219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Fool Hollow Lake Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 66 user reviews. Phone: (928) 537-3680
CGID3557

Fool Hollow Lake Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   8   9   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We recently stayed here for 5 nights in a 36' 5th wheel. Here's the pros: Very pretty area, easy to find, many sites had views of the water, restrooms were very clean and centrally located. There were kayaks and rentals available to rent, although we didn't use them. Here's the cons: It can be hard to navigate and park for larger rigs, as many of the sites had large boulders/rocks next to the roads and driveways, which made backing into the sites more challenging. If you have a larger rig, be careful on the sites you pick out and they aren't very easy to get into. Tip: Also be careful if you have AT&T for your cell phone provider, as it looks like you have cell phone service there but you are "off network" so you may incur additional charges or go over your "off network" allotted usage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We made reservations about 9 months in advance for site Mallard 09. This is the best spot in the park for full 50 amp service. The view was fantastic with no campsites in front of our door or out the back to block this great view of the lake and surrounding forest. The site was level, although I did have to drop the front of my fifth wheel to get it level once I unhooked. Water pressure was great. We only could get one TV channel but that is no big deal. The fishing for trout was great as they had just stocked the lake. We caught our limit each day we fished. We had a great fish fry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Stayed here for a couple days beginning in May with nice days cool nights. Some sites offer lake views. Walking path around lake. Fishing piers, dog friendly, really friendly staff. Crisp clear air. Will be back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
We stayed during the slow season, so only one loop was open. There was only one or two others camping there, but they placed us right next to another rig. Had to drive back 5 miles to the office to get another site assigned. Otherwise, nice paved sites, shaded. It was icy here in January. The lake was OK, not that impressive. Close enough to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This State Park is a typical State Park, but really it is a Gem! Nice layout, paved and concrete roads and sites. Ranger was friendly and helpful. Sites are long, pretty level left-right but sloping towards the back, not a problem. Enough space for slide out and awning. Table, grill & fireplace at site. Hookups are standard and working. Verizon had a good signal, Virgin mobile didn't. Restrooms are shower, toilet & basin in 1 room, tiled and clean. Some sites are more in the trees and might be more difficult for satellite signal. We were staying at 2 different sites and had a sat signal at both. Beautiful trail along the lake with benches and docks for boats. We really liked it, can recommend it and would return if again in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Very scenic park. Our site in the Cinnamon Teal Loop overlooked the lakes and steep bluffs. We originally were going to stay in Redhead loop site #5, but site was not level enough for our CLass A. There is no park Wi-Fi, but Verizon 4G LTE was very strong. Using the shower in the combo bathroom/shower stalls tended to get the entire floor wet, but facilities were clean. We left a day early because fall nights got very cold (20s) as the park is at 6300 feet. The nearby Safeway store in Show Low is a great grocery store with a surprising wine selection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Superb park. Nice full hookup sites, great amenities (even ice and a book swap at the campground loops!), scenic setting. Kayak and canoe rentals available, or you can take your own boat on the lake as long as the motor is 10 hp or less. Nice walking trails too. As others have said, don't follow your GPS to get here! Follow the signs on the road only. This is a popular park so reservations are a good idea in season, especially weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Fool Hollow sets the bar high for all the rest. If you don't enjoy this "gem", you don't enjoy "camping". Sites are level, concrete, excellent hookups and while the park is huge, you feel secluded and lost in the forest of pines surrounding you. Very clean facilities and helpful staff. I almost hate to tell the world about this place because we plan to come back again and again and again. The only negative is they only let you stay for 15 days. But that means we will always be able to get a spot when we return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Beautiful park. Sites are well spaced so plenty of room. Lake is good for fishing. Walking trail around most of lake is great exercise. Our site was high up overlooking lake. Camp hosts keep the park clean and well-patrolled. Entrance gate to park closed after 10pm. Because it is a joint venture between the state and the Federal government all facilities are clean and modern. Stayed four nights. Would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
This campground is FANTASTIC! It is spotless - all of it. The restrooms have private rooms with shower, toilet, sink, etc. The roads in and around are all paved, as well as the campsites. There are fire rings, some barbeques, full hook ups on Mallard loop and Redhead loop. Close to town. The Ranger and his wife were wonderful folks. I have never been to a nicer campground. The area it's in is just so peaceful. Please check it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is a wonderful park. The utilities are underground and the streets and pads are all concrete. Everything is really clean. The staff is very friendly. We asked if we could let our dog go swimming in the lake and the answer was 'yes'. The only thing that is negative is our GPS took us down a residential street and we had difficulty turning around. Just beware, don't go down 22nd Ave., set your GPS to 1500 Fools Hollow Road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Nice state park, but kind of expensive for what it offers. Lake level was very low. They only had 1 loop open due to the snow, which is also why we did not try the restrooms or showers. Getting to the park was very deceptive as you have to drive through a housing development to get there. Would stay again but hopefully, when it is warmer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This was our second time staying at this beautiful park, which is probably the best maintained state park we've ever stayed at (and we've been to a LOT). Lovely sites, nice trails to walk, and a very peaceful setting. A bonus for travelers with dogs is a great city park not too far away: The Deuce of Dogs Bark Park. My only beef is the $5 reservation fee, which we got tricked into incurring during the off season because we mistakenly thought that the park was nearly full when, in reality, lots of loops were closed already. We learned our lesson. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
I hardly ever rate a site as 10: but this is one of them. Paved roads, paved sites, lake view; absolutely gorgeous. You can't ask for more. It is Arizona mountains at their best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Fool Hollow Lake is in a pine forest, shaded areas between trees deep in pine needles, intriguing rock cliffs, opportunities for fishing, hiking, rock climbing. We sat around the campfire in the evening and watched the birds. The sites are well separated if you aren't sharing a double site; we could not see our neighbors. Our site was immaculate - the gravel area around the fire pit had been raked carefully. If you are moving between Phoenix and Santa Fe, you should stop off here. In mid April, non-weekend, the park was mostly empty. Many of the sites are double, two sites offset along one driveway; perfect if you're with a group, or if as in our case the other site is empty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This campground is a state park, which recently started accepting reservations. We were so excited. The campground includes fishing, tent sites, hiking trails, small engine boating and much more. Streets are wide, allowing easy back-in. Spaces are large, level and surrounded by trees. Some sites have a great view of the lake. Camp hosts were friendly and park was very clean. Please view their website for more details and local attractions. We visit this park yearly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Second time I have been here and both times were good. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. It is about 2 or 3 miles to town. It is very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
This is a nice park. Unusual arrangement of sites. We stayed in a dual site where another RV was right beside us but back behind us out of the way. Sites are concrete. Shore services were in the back so you need a long water hose and sewer hose. Not all sites are like this. We stayed in the Mallard area. Good combined shower/restrooms. They need better directions to sites. Also do not try to drive north on 22nd street to the park. It has been close off near the park. Go further to the new park entrance sign and turn north. They only take Reservations now. Be sure to call in and get one before you go there. Many weekends are taken in advance. I will try to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Excellent AZ State campground that is very well maintained and family friendly. The Park Rangers and Park Hosts were extremely professional and helpful. We stayed on Mallard Loop and with the exception of only one group of campers everybody else was quiet, friendly, and respectful. Super Wal-Mart is only 5 miles away (be careful of the traffic cameras). Be prepared for serious down shifting and 25mph cutbacks if you are traveling through Globe to Show Low (we came back through Phoenix in order to avoid this route). This was our first visit to this park and we are already planning our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is a magnificent park. I agree with the previous reviewers about beauty, cleanliness, and well maintained, with one exception. The sites are flat but not necessarily level. Be prepared to use blocks or have your jacks go to nearly full extension on one end. I would have given the park a 10 but our 30 amp site did not have steady voltage. It varied from 100 to 120 volts and tripped our GFI breaker at least twice. Maybe the 50 amp sites are stronger. We have been there twice and will definitely stay there again. We prefer the Redhead loop since the sites are further apart and we like the many trees. We especially like the new, online reservation system. We used it on the first day it was available and got wonderful next door sites for us and our daughter's family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This is a beautiful campground. All the sites are large and concrete with plenty of space between sites. The rangers are helpful and friendly and the campground is exceptionally clean. We were able to get Verizon service. We choose a site on the higher end of the campground so that we could set up our satellite. Many of the sites are in the trees. There are three campground loops. We stayed in the only open loop..Red Head in site 16. There are many double sites in all four of the loops. Ruddy Duck loop and Cinnamon Teal are more open with fewer trees. Mallard Loop is very forested. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground is very well-maintained. The scenery is very nice. Many of the hook-up sites(water and electric) are overlooking the lake. The bathrooms are individual, with one shower and one toilet each, and are kept very clean. There is no general store, but ice and firewood are available for purchase. The lake is beautiful, and we enjoyed it for fishing and swimming. Sites are paved, but many are double spots with your neighbor staggered with your space. We would definitely come back here again. Hook-up sites include fire ring an picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We really enjoyed staying here. Spaces were level with plenty of room in between the sites. Park has a nice hiking trail around the lake and the park is located close to grocery stores, restaurants, and in-town activites. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have camped here several times and have enjoyed the stay. This time of the year the park is very busy and as a result the electricity is under heavy load. We were having problems with low voltage in the range of 103 to 108 volts. This can be a problem for those in motor homes and trailer/fifth wheels causing some systems to be damaged or nonfunctional. The park has cement roads and sites with plenty of room. They include fire pit, picnic table and a nice size cement pad for stretching out. I selected the showers and restrooms as being clean but that can vary depending on time of day depending of the type of activity, the floors can get a bit muddy. The volunteers and park rangers are all friendly and helpful. The lake is stocked with fish and up to 10hp motors are allowed. I mostly saw row boats and canoes. There are several presentations and walking tours weekly. Other than the electrical problems we experienced this trip, we always enjoy the serenity of this park and the scenery at 6300 ft. The nearby towns of Show Low and Lakeside/Pine Top include many good places to eat and things to do. There is a nice casino with a hotel called Hon Da at Pine Top. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is one of our favorite state parks: we had site #7 this visit. Our only concern is that since the park does not take reservations, you take pot luck and some of the sites can be hard to back into. (We have a 35 footer.) Some sites do not have sewer hookups but there is a dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This was an excellent park. We stayed in the Redhead loop at site 13. We had an excellent view of the lake and our site was deep and level. We had easy access to go fishing. The water pressure was very high at the shower facilities, and we had hot water. We stayed during the Memorial Day weekend and never felt like there were too many people around. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
What a beautiful park for RVers! This is a mountain region with lots of gorgeous pines throughout the park and around the sites. All roads in and around this state park are paved with all sites being concrete pads and mostly level. There are lots of places to walk, bike and fish here. It has full hookups with some 50amp service sites. We chose a site in the Red Head Loop with 30amp service because the 50amps were taken and that worked out just fine. If planning to use a satellite mounted on top of a motorhome, one must be site selective. About the only thing this park does not have is WiFi access. Our Verizon cell phones worked just fine here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is an impressive, scenic campground. We paid at the entry booth and received the camping permit. They did not assign us a specific spot. We drove around, picked our site, and posted our permit. We stayed in site #19 in the Cinnamon Teal Loop. This is on a bluff where we had a perfect view of the lake. We were surrounded by trees, but the overhead shade was over our fire pit area, behind us. We recommend this site. If you’re interested in sites where towering pines provide shade, check out the Mallard and Redhead loops. The loops and sites are all cement with varying degrees of incline. Our site was level. Each site has a fire ring/grill combo and a picnic table. This park has a number of double sites that are adjacent to each other, with one set back from the other. Non-hookup sites are the cheapest. We paid $30 for a W/E site. They also have FHU sites that include sewer, and these are $30. Near one of the campground hosts were a book exchange bin and an area to buy bags of ice. The shower buildings had private restroom/shower areas with their own outside door. Within our party, some said the water was hot, and some said it was lacking. The showers have a water saving feature. You push a button and get 10 seconds of spray. Repeat as necessary. The park has a trail that goes part way around the lake. We saw plenty of birds including blue heron and baby geese. We will definitely be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This Arizona State Recreational Area has four RV loops. Each loop has attractive open pine forest sites and some are close to the lake. During our mid-week stay the Ruddy Duck Loop and Cinnamon Teal loops were closed. The sites in those loops appear to be the best. Campground access roads are concrete and the RV site parking is concrete. The only pull through site was occupied by a campground host. Each site has full hook-ups and the 30 amp was sufficient for us. Many are double sites. The sites are shaded by pine trees with plenty of space and well away from the neighbors, if any. The pine trees blocked our ability to get satellite TV. There are lit concrete walkways to the restrooms. A great place to spend a couple of days during the weekdays. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Another nice state park. The ride over through Salt Canyon was spectacular and would make a nice day trip from the park. We did a day trip to the Petrified forest national Park. Fool Hollow is on a nice lake with walking paths around it. Lots of wildlife to see too. The place was super clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The town of Show Low was very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Very pretty park, if you can find it. Set in big pine trees, with some gorgeous lake views. It's a few miles to town. Sites are well spread out, with picnic tables at each; full hook ups include sewer! A rarity in state parks. We have stayed here several times, always enjoyed it, and would have given a rating of 9, but $30 per night is just too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
Nice big campsites with lots of room between neighbors. Rate reflects no hook-ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
This is a very nice recreation area. The campsites are top notch! I would have given a "10" if 50amp was available. The sites are paved, level, and easy to back into. The park is beautiful and worthy of several days of exploring. Bring your hiking boots, boat, bike and any other toy you have. Plan on a fun time in Show Low too! The rates are going up to $30 a night starting April 1, 2010. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a very nice state park. Very few of the sites would accommodate our rig, but this place was built when 30 feet was large. Only get one TV station. Only a few are pull through. If you want to totally get away, it is nice. Close to town, a Safeway grocery store, a Super K-Mart, no Wal-Mart. There are lots of places to eat. Fees going to $30 on April 1st 2010. Its a nice place for a overnight, that is quiet and dark. I would not want to stay longer than a night unless I had friends or other or business close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This has been one of our favorite campgrounds, but things are slipping. This winter the Red Head loop is open and the Mallard loop is closed. Red Head sites are 30AMP. Mallard loop has 50AMP sites. On previous trips the maintenance has been excellent. This time we've found beer bottles and trash on our site. There are trash cans near every site, but they haven't been emptied in at least a week. Dogs have been running loose, despite the leash rule and of course that means the pet owner isn't picking up after his dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
If all campgrounds were this nice we probably wouldn't need this website. Clean bathrooms, easy in & out, lots of lake access, full hookups, lake water was clean, level cement pads, good satellite connection, nice distance between camp sites, well maintained walking/bicycle path, great kayaking. Camp host & park rangers were all very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very nice state park located in Show Low, AZ. Park roads and sites are paved with concrete patio and large table. Most sites have lake views and are located just a minute or two walk away from lake. One of the best places to stay in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Very nice park. Big rig friendly. Nice showers. Close to restaurants in Show Low. Well laid out and maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
A rare 10. In fact, had wifi and reservations been available we would rate this lovely place a 12! This is near everything we appreciate in a State park with roomy level sites using concrete pads, well-positioned hookups, spotless restrooms that have toilet, sink and shower in separate private rooms. Tall Ponderosa pines provide shade and that great forest fragrance and an abundance of hiking trails offer interesting strolls in an area that had an amazing amount of bird life. Again, the biggest downside is that the AZ system does not permit reservations and we would guess that it is darn near impossible to get in during the peak periods. But definitely worth the effort as this is a winner! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Great park. It'd be a 10 if reservations were possible and AT&T coverage were better (neither phone nor Internet strong enough). We arrived at 3:45 on a gorgeous Saturday spring afternoon and lucked out. Ranger said park was 75% full (although it looked more like 90% full as we drove around) and we snared a very nice spot. Tons of room all around; great picnic table, patio and firepit; full hookups! Park was built in 1994, so it's in really great shape. We found the ranger's directions + map + signs to be all we needed to easily navigate the park (and the brown state park signs--not GPS--perfectly adequate for getting us here ;-). Lovely spot. Just arrive as early as you can. We had a few backup parks in mind (NFS land or heading down the road to Springerville), but are very happy we could stay here. The other options in the immediate area certainly did not have this park's natural beauty or appeal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This is a lovely park on a small brown lake. I would stay here again, but be aware that it is not big rig friendly. They have a tiny sign pointing to the RV camping section and if you miss it, you end up on the boat ramp. I mentioned it to the camp host, and he said that he had heard the same complaint a hundred time, but that the Ranger in charge refused to put up a bigger sign. My Garmin Navigator did not want to take me down the entrance road, so look on a paper map for the entrance. Otherwise a really nicely laid out RV park and probably hard as hell to get reservations when the weather gets nice. 30 amp only and very poor AT&T data card reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
This is a lovely state park campground and we were surprised it had showers which were very good. Very level concrete sites with table and fire ring. Do take care however, our GPS guided us to completely the wrong place which ended in a dead end and us having to detach our jeep which we were towing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Previous reviews have been spot on. It is a beautiful campground. The roads through the RV section are concrete as are the individual sites. Backing in is a little tricky, but not too terrible for in our motorhome (39'). Our site was very long, with room to park the Jeep and ample room to spare beyond. There are lots of trees, but they were not a problem for satellite reception from our site (Mallard Loop 13). The only drawbacks I noted were that they do not take reservations and two weeks is the maximum stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Great campground. I gave it only an 8 because we have a big 5th wheel and most sites aren't suitable for this type of rig. We tried backing into to three different site and the turns were too sharp to make without hitting trees. We eventually found a site we could back into, be we still ended up having to drive off the pavement, on the roadway not the spur, to park the rig. Also, almost all spur require you to backup to the right, which is your blind side. Other than that, it was a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This state park ranks as #3 in the nation and rightly so! You drive through suburban homes and suddenly you're in a forest. Many different camp loops with or without full hookups - your choice. Each site is in the woods and are so long they have doubles that are staggered with their own picnic outdoor areas and you don't even know they are next door. Views of the lake or river with trails, boat ramps for small motors, fishing docks and you still think you're alone. Top notch facilities, gorgeous views in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is the cat's meow!!! if it only had cable it would be perfect!!!! One of the best state parks we have ever stayed in!!! love, love, loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
A beautiful park in the cool mountain "fresh" air, with plenty of pine trees. There are nice cement roads and level sites. The Rangers were great and very helpful, along with all the site hosts. Everything was very clean, and all sites are cleaned and prepped prior to a new tenant. The lake is a decent size with limited boat horsepower, and new fishing docks made this trip an awesome experience. There are no reservations, it is first come only. And watch out for the skunks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
I wish I could say this CG was terrible, and then have it all to myself, but I won't. Probably one of the nicest parks we have been to. The Rangers were great, as well as the hosts, especially in the Mallard Loop. We didn't use the shower/bathroom 'suites', but I did see that they were spotless. Sites varies in size, but the one we had fit our TV/Fiver and boat, with room for visitors. We did have a double site and shared with some great neighbors, with still enough privacy to spare. VERY clean park and close to the lake. Up in the mountains with pine trees and some unexpected guests (skunks), very quiet and friendly atmosphere. Open year round and a great place to get out of the Valley heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
What a find. No pull through's but relative easy back in's. Most sites are long, all cement with a cement patio and table plus a fire pit and grill. Some sites are pretty open but not real close and some sites are real private. One drawback or plus is no reservations, first come first served. Don't forget the bug spray like we did. Because of the lake the skitters get a little hungry twice a day. Rangers and staff were all great. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The location is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. There are four RV camping loops and several areas for tents. All sites are close walking distance to the lake and a number of them have great lake views. There are a couple of negatives. They do not have 50 amp service except for in a couple of spots, which don't have sewer access. We have difficulty with 30 amp service in the summertime in a motorhome as it is insufficient to effectively run the A/C. Also, they have a number of spots set up as doubles that are right up next to each other, which is great for extended families, etc., but not great if you are here solo and end up in one of these double spots with a stranger. The other negative is that they don't take reservations. This can be an issue in that you set out in the morning not sure if you will get in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is our third consecutive year at Fool Hollow. We intentionally visit there before Memorial Day or after Labor Day to avoid the crowds from Phoenix in between these dates. The Price has risen from $20 to $25 per day full hookup as of 1 April this year, but it's still worth it. Bath room (actually suits) are immaculately cleaned 3 times a day. Camp Hosts are friendly, helpful and attentive. We WILL return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is an absolutely beautiful State Park. It is in the tall pines with lots of space between sites and is always quiet and peaceful. We stayed a week and would probably stay forever if we could. Maybe some day soon. The trees may interfere with satellite TV but there are some sites that are not obstructed. We spent the week relaxing and geocaching. What a great place! We will be back, often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
All sites are back-ins. We were there at the tail end of their winter season (end of March), when they had only two of the four loops for RVs open. The park did not fill up, even on the weekend. Almost all the sites in the two open loops were 30 amp full hookups, although one full hookup site (Mallard-9) was 50 amps. The two loops that were closed had very few sewer sites, and many of those were double sites, so you would have another rig parked at either your right front or left rear corner. A few of those non-sewer sites had 50-amp power. Almost all the RV sites are very long. Interior roads are excellent, and all RV sites are large concrete pads. Our 30-amp site had low voltage whenever there was a load; our Autoformer was on much of the time. There are three tent loops that have terrific sites. There is a very nice gravel trail around most of the lake, although you cannot completely circumnavigate it. The tall pines did a great job of sheltering us from the wind on days where they were blowing 20-30 MPH. The restrooms were modern, immaculate, and large. Those with showers had their own toilet and sink. In the winter season, you can buy five nights (@$20/night) and get seven. At less than $15/night for full hookups in a pretty campground with large well-separated spaces, it doesn't get much better. They switched to their summer rate of $25 with no weekly discount on April 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Signage to campground OK. Good state park campground. Access roads were wide, paved and well maintained. All sites are back-ins, have concrete pads and are in pine trees. Easy access for big rigs. Services are located in good position for easy hook-up. Full hook-up but electric only 30 amp and variable. Water pressure good. Lovely location next to lake and convenient to town facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
All concrete roads and spaces. The hosts are great. Very likely the best State Park in Arizona. Fires are allowed so smoke can be an issue, but most spaces are quite nicely spaced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
I love this campground. Nice views, space between campsites, great weather for getting away from Arizona heat. I got there on a Tuesday and got full hookups. Campground was completely full by Wednesday. Will come back to this campground anytime in the area. No reservation are available so come early in week to avoid all the Phoenix people trying to escape the heat on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is still a superb State Park campground. The grounds are maintained meticulously as are the facilities. We routinely camp BEFORE Memorial Day and AFTER Labor Day to avoid the crowds, but this time both of the weekends that were part or our stay, the CG was full. Still the staff kept up with everything. Clean bathrooms, clean streets, and never a trash overflow. This is a credit to AZ. Other parks in the state should take note. Will return this fall, AFTER Labor Day. :) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Love this park. Nice facilities. Fishing docks, hiking trail goes along the lake. Very peaceful and scenic. Verizon Wireless worked excellent here. Great picnic tables and fire rings. We had a back in site with water and 30 amp electric. Cool nights and warm days. If you like to relax, this is the place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Very well maintained park and we enjoy coming up here in the summers. The only downfall is the first come first serve process. If you don't leave on Thursday, forget obtaining a full hookup site. Otherwise, we would recommend this to anyone deciding to visit Show Low. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This is probably the best State Park in Arizona and that's saying something. The full hookup sites were $20. A night but we were here late in the year so got 7 days for the price of 5 making the cost less than $15 a day for a beautiful and peaceful park. 30 amp power but we love this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is a great State Park. Some of the loops had sewer and some did not. Many sites are double sites. A double site is double wide, but both sides back in to the site. The rig on the right side has its power on the wrong side of the rig at the very back. As our power connection is at the back this was no problem for us, but if your power is more mid vehicle then you may need an extension. The left side of the site is usually much deeper so the rigs are not side by side. Many of the sites, both single and double, are large. The roads are concrete and the sites are concrete. The lake is all around the RV loops so many sites are near the water. This is a good base for the Show Low area, fishing or just a nice quite place to relax. I'd give it a ten except for the double sites. One problem is that it is very popular so don't arrive friday night in season expecting to get a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This was our Maiden Voyage with our new 5'er and we were exceptionally pleased. For a state operated facility this campgroud is superlative. Sites are large and widely spaced. There is no attempt to maximized utilization. Sites are level and easily accessable for even the largest rigs. Some sites a doubles to allow small groups to share a single site with individual hookups, no sharing necessary. The lake is beautiful and several sites are right on the lake. Fishing was good. We will be eating smoked trout for some time. The privacy, and quiet was just the thing for the week we spent there. The CG was sparsely populated while we were there, but we chose this on purpose. The CG is reportedly very busy while school is out during the summer. It is only about 2 hours from Phoenix and the high altitude is a welcome relief from Phoenix's 110+ degree summers. Each loop has excellent, well maintained bathroom suites (I.E Private toilet, sink, and shower). Off site you must try Charlie Clarks Steakhouse in Pinetop about 15 miles away. Superb menu including wild game, venison, buffalo, quail and walleye. We are already planning a return trip to this CG after Labor Day and the kids go back to school. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
We were pleasantly surprised. Having experienced poor California State Parks, we somewhat expected the same. But Arizona has done a nice job and all for $20.00. We had a view of the lake, it wasn't crowded, the roads to the rv sites were nice and our site was a very large cement pad. We would definitely stay here again. We stayed here in a 36' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$10
Outstanding in every way. Very clean and private restrooms with private showers. Even sites with great views, many on Lakefront. Nice fishing and canoeing and beautiful trails. Very quiet. Probably the best site on our long AZ/NM trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Very peaceful, beautiful setting. We had a back-in site that overlooked the lake. Nice paved area with wide paving around the fire pit. Bathrooms were very clean and we liked the private style with shower and sink in one room. We're not into telephone/internet/cable, so no points off for not having those hookups. Highly recommended for a quiet get away. One of our top 5 favorites in 16 states so far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Many shady sites with lots of room, some sites accommodate two rigs. Concrete pads, mostly level with plenty of space between sites. Exceptional for a state park. Lakeside walking paths. Area abounds with waterfowl. Fishing appears to good though we don't fish. Maximum 10hp motors allowed on boats. Each loop has friendly hosts and Rangers are on site. We were told that the park is very crowded during summer months. Elevation of 6500' makes this ideal for the Phoenix/Tucson folks. Perfect place for laid back shoulder season travel. We travel with 3 dogs and they loved the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com