218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Verde RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (928) 634-5990
CGID3577

Rio Verde RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   4   8   4   5   10   2   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
1st Impr: A dry desert hill. Customer is not valued. Reservations consisted of pull in Sunday, pay on Mon. I agreed to pay cash on Mon. BUT card charged on Sat, before arrival. Most spots cannot accommodate LG RVs. Noone to call. Took a spot so RV would fit, sent them email. Mon: Lawn guy grumbled we aren't supposed to be here. Continues with rude glances our way. Called office asking why they ch'd our card: bookkeeping excuse. Told to move, but already set up. Customer is not valued in this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Looked a little a sketchy, but ended up being fine. Great location for site seeing. On the river means about a 15, go drop down an embankment. Our trailer is 34 feet and was difficult to park. Some bigger Rigs ended up pulling out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
All the older comments are still correct. I had the back-up the hill site along the road going to the back facing the river with the utilities on the wrong side, you need to run everything under the coach to hook-up. Staff was friendly. Access in and out was OK. 5th Wheels were backing up the hill even further past me twisting and turning; if you're good with backing it's not a problem. Noise from the road outside the park is constant, even if you're all the way in the back. The park is really close to everything you need including all the big box type stores as well as Jerome and Sedona. While in the area I saw other parks that I will try that next time. Most of this park is old run down full-time trailers. Power was good; water pressure was low to normal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
I stayed a month plus 2 more weeks because I liked it. It's not for everyone, a bit older and a bit quirky. It's very pet friendly. Not big-rig-friendly. There are 3 sections with different rates - the front, the hill and the back. The spots in the back and on the hill are mostly long-term. Spots in back are along a road cut out of the hill next to the river. It's a tough turn-around and all are back in spots, but angled so that your door pretty much faces the river. That's where I stayed and it was great. My RV is 35' and it really no problem getting parked. Once parked it felt like a lot of space. I especially enjoyed the Verde River which flows along the side of the park and was about 30 feet from my door. The front section is more of a "standard" setup and the lowest rate. The hill is the highest rate and offers quite a lot of privacy. The bathroom/shower is passable - not exceptionally clean, but not gross. Wi-Fi is only available to the front spots. I use Verizon Wi-Fi and it worked very well in the back. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I used a laundromat in town (3-minute drive) that was 800 times nicer than the one on site. Some of the permanent residents are on the colorful side, but friendly enough. And there are tent sites in a park right along the river. Nicest tent sites in an RV park I've seen. My only complaint is the highway noise. It's quieter the farther in the back you go, the front is worse and the hill is quite loud. Convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Interesting old park on a creek (Verde River) and there is an ancient Indian mound on the property that can be hiked to. Centrally located with access to Sedona, Jerome, monuments and parks within the area. There are many permanent residents (scary looking and/or noisy) with NO restrictions to age/condition of unit/amount of junk allowed to be piled up around the RVs, though they do claim to have a unit age restriction. NOT big rig friendly and turning around is difficult. Very uneven sites that are not well maintained. If you're game, it's OK for a night or two but I found the place rather depressing due to the lack of standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
The management does not know about RVs and has staff say they have spaces for big rigs. However, we saw MANY large rigs leave after stopping, and one even told us they were told this park was built for big rigs, but it is not. Motorhomes over 40' and fifth wheels over 34' will have a very difficult time finding a spot wide and long enough to allow ease of parking and length required. In order to park our 38' fifth wheel and dually truck, we had to use two spaces. Everyone that works there is friendly and spoke of how run down this park has become since new management took over. It is fine for rigs of moderate size, if you don't desire conveniences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Quaint park of Old Towne Cottonwood with helpful staff. Hiking trails from the park into Coconino National forest were great for walking our dog and had beautiful views! Park is well maintained with a friendly community atmosphere. Only 15 minutes to Sedona or Jerome where there is plenty to do, and much to see and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a very shabby RV park with many permanent residents in very old RVs. There was one pull-through site only because they removed the fence between the park and the parking lot next door. Our tow vehicle was in the parking lot. We will never stay here again and do not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
We stayed here in a 40 footer. We paid more for a "river view" site because that was all they had. The river could not be seen. It was somewhere to the west of us. It was convenient though to Sedona and was fine for a few days. Seemed to have a lot of regulars here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
A quaint Park that we were told is 50 years old. With beautiful shaded area along the Verde River and a short hike to an amazing Indian ruin on the site. Staff take great pride in the park and the area, providing information for activities and recreation opportunities. We extended our stay to take advantage of their many suggestions. Facilities are well maintained and clean. Dog friendly! The park was full for the Memorial Day weekend and a wonderful time was had by all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We pulled into this park and after viewing several sites we left. The first site had a very large ant mound. There seems to be absolutely no maintenance done here. There were several large, aggressive dogs tied up at several sites. I would not recommend this park to anyone under any circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$31
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived after office hours, but they left a map and directions on the bulletin board for us. Getting parked, however, was not so simple. Our site was a river site, which required driving to the end of a dead-end gravel road and navigating a very, very tight turn-around circle. It might not have been so bad had they not put campsites in that circle with several big rigs and other vehicles parked there. We barely made it with our 27' travel trailer. A larger rig would have been stuck! Our river site backed up to the river, but there was a 30 foot drop-off immediately behind our trailer which meant constant monitoring of our 2 year old daughter every second that we spent outside (so we didn't go outside much in the campground). Fortunately, we spent most of the 3 days we were there hiking and visiting the shops in Sedona and cottonwood. There seemed to be quite a few permanent residents there as well, including one unit with a sliding glass door, plywood stairs, and a full sized refrigerator on the patio. The website also says rates are $25 per night, however we were charged $31. When I questioned it I was told the old manager set up the website and they didn't have the password to update it for 2006. On a more positive note, the location near Cottonwood and on the road to Sedona was great, and the management seemed to be making upgrades to the park. I think we'll try someplace else when we return to the Sedona area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
Park is 90 percent permanent RV's. All the good sites are taken by the permanents. The overnighters are put next to the highway (very noisy) and little shade. The sewer connections were uphill in this area. The supposed riverfront sites they advertise are 100' straight up a bank and you have to stand on the edge to see the river, so they are not "on the river". The advertised "internet connection" was an old very small laptop in their office that you had to use. Would not stay there again and moved to Deadhorse Ranch State Park in Cottonwood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com