219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Jude Travel Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (504) 241-0632
CGID3579

Jude Travel Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   6   9   6   4   6   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Great park. Liked cause on City bus line. Takes you to the French Quarters. Did have to transfer to streetcar. Cheap ride 40 cents for seniors and free transfers. Can't beat that. The owner is very nice and helpful. Our first time in motor home and had to back in. No problem. They got us in the first time. I was amazed. Small park but very nice. We got next to pool and loved it. Stay here again, You bet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
To be honest, he sites are very close to each other and few trees or other shade. Not very private. But, having said that, it is in the middle of New Orleans and land prices are at a premium so it is understandable--and not only that, you should be out visiting the city and not sitting in the campground anyway! The owners were super nice and ran a shuttle to take you to/from the French Quarter for only $5 per person. The area is a little sketchy but the park is fenced and gated and I never felt unsafe. Warning, if you are traveling there on I-10 Westbound (coming in from Mississippi), you have to turn left onto Chef Menteur Highway (four lane highway) once you exit the interstate, and there is no traffic signal. Needless to say it took awhile to get a break in traffic in both directions to be able to turn left with our fifth wheel. The pool and hot tub area was nice, but it was too cold on our trip to use it. The bathrooms were small, but clean. There is an on-site laundry room which was clean also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$55
Really enjoyed our short stay. Hosts will shuttle you into New Orleans, which is about 15minutes away, super handy. Beautiful bathrooms, really clean. Nice pool and hot tub area. WiFi works well. Locking gates with access code at night. Very secure. Hosts are very helpful in arranging any tours, etc. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Price is based on monthly stay. Stayed here for a month to visit New Orleans and have a place to leave RV while taking a cruise out of New Orleans. There are not many decent affordable RV parks in the area. This park is not in the best neighborhood, but is only 5 miles from the French Quarter. It is owned by a very nice couple who live on site. Entire park is fenced with a security gate at night. We felt safe here. Not a big place with a row of sites along each side of road. Road and all sites are gravel. Full hookup 50 amp with free Wi-Fi. Nice hot tub and swimming pool, although pool was not heated in winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
Don't let the surroundings put you off. Once inside the park, your rig is safe. They have a gate that closes at 5pm but you can still come and go as you please. The owner's are really down to earth, great people, and helpful. This park really worked for us because the bus stop was right across the street and took us anywhere we needed to go. So, you don't need your own vehicle here. Everything here was great, for us. If I had to pick something to criticize, I guess I'd say maybe the nearby train may be loud at times if you are here to rest and relax. Overall, a great spot if you're here to see the sites of New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
This park is convenient to the French Quarter and to other New Orleans tourist areas. The sites are close together. We were two campers traveling together and the owners left a site between us so we would have a meeting space. The pool is not heated and is cold. The hot tub was hot and clean. Laundry is $1.50 wash and dry. Wi-Fi and cable are included in the prices and both work good. There is noise from the train yard and from the street, but it can be ignored. Price is weekly rate. Daily Good Sam rate is $35. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Gated park in ugly part of town. Small sites, motor homes crammed in. No shade. Lots of stray cats so watch for poop. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms/ showers. There is noise from highway and trains We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This is New Orleans, you either have very expensive or reasonable campgrounds. This rate reflects the weekly rate, daily rate is $35. The owners were helpful, friendly and always willing to assist. The campground is nothing special, sites were level grass & gravel. Electric, water & sewer were fine. Internet and cable provided by the park were good, Verizon cell & hot spot were strong & satellite is good. This park is about 5 miles from the heart of New Orleans but the owner will provide transportation for a fee. Behind the park is an active Railroad Yard so if you don't like the sound of trains & train whistles you might want to find another park. The park is secure, the gate is closed & locked at night. The laundry room could use upgrading, machines are old and don't get much attention, neither does the laundry room for that matter. If in the area I would come back again, not many other choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground is clean with very narrow sites. Their website states that they can handle rigs up to 50', but I doubt it. It's very close to the French Quarter, which was convenient. This is in a not very good area, but they closed the gates at dusk for safety. There's a code for the gate after dark. The price is a little more for big rigs. Their Wi-Fi was adequate. There seemed to be a few long term residents near the back of the property by the train tracks. The trains move slowly, through there so noise wasn't really a problem. The Wi-Fi was really nice. It is a good option if you want to be very near the downtown area and close to attractions. Their rate is far better than a competitors in the French Quarter. We couldn't get our rig and truck in one space, just too narrow. We'll probably stay someplace else next time we find ourselves in NOLA and drive into town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
We enjoyed our stay here. Price higher than usual due to Jazz Fest. Good - location on bus line and easy drive into city, great hot tub and pool, lovely and helpful owners, very clean bathrooms, shuttle into town. Less good was the sketchy neighborhood (though secure gate made us feel safe inside park). Occasional problems with WiFi and tight sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
This is a small park with the very best to offer. The owners are very friendly, helpful and usually very visible. We had great cable TV and WiFi. Sites were on the smallish side but plenty of room for slides and awnings. They have a pool and hot tub. Close to sites and activities, and the bus stops right outside the security gates. This is our second visit and we will be back! Loved everything about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
If you are wanting to get close to the French Quarter without paying through the nose, this is a great RV Park. They offer shuttle service to and from the French Quarter from morning to around 10pm. Great WiFi and Cable TV. The RV Park is very tight though, and while they are pet friendly, there's not a lot of places to take your dog, other than your own area and up and down the single road in/out. Would recommend to those wanting to spend quality time exploring New Orleans. We marked "do not know" on family friendly simply because of the tight space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
I stayed at this park for almost two weeks. Good things about this park are the very helpful owners and the offered shuttle service. Also, despite the fact that it's not located in a nice area, I never felt insecure at this park. The machines in the laundry are working OK and the bathrooms' condition is also OK. In general, it's rather clean. I didn't use the pool and hot tub. I only saw people using it - since they had smiles on their faces, I suppose it can't be that bad. Wi-Fi worked very well most of the time. Negative: The park is not what you call beautiful and indeed a little small so when the park is full you're a bit crammed like sardines. The trains are really noisy and I'm not sure if they have anything like "quiet hours" (in an older review someone suggested they may stop at 11 pm). At the time I've been there, there was a very noticeable smell of propane coming from the neighboring property. As mentioned before the restrooms were in good condition but at that time were cleaned irregularly and not daily. I still give this park seven points because the price/value ratio is absolutely OK. I'd definitely stay here again and it's a good alternative to the maybe fancier but more expensive RV parks in NOLA. Yes, there are a lot of cats (around ten) but those are not stray cats; they are all well kept and if you don't like cats, you can still just stay out of their way. They'll most likely stay out of yours unless you leave your trash in front of your rig. Price reflects the weekly rate including tax. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
This is a small park and the sites are very close together. There is a railroad switching/siding behind the park which can occasionally be loud. There are lots of cats running loose. The owners are friendly and helpful. It is conveniently close to the attractions in downtown. Rate reflected is weekly. If your dogs need space to run, there is a large lot next door behind a union hall that is fenced on 3 sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We chose this park because of recommendation and proximity to where we worked with the St. Bernard Project in New Orleans. The park has easy access from I-10. It is gated for some additional security. The spaces are very close together and all of the spaces are back-in, but the park owner helps all big rigs get parked and they are very good at guiding anyone into a space. Park management is very helpful with questions about the New Orleans area. Cable TV worked very well with an extensive channel selection. Wi-Fi was slow at times, but generally good. The bathrooms and showers are clean and well maintained. The laundry is well maintained. The pool and spa are well maintained. We stayed 11 nights and the daily rate ($26.79) included a 10% AAA or Good Sam discount and added taxes. The park is adjacent to the CSX rail switching yard, but the noise from the trains is very negligible. We will stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
We were greeted by extremely pleasant staff who were anxious to ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They provided handouts and info geared to enhance our specific plans. Washrooms were very, very clean. We were safe and secure and within 10 minutes of French Quarter. The owners take real pride in maintaining the facilities. We enjoyed the pool and adjacent gazebo as well as hot tub. We intended to stay 1 night but felt very "at home" here and decided to stay 3 nights. We would highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is our 2 time here. We really enjoy this park. Has nice owners who are always willing to help if you need something. We go to New Orleans once a year. Looking forward to next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
One of my 1st impressions was wow! The check in process went super fast. The entrance was a bit on the tight side. The salt water pool was cool, fresh and clean. The hot tub was hot and in good operational order. The fencing around the campground leads one to have an overall safe feeling. One huge positive or negative is the abundance of cats in the campground. I counted at least 8-10 of them. Most are friendly but they do leave their droppings behind in odd places. The owners go out of their way to be of assistance for you. The camper next door forgot his water hose and they came right out with one. The shuttle to the French Quarter was fast and efficient. The cost to go there and back was $5 each way. We gave them a call and they were right back to pick us up. This campground has a picnic table at every site. However, there are no fire rings. They have this gazebo near the pool that is great for just sitting around and talking with others. Most all sites were very level. The electricity, water and sewer worked fine. The Wi-Fi worked magnificently and I never lost a signal. The cable TV worked according to others. We did not use it. Insects were not a problem here at all. There are not too many trees here. There are several fruit trees and a small garden near the dumpster. There were security lights at night although they are not really needed. There is a small restaurant just a block away. I was told they have decent food. The bus runs right by the campground. The city noise did not brother us too much. The only 2 reasons I would not give this place a 10 is the cats (droppings) and the need for more shade trees. Lastly, I would stay here all over again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Rate based on one month stay. Great Find. Owners are friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable with itineraries and bus routes. Bus stops right in front or I just took their shuttle to French Market for $5.00 (each way). Clean bathroom and shower facilities, nice pool and hot tub for relaxing. Everything is included in price. Wi-Fi, full hook-up and cableā€¦ really nice place. Also, they threw a complimentary crawfish boil on Easter. Nice touch for being away during holiday. Like a second family! Owners go beyond the extra mile. Will return next time I'm in New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Very noisy urban campground. Front half gets road noise from busy highway, back half gets train noise from multi-track switching station. Tight grass and gravel sites but owner helps you park. Not a great neighborhood but gated at night and we felt comfortable. Best feature is the small but deep swimming pool and very nice hot tub. Easy 12 minute drive to the French Quarter, or you can take public transportation and/or the park's shuttle. Excellent value for the location. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Our rate was based on a two week stay. This is a very convenient park to New Orleans and the French Quarter. You can take the bus right across the street. While the neighborhood looks a little sketchy, the park is clean, secure and run by two of the most accommodating people you'll ever meet. They even had a crayfish boil for all of us to celebrate Easter Sunday! Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
The owners were very helpful during our stay. All of the sites are back in. The road is gravel and some of the sites seemed small, but they were more than willing to accommodate us and help. The campground is kept up and clean, it is gated and I felt secure staying here. It takes no time at all to get the the French Quarters. VERY reasonable price for New Orleans camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We enjoyed our 5-night stay. The owners, Marla and Kevin, are very friendly, knowledgeable, and like the rest of New Orleans, laid-back. The grounds and pool/gazebo area are nicely tended, landscaped. They will drive you to the French Quarter for $5 each, each way. Which is good, because major taxi companies will not pick up from that address. Yes, it is in a marginal area of East New Orleans. The park is gated after dark, and we never had any reason to feel unsafe. It was a very comfortable, homey kind of place. If you want to see New Orleans, it will give you a very hospitable place to stay without paying an arm and a leg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
This campground is an amazing value. In a town where I was very put off by what seemed to be lack of cleanliness at "budget" hotels, which even at that, cost $80 a night; for $18 a night I had my own private place, with my own sheets and towels, so I knew they were clean. I also liked how this park is locked and secure, unlike some seedy-looking places I could have stayed. There are trees and flowers everywhere. It's really lovely, and even has plants in the dog walk area. The owners are on-site every day and clean the showers, bathrooms, and laundry impeccably. I also liked how it was possible for me to see all of New Orleans from this park without renting a car. I caught the bus across the street and came back to right in front of the park. There is a great New Orleans-style fish and BBQ eat-in, take-out place next door that is just addicting, too. If you are on a budget, or even if you're not, you will do well to choose Jude Travel Park. I would not stay anywhere else in NOLA now that I have found it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This park is just what it says, "an oasis in the city". Lovely flowers, clean restrooms, clean pool and spa, new picnic benches and good security. We were concerned about the neighborhood but after meeting the very nice owners (who came outside to greet us), all our fears were gone. They were extremely helpful in directing us to some fun things to do, even helped us find a good vet. We are staying here again next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
This is an adequate place to park when visiting New Orleans. I would have rated it higher if the restrooms and showers had been clean The same litter on the floors was there for the three days we stayed. The host and hostess are extremely friendly and helpful, however. Sites are quite close together and it's located just next to a railroad yard, but it's quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The rate we paid was higher than usual, since we stayed here during the weekend prior to Mardi Gras. I'd stay again, due to the convenience in driving to the French Quarter and Uptown areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
The spaces are close but I wasn't here for the park. I was here to enjoy New Orleans and surrounding area. New Orleans is 10 minutes, white sandy beaches are 50 minutes away. Great little place close to downtown. Train switch yard at the rear but not noisy and reminiscent of an earlier time in New Orleans history. Very friendly owners. I will stay here again when passing through in our travels. They gave 10% military discount too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Spaces are tight, as is maneuvering in this park. Front of park is transient and back is permanents. This park is over run with cats. Leash rule is not enforced for dogs, including the owners dog. We walked out our door one day to find a fresh dog pile at the bottom of our steps. Laundry needs a good cleaning as do the showers. Soap that was left in the shower prior to my using it the first time was still there when we left a week later. Security gate required because of the neighborhood it is in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
The owners/operators earn this park a 10. Both are friendly, helpful, accommodating, and available. The shuttle service is reasonable and convenient, the restrooms modern and spotless, and the cats an added bonus. The spaces are small, but we're in a small RV so no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Great older city campground with new amenities: bathrooms, showers, pool, and spa. The owners are terrific, always available during normal hours and offer a very, very reasonably priced shuttle service to downtown or the French Quarter. The city bus stops right outside the gates and the rate for that is unbelievably cheap but use after dark is not advised. Yes, there is some noise. The noise from traffic from the street is not noticeable but there is a railroad yard in the back where trains are made up in the evenings. I have ear plugs for "bad" situations and didn't find them necessary for sleep at all. It feels very safe and we were quite comfortable and pleased with our experience here. We positively would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Great little family owned park with real nice owners. Everything was clean as a whistle, the restrooms were beautiful and the owners were always available. This was our 2nd stay in the last year but the latest was the best by far. Even though we had our own vehicle we took the shuttle into town all 4 days and it was such a convenience. Very accommodating owners, we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Yes, it is noisy because of trains unloading right there but I felt safe there. Traveling as a single girl it was ok. I stayed 2 weeks. Now anywhere outside the gate is another story. I did take the bus 2 times and it wasn't very comfortable feeling. 16$ cab ride to downtown. The bathrooms very nice, owners very nice to. I would stay again. The price reflects week stay, pool was nice when it was cleaned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Probably the noisiest RV park I have ever stayed in in 350,000 miles of RV travel. Trains in back, boulevard in front. The Wednesday night motorcycle races were particularly noisy. I don't know why the local cops let it go on for over 3 hours, but it was NOISY! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Good location for a day or two of sightseeing in New Orleans. Not a good part of town, but felt safe inside the fence. All spots are 90 degree back-in. Very nice and accommodating managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
The owners are friendly and helpful. The park is clean and well kept with excellent laundry facilities. We visited the area for several days and had the opportunity to compare this park to others. This park is gated and well lit, we felt safe, although we would not walk the neighborhood after dark. There is a convenient bus stop in front of the park. The owners cheerfully assisted us with good tips for utilizing NOLA public transportation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
The proprietors of this park made our stay very enjoyable: helped us in every way that they could. The campground is on the bus route into downtown New Orleans.The rates are very reasonable, especially for the level of services. The bathrooms were newly renovated and very clean. We stayed longer than we thought due to needed mechanical repairs on our motorhome: stayed in one of the two guest rooms for the night that our RV was in the garage. The guest rooms are very tastefully, newly renovated with queen bed, TV, internet, fridge and microwave. They are very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to see New Orleans. It may be a bit further from town but it's not really a problem. The great services, prices and lovely staff make this the place to stay when you come to New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
OK, so the neighborhood is "not great" but why are you coming to/through New Orleans anyway? Best go back to Orlando or Anaheim Hills if you require quaint and immaculate landscaping. The restrooms are new and clean, there is coin laundry, wifi works great, and so does the cable. Yes, there is a pool, but not heated. The park is really just a 5 acre lot behind an older home/office, gated, with RV sites lined up along both fences and a gravel drive down the middle. It is clean' the people are nice, and it's 10 minutes by car to the Vieux Carre, and that's what you come here for, no? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
Recently stayed at Jude Travel Park and found new owners cleaning and repairing the site. Many upgrades have been made. Sites are clean and neat. Pool is crystal clear and inviting. Bathhouses are very modern and super clean. Wifi access worked well. All utilities were available. Security gate surrounds the site and is well-lit. Found new owners to be very friendly, accommodating, and a wealth of information on touring the City. Overall a great experience and a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Because of business in New Orleans, we stayed here for two weeks. The area of town is not a good one, although there is a Winn-Dixie within a couple of miles. However, the gate and fence gave a good amount of security. There were no seedy looking people or units within the park. Office was usually locked and staff isn't always available. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Better parks could be had for a lot higher price. For the price in this city, it was adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
We called to make a reservation here after seeing their ad in Trailer life. Once we arrived there, my wife was afraid to stay. It was in a dangerous part of town, and had to be surrounded with a high fence. We intended to be coming and going at night, so we decided not to stay at all. We were unable to actually report on the inside conitions at all. There were lots of FEMA trailers in the area, and it certainly did not appear to be safe. We went west about 25 miles to camp in a traditional campground in LaPlace and drove in via I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2007
$31
We pulled into the campground and found it full of FEMA trailers, even though it had been advertised that the FEMA trailers were gone. The neighborhood is still in bad condition. We pulled in at night and decided not to stay because of the condition of the campground and the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
All four of the New Orleans parks are located in a "not great" neighborhood on the very busy Chef Hwy and back up to Railroad tracks. Makes for very noisy spots. We chose this one because they offered WIFI. It was not working except every now and then. The owners were not helpful except the day that a "reviewer" from a guide book was there. Then they could not do enough to help out. Place is for sale so that probably contributes to the attitude. We looked at the other 3 parks and the Parc D'Orleans appeared to be marginally better. The state park was booked so we could not stay there as previous reviewers of New Orleans parks have suggested. We also suggest that you drive to the French Quarter. We did the bus deal one day and it is a real hassle. There are plenty of parking lots in the Quarter. Costs about $18 per day, but more than worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com