will start by saying I would stay here again as not to confuse my comments in any way suggesting I don’t like this park, but I want to be clear on what to expect from this place. It's a good family park and its location makes it an ideal basecamp for visiting Monterey and Santa Cruz and avoiding crowded, over priced RV parks. You will hear sirens during the day from the nearby hospital as well as small aircraft from the nearby airport. There are lots of ducks and geese in the camping area. There is a playground that is frequented by the locals; they must walk through the camping area to get to it. A rooster from a neighboring home will wake you up bright and early. The gate referenced on the website is not a gate, it’s a chain with a padlock on it. There is one at the entry to the park that gets locked off when the park closes, there is another to the camping area that is always locked (so your getting out of your vehicle to unlock it and lock it back up, if your parking in the camping area). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Pinto Lake Park is a quiet, reasonably priced place to park. Management were very accommodating, though sticklers for rules which included quietude at night and enforcement of space boundaries. The Lake (reservoir)is gorgeous with inexpensive peddle boat rentals. Many waterfowl made use of the water and surrounding shoreline. The setting is rural with orchards and farms nearby. For myself, who chooses bus rather than scoot around in my motorhome, an excellent Santa Cruz Metro service bus stop adjoins the park. I'll stay again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We are Full timers. Have never been to a park with such strict rules. Managers very flakey. If you are a smoker do not come here. You cannot smoke outside of your rig. You cannot drink any alcohol outside your coach. Manager inspects each site for violations. So far we have seen him call the cops on someone once in two days. They admonished our neighbor because his awning was to close to his neighbor. We have never seen anything like this. It is certain we will never return here but will be sending a letter to the City of Watsonville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Insane. That pretty much sums up our experience at this RV Park that is run by a couple that have clearly chosen the wrong profession. Why do we all camp, be it tent or RV? To relax, visit with friends/family, meet interesting folks from across the country, and to simply unwind. This park will appeal to you if you enjoy being read your rights at the front office while being video taped so the owners can prove that you received the warnings. Air Space must not be violated. No adult beverages: sorry Nana, you can not have your evening glass of wine by the campfire. Wait, did I say campfire? Nope, none of those. First red flag was a nearly empty park on a Friday afternoon. Upon speaking to our neighbors (the only other 2 campers) we learned that the managers will knock on your door and tell you you have to move your motor home, keep quiet, etc., because the neighbors are complaining. Don't ask who's complaining because of course they can't divulge that information. Then go to the next camper and repeat. Knock and repeat was their game. This had everyone looking over their shoulder thinking the camper across the way was complaining about them. It was only after we all got together that we realized it was all false. There are also rules on how to arrange your lawn furniture. Don't worry, there's a diagram they'll give you at check-in in case you forget. If you challenge them with logic, you're in deep doo doo. They have the local police on speed dial and call frequently. Do not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
We had a grass back in site near the playground. Cable TV pictures were blurry and we were forced to rely on antenna. There is a washroom in the day use section, but no showers in the park at all. Everyone has to pay a $5 key deposit even if you aren't leaving the park. In the morning I was left looking for the assistant manager to get a refund. The lake itself is a water supply reservoir, so no swimming. We spotted white pelicans near the shoreline. If you intend to use the park keep a close watch out for the park sign. From either direction there is only a small sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2003
$25
I'm rating this a five because the sites are way to close now. The first time we visited, there was only a couple other rigs, but now it's very busy and your crammed into each space. We didn't have room to extend our awning. It's a very pleasent, green park and the lake is close to the sites. Since it's owned by the city, they close the gates at night pretty early. They issue a key for the gate for a refundable fee of $5.00. The manager is very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com