206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Famil-E-Fun Campground and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (605) 996-8983
CGID3549

Famil-E-Fun Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   8   8   10   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Easy to maneuver around the park while still hooked up. Park set up for children with pool and playground. Owners live on site and take good care of the place. Easy access from I90 - 5 miles from Mitchell. Close to the conveniences of town. Lots of shaded lots, but there are sites to access the sat TV. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Very friendly helpful staff. Nice shady level site. Definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Owner was friendly and very informative. Showers and rest rooms where clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
The rate is based on 1 week. This is a Mom and Pop with the same owners for 40 years, and they are fantastic. The electric is excellent at 122 VAC, modern sewer hook ups and fine water, both pressure and quality. Some pull through sites approach 100.' The turns are wide, the trees are set back and trimmed high, so no scratching. There are beautiful mature oak trees here, plenty of shade, or chose a more open spot if you wish. Roads and pads are rock but very well maintained (no wholes or puddles) with level sites. We are full time and have stayed here every other year for 12 years, it is one of our favorite parks. Caution: the park entrance is 1000' SOUTH of I-90 exit #325. Many GPS units will try to send you North. Our 45' bus and large tow car were very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This campground is easily accessible from I-90. The management was very nice, friendly and helpful, escorted us to our site. The campground is clean and well maintained. Lots of shade trees so specify if you want to have access to satellite service. Had a very pleasant overnight stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Convenient to I-90, this park provides a comfortable stay with it's tree-shaded sites and quiet atmosphere. Gravel interior roads and sites that are fairly level, with hookups conveniently placed. There are only a few satellite-friendly sites and no cable TV. The free Wi-Fi worked well during our stay and Verizon cell and data were strong. The friendly and helpful owner will escort you to your site and make sure the hookups work. Shopping in Mitchell is eight miles down the road with a Cabela's and other stores. A nice stay. We'll stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
A really-nice RV campground run by mom and pop, not a big company, who are very friendly and helpful. Quiet location and convenient to Mitchell. Park is very clean. Small on-site general store is well-stocked with sundries and food items. Rates are very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
What a cute off the Interstate campground with lots of trees. Very quiet and the owners and their family are so friendly. It was very enjoyable visiting with them. Lots of space to walk our two dogs and very quiet. Great place to stop and rest for the next days travel. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We were led to our site. Nice pull thru. Lots of shade trees. Web site description exceeds park features. Probably would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
We arrived after 10 PM and were charged less than the actual rate. The campground owner was very nice. He put us right by the clean bathrooms. We were actually camping in a Van not a truck camper. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
$19 per night reflects weekly rate. This is a nice, small, quiet, level, gravel and grass campground right off route 90 without highway noise. The campground is surrounded by farms. Downtown Mitchell, complete with Wal-Mart, grocery store, diesel and the Corn Palace, is about 6 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Nice quiet park with shade trees right off the interstate. Little road noise, and owners were helpful and friendly. Nice relaxing park. Not sure how it would be if crowded, but since it wasn't, there was a lot of space between units. It looked like some back to back sites, but I did not see anyone situated like that. I would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Park hosts very friendly, beautiful trees, large pull through sites some with fire pits, picnic tables. The swimming pool is older put very clean and we enjoyed it. There is a small, no-frills miniature golf course and a play ground. Close to freeway but because you are surrounded by corn fields you don't notice or hear it. The only complaint we have is that the owners grandchildren were riding around on an ATV with guns and shooting ground squirrels. We don't have a problem with the guns, we just felt it was not appropriate behavior in an RV park with people, pets, and expensive RV's around. Plus, who wants to listen to guns shooting when they are trying to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This campground lives up to its name. Big rig friendly, large shaded level lots, space between lots. It's not packed in like sardines as many other campgrounds do. Our stay was more than a month and rates were reasonable. They have daily, weekly, and monthly rates and accepted Good Sam. We utilized 50 amp service, water, and sewer and enjoyed our stay. The Wi-Fi was best at the office but reached some sites in proximity to the office. We were also able to get satellite for Direct TV from our lot. This campground was quiet even though it is about 1/4 mile from I-90. When near full capacity, the other guests were polite and followed the rules. Campground is dog friendly. There is lots of walking area, a swimming pool, a putt-putt golf and playground with swings and jungle gym for kids. I would definitely stay here again when in the area and recommend it to others to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This RV park is about 3/4 mile South of I-90. There is very little road noise. Every site is level and shaded by large, old-growth shade trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
They no longer honor Passport America, but do honor Good Sam. An easy on/off the interstate. Good gravel roads with lots of room for turning. The owner was very helpful with information. The only issue we had it the sewer attachment was quite high making it difficult to drain. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
What a great little park with friendly and attentive owner/managers. Definitely family friendly and big rig friendly. As others have noted, lots of shaded sites so let the owners know if you need a satellite-friendly location. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We stay here every year for 4 or 5 days. The owners of 25 years will make you feel as family. Large pool for the kids, which is rare in this area, and the toughest miniature golf we have ever played. Shaded and open sites available so mention if you need satellite. Corn Palace is a must as is shopping at the worlds largest Cabella's. Fanny Horner,s for breakfast or lunch and Signature Steakhouse dinner, (very reasonable) raises their own beef, (Angus) try their Prime Rib. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Nice quiet campground. The owner was very friendly and helpful. It was like parking in someone's backyard. There is not a lot for the kids to do, but that is the only negative I can say. It is very good for an overnight stay to see the Corn Palace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Very nice older park. Wide sites and very friendly staff. We stayed here overnight and I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Attractive park just a few miles west of town. Although surrounded by open cornfields, the park is loaded with beautiful mature trees. Gravel and dirt roads and sites with grass in between. Sites fairly level. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Quiet park, easy to get to, nice and shady. Friendly staff. Wi-Fi is poor; only reaches a few sites near office. We only stayed one night en route but felt this campground was a good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Great place for overnight stay. Friendly staff, easy on off I-90. This was a very reasonable price for off season. A few miles from Mitchell and the Corn Palace. Good Wi-Fi and a 12 channels with just antenna. Bathroom older but very clean. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Family owned and run for 25 years. Even Grand kids work,work,work. Wide turns and trees trimmed. Very green and manicured park. Pick shade or open (satellite) site, roads and pads solid, crushed granite. Friendliest people you will ever meet. Fire rings and wood. A hand built putt-putt course that is the most difficult in the USA. Our 45' bus had no problems parking here. Signature Steak House raises, and cuts their own beef and is reasonably priced. Visit Corn Palace and Candelas nearby in Mitchell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Friendly owners, escorted us to the site. It is very close to I-90. It features, shady, attractive, and grassy sites. There is a nice pool. The WiFi was marginal but we were in a far corner of the park. There is TV over the air for about 3 or 4 channels. The GPS instructions are wrong and there are no signs at I-90 exit. Trust the campground book directions as campground is just south of Interstate. We would stay here again but would ask for a site in the back away from interstate noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We stayed here while traveling through South Dakota. I think of all the RV parks we stayed at on our long trip from North Carolina to Alaska, this was the nicest state-side RV park we stayed at. The staff was very friendly, the sites were well-shaded, pool was clean, and lots to do there at the park, in addition to all the things to see in nearby Mitchell. I don't have anything negative at all to say. If we ever traveled through again, we would definitely stay here again. It was truly family-friendly. Unlike some we stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
People were nice and lead us to the site. Sites are gavel, but needed to be blocked to get level. The pool was nice but crowded. Two exits west of the Corn Palace - definitely a place to see if you are even close to the area. Perogies BBQ, exit 332-- the brisket is delicious. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Sometimes a campground stay is made better by the friendliness of the owners, and this was one of those. Although struggling to open after a horrible winter, the owners went out of their way to make sure the water worked, our site was clear, and that we had a good overnight stay. Bare trees and brown grass with snow in the shade detracted from the appearance, but this looks like a pretty, tree-shaded park in the summer. Verizon Aircard and cell service were good and the park was dark at night with only a minimum of noise from the interstate. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
A very helpful parking escort and big spots at this park. There's lots to do, clean showers, and it's quiet all night with no town noise. For 22 bucks: you should not miss this one on your way by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The campground looked ok when we arrived, and they said they had Wifi. Well, the wifi didn't work and all the owner could do was get very young kid who didn't know how to do anything but play games on the computer. Also, when asked about passport (we found it in passport book) the owner complained about not being able to make any money. It rained and the black mud was everywhere. We will not camp here again and would send travelers on to Mitchell to either of the passport parks. They are cheaper and things work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Campground was OK for overnight stop. Five miles west of Mitchell in a rural setting. Would be better for a few days stay. All hookups, local TV reception and WiFi was OK. A heavy rain with good drainage for our stay. On next trip we would stay here if staying more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Nice scenic sites but the bugs made it impossible to sit outside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This park is a few miles west of town with easy access to the freeway. There was not much highway noise. Gravel roads and sites were grass with picnic table. Lots of trees but there are some sites where satellite TV is OK. Verizon air card worked well for internet. Pull through sites are fully adequate size wise. This rate is for a full hook-up, 50 amp is $2 more. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
In reading the other reviews I can say that I’m happy other folks had an enjoyable stay at Famil-E-Fun Campground. Unfortunately that was not at all our experience. I called to make a reservation on June 19, 2009. I was quoted a price of $315 per month. The owner asked me to call a week before we’d be there to let them know our schedule for arrival. I did call the campground on July 10th to let them know we’d be arriving on July 18th. We were traveling from Aberdeen, SD. I spoke to his wife. She was quite friendly and gave me directions. I also called on the evening of July 18th to let them know we were on our way but it would be late. I was told they had no spots open due to the rodeo. I was a little surprised because I thought that was the point of making a reservation. This wound up not being an issue because we had a blow-out on the way and wound up staying at a truck stop on the way. We arrived at the Famil-E-Fun Campground at 10 a.m. on the 19th. We were told that they were very full and we wouldn’t be able to park until after 1:00 p.m. That wasn’t a problem for us. They then told us that since the season was so busy the rates had been adjusted and the monthly rate was now $510 per month. This was an increase of $195. I asked him how that was possible when I was quoted a rate of $315. He just kept saying because it was so busy. He did say the price would drop after August. I guess it would, when there would be many other options for a person to choose from. I mentioned that he was price-gouging, which he did deny. I did ask him why I wasn’t told about the increase and he told me it was because I hadn’t asked. What? Then he told me it was partly because they’d had a lot of cancellations and he was trying to recoup the money. Well, he was full, so how could he be out of any money? Regardless, I had called. Then he told me it was because we were late. He didn’t have a spot for us anyway, so that certainly was a ridiculous thing to say. He kept telling us that there were no spots anywhere in town and we were welcome to check for ourselves. He also told us that there is an extra charge for kids. For every child you have it is an extra $2 per night. We have no kids traveling with us but I did think that was a unreasonable charge. We did pay for one night and parked the RV to get the electricity for our refrigerator and freezer. We drove about 8 miles east and noticed another RV park, the Dakota Campgrounds. We pulled in and had a wonderful experience. We drove immediately back to Famil-E-Fun Campgrounds and got our camper. I will say that they gave us our check back for $22.50 (one day rate). I was surprised. I have been told from the locals in Mitchell that the campground caters to those wanting to stay one night and move on. My husband works on an oil pipeline and we stay for extended periods of time. We will be in the area for five months. This man's greed cost him over $1,500. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Easy on/off I-90 but heard no traffic noise. Easy to navigate roads and sites. All hookups worked well. Owners were extremely helpful when we became ill during our stay and needed to see a doctor. We will definitely stay here when back in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This campground was a great stop along I-90. It was easy to maneuver through and get into your spot with a big-rig. The Wi-Fi was terrible and was not working most of the time. The owners were very helpful with directing you to local businesses. Beware at check-in that they don't just start adding extra charges on the bill, assuming you want certain things. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
An older park, but nice. The owners were very helpful and we had a wonderful big tree to sit under. And were still able to get our tv dish reception. We only stayed here one night but would stay here again when coming this direction. It was a nice quiet park and a welcome spot to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$19
This is a very nice park with lots of large shade trees. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely camp here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
People very helpful. Turns a little tight for a rig 62' long. Roads looked soft but supported 35K. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Excellent overnight stop. Right off I-90, but there is a small hill between the park and the freeway, so we heard no traffic noise. The $16 Passport America rate for a 50-amp full-hookup pull-through site makes it a bargain. Gravel roads and large grass sites--easy maneuvering for big rigs. The power sagged to around 110 volts when we put a 30 amp load on a single leg. The park is well maintained and the family who owns the park runs a cheerful office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$13
This family have been running this campground for 14 years. No vehicle washing is allowed. Campfire rings are provided. The rec room has pool table and videogames. Small store has limited groceries, ice, souvenirs, snacks and a big grin and hearty laugh. There is also a cabin available. The community-size pool is large and is drained, painted and filled yearly. Good Sam. Passport America. AAA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com