220689 User submitted reviews online!!
White Acres Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (502) 348-9677
CGID3514

White Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   6   8   9   4   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Plain Jane! Internet was very patchy... kept getting kicked off. Picnic tables were child-size. Sites were big, but no fires allowed except on the gravel drives. Very underwhelmed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
As other reviewers have stated, this campground is not fancy but it serves its purpose well. If you are looking to see the sights, travel to Churchill Downs, do the Bourbon Trail, this is the place to be. If you are traveling with kids and want lots of amenities, don't stop here. We thought the location was great and the campground was what we were looking for. We visited several other campgrounds in the area, and this one was definitely the best. We would stay here again. As an aside, the town of Bardstown was a totally unexpected treat! There are lots of fun shops, great restaurants, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Of the two campgrounds in the Bardstown area this one is the better of the two. As the other reviews have said the roads are rough and many of the sites are narrow and unlevel. However the 2.5 miles outside of town and the distance of the sites from the road help make it better. Plus all of the sites have 50 amp service, sewer and good to high water pressure. Campfires are allowed only on the gravel areas, there are no fire rings. Bring your own firewood, the campground does not have wood for sale! We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Great little no frills park for exploring Bardstown and the Ky Bourbon Trail. Clean and friendly. Gravel and grass. Wi-Fi available at shelter. All pull-throughs with 50/30/20 at all sites. No extras for kiddos. Nice rally park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We stayed here for 1 night on our way to the East Coast and came back on our way home and ended up staying 3 nites to explore the Bourbon Trail. Great base for this part of Kentucky. Owners are friendly and helpful, campground is quiet and a hidden jewel. Would definitely come back here. Great spot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Sites are rock based and many were unlevel. Interior road was being reworked and had large rock and not evenly spread. Bathroom doors did not shut properly. Wi-Fi available if you drive up to the pavilion. Bathrooms/showers located an equivalent of a couple of blocks from campsites. We did not have a picnic table, although some sites did have. We could have requested one, but did not. Check-in did not go smoothly, although I had reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We camped in pull through site 17 which had gravel base, was spacious, and reasonably level. Water pressure seemed low at times and there was no cable TV or laundry room. Owner was very nice and helpful and has propane service. Overall it was a good experience and we would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Large sites and lots of grass. Very quiet and close to town. Friendly staff and escort to site. Wi-Fi not accessible sites, only office. No laundry. Needed to do some serious leveling. Still, would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We didn't stay here, but did check it out when in Bardstown. The week after the annual Blues Fest it was clean and no signs (other than 1 road sign)there had even been a festival in the park. It is on a hill, so there are some rough drives and sites due to rain run-off down the hill towards the RVP spaces. A couple permanent residents, but most sites were well-kept. There is room to maneuver a larger rig, but it's tight at the bottom of the hill. Is a small park located behind the owner's private home & barn off Hwy 62 west of Bardstown. Bardstown is a Civil War era town with LOTS of things to see and do such as horse drawn carriage rides, museums, 1700's Pioneer cemetery and ghost tours. LOTS of history in this town. I prefer this park to the My Old KY Home SP because the sites are longer for a fifth-wheel than the SP spaces. Not as scenic as the SP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Sites vary from spacious to cramped. Recently added sewers add value but also increased rate. We were staying here during a Blue Grass festival that was held on site. Extra fee for festival was not explained prior to arrival. Staff appeared disorganized. Rest rooms are dated, but clean. Good site if you are visiting the area but not a destination. Wi-Fi was only available near the office and not at the camp sites. Electrical panels are shared between two sites. Ours had a single 50 amp with a single 30 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Probably best CG in this area and convenient for touring the Bourbon area. Great amphitheater in town, restaurants, etc. Park was just average overall, good owners, etc. Good spacing between sites, level grades and all gravel park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We called ahead to verify vacancy, they only have 10 "FULL HOOK UP" sites, the first row. The next two rows are water/electric only. Some are shaded, some more level than others. 34 of the 75 sites are for tent camping. Quiet, convenient to town and the Bluegrass Parkway. Friendly operators who have owned the property for 28 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
This is an older park and does show its age. My advice would be to walk around the park first before selecting a site. Most of the sites are not level. Some sites are up hill while others are on a down hill. 20 sites have FHU and are located in the first section. The rest of the sites have water and electric. The pull-through sites are very long but the average width of the site is 9 feet (yes, I did measure it). The main road and sites are on gravel. All of the sites needed to be weeded to the point that sites are now covered with grass. All sites are side by side hookup. There is only 9 feet between each of these sites. It would be very crowded if the park was filled. All sites have 50 amp service. The bathroom/shower appeared to be clean but very, very dated. We choose not to use them. The web site advertises Wi-Fi is available but we did not see the signal. Verizon air-card worked well, however the cell phone was on extended network. This is a very quiet park and we would come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Stayed here one week and the men room was closed during our entire stay. The sites are hard to distinguish because they are overgrown with weeds and tall grass. Bardstown is a nice, central location but we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
A nice small and quite campground, stayed 1 night as a stop over. Wi-Fi did not work. Pick you own site, owner came around and collected cash or check only. Electric is 50 amp only. Need a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter, owner had them with him if you did not have one. He sold you the adapter! Would use again as a 1 night stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Great for big rig access. Very quiet. Close to area attractions. Not much to do for kids. I prefer to stay here when in the Bardstown area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This little park is the best place to visit if you like large, level gravel sites, quiet surroundings, and friendly people. I'd take this park over all the 5* resorts that we have visited. Our 42' motorhome was right at home. No kids activities. The state golf course is beautiful and the bourbon tours are interesting. No Wi-Fi, but the Sat. works great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
We stayed here for two nights. White Acres is conveniently located near the historic city center of Bardstown. The owners of this campground live on the property. It is a bare-bones facility used almost exclusively by transients. Approximately 25% of the sites have sewer hook-ups, the rest are just water/electric. All of the sites are on a large mowed field. Only a couple of them have gravel or hard surfaces on which to park an RV. We arrived just after some rain, making the field somewhat muddy and irregular due to puddles and tire tracks. Both our first assigned site, and the second one to which we insisted on moving, were sloped, making it very challenging to level our coach. Once that chore was accomplished, we discovered that the 50 amp electric service provided by the campground at site no. 6 was improperly grounded. The owners insisted that all sites were grounded correctly, but my circuit tester showed an “open ground” (although several vacant sites which I tested showed their electrical connections to be fine). There is free Wi-Fi at this park, but after trying unsuccessfully to connect to it using two different laptops, we gave up and used our own wireless internet card. The bathrooms are old and cramped, and both the showers and toilet stalls have curtains instead of doors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is a very nice, no frills campground. It is in the countryside, but only about 3 miles from Bardstown. No pool or playground - just a nice place to park your RV while seeing local attractions. A few nice trees, lots of grass. Sites are level, side by side, with a large front yard. All hookups are 50 amp with good voltage, and strong water pressure. Very big rig friendly, and most sites are satellite friendly. Free Wifi at your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
This was the most quiet campground where we have ever camped! It was rather like camping in a farmer's field, but it was clean and well taken care of. The gentleman owner was friendly, and we were very comfortable. There wasn't much here for children, but then it was the off season while we were here, and there were children here who seemed very happy playing volleyball, etc. We were initially only going to stay one night, and ended up staying three. There are many things to do in the area, and a lovely town nearby. Showers were a little dated, but clean with hot water, so that's ok with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Restroom facilities are marginal. Clean enough but cramped with no shelves and only a single hook for toiletries while showering. Connections are for 50 amps only but operator loans out adapters for 30 amp plugs so this is not a minus. Setting is a grassy field but surrounded on three sides by mature trees and set back from the road so as to be quite nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
The owner is very friendly. The campground is wide open. We were there in off season, but they have many activities in season. No fires allowed. Not many trees in campground itself. Stay at least two days to visit all the activities in Bardstown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2003
$15
We didn't have a very desirable site. Just one big field. I had a reservation two months in advance and when we arrived they said they didn't have any more sites for Passport America people. I reminded them that I had called for a reservation two months earlier. Then when I said we would find another RV park, they all of a sudden came up with a spot for us! I felt that they thought if they said they couldn't accept another Passport America that I would pay full price. I've noticed that they now only accept Passport America for one night. We were there for five nights to attend "The Great North American RV Rally. " We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com