206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Piney Grove COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (662) 728-1134
CGID3571

Piney Grove COE

Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   9   9   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
Wonderful CO E campground. Paved sites and interior roads are easy to navigate even in larger RVs. Using the GPS address of 244 County Road 3550, New Site, MS 38859, may instruct you to turn left onto a closed road. Instead keep going straight on this 3550, past the picnic area turn off, and you will to the CG office eventually. We were issued/given large black trash bags at check-in. A nice, albeit unusual, courtesy. Sites on the water are well worth the extra couple dollars. Many long sites but most have a slope that may make it difficult for longer (40') motor homes to level. Not an issue for travel trailers or 5th wheels. Also, there are concrete "parking curbs" on the sites, some of which are a couple feet away from the rear of the site. These curbs lessen usable length of some sites. We were unable to level on Site 99 (which has a wonderful view) and were moved to Site 61 in the walk-up campground. Office staff were very helpful and patient regarding our site change and even drove over to check on us. Site 110 has an excellent view of the water. Sites 1 and 5 are very good for longer motor homes. Price shown reflects half-price discount with Access Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Another nice COE campground! Very nicely spaced camp sites in a wooded setting on a lake. We had a great pull through lake front site since the campground was less than 10% occupied. Bay Springs Lake is part of the Tenn-Tom waterway that connects the Tennessee River to the Gulf of Mexico. The lake is large enough for power and sail boats and has good fishing. Bathrooms were spotlessly cleaned. The campground is located off the Natchez Trace Parkway so it is a good spot if traveling that route. Closest shopping is approximately 10 miles away. We will make this campground a regular stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
Park is remote, typical COE with excellent shade and good spacing between sites; interior roads paved and easy to negotiate in a 40' motorhome. Sites were asphalt and many were terraced. Internet and Verizon cell were difficult to get because of trees and remoteness of park. Rate reflects Golden Age discount. Bathrooms and showers were in excellent condition and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Golden Access rate that we get is $12 per night. Well maintained facilities. However more and more in the summer, it is crowded with kids that wander around campsites without any regard to other's rented space. Bathhouses could use a little work on insect control. Been coming to this lake for 25 years, this campground for about 8 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Fantastic park, only gave it a 9 because some of the sites are very close. Nice beach, water access from about half the sites. Nice folks running the place too. I will be back. Only issue is if you've never been there be careful about the sites, COE website is useless on scale drawing of park and parking. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
This campground is great. The hosts are very friendly. One of the bests features is the beach (lake). The beach area was large and clean and the water was beautiful. The only negative was our neighbor who assumed that we enjoyed his loud country music. We would stay here more often if it wasn't so difficult to get a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
Golden Access Passport rate shown. Excellent, busy campground on weekends, reservations a must. Starts filling the "walk-in" campsites on Wednesday afternoon. Can be a bit noisy on weekends, but quiet during the week. Restrooms spotless until weekends, then could use a bit closer attention due to tent-campers. No offense to the tent campers out there, just the way it always as been this way for the past 16 years we've been staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
Our site was almost underwater at this time of year. $ 10 with Golden Age. This is a very nice campground with over half the sites right on the lake. Each site has a table, grill, fire ring, lantern post, water and electric hookups. It is off the Trace down some back roads. Great campground for relaxing, boating, fishing, swimming, hike, biking, playing basketball and volleyball. We only stayed at this campground for one night as we are moving on but definitely would stay longer. If you plan on camping here on a weekend you should get reservations because most of the good sites are reserved for weekends and holidays. There are a number of campsites good for a large camper and a few pull-throughs. At this time of year with the water level so high a few of the sites are closed. We were right on the lake and the water almost reached our fire pit but the majority of the sites were high and dry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
We usually do not give a perfect rating to a campground that does not offer cable or WiFi, but this campground is spectacular. We had a premium site right on the lake which usually is $20 a night, but with the senior card, you get a 50% discount. All of the sites are paved, with patios, fire pits, a separate barbeque grill, picnic table and separate grilling table. It is spotlessly clean. The bathrooms and showers are wonderful and there is even laundry facilities, a little old, but still - a laundry room at a campground! We loved it here. It is peaceful and beautiful. The registration staff were terrific. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$9
Always a fun stay at Piney Grove. Park Attendants and hosts contribute to the joy of camping here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
A very nice campground: stayed on #44. While the campground is large, there is lots of space. Rest rooms and showers were clean. It's very shady with easy access to the water. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
Rate shown is the Golden Access Card rate. Excellent facilities on Bay Springs Lake. This park fills up most weekends, reservations are a must. This has been a yearly stop for us for the past 10 + years, due to family in the area. Would rate a 10 if it had sewer hookups. If you have Verizon Cellular service, it won't work. If you have satellite TV, it won't work without a portable dish. Local TV stations, not much. Good place to take a good book! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Beautiful location & plenty of nice, shady sites. The only negative, and this is a big negative, is that the bath houses do not have any A/C or fans. In the summer, they are unbearably hot. It's surprising that the Corps of Engineers designed them this way. Since the campground is used year-round, this is something that needs to be changed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Senior Park Pass honored so paid only $9/night to park here for a week. Quiet, pretty; a bit distant from Tupelo and sightseeing but low cost is worth it. The campground is located fairly near the Natchez Trace Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We have stayed here several times and have had good experiences each time. The sites are large and not right on top of each other. The lake sites are really pretty, and the campground is good for kids riding bikes, walking, etc. The only downside is that it is a destination point since there is really nothing else in the surrounding area. We have never been in the summer, but the beach area looks really nice. I'm sure that gives you much more to do when it is warm outside. Overall, though, this is a great campground that is family-friendly and a good weekend place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Great COE park with paved sites, water & electric. Not a good place if you need satellite systems since there are many tall pine trees. Please note: Your Verizon Cell Phone will not work here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We had a wonderful time. The sites were clean, the rest rooms were clean, and the laundry room was clean. The staff were very supportive in finding us a pull thru site that would fit our rig. This was a very nice stopover on the way up the "Trace." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Our favorite local campground. Wooded, spacious sites. Waterfront sites are our favorites, but are hard to get. They stay booked up in summer. Bath and showers clean. Small playgrounds, nice swimming area open in summer. Bay Springs Lake is great for boaters. Very clear water. Basketball courts, tennis courts - lights go off at 10:00 p.m. No town nearby, there is a store at Burton, a few miles away. Grill, lantern and/or trash bag hanger, picnic table, and a taller, small round, concrete table which is very handy. If had sewer and 50 amp service, would be perfect (to me). The dump station is good, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Beautiful view of the lake, spacious campsites and plenty of shade. We love this campground! I would have rated it higher if the bathhouse had been equipped with AC or fans for hot weather. It was very hot inside the building. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Great waterfront sites and a terrific white sand beach and water that you can actually swim in. Great park for biking since it is fairly flat. I think this is one of Mississippi's park gems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
My family loved this campground. The only bad thing is that there is no sewer hookup. If they would add sewer hookups, we would go here more often. This is a good campground for bicycling. We took our boat and really enjoyed ourselves letting the kids kneeboard and tube. We were able to anchor the boat out at our campsite and it was always within view of the camper. The lots are really shaded. The beach area was closed when we camped because it was in October but we enjoyed our stay. The playground and tennis court was small but the kids enjoyed using it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
Awesome campground! We stayed there 4 nights with 2 other families and were right on the water. The sites were very well maintained. All the sites had paved level pads and gravel pads with a lantern stand, fire pit, picnic table and grill. The bathrooms were very well maintained. It was relatively quiet at the designated quiet time (10pm-7am). It's very picturesque and wooded and lots of shaded sites for tent & pop-up campers. Large and small sites, some double for multiple family camping. They had a few nice playgrounds although not very big and a multi-use court for volleyball and basketball. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$16
We loved this wooded campground on the Tennessee-Tombigbee waterway with large, level, terraced sites and water views. It was not very crowded when we were there but the sites seemed spacious enough that it would not feel too cramped even when busier. The dump station was well laid out and easy to get to and the restrooms/showers were very clean and well kept. They even had a laundry. Roads in and throughout were well maintained. We have a 30 ft class A and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com