214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Austin's Landing RV Park & Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (979) 239-1923
CGID3521

Austin's Landing RV Park & Resort

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
March 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   1   2   2   7   7   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
This campground has some pretty rough edges but it's just a short block from the beach (we can see the water from our RV) and two blocks from a great fishing jetty. The woman who runs the place is very friendly and full of information. There are a number of older units in the park and some seem to be occupied by single males working in the area. When we first asked, she said the rate was $25 but when we hesitated, she quickly offered it for $20. But we could only stay one night because they were fully booked for the weekend. Like I said, it has some rough edges but it has location, location, location. We'll come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
The owners were very friendly and helpful. We did not have a different vehicle so they helped by assisting us in our travels and getting to church on Sundays. We enjoyed the Jetty and walking on the beach. The owners told us a lot about the area and Surfside. Clute and Lake Jackson are not far away and they have all you may want such as: Mall, eateries, and Wal-Mart. The park is in a residential area and very quiet in the winter months. The only reason we are leaving is because of our missionary work. Definitely look forward to returning next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
Owners were very friendly and helpful. Nice spot, convenient to the beach and fishing jetty. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Water hookups are available, but the water is brackish and not drinkable. Host told us potable water was available in town for free, but that is not correct, drinking water must be bought. Free drinking water is only available for Surfside residents. We called ahead and asked the lady who owns the campground if the campground was quiet. The host told us it was, but she "forgot" to tell us that there were two huge St Patrick's Day parties within feet of the campground and a party booked in the campground the night we were there. We got very little sleep after looking for a quiet restful place for a weekend away from work. We felt this was a misrepresentation. Her husband later told my husband that we "probably never had fun in any campground". Our definition of fun is not his business and he was very rude and very insulting. We were very specific in what we were looking for. If that wasn't what they could offer, they shouldn't have promised it. There is one restroom with one toilet, one sink and one shower for both sexes - it was bare bones to say the least. No AC. A space heater I would be afraid to turn on. A shower that was very dirty and unpleasant - a pull cord light switch I could barely reach. On the plus side, there were soap and paper towels in the restroom and it didn't smell bad. The office is clean, bright and welcoming. There is a kitchen, but I didn't use it. There is sort of a party room near the office/kitchen that has been turned into a storage room. Sites are very, very small - all back-in. We had to move the picnic table onto the next site in order to freely move in/out of our camper. The location is good - near the beach and the pass. The lady who is the owner is very nice. I have done a lot of camping, and most places have their good points. However, I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Bathrooms were dark, slippery, and dirty. Pull a string - that I could barely reach - to turn on light in the shower. The owner spent as little money as possible to keep the place up. This is understandable because of hurricane damage, but not pleasant to live with. We had 3 days of rain and became stuck and had to call a wrecker to pull us out. However it is 2 blocks from the beach and the shipping canal which was very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$21
We got to the campground and it was flooded. This was after 2 phone calls to make sure that it was okay. The sites are tiny and cramped. The park is dirty. The long term guests (most of the park) have furniture and stuff all over the place. The only good thing was the location - 1 block to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We really liked this campground however I didn't rate it a "10" because it isn't pristine. You are one block from the ocean, a few blocks from the Jetty and near weekender homes. If you like to watch ships come and go this is a good spot. The sites have some grass and sand. They are fairly close to other RV's with about 75% full timers. There is one washer/dryer, and friendly management. The recent rains should help green up the landscape. Don't forget the Off bug spray. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Austin's Landing RV Park was a nice find at short notice. We called on Friday afternoon and stayed there that same night (and the next night too). The park is one block from the beach and is located in a residential area (away from the highway). There are no concrete slabs and limited amenities. The owners were extremely nice, and the bathrooms were clean. If your main interest is a relaxing time in the sand, water, and sun, and you want a rural RV park that is just a hop, skip, and jump from a nice pedestrian beach, this would an ideal stop for you. We will definitely be back this summer. Stay away from Kitty's Purple Cow and go to the Castaway Grill instead. There is a ship channel really close by, so you can see these huge ships sailing past from your camper -- that was awesome! And there are a couple of great fishing jetties within walking distance and many people were catching lots of fish. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$10
The rate was half price Passport America. We stayed one day. Nice location, but park is a little runned down. Water was stated to taste bad so we didn't use it. One bathroom and shower. The nice thing is it is only a 5 minute walk to beautiful beach. If you come from the East, be aware that the toll bridge has a 10 foot width limit and has curbs that are exactly 10 feet. I left 3 lug nut covers there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2005
$20
Stay Away. Office smells like dog grooming parlor. Grungy laundry on honor system - leave dollar in cup. Nearest supermarket is 7 miles and 20 miles to Wal-mart. Mostly long term fifth wheels with low class residents and I'm no snob. Beach is short walk-clean, beautiful, fishing jetty but not enough to get me here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com