219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Weldon Springs State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (217) 935-2644
CGID3526

Weldon Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
May 2009
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   5   2   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a beautiful park. Some of the sites have great views of the lake. Lots of trees, and the sites are pretty spacious. Most were fairly level. Great trail that goes all the way around the lake. Don't miss the Veteran's Memorial area they have there--it is really nice. This is a nice, quiet campground and I would come back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
We stopped here as an overnight stay on our way home from Florida at the end of March. The only utility available at this time was electricity. The showers and bathrooms were not opened and we really didn't find drinkable water. We used some cloudy water to rinse out our toilet. We stayed in a pull-through site, #6, I think, and it was level. Some of the other sites were seriously off level. The roads were paved and were relatively easy to navigate. But it helped that there were few other campers in the park. I saw two handicapped sites that were paved in concrete. The campground host was friendly. He recommended Ted's Garage on highway 54 on the west side of Clinton for food and I had a good Friday night fish fry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
The Top 20 Campgrounds in the U.S. must be a decimal error; it may be in the top 20,000? Paved interior roads, gravel sites, fairly level. Sites are fairly far apart, but not well separated. Table and nice, round concrete fire rings at each site. Most sites have 30 amp power, the few 50 amp sites are well marked in large numbers. Most sites first come, first served. Reservable sites are well marked. Inexpensive lakeside restaurant w/ good food 1/4 mile by easy trail from campground. Campground host friendly and helpful. Could be unpleasant if crowded; there are 5 rigs here the first Monday in June. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
We had heard this was supposed to be one of the top 20 campgrounds in the US by Family Circle magazine. I have to disagree. I agree with a previous review that I wouldn't even rate it in the top 20 for Illinois! This campground was very crowded. The sites were extremely close together, and many of the electric sites did not work. The hostess on duty wasn't very friendly and didn't seem to know which site anyone was on. I tried to tell her which number we were in, and she just kept saying someone else had the site. She did this to several other members of our camping party - we took up 5 sites in all. After 10 minutes of arguing, she finally believed us and let us sign in. Our kids enjoyed the campground and playground. They also liked hiking on the trail around the little lake. The only other complaint we had was the site next to ours had a small dog that barked ALL day and night. The owners also informed us that it bites. Who takes mean, barking dogs to a crowded family campground? Even though their site was across the road from the hostess, she never once came over to tell them to shut the dog up. We probably will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Quoting the IDNR brochure "Named by Family Circle magazine to be one of the 'Top Twenty Campgrounds in American'..." NOT EVEN CLOSE! Family Circle should stick to printing recipes and home decorations. Clearly, Family Circle knows nothing about campgrounds. The state of IL should be embarrassed not only for using that quote but also by the condition of this campground. Weldon Springs definitely is not one of the top 20 campgrounds in America but what we would rate as one of the 20 worst state owned campgrounds in IL. We've stayed at quite a few of IL's state parks. Weldon Springs is definitely the worst we've stayed at. The sites are very close together. Getting into and out of the sites was a chore unless a person had a small trailer like a pop up. Longer trailers, 5ers, Class A or C could manage but one needed to watch closely when driving or backing for trees, signs, and other close by campers. Our fire ring, which are not moveable, was so close to our camper and the neighbor's camper that to have a fire would have risked scorching both our campers. Had we located further away from our fire ring we would have been so close on the other side to the other neighbor's fire ring that we would have risked scorching on that side. Very few sites are level enough to avoid blocking up one side of the camper. In fact, we didn't see any campers that weren't required to be blocked on one side or the other. We were on one of the more level sites and still had to block one side 4+" just to get level side to side. There are 75 campsites. 1/3 of the sites electrical connections did not work. Although they were suppose to be all electric sites the host admitted due to lack of repairs 25 of the sites electrical connections did not work. We found 2 other sites not listed by the host which also did not work. Even if it were well maintained and cleaned there is no way this campground could or should ever be considered for such ratings by Family Circle or anyone else associated with camping. We drove thru the COE parks a few miles northeast of Weldon Springs on Clinton Lake. The COE sites were well maintained, all were level, some had full hookups, W/S/E, widely spaced, more rural, and overall nice appearance. We will never stay at Weldon Springs again. When in the area we will be staying at one of the COE parks at Clinton Lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
This campground has lots of trails. It also has a little restaurant on the lake and the food is great and decent priced. They have paddle boats and row boats you can rent. There is no pool but there is a beach nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$15
We really liked this little park. It is ideal if you like to shore fish. The lake is about 2 miles around and there is a nice trail for walking. (no bikes) There are many piers and benches for fishing. The concession stand, bait shop and boat rental area is accessible from both the road and the trail. The campground is a very short walk to the trail/lake. There was very little algae when we were here and the water was exceptionally clear. The sites in the middle section were fairly level. The outer sites, not so much so. They have a small loop that is pet-free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
This is a very nice state park. The pull through sites are not extremely wide, but can be reserved. The other sites are typical Illinois sites with adequate width. The dump station is not very convenient as it requires you to leave the campsite area to get to the dump site, and when you are done you have to pull through the campsite areas even if you are leaving. The campsite area roads can be a little tight for larger rigs. If you plan on checking in on a Sunday afternoon, be aware that there is usually no host on duty until Monday. The lake is a quiet little lake but was fairly green with algae. There are paddle boats available for rental when the concession stand is open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$15
This is a very quiet park if that's what your looking for. My wife and I stay here about 2-3 times a season. The sites are shady and they all have a firepit and picnic table. It's only a few miles out of Clinton which helps keep down the noise. (No highway sounds) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com