223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Cumberland Gap National Historic Park / Wilderness Road Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (606) 248-2817
CGID3591

Cumberland Gap National Historic Park / Wilderness Road Campground

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
This stay was as good as the others. Still the same things jump out such as clean bathrooms and showers. The sites are well taken care of. The overall campground was very clean. Safety is still very good. The staff here even takes the time to cut back a few trees. I saw several trees that had been taken down due to being dead or just in the way. The lack of certain things such as playgrounds, pool, and other such items are of no concern to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Another good stay here! This campground rocks! We stayed here for a week and wanted to stay for 4 weeks. The sites are mostly level and the bathhouses are very clean. Safety rates very high as we seen park rangers several times during our stay. This campground had 3 hosts. Plus, this campground has group camping areas. There was a huge group here and the park facilities served them and us well. We will return to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Large camp sites with long pads. Fire pits and picnic tables in excellent condition. Showers are private rooms with space to keep items dry. In April the campground was very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$9
We camped in B9 this time. This makes about our 5 or 6th time camping here. This place rocks! The sites are mostly level. Each site has a fire pit and a picnic table. Rows B and C have electric while the rest of the rows do not. There is not much to do here except camp. The bathhouses were spotless. The restrooms were clean and serviceable. Security is rated good and the camp hosts are friendly. Be careful bringing kids here. There is not much for them to do unless you travel to other parts of the park. The overall park was clean and well thought out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Yet another GREAT stay here at this campground. This time we were in site B5. The neighbors were fantastic and the weather was perfect. The fire ring served us well. The picnic table was well placed and in good repair. The bathhouses were fully functional and very clean. We were only going to stay for 4 days and ended up staying for 8 days. Great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Our last stay here was from the 20th of Oct to the 25th. This time we stayed in site number B11 and it was a good one. The bathrooms were clean. The overall grounds where well kept. NOTE: This campground is closing down from November 1st to May 15th. This closure is for some updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Located on US 58 just east of Cumberland Gap, Tennessee (the CG is actually in Virginia, barely). The "B" and "C" loops are the only loops to have an electric hookup and are newly paved. Tank up with good potable water at the dump station area before occupying a site. Spigots for containers were located near bath houses. All sites are first-come, first-serve. Unfortunately for travelers, the locals will go and set up tents, screens, chairs, etc. at the "B" and "C" sites and leave them several days in advance of the weekend, greatly reducing the number of sites of improved sites for tourists. All other sites in the campground are gravel and have no improvements. Although our site was level, most sites were not and leveling blocks are virtually mandatory. Some sites were low and seemed to have water running at them in rainy weather. This is some highway noise from US 58, but not rising to the level of nuisance. bath houses were clean, but the showers were invaded by a great biodiversity of insects. Rangers and campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. There are numerous hiking and mountain bike trails in and around the campground. Beautiful state-of-the-art amphitheatre, but no programs scheduled (in summer???). DTV reception was fair to good, primarily Knoxville. AT&T phone service was good. The park makes a big-to-do over bears. The visitor center in Middlesboro, KY is simply outstanding, one of the best in the NPS for a smaller park. The town of Cumberland Gap, TN has some quaint shops, restaurant, and trails. The Abraham Lincoln Museum in Harrogate, TN is static and needs to be modernized. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
This was a fantastic CG. Very clean restrooms and showers. Showers had plenty of hot water and were quite large so we weren't bumping walls getting dressed. Camp sites were medium in size and a section was paved for our camper. Site had lots of poison ivy which is the reason for a loss of star. I don't want to kill off the plants, but I was constantly worried about the kids. Camp hosts were knowledgeable and friendly. We used 30amp electric. Roads are nicely paved so we enjoyed riding bikes even though it rained for a bit each day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
Nice campground with shopping only ten minutes away near by in Middlesboro, Kentucky. Rating would be higher if they had water at the site. Fill your RV tank when you enter if you are staying overnight. Rate is 1/2 price from using Golden Age pass. Lots of hiking trails available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
This is a real campground. B & C loops have 50amp electric, and sites are paved with picnic tables and fire rings. There are only about 10 to 15 sites that a 40 foot motorhome will fit on, and they are fairly level. The other sites are not level and will be hard to get level. You will have at least 30% of these sites with tents on them. It would be nice to see them add more electric sites and make them longer and LEVEL. There is 1 pull through site but not very level. The electric sites in the park were full every night that we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Very nice park. Very clean and safe. Sites are very private not to close to each other. Nice walking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
We loved this place! We've been here before, so were already familiar with it. The bathhouse is very nice and clean, but the shower is one LARGE stall and you lock the door when you go in. Lots to see in the area. Sites are paved and as far as we know, they are all back in sites. We spent 3 nights here in the spring and stayed 5 nights last fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
Our site was mostly level. It contained a picnic table, a fire ring, electric and a paved pad. The bathhouses were spotless and the bathrooms were clean too. There was plenty of room between the campsites. The National Park Service patrolled the campground so safety is rated high. The trails that link up to the campground were well serviced and well marked. Overall, this place is a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This park is one of the best parks we go to. There is only electric on loops b and c. There is a fire ring at each site as well as a picnic table. The sites with electric have all been paved since our last visit. Now, they did not try and level any site. Some sites are more level than others. The one we were in required no leveling at all. Several sites were much un-leveled. The bathhouses were in great repair and clean. There was heat inside them. I think there was also AC in them too. The amphitheater was nice. I went to one of the park programs they have there. The seating was peaceful. If you enjoy hiking this is the place to be. There are numerous trails that one can take right out side your door. There was some road noise. This park has loads of trees. None of them get in the way for your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
I must say that this park is an unused jewel in this area. The entire time we were here I only saw the campground have about 10 percent of all the available spaces filled. True, there are some spots that are better then others. The loops (B and C) are the only ones with electricity. The other loops do not have this. Plus, some sites are more level than others. The one we had required no leveling at all. This could not be said about 90 percent of the other sites. Some of the sites looked almost impossible to level without using center blocks or large wood pieces. No sites in the entire campground had water. All the sites had some form of fire rings and picnic tables. The tables were fastened down and were in good shape. Most all sites had gravel in the driveway and most offered a grassy area for tents. Some sites were huge in size. I noticed one or two that kids could play football in. Now these were in or near the group camping area. The bathhouses were clean and in great repair. The shower in the bathhouse we used was large. They were very private and the water pressure and temperature were very good. I noticed the staff here cleaning them each day. I noticed a total of 3 bathhouses. This park is building one of the best amphitheaters I have ever seen. It looks like it could hold about 100 people. When finished (aprox. July 08), it sports a large stage area with electricity and some sort of building with it. I wonder what the building is going to be used for. The staff here was as friendly as any other park. The camp host was very helpful. There was some road noise from a highway nearby. Plus, there was no playground equipment anywhere near the camping area. There was not even a creek for kids to play in. I would call this an adult type campground although I did see several kids here. For the lack of water, sewer, and other normal type of campground stuff I give this place a loaded 8. We do plan on camping here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$14
Nice wooded campground. We just stopped over on our journey, but it was a pleasant night. Payment was on the honor system which is unusual these days, but I saw folks dropping in their envelopes thank goodness. We had a nice site and enjoyed walking the loops with our dogs. We always enjoy state and national campgrounds because of the price and scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
You have to pick your site carefully if you need it level but otherwise this is a great place to just kick back and relax. There is almost nothing to do after you have driven up to the overlook, but it is beautiful. The showers are super (the wife says a 9 on a scale of 1-5). Dump station and fresh water are at the entry/exit point. It is also on the honor system (take an envelope, fill it out and put your money in it and deposit it in the box). As a National Park it is half price for Golden Age and Golden Access card holders. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$15
Technically, this campground is in Virginia, but I would have looked for it in Tennessee. The sites on this campground are widely spaced, with lots of shade trees between you and your neighbor. The restrooms are brand new, clean, well-maintained, and heated. While there is no water hookups, there is a water supply at the restroom area and a place to fill your water tanks at the dump station. Big rigs would have a hard time in this park; but we did see one 35 foot coach. The campground is a series of loops and was initially confusing, because there was no one on site and there were no maps. The campground uses self-registration. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com