206876 User submitted reviews online!!
P.H. Hoeft State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (989) 734-2543
CGID3555

P.H. Hoeft State Park

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   10   9   10   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Sometimes a park comes along that is very special. This is what we felt about Hoeft State Park. We just loved our time here. The sites are dirt and it is heavily wooded. Some larger rigs would be challenged. The staff was absolutely wonderful. The restroom/showers were clean. Verizon cell was good if I stood outside the RV. Verizon Mi-Fi slow 3G. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
This is a very pretty campground! Lots of trees and shade and a short easy walk to Lake Huron and a nice big swim beach. They also have two sand volleyball pits and one of the nicest playgrounds we've seen in a state park. No water hookups, so fill up your tank from the potable water faucets at the dump station. We were in site #7 and it was large and flat. The upper level of the campground seemed to be cramped and tight. Each site has a big fire pit, picnic table and a park bench. Great bicycle trail runs from Rogers City to the 40 Mile Lighthouse right outside the campground. Rogers City is only 2.5 miles away and has all kinds of shopping and a couple of nice places to eat. Their marina is very nice as is their city park which is next to the marina. This campground is due for an upgrade soon according to a brochure they gave us. They plan full hookups at some point. They warned us that we might lose power due to the old electrical system, but it worked fine over a busy Labor Day weekend. Granted it was cool so not many were using a/c. As a non-resident we bought a vehicle window sticker for $30.50 which we used for 13 nights at various MI state parks. Without the pass the rate is $8.50 per night for non-resident! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
$23 per night was for 20/30 amp electric only. Michigan requires non-residents to purchase an annual recreation passport for $30.50 (which we had done at a previous MI state park) plus $6.30 for a vehicle pass for each state park, which was good for our week-long stay. All sites are just a short walk over the dunes to the very nice, sandy, mile-long beach on Lake Huron. Spacing between sites was roomy, and most sites were level. All sites are hard-packed dirt, which allows you to park in any direction. All sites have shade as this is a heavily wooded park. Water is available throughout the park, and the dump station is located near the entrance/exit. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well lit. Recreational opportunities are available in the park as well as in the local area. There is a 4.5-mile-long paved walking/biking trail that connects the park to Rogers City and the 40-mile point lighthouse. Wi-Fi is available at the library and McDonald's. AT&T cell service was just a few bars of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Absolutely love this park! We have stayed here a dozen times in the past few years and are actually going again this weekend (fall colors are starting). This is a very clean park with a lot to offer, and surprisingly it's never busy. Many well shaded grassy sites and some very close to lake's edge. Great views and photo opportunities. They also upgraded the playground this year so our toddler loves it as much as we do. Great for biking, trails go one way all the way into "town" and the other way to a nearby lighthouse-which also has ship wreckage on the beach. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Wonderful campground with clean restrooms, wooded spacious campsites and great beach lake front sites. Great for rock hounding and nice sunsets. Staff was very friendly and helpful with local information. Poor cell phone reception. No one in our group could get a good connection, but a short distance to town for Wi-Fi and cell reception if that is important to you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
One of the oldest Michigan State Parks and one of the nicest. A hidden gem. The only sand dune on Lake Huron, nice beach, quiet, peaceful, just a really nice park. The only negative is the lack of cell service there (not the parks fault). TV is spotty but we managed to get the major networks. Dump station is easy access and fresh water is available there (fill on the way in). No real pull through sites but no real 'bears' either. 40 footers need to be mindful of their chosen site and make sure it will fit. New playground should be in place 2012 season. No waterfront sites but a few are water view. Internet at McDonalds about 8 miles away in Rogers City and laundry too. Be sure to visit Plath's meat market. Homemade hotdogs and sausages. Over all a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Campground is wonderful for family use. We've visited this park twice a year for the past three seasons. It's an extremely clean park with lots of mature trees. Most sites are well shaded. A lot of dirt sites vs. grass but there is plenty of green all around. There are paved biked trails leaving the park in both directions. One provides a nice trail to ride into Rogers City along the lake shore. The other is a ride worth taking...to Forty Mile Point lighthouse which also has an on-site gift/book shop. The sandy beach front is huge and includes two volleyball courts. This park has not had recent updates but it is quiet, has roomy sites and is very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is an older park that has some wonderful trees. Most sites are shaded and the trees offer some separation between sites. The location is as others have described. The bath house needs to be modernized but the staff cleans thoroughly. The road through the park is in rough shape - Michigan is in a budget crunch and things like re-paving are easy to put off. Overall, the park is a nice getaway and I would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is one of the most beautiful state parks in Michigan. The lots are large and many of them are quite private. There are many trees, walking trails, and bike trails. The beach on Lake Huron is beautiful and well maintained. We stayed here for a week and will return again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Nice park overall with a great beach. We had sites along the woods that border the water, which had a little view of Lake Huron, but I don't consider them waterfront. Saw some larger fifth wheels in the park but finding large sites for bigger rigs may be a problem on busier weekends. There's a nice path to the beach, which is sandy with very little rocky areas, especially considering it's Lake Huron, and of course the water is cold, but felt great as we had some warm weather. It would be nice if the state rebuilt the older bathroom in the north end to one of the modern shower houses other SP's have had built over recent years, as theres only three showers and there small and water pressure could be a problem at times, not sure how the other shower house was, but seemed fine on a previous visit in 2004. The bathrooms were kept pretty clean, considering the amount of rain we had. They have some nice programs for kids which seemed to be at least once a day sometimes two or three, except for the Monday we were there. As we can't transport firewood, we found a decent deal on firewood just a half mile north of the park on US23 at the second large sign for firewood, on the left side of the hwy. There's a nice paved trail that leads to Rogers City, but one section runs along the shoulder of US23 and I personally wouldn't want to ride that section with kids, but the rest of it is nice and runs along the lake. We really like the park and beach and would easily give it a 10 if the sites were a little roomier and the north bathroom had some of the nicer showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
This campground I've frequented for many years with my family. It is one of the most beautiful in the state of Michigan. It lies on the shore of Lake Huron with the beautiful "huron dunes" between the campground and the lake. It tends to remain relatively unpopulated except on summer weekends. The facilities are first rate. As we usually tent camp here, I can't tell you first hand about RVing at this camp, however there are plenty of motorhomes found here offering testimony to it being RV friendly. The beach is long and uncrowded (albeit a little rocky) and our only complaint was the sand flies can be rabid at times. The campground is shaded and most sites are level. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com