220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Ouachita RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (318) 343-8672
CGID3582

Ouachita RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   4   8   1   4   1   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Older campground (once KOA). Brand new "rehab" management; lady at desk was very nice - explained some of their issues with rehab. Park itself is pleasant - plenty of room, many trees, grass cut, power good, water good, sewer had pipes at ground-level (good!). Gravel sites less than half-bubble off-level; gravel roads in pretty good repair. Bathrooms / showers seemed fairly "clean," however they were in poor repair, to include ceilings and fans. Typical of this part of the country, temporary workers (gas/coal/RR/oil) keep many of these parks going; there are some long-termers, and even a couple park models with a shed-roof; all are neat and in good repair. Nice setting, infrastructure is good, facilities need work. If you don't need the restrooms/showers, and full hook-ups will meet your needs, this is a decent little campground for the price. And you'll pass Sam's Club on the way in. If our trip/schedule dictates, we'd definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
First off, this campground is under new management and they were very friendly to deal with and wanted to make sure we were comfortable with our stay even though they had just begun making needed improvements. This campground, in its current state, is a shell of its former glory. What you see on their web site is not exactly what you get upon arrival - some of the pictures were taken years earlier. The main office has had a number of shingles blown off. The restrooms are very dated - say late '80s - but they were clean and worked. The laundry room had four newer washers and 4 newer dryers - all working. The pool is shut down and looks like it has been for a couple years. Having a pool was the reason we choose to camp here. There is plenty of shade but little grass because of everyone driving over the sites or parking vehicles on the grass. Now, they have signs saying 'stay off grass' and are working to restore the sites. The sites aren't very wide. Most sites do not have a picnic table. Our site had a new electric box with 50/30 AMP service with a regular GFI protected 15/20 amp connection as well. They had signs up in the office indicating they just started on June 1 upgrading their electric. Our sewer connection was new as well with a regular 4 inch threaded pipe. They had just poured concrete and installed a new water hydrant at their dump station. It rained a lot while we were there and the sites were flooded. The soil (more like clay) in the area does not allow for easy absorption of any rain. We packed up in ankle deep water. This campground is in desperate need of numerous dump truck loads of new stone as well as a well-executed drainage plan. There are numerous pot holes yet while we were there, they were working to fix them. About half the campers here are long term and permanent residents. It appeared to be mainly utility (telephone, etc.), pipeline, and railroad workers. The long term residents were very nice and we didn't have to worry about our family's safety. The campground is also well lit at night. The WiFi worked throughout the campground since they installed an additional access point. I give the new management credit for taking action and doing tasks to improve this campground. It is going to be a long process. We will camp here again if they get the pool open and running again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
We camped here overnight. The gravel road is in poor shape with potholes and mud due to recent rains. Many of the sites were unusable due to flooding. The restrooms were not as clean as most we've seen and are not handicap friendly. We have camped here before and the new management do not exhibit the southern hospitality as in the past. Although convenient to the interstate we would not camp here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
We stayed one night while traveling. Very quiet considering right off I-20. Sites are gravel and level. We checked in after hours, paperwork was ready and site location was easy. Park was very clean and well maintained. We have a 36' RV pulling a 12' bike trailer with a second driver in a jeep. It wasn't a problem fitting into our pull-through. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Recent heavy rains in the region have not helped this campground. Numerous sites have sitting water. The soil in the remaining sites is quite saturated. There is a pond adjacent to the campground which should have taken most of the drainage. However. the drainage is blocked which has contributed to the muddy conditions. The pictures on the website are deceiving. Apparently, they are taken quite a number of years ago. Most of the sites are occupied by permanent residents. Trailers range in condition from new to very dilapidated. Some sites have carports set up with one surrounded by a fence. Is this suppose to be a campground or trailer park? We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Stayed here over the weekend while visiting daughter who lives in the area. We got the impression that this was mostly a "stopover" type of park. The kind where someone traveling through the state would just stopover for a night or two. It seemed to be a nice park. It is located just off the Interstate I-10. However, after we checked in, we never saw anyone that worked there again. The clubhouse was all locked and even though their web site states they have a pool, we never saw it. The biggest drawback was the lack of shade and there is an animal right next door, so there were dogs barking constantly, which makes it very hard to sleep if you do not use your a/c or a fan to block the noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Under new management! What a joke. Same owner(s). Was thru here a few years ago thought we would give it another try, see if it got any better. Same old entrance way - wouldn't want to drive your worst vehicle thru there let alone an expensive motorhome/travel trailer. Bad enough you have to dodge the potholes but when it rains you don't know where they are or how deep as you have to drive thru the "lake" to get to your site. Dumpster was full and overflowing all around it and it was only Saturday morning! What will it look like by Monday morning??? On site pool? Used by more locals than park residents...oh friends and family of the on-site (?) management! Pictures of the park on their website must have been taken years ago. There is no stone on any of the roads! Electric - antiquated at best! Kept tripping our circuit breaker, had to buy a new breaker after we stayed there! Water - dirty! and were without water twice! No shutoffs and sewer back ups!! On site-management (??) Real friendly(?) yeah, if you don't mind management getting in your face and threatening you. Saw management get in a residents face! I'm going to let my club know about this and show them the pictures of this place. And for this I pay for a membership! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
We been coming here for the last couple of years while visiting family, mainly because it is a Coast to Coast membership campground. It is not in the best of shape. The electrical outlets do need work, plus the sewer hookups are not the best. When it rains heavy, the place floods and gets very muddy. They have a lot of workers staying here but the many times we have stayed here, we have not had one bit of trouble with any of them. The staff is friendly, and they have a pool which is always clean. It is not the best place we have stayed, but it is not the worse place we have stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
The park is under new management at this time and working diligently to get things back up to par. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have a problem with our electric, but they were on it and had it fixed in no time. The pool was clean, bathrooms need updated but were clean. Very nice stay. We will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Older, but relatively clean sites. Picnic tables need cleaning and repair. Wi-Fi very weak but usable. Not a "resort", but OK for overnight. Important note, when exiting I-20 from East, be very careful when turning Left across two lanes of oncoming and heavy traffic. Definitely NOT easy off and on if you have a TOAD. Also, lots of local and loud motor sports noises interrupted an otherwise quiet evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
I would not recommend this resort to anyone. When there is rain, the campground is under 3-5 inches of water. The access roads are terrible. The Internet signal only works in the front of the resort, therefore you can not get an Internet connection in your camper. Despite having big enough space for two vehicles, they only allow one vehicle per camper. Any other vehicles must be parked in the front of the campground, nearly 300 yards away. The workers are not friendly. The campsite pool is used by locals rather than campers. Also, the pool is small and dirty most of the time. Out of the 2 months of staying there, there were 3 days that the campground did not have any running water. The management did not care one bit and said there was nothing they could do about it. When there is running water, it is brown and dirty. The people that cut the grass cut the coaxial cable for satellite dishes for a few people. The management would not accommodate my vehicle, which had a 16 foot trailer hooked to it that contained over 30,000 worth of work equipment for a few hours. A manager came banging on the door and demanded the truck with the trailer be moved immediately or it would be towed. He did not allow it to stay there for a couple of hours, even though it was part of my job which is the whole reason the majority of the campers were there, for their work!! There was not a spot in the front of the campground that my truck and trailer could fit in. Needless to say, I asked to speak with the owner, and a manager got on the phone and told me if I could not follow the rules I needed to get my camper and get out of the resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Site was like a swamp. Unable to exit coach without stepping in ankle-deep water and mud. Electrical box was covered with a piece of carpet in place of the usual metal cover. Site sewer connection was covered by a 1/2 gallon milk jug 2/3 filled with water. Place was a pit. I have general safety concerns about this RV Park, even though they style themselves in Woodalls as "Northern Louisiana's Finest". Would not recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
Roads were very poor, muddy, ruts and narrow. Electric post was in 6 inches of water, no breakers at the box, outlet was cover by a piece of rug. The electricity shut off frequently. Water outlet did not have any back flow device and was also in a puddle of water. Wi-Fi was so weak we didn't use it. The park is generally in very poor appearance. Will not use again nor recommend to anyone We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
There are no caps on sewer and no cable TV. It looks like park is mostly working men who live here permanently. Sites could use some manicuring. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
The site was covered with cigarette butts. Lots of noisy, drunk people with music so loud you can't hear yourself think. The office was closed because it is Sunday, don't know the price until morning. Beware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
This is an old KOA The bathrooms and pool were clean,just old.Wifi was good only at sites close to office.Lots of trees and does have some large sites for big rigs.A lot of pipeline workers stay here for months at a time.Close to shopping mall. Fishing in the lake. Staff was friendly. We heard the park was in the process of selling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We can't understand how this RV park got such a good TL rating - 7.5/7/7.5. All spaces are very tight, and certainly not for Big Rigs. The WiFi is not reliable. The restrooms, showers, and laundry are poorly maintained. When phone inquiries are made, the park is misrepresented. There are enough other good RV parks in the area that it's hard to understand why anyone would select this even for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$11
The confederate flag at the front should tell you all you need to know. Charge extra for 50 amp service (ok - I'll go for that) and then state in the rules that you can't use electric heaters or a/c units. Why do they think people pay the extra for 50 amps? Roads are atrocious. Pothole city! WiFi is pretty good - but only if close to the office. Lots of seasonal campers. Place just looks worn-out - office is dark and dingy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
An old KOA next to I-20. WIFI worked only on sites closest to the office. Everything showing its age. Strips of carpeting taped over the electric boxes in place of covers. Picnic tables with rusted metal frames. Sewer hook ups are open holes - no covers and some in the middle of the site. Pool looked grayish colored. Hot tub has had hard use and needed a good cleaning. Showers had one hook and a plastic step stool to use for your belongings and needed remodeling. Laundry had two old washers/dryers, folding table and sink - all were dirty and the sink looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. Sites were gravel with grass between. Mature pine trees and some pear trees covered the area. Pond on one side of the campground - permanents filled those sites. Most permanent sites are okay, a couple are ugly. A few small metal "cabins" with windows covered in aluminum foil, newspapers or broken blinds. Office staff was nice - but the office was so smoke filled you could barely breath. Area was very dark at night - the only lights were by the office. Only one other place to stay in the area and it had no trees and was next to I-20. Good for an overnight but nothing more. Unfortunately it was the best pick in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$8
We had a short pull thru spot in the trees. We were surprised that the park wasn't nicer looking. It seemed small and spots were close together. It was nice to look at the pond out our back window. We would stay here again, but it was a little disappointing since it is called a resort by AOR. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
This was a pretty nice park. We got a big, grassy end site that the dogs loved. Staff was friendly and helpful. Storms can be bad, but they move through pretty quickly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Some noise from the I20 nearby, but still a peaceful stop. Close to stores. The area is prone to tornado warnings in bad weather, so keep informed on current conditions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com