224102 User submitted reviews online!!
Spanish Main RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (813) 986-2415
CGID3512

Spanish Main RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
275
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   3   8   7   4   7   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
The Spanish Main Rv Resort staff Leslie and Susan are fabulous and Facilities are wonderful. I would stay here again even if we didn't get the Military 50 percent off of the $33.00 a night which is already a good rate. A true home away from home! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$17
Price was actually $16.50 a night at Passport America rate. Nice, older park. Mostly full-timers and many manufactured homes. Roads can be a bit tight as well as some sites. We were treated very nice by both the staff and residents. Wi-Fi available in the clubhouse / office. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This campground is close to Busch Gardens. I thought that our site was quiet and large enough to accommodate a big rig. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Initially, we were given a pull-through next to 4 dumpsters but we were easily relocated at our request. Overall, the campground is older. Facilities were clean but worn down and some in need of repair. Most of the sites seemed to be permanents with many snow birds occupying them. All our neighbors were friendly, even with our noisy kids. Despite my complaints I would definitely stay here again. I loved the Spanish moss and the trees. Plenty of room for my kids to safely ride bikes and play. A couple of scenic ponds. We will return when we come back to Busch Gardens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
Rate based on a weekly half off special. This was no bargain for comfort. Road noise and overall park noise. Mostly permanent sites with an entire 'neighborhood' out back. Almost all units unkempt. My site had no pad, but was level and right next to a major state route. Slept with earplugs. Roads have speed bumps. Staff was very pleasant. I would not stay here again and left early. Scenery was beautiful with spanish moss draping very stately trees, but that's about all this park has going for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
Older park, therefore sites were tight and roads were very narrow. Large RVs be aware. Cable available for long term only. Most sites were shaded, and some sites were very shaded, so getting satellite was tricky. Did not visit pool, restrooms or showers. Park employees and residents were very nice! Price reflects PA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
We stayed here for two months. The daily rate is reflective of a $299/mo special rate. The park is well maintained, bathrooms, showers and laundry are very clean and cleaned daily. It is a mixture of permanents in RVs, park models and manufactured homes and seasonals. Sites are basically sand, some with concrete patios and picnic tables. There are lots of trees, roads are narrow so big rigs will find it hard to maneuver but they did have an area of pull throughs that accommodated some of the bigger rigs. It is listed as a resort but I wouldn't call it that. It is a nice RV park but doesn't have the amenities of a resort. They have a Rec.Hall but not many activities are scheduled. They have bingo and cards with crafts one day a week. They had horseshoes and shuffleboard teams. They had no potlucks or shows while we were there. They did have a park wide garage sale and an ice cream social. The calendar looked more full with activities for March however. Cable TV is available through the local cable company with monthly rental. The park is very close to Tampa and so many great things to do. Even though the park isn't the newest or doesn't offer the activities of other parks we would still return to stay because of the reasonable cost and area activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
After staying at another Carefree Resort, we were very disappointed by this park. Calling it a resort is a bit of a stretch. We had made a reservation, and I stated that we have a 39’ 5th wheel. At check-in we were assigned to a site that was too small for our rig, and the road split around a couple trees that prevented us from even attempting to maneuver into the site. When I went to request another site, the desk staff acted like I had not let them know the size of our rig, and I could see the list of arrivals on the desk with our rig size on it. When we made the reservation, a credit card was required to hold a site. At check-in we were not credited for the deposit which required a phone call to get a refund. Overall the office doesn’t seem to know what size sites are available or what size they are. If we had stayed at this Carefree resort first, we would not have stayed at another. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Good, if older, park just east of Tampa. Tight, but doable roads. We've stayed here twice now and it has been good both times. Great and helpful staff and friendly permanents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
Our rate is reflective of a Passport America discount. The staff was friendly and the park relatively clean. However, we will not stay here again. We were given poor directions to our site and had to drive around the park to get a good angle on our pull thru site. During that process, we scraped the side of our roof against a tree that hung our over the drive. We will need to replace our gutter and patch the roof. Our site was barely big enough for our 34' trailer and truck. We were situated on a corner that everyone seemed to cut. Thankfully we had the foresight to remove the bikes and bike rack from the back of the trailer otherwise someone probably would have hit them. The roads are tight and trees are close. I would not recommend this park to anyone in a rig of any size. Our site was only sand without any gravel. This park is mostly older mobile homes and not much of a RV park for travelers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
We stayed here for 2 nights to be convenient to the RV Super show in Tampa, only 8 miles away down highway 301 that the park bordered. Cable TV is listed, but hookups were taken out and were not available as listed. Office personel, who were both very friendly and helpful, told us you could use cable TV and WIFI in the office, but I got a strong signal at our site for the WIFI and our digital antenna picked up 50 channels, so no problem there. Water, electric, and sewer hookups all conveniently located together. The pool was down due to heater burned up by the record cold, but at 50 degrees for a high during the day, we would not use anyway! Beautiful large water oaks drooping with Spanish moss made the park look very old style Florida and had a charm all to itself for the area. Our site was dirt with some grass and had a small and beat up concrete pad but usable. The best thing was the very large pull through with plenty of room for slides and "toad". The park is 90% full-timers and "snowbirds". Mostly older park models and mobile homes of which were pretty crammed in and showing their age. The only thing we had a real problem with were the streets. They are 2 way, but really too narrow for even a one way, and we had problems pulling through following our site guide, as many of the residents had vehicles that stuck out into the already too small roadway. The large pull through sites are obviously available for overnight. Though we were close to 3 highways, and the park is very large, we enjoyed 2 quiet nights. For the convenience, the quiet, and the cheap price, we will return for next year's show, but I would not call this a "resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
Lots of long timers in this campground. That didn't really affect the quality of the campground though. The showers could use a little work but were clean enough. Wi-fi is free available in the recreation room along with a TV. Watch out for the old french people playing domino's. The sites are soft and surrounded by lots of big trees. The campground is very close to Busch Gardens. If we going back to the Tampa area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Spanish Main is an older park that is under new management. When we first got there, there was a mix up with the site we requested. We asked for a site where we could get satellite reception but the site they had us on would not work. The park manager was very helpful and worked it out so we got what we needed. Satellite reception is important to me, my wife rolls her eyes. Oh well. The park is mostly permanent sites. RV’s of different sizes, park models and mobile homes. The streets are gravel. Some of the 2 way streets are narrow. A lot of trees through out the park with drooping moss. There is a lot to do here during the winter season. The park is full then. Very nice heated pool. (They are refurbishing the pool this year- 2009) They have horseshoe leagues, shuffle board leagues and a league for a Canadian game that looks like bocce ball. There is a card room at the office with a TV. There is a club house that has bingo twice a week. There are a lot of member generated games and activities. There is something to do every night if you want. If you spend a dollar to join their Spanish Mariners Club, you are entitled to a free dinner each month. Close to food shopping, malls, movies, restaurants and such. Busch Gardens is just 6 miles away. We spent this winter there and were very pleased. We have already reserved 2010. Very reasonable rates and a great staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Under new management that appears nice enough at first - fellow has a rather hot and quick temper - many, many trees which is nice until storm season, but shade is good - can get LP, ponds have dried up in summer heat, but all in all not a bad park. Close to shopping. They want Class A coach owners to put white siding around coach and set up permanent sewer attachment...Silly to do that if you roll! Pet policy changed to only 2 pets, I have two tiny dogs and a small cat (all inside pets) will not get rid of one, period. They don't push the point yet. Yet, no one seems to worry about all the feral cats roaming about. Are all parks like this? Owned by others, managed by irritable people? Amazing journey for a full-timer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
We LOVE this place..So much that we bought one of the mobile homes that were for sale in the park. Now we can go there whenever we want! Loved the shade and the lush greenery. LOVED THE POOL! Pretty ponds with lighted fountains. Friendly community! Close to shopping...take a left out of the park for nearby City Shopping...or a right for down-the-road Small Town shopping. I hope to eventually move here full time!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
One word of caution: BEWARE OF CROCODILE IN POND. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2005
$15
This has to be one of the worst parks I have stayed in during 35 years of camping. The campground is heavily wooded with a lot of low hanging branches. The first site we were assigned to was on a narrow road that I first thought was a bike path. We finally squeezed into the site only to find we couldn't extend the slideouts. The next site assigned to us was better. The patio appeared to be the slab from an old mobile home. We returned to the campground on our second day only to find the sewer system had backed up onto our site and raw sewage was everywhere. The employees threw a little lime on the campsite and said that will fix the problem and we said no way and requested another campsite. The third site assigned to us actually had a concrete pad. We had an appointment at Lazy Days to have our motor home serviced and told the manager we would be gone for the day and would leave a note on the picnic table plus we left our water hookup in place. Upon returning later in the day we found a motor home on our campsite. We went to the manager and she said we would have to look for another site with no explanation for her actions. There were no open acceptable sites( it had rained during the day and much of the campground was flooded) so we went to the manager and asked for a refund. She said they have a policy of no refunds. All in all it was a horrible experience. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2003
$12
This park has a lot of big shade trees. The grounds were very dirty. We didn't sit outside at all. It seemed like we were always tracking dirt inside. It is close to Tampa, but I think we would look for another park if we were in the area again. We used Passport America. They did have a heated pool, and a small pond that had an alligator in it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com