219027 User submitted reviews online!!
Hocking Hills KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (740) 385-4295
CGID3527

Hocking Hills KOA

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   7   10   8   1   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$75
We decided to splurge and rent the premium site. While this is not something I would do again due to cost, we truly enjoyed the site. The swing was a favorite and received lots of use. Also having patio furniture was a treat so that we did not have to get our lawn chairs out. The Weber gas grill was super clean. The campground is beautiful. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I even saw the staff stop to help a fellow camper with his sewer hose. Don't be worried about that bumpy steep incline going into the campground. Once at the top is there is plenty of room to maneuver around. We have a 42' Class A and got in and out with no problems. Close to Hocking Hills and several antique/flea markets. Due to the hills this is not a campground for older people to bicycle around. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Award winner for good reason! Excellent amenities & activities -- s'mores one night, ice cream sundaes the next. Karaoke at the pool one night and a movie the next. Great campground store. Super friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful and quiet campsites and well appointed cabins. Our second time here and we will certainly return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
Nice campground. Stayed here during Halloween season and lots of campers decorated for the holiday: lots of fun walking around and looking at the other sites. Very close to state parks and hiking. Will never understand who decided it would be a good place to put a campground in that location, however, they have done a very nice job of leveling out the sites. It was dark when we pulled in and set up and was very surprised how hilly the campground was once morning broke. Lots of activities for the kids. I would recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
Very nice place. Large campsites. Friendly staff. We stayed midweek, it was quiet but it seemed to fill up for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Staff was helpful, friendly and visible. Many activities: breakfast cereal buffet, crafts, Gem mine, movie night. Sites were a bit unlevel but the gravel pad to park camper was slightly level; sites were not tight as another review suggested. Full hook-up sites have "patio" which has large gravel so carpet is a necessity. Park was very clean, w/variety of sites: full-hook up, deluxe hook-up, cabins, lodges, tent/pop-up sites. Pool was nice, bathrooms clean, and the showers hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Pads are VERY NARROW. Pads consist of rocks, gravel, tree roots, and poison ivy with NO grass. Campground offers very little, and only has one bath house facility (long walk from our site #72). Porta Johns are available if your into that. Pool is very small, no pavement and very difficult for the little ones to ride bikes due to the steep gravel roads/goat paths. Extremely disappointing and we left early vowing never to return. We were told not to bring fire wood yet several other campers did. You can buy match stick fire wood at a premium price and it last only for a short while (don't blink). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
This is our 4th time staying at Hocking Hills KOA. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. Very clean campground. Bathrooms extremely clean. Will camp there again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$51
This KOA is the real deal! Family oriented atmosphere with required wristbands to limit unauthorized visitors, no alcohol, and Sunday morning church service. Camp sites are on large lots. My rating would be a 10 but the sites are hard to get level. Plenty of planned activities. Owners are friendly and seen often. Strong and consistent Wi-Fi signal. Our nightly rate included full hook-ups. Plenty to do in the area if you like hiking. We plan on returning soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Nice clean campground. Super nice owners very welcoming. Quite a hill when you pull in the driveway to the campground. Lots to do in the local area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
Very accommodating staff, and facilities were very well maintained. Nice landscaping, and benches that invited you to sit and enjoy the rolling view of the meadow. Lead us to our site, delivered firewood, the owner stopped by to talk to us, very pleasant. Would definitely recommend this campground to others and would NOT consider another campground for future Hocking Hill visits. They make "where to camp in Hocking Hills" a no brainer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
The only real problem with this campground is the hilly location and there is nothing to be done about that. Take note of the long hill leading into the campground. No problems with a level site though. Plenty of options for kids to keep busy. We love the hiking available in the area and the proximity of this campground. We will keep coming back. Bring your hiking boots and enjoy! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Wonderful park! We stayed here in April, before the water was turned on, so we got a 50% discount. We stayed on one of the Deluxe Sites that included a brick patio, porch swing, and a BBQ grill. We really enjoyed this park. The only downfall was the hilly, gravel roads made bike riding difficult. Other than that, we couldn't ask for more! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
This KOA was Very Clean! Park has nice private campsites overlooking woods. Bath house was very clean and had soft music playing all the time. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They deliver fire wood right to your site. Close to Old Mans Cave and other attractions. Close to everything! If you have kids they won't go without entertainment. They have Hayrides, Mining Through, and other fun activities planned for the little ones. All the sites were very well maintained and had plenty of gravel and terra cotta stone that looks very appealing. I will be returning! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$53
Other than the site pads needing a little extra blocking to get the trailer level this campground is very, very nice! The owners take great pride in their place. Beautifully maintained, wonderful staff and just an overall great place to camp! We stayed on one of their deluxe sites and was well worth the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This is a great campground. Camp host could not have been nicer. The site was large for a KOA. The red rock patio was great. The kids loved the pool and game room. Normally we don't use the game room but theirs is the best we have seen: it is in a big building with the big garage-like doors open to make you feel like you still part of the out doors. This was great after a day of hiking. The campground is nicely landscaped. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This is the second time we have come to this campground, and after this visit we will always use it when we make our yearly visit to the Hocking Hills area! This place is clean, quiet, fun and friendly. Some things to consider when visiting is that many sites are uneven and sloped, and it is difficult to get TV reception - BUT who needs TV when there is so much to see in Hocking Hills. We were on site 2 which was nice; it was set away from most of the camp (nice and quiet). I would also try #15 - 20 on another stay. The staff is fantastic! For Geocachers, they have a 7 point Geocache throughout the campground! My kids loved the pool, gem mine and other activities. This has become one of my favorite campgrounds! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
One of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. We were at a deluxe site (#9) which included a very nice patio, patio furniture, swing, and what appeared to be a new Weber gas grill. We were there for 4 nights with our son and two labs. Looked like there were plenty of nice sites, although it was certainly a bonus to be so close to the bathhouse and pool, etc. Beautiful view. Owners and staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Very nice pool, tether ball, and playground area. Restrooms and showers were kept very clean, as was the entire campground. They had cornhole set out for those who wanted to play and a very nice game room that even had Rock Band! Luckily for us, the weather was terrific and we had no need to spend time in the game room.The mining sluice was fun for our 11 year old son. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Park now KOA, and was very clean and well landscaped. We camped over Memorial Day weekend and they had several programs (movie, magician, ice cream social, hay ride) available over the course of the weekend. Rest rooms were very clean. Stayed in site 002, which was a pull through site with water and electric. Site was very nice and shaded. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Rates reflective of Holiday Weekend pricing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$49
This is our 3 time staying at Hocking Hills KOA (formally Scenic View Family Campground). Stay on Site 11 full hookup. Same staff and were very pleasant and friendly. Very clean campground. Bathrooms extremely clean. Will camp there again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
This CG is now known as Hocking Hills KOA. We are giving an overall rating of 9 as it is a very nice CG with very clean restrooms/showers along with CG. The staff was very understanding, helpful and friendly. We stayed in a deluxe site that included a stoned patio, Weber grill, patio table and chairs. The site was level. No matter what site you are assigned, there is very significant space between sites, contrary to most KOA's. With these items stated, some other facts need mentioned. The CG is built on top of a hill and is very, very tiered. As stated in other post, if you have a questionable tow vehicle or one with two wheel drive, this could be a problem due the hills in the CG as roads are all gravel. In fact our CG neighbor could not make up hill to CG. Had to backup and start over. Entry road has blacktop but very rough and at top turns to gravel. We could also see many sites whereby the camper had to use a lot of wood for stabilizers indicating possible unlevel sites. TV reception left much to be desired. All stations CG indicated were available, were all snowy and one station we could not get at all and we have a new HD TV. Also for our deluxe site for $65 night, cable should be included. Internet - they do have but first hour is free per day however after this, fees are imposed. In order to continue the use, must use credit card or paypal. Not sure what the fee is as we did not use. Scenery in area is very beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed in! It is family run, and obviously the owners really care about their business. They've provided lots of choices and amenities. For example, you can choose a regular full hookup site (like we did), or you can choose a premium site with extras like a swing, paver patio, free newspaper in the morning, etc. We didn't need those extras but it was a nice touch. My main priority in any campground is the cleanliness of the facilities, and these were spotless. Our site was level and nicely shaded with plenty of space. The location is nice too - between the state park and Logan. (Logan, by the way, is a run-down town. We loved the state park but were disappointed with Logan.) I highly recommend Scenic View for a great camping experience near the caves! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Medium-sized, peaceful campground located in the heart of the beautiful rolling Hocking Hills. Within 3 miles of Old Man's Cave. The campground is situated at the top of a ridge amongst well trimmed hemlocks that provided lacy shade throughout the day. For those that prefer unobstructed skies for satellite reception, there were more open sites available. The campground is DEFINITELY a tiered campground. The interior roads are gravel and some will pose a challenge for underpowered trucks pulling large travel trailers or fifth wheels up the somewhat steep inclines. Some roads were steeper than others. so just pick carefully before attempting a grade if your tow vehicle isn't a good match to your camper. Even with the tiering, I found the sites to be quite level and spacious. The pull throughs were especially long. Ours was at least 80 feet. Our toad could fit either at the back or front of our motorhome & there was still plenty of room left at either end of the pad. The sites were angled and placed so you had plenty of privacy without having to look at the side of your neighbor's camper. Many sites had 10ft x 15ft gravel patios and a few had large paver patios with an iron table & chairs, a log swing & a fancy fire ring with fire poker. Of course, these site amenities come at a price. In peak season, those paver sites go for $55 per night. The campground has a small camp store with basic supplies & souvenirs, a large & clean pool, a big game room, immaculate & well-lit bathrooms/shower houses, a big pavilion where they show movies on weekends, a playground, cabins for rent, numerous walking trails through the surrounding woods and a 75ft "gem mining" sluice. You purchase bags of gem rough at the camp store that'd been pre-loaded with some miscellaneous semi-precious stones or fossils. You then empty the bags in the screened boxes at the sluice, wash away the dirt & find your gems/fossils. The gems can be quartz, obsidian, agate, low grade ruby/emerald/sapphire..etc. It's really a neat activity for kids & adults alike. I would say the only downside of this campground is it's steep price. The nightly price per site was for 2 adults with 2 pets. Children are an additional cost. I found it unusual for a campground advertised as a "family campground" that the campsite pricing did not include any children. Aside from the pricing, I loved this campground, it's location & amenities. I would certainly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
Would have given a 10, but they have satellite internet which is rather slow. My husband owns an internet company, so it's important for us to have cell phone or wifi connection. That being said, we loved this campground!!! Very family friendly and very kind staff. My three year old loved the playground and game room, which were well maintained and clean. Our site was one of the premium sites with 50 amp service, a log swing, and brick paver patio and patio set. We travel in a 40 ft dp, and found the site just long enough for our bus and our tow. The site (#14) was very wide and I think it was also a little more level than the other premium site. We loved it. We were able to get satellite, but had to maneuver ourselves around in order to receive it, the cg is treed making it rough for most sites to get signal, but hey we're here to camp not watch tv. The road at the entrance of the campground is pretty long and uphill, but keep in mind that you're in the Hocking Hills and there are hills all over this area. The attractions in this area are excellent, very beautiful and all FREE! Conkle's Hollow gorge trail and Ash Cave are more stroller and little kid friendly. We absolutely loved the Old Man's cave! And if you're in town fro a while with kids and trip out to Cosi science museum is in order - it's one of the coolest kids museums I've ever been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Nice campground, "a little tiered" is an understatement! SLOPE is the word that leaps out at this moment. It is off the beaten path and there were deer everywhere. It's close to the Hocking Hills SP, has 30A service, no cable and TV is difficult. The site we had was not good for satellite. The owners are VERY friendly, I would have scored the park higher if they did not charge extra per kid, and extra to have pets. WiFi is available for $7.00 per day or 1 hr free per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$54
Overall this is a very nice campground. Because of it being located on a big hill, the campsites are somewhat tiered. We had a premium full hookup site with a very nice brick patio and retaining wall. We also had a large bench swing and nice fire ring on our site. The lady at the desk the first day was very helpful and friendly. The man at the desk the second day was in a bad mood and grumpy. When we walked up to the office to buy wood for our campfire that night we really felt like we were inconveniencing him. Overall a nice campground with large sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
A nice family campground (clearly stated to campers no alcohol allowed) in a great tourist area. Very steep entrance drive to a nicely appointed park. Many amenities (electric hook ups, restrooms, showers) appeared to be new or recently remodeled. The site we had was not level and required quite a bit of lumber to level the trailer, making it difficult to get in/out of trailer due to height of the step. The one restroom/shower facility was about a half mile walk, although they did have Porta Potties at the end of each row of campsites (wife and daughter chose to make the walk instead of using these). Wife/daughter also said women's shower room was very crowded, but clean. Onsite owners were easily accessible and were always around. A very nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
This was a very nice campground. We had one of the premium sights and enjoyed it a lot. The owners are very nice and are very in to the daily activities. The restrooms were very nice and clean. It is a nice quiet campground. The driveway leading up to the campground was a bit rough and steep. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
This was a great place to camp, even if the entrance was pretty steep to get up into the campground. The showers and bathrooms were very clean, and well taken care of. It hadn't rained in awhile, so it was pretty dusty in the campground. That said, these were the largest campsites we had ever stayed in, very nice and shady too. The staff was friendly, and stopped by each day to visit for a few minutes, and say "Hi". Will return later in the year to this campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Overall, this is a nice CG, but the sites need some maintenance. They either need to plant more grass, or add gravel. There was some rain, and since the lots are mainly dirt, there was mud everywhere. Also, the steep drive to get into the CG needs to be grated - a couple larger rigs could not get up this incline. As a plus, the sites are very large - you do not feel closed in here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
This is a very nice family run campground. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Everything was immaculate. The sites are located in a pine woods with plenty of shade. The campground has a very nice new pool, a new office building with a camp store and an arcade, and plenty of playground equipment. The arcade and the shower house have very clean flush toilets and there are clean porta potties throughout the rest of the campground. We would not hesitate to visit here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
This is one of the best campgrounds we have been to. The hosts are extremely helpful. The views are beautiful. The sites are roomy and there are lots of pine trees for shade. There is a steep hill to get into the campground, but that was scheduled to be grated and paved soon. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com