223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Anthony Chabot Regional Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (510) 562-2267
CGID3563

Anthony Chabot Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   8   2   8   9   5   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This is a terrific campground for smaller rigs - large ones (especially trailers) will have a hard time getting into most of the sites. The road to the 12 RV sites is narrow, many trees and a steep drop-off. If you have a large rig, sites 1 - 6 are good, but others will be difficult to impossible. The park is about 7 miles from Castro Valley - winding road through the Oakland Hills. Drive carefully and watch for bicycles and motorcycles. Park is very quiet, good views, lots of birds, hiking trails. We love it! If you have little kids looking for playgrounds and swimming pools, this probably isn't for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
When you look up this park's website, they talk about it overlooking Lake Chabot, but from the RV sites, we didn't see any water. The 12 RV sites are at the top of a hill and only 2 are drive through. The pads are paved, but not necessarily level. I didn't see a shower in the bathroom but I didn't look very hard for one. The one ladies room toilet was partially outdoors and one night when I went in, there were little paw prints on and in the toilet from some little critter looking for water. The only activity you could participate in from the RV sites (without another vehicle) is hiking. The rate above didn't include our two dogs (another $2 each for each night) or the rental car that we got our second day there. That cost us another $8 a day to park it there. So hidden costs made it more like $44 a day. Their breakers tripped on our rig every time I tried to plug in our 30 amp system. They sent someone immediately after we reported it, but the people they sent said it was us and there was nothing wrong. I asked to move to a different site, but all 12 were rented. There was a sign at the entrance about not using generators so we were really stuck. We did string a couple of power strips together out the window to plug into the 20 amps for our coffee maker and toaster. (Now we have a heavy duty extension cord but we didn't when we got there.) When we tried the full rig on 20 amp with an adapter, that also tripped the breaker. Over the next 3 days I talked to 3 different repair people who said it was not us, it was them. I reported that when a worker stopped to tell us to unplug as they were working on the electric but no one checked further. At that time (our 2nd night) they said we could run our generator which we did for a while. We ended up having to run our generator for a while each of the remaining nights to keep our battery up for our lights. Luckily, it wasn't hot there. We were on a 24 day trip and this was the only place where we had trouble plugging in. I talked to another RV repair guy about a week later and he said breakers on a service are like surge protectors, they wear out over time when they are tripped and eventually they break. I think that is what happened here, but no one would check it our any further. Perhaps, if the next campers there had trouble they did. I sure hope so. If you like hiking, quiet and not many RVs around you, this is a nice park. It is quite a drive to get to it though. And there is a gun range nearby that is open Friday - Monday so if your dogs are gun-shy, I wouldn't recommend it. This is about the only RV park in the Oakland area but I probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Basic campsite in the woods east of San Francisco. Very nice sites with a lot of space in this Regional Park. Very limited /no facilities close to the RV site. No mobile phone service and no WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
A nice park and a good place to relax. Would stay here again. The shooting range in the vicinity is the only thing that is a bit disturbing. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is a beautiful park and a nice setting convenient to visiting the SF Bay Area. However a camp site and 1 car for $30 per night is a misnomer, because the park system counts motors. If I'm driving a MH Towing a car. I have to pay $8 per night for an extra vehicle. $38 per night without the extra amenities like Wi-Fi and Cable TV is expensive. Bring your 5er, tent, or pop up, and have a nice stay. We won't be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Rate includes full hook-up + $2/day dog fee. Beautiful location with 12 full hook-up sites (one of them is ADA only). Gate is locked at 10 PM and it is a long walk, 2.2 miles, to the campground. Currently the park is only open from Friday, 2 PM, to Sunday, noon - it should be open all week long after April 2012. I agree with the previous reviewer that this is a tough campground to drive to, especially if you have a big RV. Luckily, our trailer is only 21' and we had no problems with height or backing in but we had to be careful driving through the camp loops due to narrow roads. Sites are paved and somewhat unlevel; utilities are good. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Excellent campground. We stayed at a full hookup site. The campground was rustic, many tall trees, wandering wild turkeys. We didn't notice the shooting range. Our particular site (#5) faced an open area so it felt very spacious. On this trip, Oakland, Russian River, Clear Lake, and Pismo Coast, this was by far our favorite site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
This is a decent campground and fairly rustic looking. It features trees, tall grass and dirt. The sites are a decent size. Only 12 of the sites are full hook up (1 through 12) the rest are dry camping. Some of the sites (8-12) are thickly wooded so satellite reception would be difficult. Cell signal is present but sketchy. The states budget woes are evident on the way to the campground. The Redwood highway is badly overgrown with large trees growing into the road from the sides and over hanging the top. Redwood highway is a twisty two lane highway with lots of blind corners, and is 6 miles long to the campground. I had to navigate down the middle of the road in several areas to avoid serious damage to the Motor home, a dangerous situation. I still wound up destroying a WiFi antenna on the roof due to overhanging branches. The $36 dollar price per night reflects a $6 charge per night for your towed vehicle to enter and stay at the park. Dogs are also charged at $2 per day, each. So actually we paid $38 per night, not the $30 advertised price on the web site. Water pressure is low, about 25-30 pounds. Sites are paved but narrow. The view of the valley is nice, but mostly obscured by thick trees. I would not stay here again due to the road hazards getting to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We had never been to Northern California with the trailer before, and this was the greatest trip ever. There is a shooting range onsite and it was not a bother at all. My dogs enjoyed it, my daughter enjoyed it, and so did my husband and I. We went to San Francisco one day and the Oakland Zoo on another. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This is a very nice campground set amongst huge eucalyptus trees. We stayed at site #8 which is one of the full hook up sites. Everything is very clean and tidy, the showers are just fine. In our opinion, one mayor downside to this campground is that the gate that is 2.5 miles from the campground shuts at 10 pm. you can get out, but you cannot get in (tire shredders stop you from coming in through the exit) We were hoping to enjoy a bit of the nightlife in the surrounding towns, but could not because of the gates closing at 10 pm. Although this is a very nice campground, we would not stay here again, but for anyone that does not mind the gates being locked at 10 pm, we would recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
I loved the campground here. It was a beautiful place and very outdoorsy. I would recommend this to every, and anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
This campground is 14 miles away from any amenities. A quiet woods setting with mostly back-in sites. Narrow access road but it's passable. I had a 30ft 5th Wheel in a pull through site (5) with no problems other than the weather. Due to rain and wind the park closed the morning after we arrived. No problem getting a refund for the remainder of our stay and the rangers were very helpful. If the weather had been better and we were not planning daily activities in town it would have been a 8-9 rating. A good park to get away from the city but not a good place to visit the bay area. We did have Verizon cell coverage but no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
This park was a very nice ‘surprise’ find for us. Not too far from all the area attractions, offers great walking trails, has water electric and sewer hook-ups, is well shaded and you will get plenty of high definition over the Air channels in your coach. The 6 mile drive to either side of civilization is a bit windy but tolerable for once a day travels into the bay area. It is a tight drive in the full hook-up area of the park but we managed by taking our time. The sites vary greatly as so you may want to change once you get there pretty level where you put your RV but can drop off just a few feet away. Our 3-stair entry was almost 2 feet off the ground and the hook ups at our site (#7) and the hook up pedestals didn’t allow much room to maneuver further away from the drop-off. We will definitely stay again but will try to reserve sites 1-5 or 9-12. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a nice wooded area in the eucalyptus covered hills above Lake Chabot. The park is reasonably convenient to most Bay Area attractions by way of the BART Train which has a station about 8 miles from the campsites. Wildlife: deer, turkey and an abundance of birds was readily seen. The restrooms and showers are older and a bit primitive but clean and fully functional. Hookups worked just fine. In season, yellowjackets can be a pest. Staff was polite and friendly. There are good hiking trails and excellent biking opportunities. Sites vary significantly in size and levelness but nothing too difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
This is a really nice regional park in the Oakland hills. I camped on a Monday and Tuesday night and it was practically empty, however one of the rangers said it's almost totally full on weekends now. I had one of the more remote full hookup sites, with 30 amp electric. The water pressure was a bit low, but not too bad. I agree that the roads are narrow with many sharp turns. I wouldn't recommend this park for large RVs. While it is generally quiet, there is some airplane noise from Oakland airport, but it's not bad. Didn't hear any noise from the firing range while I was there. Dog friendly park and pick up bags are provided at different locations in the park. There is a dog fee of two dollars/dog/night, but that's not outrageous. The park is well maintained by the rangers and maintenance crew, and it's well patrolled by the rangers and Tuesday night I saw a sheriff's patrol car drive through. I definitely intend to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
This park was very nice for a city park. The area was beautiful and green but it is April. The sites are ok, we were in a 5th wheel that was 31 feet and had issues. The roads are narrow, I mean inches, because of the trees along the road. The sites had tables and fire pit but the sites themselves were lump, we like our neighbor had to use all of our wood to come close to leveling out. The trails are nice the showers are hot and our kids had a fun time. You cant beat it for the price, we even went to the wharf which was about 45 minutes away if that. This is ideal for visiting all of the local bay area. So the good; bathrooms, showers, trees, trails, fishing, and the price. The bad; the roads are narrow, uneven sites, hard to get into some, recommend nothing longer than 31 feet, and poison oak everywhere! I read these to hear what other people think and thought this would be a good idea. It is a great place to be central and hike or fish. I would tell others to go here if they wanted to have a short get away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
An excellent public campground. 12 sites for RVs, which are separated from each other and also from the remaining 63 sites for tents and small trailers. RV sites have 30 amp electric (the reservations site only says 15 amp), water and sewer hookups, and a dump station at the entrance. Sites 1-4 are pretty close together, sites 5-12 are spaced further apart. Roads are a little tight but spaces are large. Good security with friendly rangers. There is easy access to hiking trails and the bike loop around Lake Chabot. A great location for a get-away close to the city but you wouldn't even know you're that close. 888-327-2757 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
OK, could use a little help. May come back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
We enjoyed the park a lot. It was quiet and fun. We did dry camp with our trailer. Please note if you have a bigger travel trailer or motor home try to get closer to the lake view. The other sites are very hard to get into, some of our fellow travelers had to switch campsites or run over curbs to park RVs. There is a nice shooting range and the drive to the lake is not bad. You can also hike to the lake. Great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
Nice regional park. A large number of hiking trails, and pleasantly shaded fishing spots make this a nice summer getaway. Some of the campsites have wonderful views overlooking the valleys around the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
The area with full hookups is located among giant Eucalytpus trees. Large camping area below for tents with some sites large enough for RV's, but no hookups. This would get you closer to the water than sites 1-12. Beautiful area to see and very quiet and peaceful at night. However, you will hear the marksmanship range in the distance during the day. Nice place, I would definitely come back here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
This is a county park located in Eucalytpus woods in a gorgeous area north of San Leandro. There are a few sites that are available for RV's in a larger campground. There are not a lot of amenities, but it is workable if necessary to stay in that area. Take Redmond Road and then go through the Marciel Gate to get to the campground. Both are very narrow and winding, but driveable - just take your time. NOT for motorhomes over 40 feet! Beautiful area to see and very quiet and peaceful. Only 30 amp power and water pressure is low. I filled my tank and used my water pump. GATE TO THE PARK IS LOCKED AT 10PM! 2 mile walk to campground if you are late. Make reservations! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com