214866 User submitted reviews online!!
James M. Robb-Colorado River State Park (Fruita Section) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (970) 434-3388
CGID3568

James M. Robb-Colorado River State Park (Fruita Section)

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   9   8   9   10   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
This is an amazing place to stay/camp, so it fills up quickly. The rate is $24/night with a $7/day park access fee bringing the total to $31/night. The view of the Colorado National Monument from our site was spectacular. We were in site 6. There are nice hiking paths along the Colorado river. You can also fist in the stocked lakes. Tenters also use the RV spots so this is why you have to book early if you want to get into the park; they take up RV spots. It is what it is - not complaining. Every spot has a fire pit, and they sell wood for $5/bundle. Every spot has a metal shelter with a picnic table under it, also metal. You can't extend your awning as a result, but this was not an issue for us. The hookups were all in excellent working order. There is no WIFI provided. You are just about 1/2 mile off the interstate, but this was not issue. I'm noise sensitive, and it didn't bother me. The campground was immaculately clean, and the grounds were in beautiful natural shape. They do run sprinklers daily but there are signs advising you of same. We would definitely stay here again planning way in advance because we had to leave sooner than we wanted because it is such a popular place - and for good reason. You are close to many amenities if you decide you don't want to stay in your rig all the time too. But why leave such a beautiful spot? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Very nice just like all Colorado State Parks. Pull through mostly and lots of room. Close to town and National PArk entrance. Great spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Very good choice for enjoying the fabulous Colorado National Monument and wineries of Grand Junction. Rate includes the $7 daily park entry fee. Note there is also a $10 charge to reserve online, but glad we did since it filled. Each roomy, well-spaced site has a picnic shelter and fire pit, and the camp host had wood for sale. Modern tile bathroom and laundry. This park is in town, so you get major channels TV reception from an antenna, and good AT&T cellular signals. Plenty of stores and services close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This was a beautiful state park campground, a little pricey, but worth it. It was clean and peaceful. We really liked the fact that it was so close to the Interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25+
Very clean, attractive park. Drive through, full hook up site was plenty long but very narrow between shrubs and ramada, not too much room. Level site. Black top drive and cement slab. Upon arrival, we were reminded there was a $7 daily use fee so our 10 day stay cost an additional $70. Bringing the 10 day total to $320. or $32./ day with no cable or wi-fi. Would only stay here again if no other parks were available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
Beautiful park very near the Colorado National Monument. We had water/electric but full hookups are available. $20 with CO Aspen Leaf pass (senior). Very nice, clean restrooms. There is a amphitheater on the campgrounds...concerts both nights we were there, attracting large crowds, though not a problem as we enjoyed the music. There is minimal shade in most sites. Campground is next to the main road to the National Monument so there is road noise, but that was not a problem for us. Very convenient location, within blocks of Fruita. The National Monument was fabulous, don't miss it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Nicest state park I have ever stayed in. Long paved RV site, was 93 ft, gravel, picnic area had covered patio table and an in laid fire pit. Unlike other state parks, lawns were manicured; camp hosts were out grooming gravel as soon as someone left. View of Colorado Monument was spectacular. Full hook up 50 amp was only available one night and was really needed due to 98 deg temp. Ranger allowed us to switch to open 50amp site although we had booked 30 and only charged us normal up charge difference from 30 to 50. Power and water pressure were excellent. Colorado River is on site as is a boat launch. We were here to see CO monument and it was so beautiful. Ate dinner in Grand Junction Ale Works just 10 mi. Grand Junction has all regular big box stores, and mall needed for supplies. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
This is a very nice State park. There are is some road and train noise. The $28 nightly fee doesn't include a $7 a day State fee. The site was paved but the patio was gravel. The water pressure was a little on the low side, about #25 at the rig. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Amazing staff, spotless facilities, lovely, paved campsites with full and partial hook ups, stocked fishing ponds, and great surrounding views truly make this park a shinning gem in high desert of Fruita, CO. This park is a mountain bikers paradise base camp that is close to the I-70 - and all the world famous Fruita trails!- yet still near the many conveniences of town but isolated just enough that you really get a chance to relax. Our two week stay wasn't long enough! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We have stayed here for one night driving through (this time) and also for a couple days to see the area two years ago. This is an excellent campground in every way and should be a model for others to follow. It is convenient to I-70, yet quiet. The spaces are huge, private, extremely clean and most all have a view of the Colorado State Monument. The restrooms, showers and laundry are all squeaky clean. There is a super playground if you have kids or grands with you. If that isn't enough it is pet friendly too.The $27 fee includes the $7 day pass for being a Colorado SP. Staying here while in Fruita is a no-brainer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Nice park on the west side of Grand Junction. Friendly and easy check-in. The site was very level and super clean with covered picnic table and fire ring/grill. Shrubs and small trees give privacy between the widely spaced sites. It is close to Colorado Monument and about 6 miles to Mesa Mall. Rate reflects Reserve America's outrageous reservation fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
What a beautiful surprise: a state campground that accommodates big rigs in most ways. The sites are plenty long but a bit narrow for popouts on each side on some of the pull-through sites. Everything is well maintained and they actually check and clean up your site before you pull in. They even have a clean and very reasonable laundry. Regarding the rate, they use Reserve America which adds $10 to the cost. If you're staying during the week there's a good chance you can drive up and get a full hook-up site for only $24 plus the $7 daily entrance fee. If you don't need sewer hookup, it's only $20 for a elec/water site. Call the campground directly and ask what your chances are of driving up and getting a site before calling the reservation number. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
This is one of our favorite parks in the West. We have been here four times, and each time we return, we have been delighted. The sites are spacious, widely spaced apart, and level. Most are pull-throughs and back-ins. Each has a shelter. The landscape is typical for the area and kind of scrubby but the grounds are extremely well kept and enhanced with plantings of lavender and other trees, shrubs and bushes. The park is on the Colorado River. The views of the Colorado National Monument are fabulous and we highly recommend the short drive to the Monument: which is a must see! The rangers are very friendly and helpful. Food shopping is just across the highway. We wish there were more parks like this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very nice campground right next to the Colorado river and the Colorado National Monument (make sure to take the rim drive). Campsites are large and well separated. Each site has a shade cover. The park is close to I-70 but I did not notice any significant road noise. If you are traveling through the Grand Junction area you can't beat this park. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Easy interstate access. Pull-through site was tight turn for our 40' coach. Had to drop toad to maneuver around. The campground is well laid out offering lots of privacy when sitting out. Enjoyed the covered picnic table. Unfortunately, the fire pit was not installed properly and thus unusable. I mentioned it to the workers but they did not seem to care. Just to make note: the e-coli levels are high in the lakes so you can not go into them, and I surely would not eat the fish. The campground is located right next to a sewer treatment plant. We did not smell sewer gas on our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Very nice CG with great amenities, utilities and setting. You can see part of the Colorado Nat'l Monument from the CG. Access is very easy and all roads are paved. The rangers are all very nice and helpful, as were the camp hosts. The location, Fruita/Grand Junction, is great with all the pros of city life and none of the cons. The Colorado River runs through the CG and there are several fishing lakes as well. The vineyards/orchards in Palisades, right down the road, are very well worth the ride. In Fruita there is a pizzeria, called Hot Tomatoes, that is an absolute MUST, especially is you're a pizza lover. Awesome! There's no Wi-Fi here, but our Verizon Mi-Fi worked well, as did the satellite due to very little tree coverage. It was over 100 degrees everyday but bearable due to the low humidity. The heat index was in the low 90's. Once again, kudos to the Colorado State Park system. BTW: we had a annual park pass on the coach, so they issued a free pass for the toad for the time we were here. You have to pay the entrance fees one way or the other, but I think they're well worth it as the daily camp fees are cheaper than commercial CG's anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a state park with a nice layout. Check in people were not friendly or helpful, but they got the job done. Park is right on Colorado River in the town of Fruita (home of the famous headless chicken--don't ask). There are some shaded sites. Satellite TV was good. MIFI was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Great spot. Next to the Colorado River. Lots of room in sites. Very close to town if you forgot something. Stayed 2 nights with kids in a tent. Nice pad for tent next to each RV site with a cover over the picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
Park itself was nice - level sites, modern facilities, good location for Colorado Monument, nice views, close to city services, friendly staff and fully functioning utilities. However, it was hot, and there was little shade for most full hook-up lake sites. Some of the inner sites had okay shade. Windy afternoons, so could not use awning for shade. Would be a good park during cooler weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Nice enough, good space, pull through. However, overpriced in my opinion. $20 plus $10 to make the reservation, then $7 each day for a car pass so the total was $37 with no sewer, no cable, no pool, no anything and just across the street is another RV park with full hookups, cable, pool, and spa for less money. State parks are becoming more expensive than private parks and offer less. Another small point was the car pass was required to be put on the passenger's side, but the booth was on the driver's side and the attendant could not see the pass. I asked why and was told because most parks have the attendant on the passenger side; it was required for all state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We found this to be a very pleasant state park, with large, level, pull-through, and clean full hook-up sites. There was good space between sites. Ours was parallel to a large pond with the river nearby. Although it is close to I-70, there was minimal road noise. Nearby aspens were not mature enough for shade, but there are shade structures over picnic tables on each site. Surely was nice to hear them quaking in the breeze. Downside to camping in CO state parks is the daily fee on top of the camping fee: an incredible $70 for an annual pass which, although useful for us who plan to camp a couple of weeks in their parks, annoying considering an annual National Park pass is only ten dollars more! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
The Fruita section has many pull-through sites that easily fit a big rig. The turn into the campground is the First Right that you come to as you join the road from the check-in booth (we saw many miss the turn). There is a fair sized parking area to turn around in if you miss the turn. Sites on the west side face the pond and have a nice view, but you do get the brunt of the afternoon sun. Sites are paved with a gravel tent pad. Picnic table has a covered area. Swim beach is closed due to bacteria. Nice playgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Very nice state park with spacious, level sites, each with a covered picnic table and fire pit. Very few tall shade trees. Modern and well maintained, with a small visitor center at the entrance. Showers cost $1.00 for 4 minutes, they looked nice. Clean laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dryers ($1.00 to wash, $1.50 to dry), all worked well. Good cell signal, and our aircard worked good. Within walking distance to a few fast food restaurants and an excellent Mexican Restaurant. Easy access off the highway, slight road noise but didn't bother me. Swimming area closed due to health issue. The rate is for a full hookup, and you will be charged an additional $6.00 per day for day use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Really nice campground and sites. Good distance between well laid out sites (we had a covered picnic table, flowering plants and close proximity to the lake). Close proximity to the Fruita town and Freeway. Sunrise and sunset are beautiful from this campground. There is a short trail along the river, but I didn't find it really scenic. Very clean restrooms/showers. Wish we didn't have to pay the $1 for 4 minutes of shower water but it was sufficient time. Really enjoyed staying here and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We have stayed at this State Park before and love it. The sites are very large with many pull-throughs as well as back-in. It's next to a river and has a small lake for fishing and swimming. Must pay a $6 State Park fee in addition to the camping fee but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The rate is $24 for the motorhome and $6 for the toad. Nice level cement pads and blacktop drives. Covered picnic table and fire pit. Can't see river from our site but it is within walking distance. Easy off I-70. Stayed 2 nights. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Probably the nicest non-commercial campground we have ever stayed in. Our site was level, full hookups, and 50 amp electric. Read the other reviews for other amenities. There are mosquitoes around, but that's the price you pay for being near water. Speaking of water, the swim beach was closed for some unexplained reason. There are nearby train tracks, but the trains run very infrequently, so the relatively close proximity to the tracks wasn't an issue. The primary incurable defect of the park is traffic noise from the nearby Interstate 70. Depending on the wind direction and wind speed, the traffic noise could be slight, to noisy and very annoying. The other issue for our site that faced East (site #4) was the late afternoon sun - our awning doesn't dip low enough to be very effective for this particular situation and the sun angle. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a perfect park. Huge sites, all paved, covered tables, fantastic views of the Colorado National Monument. A must see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This state park is conveniently located off the freeway right on the Colorado River. The small town of Fruita is about 1-1/2 miles away. Grand Junction is 8 miles away. The west entrance to the Colorado National Monument is 2 miles away. There is a train nearby, but for us the noise was not that intrusive and the trains did not run frequently. Each site has a picnic table, metal shade awning and firepit. All the sites are spacious and could accommodate almost any size RV. All the roads and sites are paved. We had a water and electric pull through. The pull throughs were very long but if we went back again, we would opt for a back-in site. One downside of the pull throughs is that the metal shade awning was built too close to the site apron and we could not bring out our awning. An awning is important in this campground since most of the sites do not have shade. Temperatures were near 100 when we camped here. The washers and driers were a little old but clean and reasonably priced. There is a book exchange. There are showers but there is a charge which I feel is a ripoff since, in addition to the campsite fee, you pay an day-use fee for everyday you are here. Our Verizon card and phone worked well here with Broadband access. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Clean restrooms, and nice area, but we had a difficult time getting stakes in the ground for a tent and you need bug spray being so close to the river. The price seemed a little high, and the showers were $1 for 4 minutes. We found the staff was extremely helpful and kind. We heard from some locals that swimming in the river wasn't a good idea, so we didn't attempt it. Convenient to grocery stores, McDonald's, and town, however the train that passes through the town is sure to wake you up!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is the best state campground we’ve ever stayed in and highly recommend it. It has a lot to offer. The campground is 10 years old and has full hookups with 50 amp. Each RV site is paved, long, has a concrete pad, gravel area with a metal canopy for shelter, 10 foot metal picnic table and a fire ring. Roads are paved and no problems navigating onto your site. The park has a pond and you have access to the Colorado River within the park. The price includes a $6.00 vehicle fee per day. The park even has laundry services. The only negative is there's no cable TV. Our Verizon cell phone and wireless internet card and satellite dish worked well. We visited Colorado National Monument and Grand Junction during our stay. Both are close by. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This was a great park. The charge is $25 for camp fees and $6 per car for park entrance. Hence the $31 charge. May charge double for motor-home and towed car. Very clean and facilities for hookups were very good shape. This place is usually pretty full so call ahead and make reservations recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a lovely state campground right on a lake. There is easy access to the interstate and close to the Colorado National Monument. Fruita is just minutes away from Grand Junction and its amenities. The campground is beautifully maintained and the sites are large and spaced far apart. The reason I have rated this campground so low is the additional daily charges that you have to pay over and above the camping fee(s). For each day you stay at this campground, you must pay $6 for your RV vehicle and $6 for your towed vehicle. We were being picked up by friends at the campground, and they were not allowed to come in unless they paid $6 entry fee. It was not the money but the principle that they would not bend the rules and simply allow a person in the campground to pick up or drop off a resident. The park staff woman in the office actually laughed and was very sarcastic, taking pleasure in our having to walk to and from our camp site. This could be difficult for those that have health problems and/or are elderly. We were embarrassed to say the least. We would not stay at this campground or any other Colorado State park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
This is definitely one of the nicer state parks anywhere, not just in Colorado. Views of the Colorado National Monument are fantastic. Sites are quite large, and have level cement pads, a gravel area with a picnic table and fire ring, and the table had a shelter over it. Temps now are in the mid 90s during the day, but cool to 55 overnight. We did not use or check out the showers as they are coin-operated. Shade trees are few and far between. Nightly rate for a full hook-up site is $22. There are also electric-only sites. There is a $6 per vehicle per day park fee in addition which can add up quickly. We bought the annual park pass instead. Early in the morning, with the windows open, the traffic on I-70 is audible, and there is an occasional train whistle at a distance. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Fabulous campsite close to highway, but with no traffic noise. We were in site 40 with an unobstructed view of the lake and spectacular sunsets, as well as great mountain views. This is a fairly new state park with spotless laundry and shower facilities. Good paved roads with level, pull through sites, each with a covered picnic table. The tent camping area was also great, with general parking and walk ways to the tent sites and plastic wheelbarrows to ferry your belongings to your camp area. Very open feel to this State Park, although not much shade. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Colorado has some great state parks, and this is one of them. Level concrete pads, full 50 amp hook-ups, acres of manicured grass, paved interior roads, and laundry facilities make this a great place to stay. Its proximity to town is both good and bad; we prefer to be more out in the country. It is quiet, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Big rig access for our 45' motorhome. Colorado National Monument is nearby. It was very windy the night were there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Beautiful park! Spacious sites, clean, nice views, on the Colorado River, just off I-70. Staff friendly and keeps the facilities in good shape. What's not to like? We'd camp here any time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Great state park, one of the best we have seen. Well laid out. Sites have a covered picnic table, place for a tent, and a fire ring. The sites and roads are paved and there is nice visitor service center. Maximum stay is 14 days. Reservations are recommended for the peak season. Only one gripe and that has been addressed before, both the motorhome and the towed vehicle are required to purchase a daily vehicle pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Very Good Experience! Very Clean, a lot of help giving directions. Helpful in every way. I wish they where open for longer than 2 weeks stay at a time. I highly recommend this State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
This is a beautiful and extremely well maintained park. The landscaping is tremendous. The sites are concrete and level with grill, fire rings and covered picnic tables. The roads are paved. If you have dogs this is a great campground for walking. We were in site #40 which was well situated as there were no other sites in front of us as we sat to look from the outside area. The Colorado River flows along the campground. The host we got to visit with was very friendly and had plenty of firewood. The park is very close to shopping and restaurants, in fact you could walk. It is also well situated to Colorado National Monument, The Arches (Moab, UT), Palisades. Fruita is a small town with grocery shopping, drug store, etc. Fiesta Guadalajara is a fine Mexican restaurant. Beware of the vehicle fees for state parks. One is charged for the RV as well as the tow car. We continued to use the passes we had purchased in Rifle. I-70 is very close, although not close enough to be a nuisance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This state park is near the town of Fruita and adjacent to the Colorado River. There is a small boating and fishing lake. The sites are large and level with picnic tables and shade structures. The fee structure is a little odd. We paid $18 for a site with water and electricity. If we had unhooked our toad it would have been an additional $8. Since we were just staying the night we left the toad hooked up. If you were towing a car and couldn't get a pull-through site and had to unhook to get into a back-in site, would you still have to pay the additional fee? I guess so - the park staff didn't seem very flexible on this issue. There is some traffic and other "city" noise here as the campground is not too far off the freeway and near an interchange with convenience stores, fast food places and such. It's a pretty nice campground and would make a good base for seeing Colorado National Monument and the Grand Mesa National Forest. It is certainly a less expensive alternative to the commercial RV parks in the area and prettier too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
The campground is clean and well laid out. We were charged 12 dollars per night just to enter the park ( 6 dollars for the motorhome and 6 dollars for the towed vehicle). We traveled for seven hours to get there and were too tired to find a different campground. If you need to use their showers they are pay also. Instead of the 22 dollars a day for the camp site, it really would cost an additional 16 dollars for a total of 38 dollars. We will not camp here or any other Colorado State Park. Its not because of the cost but because of the fact that we were not informed prior to our arrival. We also paid an 8 dollar reservation fee but no one told us about the extra costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
Very nice site. Wide roads and spaces, easy pull through or back in. Note that there is $6 per day per vehicle charge if you are not a Colorado State Parks member. Only thing I didn't like was the $1 charge for 4 minutes in the shower, plus 25 cents each additional minute. But they were clean and easily accessible. Nice laundry facilities. Quiet location, yet close to I70. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This is a nice campground, it deserves a 10 but it does not have the RV amenities. We chose a electric/water site, there are full hookup sites available. All the sites are pull thrus with covered tables and fire rings. The roads and sites are asphalt. There is a little lake which you can take a non power boat on and the Colorado River is next to the campground. Restrooms were clean, showers are a dollar for 4 minutes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Best designed campground I ever see. All the campgrounds should be designed this way. Most of the sites are pull-thru and have plenty of space between the sites. Table and bench are under the cover so eating outside in bad weather is not a problem. The campground is exceptionally clean and flat. We were there during peak season and campground still not full. No need to make reservation to save the $8 reservation fee. I didn't give it a 10 because it has no pool and the playground is too small and simple. They also charge $6 entry fee for each vehicle. If you tow, that's $12 extra. Wish all the campgrounds are like this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Nice new facilities and concrete pads. Plenty of space. Not too much shade, but great views of the Colorado National Monument - and you're in the best location to drive or bike the Rim Road. There was even a free concert in the park one night. You are near the Interstate, but it's quite quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
One of the few parks that I rate as a "10". The facilities were excellent, spacious and spotless with all the basic amenities one needs for a just a stop along the way or a longer stay to explore the Colorado National Monument. Must remember that an additional $6.00 Colorado parks pass is required along with the camping fee. Especially nice was all the room and places to walk the doggie. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We stopped over for one night, and very much enjoyed this state park. Plenty of space to walk our dogs, easy pull through access, level paved sites. Showers clean, with a charge of $.25/minute w/4 minute minimum, which was plenty. A slight inconvenience if you forget the quarters. I can imagine the park being packed in the high season. If you enter after hours, pay attention to the instructions. It will tell you which spaces are available. Having to use two payment envelopes ($22 for camping, $6 for access) was a bit inconvenient as well if you don't have the right change. River close by and small lake w/lots of waterfowl close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Signage to campground good. Usual State Park entrance so limited area to park and register. Access road to sites wide, paved and well maintained. Sites are spacious, well set up,with concrete pads and services in good position for easy hook-up. There is a mixture of pull-thrus and back in with half having full-hook ups, the rest are water and electricity. Mainly open aspect campground with great views of Colorado Monument and close to Colorado River. Excellent facilities but reserve ahead as very popular even in spring. Close to Colorado National Monument Park entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This was a very nice park, much preferable to the commercial campgrounds across the way. All facilities were excellent. The only thing that kept this from being a 10 was the silly Colorado rule that will not allow a camper to book for more than three nights without a reservation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Sites are well-spaced and each has a concrete pad, table and ramada. Many large pull-thrus. Many trees have been planted - will be shady in a few years. Very clean. Nice ponds and trails. Tenting area looked very nice - separated by trees and some on pond. Convenient to Colorado National Monument and I-70. Downside - had to purchase additional $5.00/day park pass which made nightly fee $31. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
I concur with the comments about how nice the campground is, but the pricing structure will cause me to avoid it in the future. The listed rate was $16/night for our W/E site, but we had to pay an additional $5 for the motorhome itself, plus another $5 for our toad, making the total $26 for our site. If we had been in a truck pulling a trailer, it would have been $5 extra for the truck and nothing extra for the trailer itself, for a total of $21 for the same number of rolling items and living units that come into the park. This was not indicated anywhere on the website and amounted to more than a 50% increase over the listed rate. Also, showers are coin-operated, if that enters into your decision whether to pay extra for a site with a sewer hookup ($4 more). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Exceptionally clean and spacious campsites. Easy access from I70. Plenty of room for larger rigs. Great location for visiting Grand Junction and surrounding areas. Access to the Colorado River for rafting etc. Small lake for fishing and swimming. Very friendly staff. I wish all state park camping facilities were like this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we ever stayed at. Each RV site (44 of them) had a concrete pad, patio, gravel area with picnic table (a nice one) and a ramada. Water was excellent. There was a lake and the Colorado River right there. FHU sites have 50 amp service. WE sites have 30 amp. The roads were all paved and all the areas were surrounded with manicured lawns. Also, a very quality playground area. Tent sites separate from RV sites. A lot of space between sites. No parking lot feel at all. Restrooms were top of the line-much nicer than most private parks. If ever in Grand Junction area, you must stay here. Within 5 minutes of Colorado National Monument also. FHU $20/nite, WE $16/nite We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Extremely nice camp ground. Staff was very helpful and curtious. Fishing lake well stocked. We stayed 7 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com