223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkhorn Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (502) 695-9154
CGID3552

Elkhorn Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   9   10   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
You can get a big rig in but it is tight. Some sites are paved but narrow. Lots for kids to do: pool, game room, shuffleboard, etc. Roads in and out are also tight but doable. We enjoyed our stay. Ice cream was a nice touch. Dump station difficult to get to if you are not on full hookups. Full Hookups are appropriately placed. Not a lot to choose from if visiting Lexington area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is an older campground that is very clean and well maintained. Most sites are back in but access roads are pretty good and backing in was no problem. Sites are paved concrete with a wooden deck on the side with a picnic table. Fire rings are at each site with plenty of shade. Not sure satellite would work. Cable TV is digital an only works if you have a digital TV. We don't and were only told this after fiddling with the TV and cable for quite a while until I finally went back to the office to ask if cable worked. Staff was not all that helpful and questions were answered after the person on duty finally decided to look up from her smartphone. Additionally she didn't seem to know much about the area and suggested I "read the brochures" that were available in the office. A few of the sites are rather close together, and our neighbor had to move their chairs out of the way so I could extend my slide out on the driver side. Most of the other sites did not have that problem. Also be aware that the creek front sites are not full hook up, but a dump station is available. Lots of families were there for vacation so lots of kids were enjoying themselves. I would consider this park again if in the area as it is very close to the beautiful horse farms and Lexington area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Neat, tidy campground with clean restroom and showers. Showers and toillet are all carpeted and I question how these are kept clean. The pictures of the pull through sites are very deceiving because they show only one rig per pull through. Actually, they put two rigs per site with one unit being a back in making the water connection on the wrong side. We had a popup directly behind us and their tent end was only 4 feet from our back window. Motor homes can not put their car on the site unless they pull in sideways. The pull through sites are very close together. We would probably stay here again because other campgrounds are rated poorly except for the Kentucky Horse Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Interior roads were paved, with some sites paved and some gravel. The entrance road was one-way with some low-lying branches that scraped our coach - not good. Our paved site (#92) was fairly level and required only some work from the jacks. There were lots of trees throughout the park, which provided helpful shade. Sites were close together, putting awnings in close proximity with each other and forcing folks to walk through neighbor's sites to access RV compartments. The 50-amp power was strong, and water pressure was good. The signal to our Verizon phones and hotspot was strong. Many sites do not have sewer, so be sure to ask for full hookups if you want them. Same with fire pits, not all sites have them so you should ask if you want one. The dump station is in an odd location where you must block the road while you dump. The bathrooms and showers were nice and clean, although they were carpeted, which we haven't seen before. The air-conditioned laundry room consisted of 4 washers, 4 dryers and a carpet-covered folding table. Many stores and services were available in the capitol city of Frankfort, just a few miles down the road. Lexington was also very accessible from this park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Nice, quiet, and well run campground with lots of amenities. The pool is fun and the bathroom and showers are very nice. There are many long term residents but everyone is friendly. WiFi is good, cable TV is plentiful. This campground is off a small road so it is quiet with lots of green space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Stayed here twice in April 2013 and once in May 2014. Very clean and well maintained. Restroom/showers were extremely clean. Family run and staff is very helpful with tourist info and directions. Grounds, pool, and playground are all well maintained. Nice camp store in office with good selection of items for the camper who forgot something. Will stay here every time we are passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Wonderful location, trees, grass, peace and quiet, just like their website says. Good site, good connections, nice people. Leaving the site was difficult because we're so long (43 feet plus the toad), but there were enough empty spaces in the right place to make the big turn around. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
This is a very pleasant campground that is very family orientated. Our site was level and right on the stream. Grass area with picnic table and fire ring. Clean Restrooms and Showers. The staff here was very friendly. The pool was not open yet will be in a couple of weeks. They have put put golf here and horseshoes. We ended up staying an extra day it was so relaxing and pleasant. Plus no bugs at night. There are parts that have people who live here full time but, all friendly. This is a very clean park. The little store has good basics. If in the area again we will stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Overall this is a great place to camp. The staff was extremely helpful as this was our "maiden voyage" for our travel trailer. At one point someone worked with us for 45 minutes to get cable to work to watch NCAA game. Plenty of room to pull in. Only reason for a 9/10 rating is the wifi was spotty and the camp store was just starting to be stocked when should have been ready for opening weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We spent one night here on our way home from CA. Clean campground and restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
While this park is a little off the beaten path and has a large "regular" population, it is very nice and we would drive the extra few miles to stay here again. It was quite with very friendly staff. Park was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Great views. Off the beaten track a bit, but well worth it. Family owned with pride. Quiet and restful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
A beautiful setting next to a creek. A well run family operation. Popular with groups. Paved streets and many paved pads. Some pull-through sites were too close together to allow extending awnings by adjacent units. The park is clean and recreational facilities are well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Pros: Park-like setting, nice trees. Some water and electric sites by the stream. Good Verizon data and voice service. Sparkling clean rest rooms and showers. Reasonable prices for laundry. Owner (male) very helpful and friendly. He helped us with their cable boxes. Cons: Sites very narrow and short. Felt cramped. Fire rings on adjacent sites too close to our rig. Unable to get satellite due to trees. Their cable is digital so if you have analog TV's you have to use their converter boxes for "cable" TV. Owner (female) was not friendly and almost rude. We would not camp here again if there was another choice in the area. Also very busy on weekends so reservations are a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
We stayed on camp site 12. It was nice. We had a paved space. Picnic table was in grass. Quiet park. Our space was by the river so we could fish from our site. The restrooms were clean. The pool was free for campers and it was clean. The mini golf was $1 per person and there was free Wi-Fi! One thing we were not happy about was that the fire ring was close to the camper and with the air conditioner running our pop up smelled like a big campfire. It also caused our fire alarm to go off. We had to move the camper some the next morning. Also when my husband called about the cost per night he was told $27, but when we got there it was $31. We could complain with free pool and Wi-Fi. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
We really enjoyed our stay at Elkhorn. The staff was extremely friendly and the check in process was efficient. The entrance to the park is narrow and the layout can be a little tricky for a large rig but the roads are nicely paved. Our site was gravel and level with a wood deck for our picnic area and a grass yard. There are paved sites available. The hookups were good with good water pressure. The trees make for lovely shaded campsites but they interfered with our satellite TV. The park has cable TV but we didn't take advantage of it. There are a lot of organized activities for adults and children along with a nice playground. This park is one of our favorites and we would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
We only spent one night here but it was ok. The sites are packed togeather like sardines and the road going in is extreamly narrow. The store was not opened but town was close. Would we stay here again. No. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is a well maintained campground. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. Paved roads but slightly tight getting into our space with a 44' motor home towing a car (with a large tree close by, but we made it). We would definitely stay here again. This place will be really pretty when everything greens up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a very nice campground with friendly staff. We were only here for one night but would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Campsites are extremely narrow, could not open our awning. Campground seems well maintained, nearly full our weekend, lots of kids and pets, with some late night noise from kids playing after dark. Hand scooped ice cream in the store is fabulous. Probably will not return due to skinny sites for the price. A bit difficult to maneuver a 35 foot RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This is an older campground, and sites are very close together. There appears to be a large number of permanent rigs here, and the best sites, those along the creek, do not have full hook up. The road to the campground is narrow; we hoped we did not meet another vehicle before we got to the office. Campground was full, lots of children. Wi-Fi was very good and reliable, and the cable was clear but the strangest channel numbering system we had ever encountered. Restrooms are old but appeared clean. This is the only campground we ever saw that had carpet on restroom/shower floors. Not sure we would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is just an ok park. The road in is narrow so be careful. The park is an older one and they try to keep it nice but the sites are very close together and the most of the units are backend to backend on a long pavement. The cable was excellent for us but two of the neighbors complained of the connection not working. The roads are a bit narrow and the sites are not angled which makes backing in difficult if the park is full. The hook ups were ok but you shared a water hookup with your rear neighbor which made one of them on the wrong side of the unit. We would look around for another park but would stay again if we had to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
This is an old campground which is very tight to back into. Had to stand on neighbors patio to make my connections. We would not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a very kid friendly park. When we stayed there it was very crowded with dogs and children. The sites are very close together. Wi-Fi was good. All right for an overnight. If you want peace and quiet, you better keep looking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This was truly the CLEANEST campground I have ever been at. Bathrooms AstroTurf, air conditioned, super clean. Talked to the owners on a daily basis, never rude, great sense of humor, helpful every time. Don't pass on this place, little piece of heaven here. Heading back there this weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Not positive about the fee per night but close. Okay campground. I give it a 7 but Trailer Life gives it mostly 9s. I don't understand the ratings from these guides. We have stayed in 7s that were better by far then some 9s. Only thing I would caution is some of the trees are close to the road and some branches are low. Otherwise not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We came here for the weekend had a great time. There is a very nice disc golf course about 5 miles away in the Frankfort park at the end of Myrtle Ave. Campground is quiet. Staff is friendly. Bathrooms have been newly remodeled. Has nice playground. Canoe rentals about 7 miles away at Canoe Kentucky. There are 5 bourbon distilleries within about 30 miles. We had a very nice time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is our kind of park! The setting is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, quiet; I loved that there aren't too many bright lights at night so we could have the window & blinds open for fresh air. Site not completely level but easy to fix. Friendly helpful people. We had no complaints about the interior roads. Some sites are really close together so if the park is full that could be a problem. About half the sites don't have sewer, I assume because they are close to the creek, but we had no trouble getting a full hookup site. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Very nice campground and the owners were pleasant to deal with. The interior roads are paved but need some repair. They have some gravel and some paved sites. Lots of trees for shade. Not all sites are water, electric and sewer. Some 50 amp and the balance 30 amp. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This pretty park is family owned and operated by some of the best people we have met. They went out of their way to make sure we were safe and secure during some severe storms. The park has lots of grass and trees and the Elkhorn Creek surrounds the perimeter of the park. The kids are running it now and are working hard to fix it up better. The bathrooms and laundry are older but nice and very clean. The roads and site driveways need work but the sites are plenty spacious. We love this park and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We really loved this park. It's very clean, very quiet, and right along a river. Not hard to find, but the entrance lane is narrow. Be sure to take Exit 58 if you are on I-64. Staff is very friendly, Wi-Fi and cable TV worked great. We rode out one of the worst outbreaks of thunderstorms and tornadoes here. Also drove to neighboring Georgetown to check out some of the antique stores there. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Nice level sites, some with year round full hook-ups. Friendly staff was helpful even with a late check-in. About 10 minutes drive from highway and entrance to campground is confusing - You will drive through a rather cluttered neighborhood before getting to the campground. The campground itself is rather nice, don't get discouraged on the drive in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
A little bit out of the way but an okay campground. One lane road leads in and out so be careful. Get directions off their website and follow them in. Nice staff at registration but no site escort which I'd recommend in this park. Our pull thru was a back in but they just told us to drive across the grass. Our site was satellite accessible but had no sewer. Lots of seasonal campers with patios and other stuff. Lots of golf carts in the park decorated for Halloween. Verizon wireless worked well here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Raining and we needed a place to spend the night. Was told the price was raised due to the "World Equestrian Games" in the area. Felt it was price gouging, as the normal price would have been half the amount, but what can you do? Sites were spacious enough and they have a lot of activities for families. Did not use any of the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We stayed here for 2 weeks of the World Equestrian Games. Park owners had prepared well for visitors by bringing in an extra portable shower house, providing a packet of local info, transportation shuttle and a terrific lady in the park who would walk your pet for a minimal fee. There was a fire ban due to the drought in the area so we could not use the fire ring at our site, but they had a fire in the pavilion fireplace on cool evenings.Wi-Fi strength was good as was cable TV. Highly recommend this park and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Clean, well-maintained campground. Very popular; they actually have waiting lists for holiday week ends. Staff was very friendly. Laundry was spotless. Nice shade trees. Good area for exploring Lexington/Frankfort area. The only down side is that it is a full, busy park, so you are among many other campers, but it was not a problem for us. Internet was good at first, but went down on our second day; someone was working on it. We enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a very quiet, matured, paved, and friendly place to stay. No problem with big rig access. The bath house is over the top clean. Nice pool, but miniature golf needs carpet. Very close to Lexington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Its a nice campground once you get into it, but if you met anyone going in or out with your RV it would be a major problem. Its a one lane road, with a lot of vegetation on both sides, so in some areas no room at all to move over. The road to the campground is used by several houses as well as a mobile home park. We had dropped off our RV and were leaving when a kid came flying in, no regards to the possibility of other traffic. It was just an over night stop for us and no other campgrounds in the area other than state parks. WiFi worked very well for us and had good cable TV channels. We would stay here again in ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This park caters to long term people. Our 2 day visit was in an area that had uneven, old gravel sites. The large trees blocked the Sat. and Wi-Fi signals. Most of the sites in the park do have uneven asphalt sites, surrounded by trees. The majority of campers had vehicles under 40'. The staff was friendly and a lot of the sites face the creek. There are a lot of kid activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
We had a back in site right on the little Elkhorn Creek, which made for a nice view out our back window. Unfortunately the site did not come with a sewer hookup. There was also no Wi-Fi, very limited TV, and no cable. Other than that the site itself was a comfortable size, we did not feel overly close to our neighbors. We did have electric and water. There was a swimming pool as well as a covered group area. The staff were friendly and we did enjoy exploring the town of Frankfort. The Buffalo Trace Distillery is a must see. We would return to this little campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is an older campground and site size, access roads, and interior roads show that. Access and getting through the park and into the site were doable but tight in our 35' motorhome and tow vehicle. Our pull through site was 1/2 asphalt (front) and 1/2 grass (rear). Power/water were adequate. Lots of seasonals (no junk) with children, dogs, etc. Great owners and wonderful ice cream. Little far from interstate for an overnight but probably a great place to spend a couple days and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This is a very nice campground next to Elkhorn Creek. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The office/store had some WONDERFUL ice cream!!! The only downside I saw at this park was that the cable TV was a little cranky and didn't work great all the time. It could have been from the recent storms in the area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This is a family friendly CG with adequate grass and facilities. Has friendly staff and easy check-in. Located in a semi-rural setting with no road noise. The roads are paved and our site was a 50 amp back-in with concrete pad and picnic table. Voltage was between 118 and 121. The trees prevent satellite TV and the cable has limited channels. WiFi and air card worked OK, but a bit slow. As others have said the road in is one lane with a slight turn so you can't see if someone is coming, we met a car which had to back up, would be worse if 2 rigs met. Best to leave in the early morning and arrive in afternoons to avoid conflicts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Nice small family style campground as others have stated. With all the rain locally this spring, the river has caused some problems, but the owners have done a good job keeping everything in order. The facilities are spotless and well maintained. The only major drawback is the entry road which is basically single lane. There are several older mobile homes near the entrance, but once on the grounds everything is neat and clean. Easy access from Exit 58 off I-64. Most all sites are level so if stopping overnight, an unhook is not necessary. Wi-Fi works from the sites, if using sat TV trees may be an issue however. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a pleasant family owned campground bordered by Elk Horn Creek. Owner’s pride in the campground was evident from a conversation with one of owners. All roads and pads are paved, and the grounds were well maintained. The cable TV and wireless were excellent. Approximately twenty percent of the sites are occupied by nearby Frankfort and Lexington residents who use the campground as a weekend and summer get away. The only negative was the road into the park; it was paved but very narrow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
This was the first weekend the campground was open to the public. The pool wasn't open and nothing was going on around the campground. The playground is pretty small. The restrooms and showers were the best I've seen in a while. There are creek side sites which is nice to throw out a few random casts throughout the day. We didn't catch anything. Very rural feel, but very close to shopping/dinning etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is a great place! The only negative thing I can say is, it is a "go to" place. If you are planning on a weekend: make a reservation. There are plenty of sites with grass, tables, and fire rings, but they fill up quickly. The sites are paved and shady, yet our satellite worked fine. It is absolutely family oriented. We wanted to stay another 7 days, but we couldn't because it was filled to capacity for the Halloween activities over the weekend. When we first got here we were lucky to get one of the last two sites because of the Kentucky RVers Club. It seems this part of the country loves its RV parks for recreation. Previous reviews have mentioned the single lane road leading to the park entrance. It is a consideration. On Sunday morning, the park is backed up with a half dozen rigs using the dump station before they leave. You do not want to try to enter this park in the morning or leave late in the afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
The entry road leading to this campground is narrow and the sites are also. Other than that, it's a very nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful when asked questions. Would go back if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
A good enough campground with a convenient location to area attractions such as the Bourbon Trail and historical sites in Frankfort. Many "pull through" sites are only that way until someone else backs in on the other end of the site, then you have a back-in site. As others have said, the entrance road is very narrow, although it caused no problems. Wi-Fi access works part way out into the campground, but not in all sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This campground was a nice quiet campground with the sites somewhat close together. There are many seasonal campers here. The back-in sites are not angled so it was somewhat difficult to back in. At 10:00pm, they came on the loud speaker and told all kids there would be no more riding bicycles around the campground for the evening. We didn't have any kids, but we've never experienced this in another campground. Entrance is a narrow one lane road, but there wasn't any traffic. We took a couple tours in the area during our two night stay. We toured the Toyota assembly plant in Georgetown and the Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort. Both of them were great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We stayed at this park for a week. We were very happy with the place,the owners worked with us (due to our last minute plans) getting us in with less than 2 days notice. We had to move once but that worked out fine. This is a very family friendly campground and very well run. Good paved interior roads. The road coming in is a bit narrow but did not cause a problem even with a toad attached. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Even though the park was quite full over the weekend we were here, everything ran smoothly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Elkhorn campground is very unfriendly. Bigots! We were asked to leave because of our appearence. A couple of the men camping with us had long hair. One also had some tattoos. You must be in your camper by 11:00p.m., no sitting outside your camper after quiet hour begins, even if you are just sitting quietly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This campground is a parking lot type campground. Sites are extremely close together with no privacy between sites. There are many seasonal campers here. The back-in sites are not angled so it was very difficult to back in without hitting a vehicle or another camper. Entrance is a narrow one lane road. We stayed here for an overnight stay and we will not be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
Beautiful Park with lots of shade. Owners very friendly. Bath house and pool was kept really clean We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
This is very nice park for either an overnight or several days stay. Weekends might not be the best time, due to the large number of seasonal sites. The pool was great and a welcome treat after a long day on the road. Showers and toilets were clean. The previous comment about the narrow entrance road is accurate, no way can two rigs get by each other. My disappointment with this park was the lady in the office. She was rude when we checked in (I forgot the license number of my MH) and when I told her we were on our way home from Bristol she complained about that being the reason they were so busy on a Sunday night: "All those NASCAR fans." Still it was a nice stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Park is OK. Sites are long enough for our big rig to fit easily, but very narrow. Thank goodness for wide road to allow us to maneuver into site. Staff was nice. Lots of people seemed to be enjoying the pool. A VERY BIG CAUTION !! DO NOT ARRIVE BEFORE 1pm. Entrance road is a one lane road and narrow. Someone would have to back up a long way!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This campground is perfect. It has every amenity, is spotless clean. Family owned. It was not busy when we stayed. We thought the sites were large and grassy. Cable TV was a great surprise! I seldom give a "10" rating, but this campground deserves it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
What a great experience. We booked for 2 nights and came back and extended it, first 2 nights more and then 2 nights more, I hated to leave. The site was on a concrete slap with grass bordering it, like a lawn, big mature trees around everywhere, beautiful. The Camp is Family owned and everyone works and lives there, mother, sons, daughters, uncle etc. one can see all the effort they put into it. Although we where told the WIFI would not work so far away, it worked like a charm, as did everything else. Absolutely no complaints. It is clean with flowers, the pool is great, has minigolf, fishing, areas for kids to play and is very quiet with lots of birds to make it a happy place. We glady would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
We spent two weekend nights at this campground. Overall, it was a decent experience, but we were disappointed that the grounds were covered with dog waste. Seriously, every time we walked behind our RV, which was on the side of the campground by the creek, we all stepped in dog waste. It was awful. The owners need to clean up the grounds and be more stringent about people cleaning up after their pets. The campground was also very crowded, with some sites so close to the other ones that there was literally only about 10 feet or less between campsites. They do have sites with sewer and cable, but those are in the middle of the campground and on the side where there's just a field, and not adjacent to the creek. The owners were nice, however, and people seemed to respect the quiet hours from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m., so that was good. I wouldn't camp here again, however, until the grounds are more sanitary and people clean up after their pets. (I am a big animal lover, this isn't an anti-pet review. I had my golden retriever with me and we cleaned up after him.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Only place in Frankfort to stay. It's close enough to Lexington to serve as a good park for both towns. And even Louisville is only 50 miles away. We liked the park and the people who run it. We did not like the number of trees in the park. There are way too many. It was pure luck that we got a site where our DirecTV antenna would work. We also got one of the sites where the Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Very nice park. Exceptionally clean restrooms. Narrow road into the park so you don't want to meet another RV on the way in or out. WFfi was slow but it worked. We were 3 rows away from the office. Staff was very helpful. Some spots [non pull throughs] were a little dicey to get in to. Cable TV was fuzzy. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is a most delightful RV park, full of gorgeous old-growth trees, level, paved sites, spotless restrooms, a beautiful river running through it--everything you could possibly want in a campground or RV park. The canopy of trees prevents satellite dishes from working at most sites, but they have very good, clear, free cable TV with about 80 channels.The free WiFi is available in probably half the sites. In over 30 years of camping, we have never met nicer people than those who own and operate this place, absolutely wonderful, kind folks. You will fall in love with this place. We had a reservation for one night and, when we arrived, we kept extending it for a total of three weeks. Wonderful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
If internet access is important to you, this is probably not a good campground for you. Wifi is only available sometimes and only at one particular place in the pavilion. Unfortunately, that's also where there is a pool table, a juke box, and several video games that never stop making noise. The restroom stalls have really low ceilings, but otherwise, this is a perfectly nice place, especially if you have kids. We stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$21
Campground was nice, spaces were wide, owners were very friendly and helpful. We stayed here on the way to our destination AND on the way home. Bike riding was easy. All facilities worked as expected. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
Good paved RV resort campground. Have two playgrounds and a pool for the kids. Nice large stream to go tubing. Landscape is excellent with grass everywhere, trees well trimmed, mud not an issue in event of rain. In the process of adding concrete pads—our site had one which was nice. Most sites have paved level driveways with enough room for a large camper and vehicle. Site size is adequate. Cleanest bathrooms using quality building materials suitable for the pickiest of relatives. Helpful hosts-assisted in an RV repair issue. Nice compromise for those that want a quiet place to camp— not too noisy or festive and not too rustic, but have enough to keep the kids busy. All the comforts of home with which we had full hookup and cable. Excellent value for all the amenities that a camp ground can offer. Fee includes 8 of us and a pet less the Good Sam discount. Will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
Nice park in general. The road to/from campground off of highway goes through a residential area on a narrow road and would present a problem if one met another MH coming in opposite direction and a similar situation exists in part of park road itself. The pull through sites are accessed over grass and onto a gravel base. Rain has made grass soggy so sank in some as I approached the gravel. I was impressed that trees were trimmed well enough not to present a problem for paint scratching with the exception of two spots. The numbers on sites are difficult to see/read so a night time entrance is difficult - would like to see them escort when its pitch dark or install more visible site numbers on pull thrus especially. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
A lovely, heavily treed campground with nice paved sites and paved roads. Excellent cable TV, but wi-fi reaches only in the immediate area of the office. The park has nice wide spaces and good ingress and egress. Unfortunately, none of the pull through spots has sewer. Still, I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
This is a real nice place and makes a good base to tour the Frankfort area. We highly recommend the free factory tour at the Buffalo Trace Distillery. You can learn a lot about how they make Bourbon there. We had a concrete base and a wooden deck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Everything was in excellent condition. The laundry was modest, but very clean and inexpensive. The roads were paved and the slip was concrete. They even had a wooden deck on the side of the slip. The free cable TV had been recently upgraded to include almost 100 channels. The people were really nice and we really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Very nice and kid friendly, we have 2 kids under 4 and they both a had a blast, the CG is very quite even with all the kids. No golf carts allowed which mad my stay that much better/safer. I will stay at this CG again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
A quiet, pleasant and well maintained campground. An easy 5 miles from the interstate and a good base for exploring the capital city, including distilleries and chocolate factory. The shower rooms are being remodelled but are clean and tidy. We would return again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com