223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Louisville South KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (502) 543-2041
CGID3592

Louisville South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   7   8   7   9   4   4   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
We stay at KOA's from time to time and this was a longer than normal stay for us (5 nites). We will say it has nice surroundings and tall mature trees which is a plus. It does have a few too many roads and the size of the sites are only average. All in all not a bad KOA. The reason for the low rating is we did not like their condescending reply when we gave them low marks on their entrance road which has you enter the park on the left side of the road which is unnatural and silly. Since KOA asked for a review we took the time to prepare one. Then they insult you -- very bad form. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
This is typical KOA in design and amenities. We did have a site with a paved patio, which we really like. The sites didn't seem overly tight or narrow. Long gravel pull-through sites. Easy in and out. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$145
Large campground. Easy to get to from highway. Friendly staff, nice pool, dog park, and playground plus a nature trail and jumping pillow. Originally planned to bring our trailer but it was in for service so we rented a cabin. Glad we did. RV sites are VERY tight. Patio sites are not near as nice as what we have seen at other KOAs. It was hard to match sites with the layout map because there are little roads and pathways everywhere. Our cabin was very clean and well equipped. Price seemed high but we were committed to the days off and still enjoyed our few days away. Store was reasonably stocked and prices were fair. Cable TV was fine. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Signal was very weak and we were never able to connect for more than a minute or 2 so we gave up and used our data. There are a lot of permanent sites, mainly grouped in 1 or 2 sections. Many were very dirty and sites very cluttered with weeds, junk, etc. Several cars sped through the campground to the permanent section. Mini golf course was OK but needs some basic maintenance to make it even worth enjoying. This seems to be the theme throughout the park. Everything seemed 'OK' but the place has such potential and it was like they just cannot keep up. The area around the office and store looks great. It goes slightly downhill as you venture away. We would stay again but only in a cabin. We would not bring our trailer here due to the very, very cramped sites. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
Large well maintained campground. Our site was well shaded, level with good drainage, though a little close together. A large hillside field was a good place to walk our dog. Walking trails were average. Convenient to Louisville, Distillery tours, Bernheim Arboretum and Churchill Downs. Lots of things for kids to do. Friendly helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
This was a very cool campground that appeared to be catered to families and children. There were a ton of family oriented amenities with Putt Putt Golf, nice pool, great playground area for kids with a very unique inflated bladder for kids to bounce on. They even had a nice Kamp K9 where the furry kids could romp and play after a long ride in the vehicle. The sites were tight and fairly close to one another. That is fine because this KOA park was more of a destination than a stopover park. Management could not be friendlier and the staff could not be more courteous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$53
We were here over Memorial Day Weekend. It was crowded, however we had a very nice spot. We pulled in and did not have to level at all. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
I would rate this as below average for a KO. The campground had a cramped feel with too many roads for the number of sites. Sufficient for an overnight stop, but a bit expensive for what it was. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$51
Rate reflects VKR discount for a pull-through, FHU site. On a positive note, the cable worked, electric was good, check-in staff were friendly. Very expensive for what it is. Very tight for a large motorhome. We are a big rig towing and were there for an overnight. I asked to make sure we wouldn't need to unhook and were assured we had "a very long site". The escort promptly lead us to make a immediate sharp right turn, despite the fact that we were parked against a curb to our right and a fence at the curve. We couldn't make the turn and had to unhook at a tight angle - which appeared to humor the staff since they were laughing while we unhooked. The area our site was in appeared to be nearly all residents/seasonals. The "very long site" may have measured long, but the functionally level section in the middle was barely adequate for a 40' motorhome and the toad would have stuck out in the road had we left it connected. It would not have been possible to pull out of the site with the toad attached due to the uphill right turn you had to make out of the site and the tight turns to get back to the exit. Tree branches in this area also need to be trimmed overhead. WiFi was unusable. We do not recommend this campground if you are a large motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$43
To start with I will say that the owners are very nice and were very willing to accommodate our requests for different sites upon arrival. The original sites were full hookup, but the sewer connection was 30 ft away from my trailer. The second problem was the electric pedestal was so close to the site that if I gave room for my slideout we couldn't use the awning on the other side because of a tree. I spoke with the lady at the front desk and she let us move a couple sites up. The campground was empty so its hard to judge what it would look like full. With that said I believe it would be BAD. Sites are every turned every direction and make no sense. Lots of them are packed so close your sewer is under the neighbors picnic table. The giant trampoline pillow was a hit with my kid and the playground was OK. The gate to the river area, and scenic Indian Cliffs was locked so we had to walk a good distance to see that part of the park. The weather was beautiful and warm so not sure why staff refused to open that part of the park. I would not go out of my way to stay here again, but if I was in the area and needed a place to stay this would do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$56
It's a KOA. It's expensive. The sites are all gravel and it was definitely designed for a different era. Years ago we stayed here and it was a relatively rural area, now it is surrounded by subdivisions and golf-courses. The site layout is rather confusing as sites seem to be everywhere. That said, everything worked as it should and our site was relatively level. Owners were very friendly and put us on the best site available for our size rig. They have a nice fenced dog run which was a treat for our pups. If you need propane, do not fill up here. I paid almost three times what it normally costs me. Had I known a fillup was going to cost me $120 I would have gone elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
We prepaid and arrived after dark and closing. Park entrance is poorly lighted and the area to which we were assigned had no lighting whatsoever. We had to get out of the rig with lanterns to find the road. Adding to the confusion was the fact that someone else had taken the site we were assigned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$48
Good location but you can hear the interstate. Staff very nice. Overpriced for what you get also. We were told we would have to pay $66 for a premium site because that was all that was available. We opted to stay one less night so we could get a cheaper site, but the park was never full and there seemed to be plenty of lower priced sites available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$56
$56 rate was with a KOA card. This was a nice campground, but expensive. Nice walking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$68
Typical KOA. Tight spots, extra charges. Awning almost touched neighboring motorhome. Paid extra for my niece. I am almost done staying at all KOA's since I hate the extra fees they charge at the already high prices. This is a mostly gravel campground, so it was a bit dusty during the day. Pool was nice and big, nice area around the pool, and the camp store was nice and well stocked. Other than that. Stopped here on an overnight towards Nashville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$53
Little expensive, but there is not much to choose from in the area. Only objections I had was that it was dusty since most of the campground is covered with gravel. The site we had was a pull through with no area for sitting outside. Plenty of trees which made it difficult to get a satellite signal, Wi-Fi was slow, and it was a little expensive. Looks like it would be a good campground for kids. Ours are grown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Friendliest staff I've ever met at a campground. At first seemed a bit "pricey," but considering all of the amenities it has, it's probably in line. This is more of a campground for younger campers with kids (or grandparents with kids), since there is so much for them to do. Great location, family friendly and plenty to do. We took our granddaughter and stayed here while we went to the Kentucky State Fair. After an hour at the Fair she wanted to come back to the campground. Would have given it a 10 if the roads had been paved. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$57
Very nice landscaped sites. Although sites may be tight when full, staff assigned sites to allow space between units. Very well kept grounds. One of the largest and nicest KOAs we've seen. Close to Louisville and the Bourbon Trail. We would stay here again when in the area, and recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
As has been stated, rather over priced for camping. But we arrived 10 minutes after closing. Didn't see the after-hours sign in box, right away. Lady inside just looked at me and went about her business, without even pointing to it. One of the other workers outside came up and showed it to me. I chose a 50 amp pull through site, so I would not have to disconnect. Well the site I picked out, was definitely not a pull through one. Was lucky that another site was available. I moved, but it was still tight. Other then that, everything was fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
Beautiful urban setting. Well maintained campground. Excellent staff. We had a tornado warning during our stay and the staff was efficient and well trained to help campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Very clean restrooms and showers. There was a hot tub in a seperate area that was clean, but did not get to use. Staff was pleasant. Sites were level and big access friendly for our 36.5 Class A Motorhome with towed vehicle. Off leash fenced dog area with bags, waste container, and water bowls was enough space for all size dogs. Dog area was clean of waste and had dog friendly agility equipment. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$49
Very nice park. Sites are close together and overpriced for this area. All hookups worked well and the kids enjoyed the playground. Better than average value for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Big, well manicured KOA. One of the biggest I've seen. The pool is HUGE and looks nice. They have put a ton of money into this place. Only stayed one night and didn't get out much, but it was a super place to stay. Not far off the interstate and no road noise. Really top-notch establishment! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This campground is overpriced. KOA's are high priced but this one doesn't deliver. The sites are just way to close. The park layout is just a hodge-podge of sites facing different ways. The people were nice but with no cable, sites close together and a generally crowded campground is it wasn't a good impression. The sites were level and we would stay again but only if we had to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Close to freeway, easy to get to, but no freeway noise. Close to restaurants and shopping. Roads and sites are gravel with grass between. Park is well maintained. Water and power were good, cell (AT&T) was weak. We would camp here again in our motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$54
This is a very nice campground. Most sites are level but some are a little rustic just like a KOA should be. Staff was nice and easy to deal with. I would highly recommend this campground. They also have a nice trail to a river and a fishing pond. I think this would be a good family campground and I would gladly stay here again if I am in Louisville again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$62
We ended up at the Louisville South KOA , a very nice park run by courteous, friendly people. It’s also a mile or two away from Interstate 65, so it’s very quiet. There are lots of trees and grass – it is very peaceful. It’s a large park with sites for everything from tents to large motorhomes. We’ll definitely stay here again when we’re in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Friendly staff. Campground was easy to get to. The park seemed well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This campground was conveniently located to the sites we wanted to see in Louisville - Slugger Museum, Kentucky Derby Museum/Churchill Downs and the Louisville Zoo. The staff were friendly, the washrooms were clean. The pool provided welcome relief from the heat. The sites are all gravel (in fact, the campground is mostly gravel, which is a bit disappointing). We camped here over a weekend in mid-July and it was pretty empty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Expensive. But then again, you expect that from KOA. Nice campground just 20-25 from Louisville and Bardstown. Paved roads gravel sites. Full hookups. Pool was nice and bathhouse/shower areas were very nice and clean. Last three years this campground has won a Presidential KOA award. Nice and helpful staff. We had a pull through site. It was a bit short but it was shaded!!! Here is the deal. This cost is too much for my liking but the wife loves the facilities and look of the campground. Guess who makes decisions in our family? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$51
A very nice campground with lots of things to do for the kiddos! The pool, jumping pillow and fishing pond were a hit with my kids. This place was a 15-20 minute drive to Louisville and right on the Bourbon Trail. Bathrooms and facilities were very clean and the staff was amazing and helpful. The only bad thing about the campground is the sites - gravel, uneven, tight. Very quiet and safe. Would use this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was an overnight stopover for me. I arrived after the office closed, but the after hours sign-in process was very clear. I chose one of their "value full hook-up" spots, which was shorter than others, but not a problem for my rig. The park was not very busy, so it was quiet. My space was easy to find and get into. My only complaint was the wi-fi, which seemed much slower than at other KOAs I've stayed at recently. As I was heading south, the fact that this park was on the south side of Louisville meant I did not have to cope with traffic when I left the next morning. I would consider staying here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This KOA is full of trees: there's so much shade, its fantastic. Its also far away from any major road, so its extremely quiet as well. We enjoyed walking the dog around the several acres the park has, and also enjoyed the dog run. The pool is huge: much bigger than most we've seen and the playground for the kids was awesome. It was also really close to the Jim Beam distillery, which was a fun and unexpected side trip. The staff was great too, very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
I agree with a former posting that this campground has a poor outlook toward customers. Instead of being made to feel they are glad to have you, they make you feel like you are constantly doing something wrong. It has a great setting and a wonderful place for families with children and the camp is well maintained, but all that is spoiled by everything else. I have stayed here at least 3 times a year for the past few years and it seems that it is something each time. For example, on one occasion we arrived late and when we got to our site, the breaker kept kicking. I call the emergency number and was told someone would be right there. I eventually had to plug into the adjoining space and go to the office the next day before anyone came. On another, I was placed in a site and then about an hour later was told I would have to move. It was reserved for someone else. I had to completely break down and move. In fairness, they did give me a couple of nights credit. However, as the gentleman was explaining to me why I had to move, he was called on his radio and asked, "Are you having a problem?" As if I was the problem or would cause a problem. On and on I could go, but enough is enough. I will never use this campground again. Maybe it is me, but I have always felt this place could care less about its customers. Also, be prepared to pay extra for anything they can get you for: another arm band to use to the pool, etc. It is way to expensive for what they offer. Hope others have better experiences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
We stopped in for just an overnight on our way to a rally in Memphis. It was easy to access. We requested a pull through as we didn't really want to disconnect the tow vehicle and they were able to accommodate us quite nicely. The park was very busy with lots of families there for the weekend. Seemed to be quite a lot for everyone of all ages to do. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$62
Very poor outlook towards customers. Camp store is very expensive, often twice what normal expensive prices are, yet they are stocked poorly. They claimed to have a grocery store, but that consisted of a few cans of soup, bacon, and not a lot else. They had more beer than groceries and that's not saying much. Live bait was expensive, $4 for a small container of wax worms, but most containers were full of worms that had been dead so long they were black. We had the cheapest cabin. Stunk pretty bad, had to put the AC on max to clear it out. Got through the night, but the next day we realized everything we own was covered in flying ants. I mean everything. Absolutely covered. They admitted they had been battling an infestation over the summer, so they upgraded us to a brand new suite cabin because they were sold out of the others. So new that they apparently hadn't even screwed down the vertical spindles for the handrails. My 2 year old grabbed one to support himself going down the stairs and it came loose, sending him tumbling down a few stairs and hit his head on the concrete and breaking this spindle in the process. When I tried to check out the next day, I notified them of this broken piece of wood, and they got all authoritative about it, sending two overzealous maintenance guys over who I can only describe as the handrail police. They proceed to lecture me like a bulldog about how this was brand new and was perfectly sturdy until we came along. Didn't give a damn about how my 2 year old about cracked his head open due to their negligence, they were all freaked about how their $2.50 piece of wood was broken though and blamed us for it. Nice facilities don't matter if you don't maintain them properly then act like a jerk about it. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
We were here on a Sat. and Sun. night. The park was full on Sat. with lots of young families. On Monday morning, very, very early there were a lot of vehicles leaving the park apparently going to work. Our site was behind a cabin with no one next to us nor in front of us. The site was level but we had to drive up an incline to both get into it and out of it. This park has many large trees so getting satellite was impossible and there was no cable. It did appear to be a very popular park for local families. The road leading to the park is very narrow. We stayed here to go to the Kentucky Derby Museum and if in the area again we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
I realize it was a holiday weekend so the staff was exhausted. They are a pricey KOA but since I have family in the area I have stayed here many times in the last 4 years. Being a fulltimer, I also stay at a lot of KOA's across the USA, so maybe I would appreciate a few extra perks. The price here is based on 6 people per camper. Since we are only two, why not give a few free tickets so we could have our family over for a cookout by our camper (we were here 10 nights) without paying an extra $7.00 per person to visit? (Two of my family went to buy ice cream for us and were then thrown out because they didn't pay.) This KOA could care less how good a customer I am, and may as well have said if I don't like it, I could leave. Needless to say I won't stay here again, and maybe not forget them all in the future! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a fairly large KOA about 20 miles south of downtown Louisville. We found the entrance to the RV park impressive, but the sites are confusing because of the many angles, The pull-thrus are long enough, but are very narrow and with gravel there was a lot of dust, although there are trees giving shade. It's OK if no one is right next to you. We liked it because it was close to the sights in Louisville and the Bourbon Trail. We had plenty of room to park our car right in back of our rig. The WI-FI worked good, but no cable. If we ever visit the Louisville area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We stayed here because we thought all KOAs were the same, so we'd know what we were getting. Not so! Unlevel sites, cable TV didn't work, WiFi didn't work at the campground (just in the office) and the staff wasn't helpful at all. We could have stayed just down the road for a lot less money with all the amenities that this KOA advertized and didn't have. What a disappointment this KOA was. We were told this was a corporate KOA and not a franchise. That makes it even worse. Shame on you KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We have stayed at this park two years in a row on our way to and from Florida. It's a typical KOA but the sites don't seem as close together as other KOAs we have patronized. Friendly office staff and a nice dog park. Be sure to walk down to the Indian Cave by the river! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Esthetically this is a very nice park. It has the usual KOA class and cleanliness, pool, nature walk, dog playground, children playground and etc. However I have a few comments about some details that have been ignored. Amenities that are commonplace in today's RV parks that cost a lot less. 1. Very few, if any, of the sites are level. And no attempt was made to level them. 2. I saw several sites where tree branches are hanging so low that they scraped the tops of the rigs. A good way to damage everything on the roof. 3. Although trees are of course very attractive and needed when they block the sky you can't get satellite reception and this park for some unknown reason doesn't offer cable TV. Very rare with today's modern RV parks. 4. No on site trash pick up? 5. Wake up KOA...today's modern RV's are large, long and have slide outs. So many of your sites are small, short and packed close together like an RV ghetto. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
We were told there is NO cable anywhere in the park despite the claim in Trailer Life to the contrary, and we were given a site under trees so could not use our satellite either. Our site was uphill and impossible to level on. Sites are small and quite close together. Definitely not worth the high cost; we would not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
This is a very nice KOA. The staff is extremely friendly and they escort you to your site. This is a family park and there are lots of activities for kids. Excellent Wi-Fi and all utilities were in good order. Rates were a little on the high side, but we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Convenient to local attractions. Variety of activities, nice pool/hot tub. Convenient pet park. Hours of office were user friendly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$59
We rented one of the Deluxe sites with concrete patio. If in the Louisville area this campground is a good find. Wi-Fi is strong, site easy to set up. Staff is helpful and campground provides escort to the site. At this price cable should be available. If in the area we would likely stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Typical KOA, lots of amenities, lots of washer/dryers too. Office help very friendly. Small sites, but acceptable. Utilities were fine as well as free WiFi. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
I have stayed here in the past, but this park has changed quite a bit since I was here last. Bathrooms off the main office were closed for remodeling and pool wasn't open yet. Would probably not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$46
A very clean park. No cable TV or garbage pickup for the money. Pull through sites get muddy when it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
The campground is about two miles off the interstate, but very easy to locate. It is in the middle of several houses and apartments, so the location is a little odd. The campground was clean. One section looked as if it was where the full time residents stayed, but there was no clutter. There is one side area where it appears they store some older RV's that was a little unsightly, but it was just a storage area. While we we here, early March, the campground was not crowded at all. The bathrooms and showers were clean, and there was plenty of warm water and water pressure. They have a cute little dog park. They also have a nice nature trail that winds its way down to a pond and river. The trail was clean, well marked, and mostly flat. The campground was a good place for an overnight stay even though it seemed a bit pricey for the location. It would have gotten a higher rating except for the location in the middle of a neighborhood, and the lack of recreation in the immediate area. They did have a small playground for kids, a giant jumping pillow, and a pool. It is also reasonably close to the Louisville Expo center: about 15 or 20 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
My father and I flew to Indiana to pick up a new motorhome and drove home in one of the snowstorms. We stopped at this KOA, and were the only guests, aside from the hosts. It snowed 6 inches our first night here, and we were stranded. The hosts could not have been more gracious. They put us next to a bathhouse, since we could not use our water. They shoveled a path through the snow so my father could safely walk to the bathhouse (he has two artificial hips). They let us borrow a broom and a ladder to get snow off of our slide awnings. They worked all day the next morning to plow roads and sites. When we left, they plowed us out of our site. Due to the snow blanket, we could not see how the park would look otherwise, but we were so grateful to the hosts and the clean bathrooms that we could not rate this park high enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
Fabulous family oriented RV park with a lot of amenities. The playground (which we had no need for) is wonderful. The pool is very nice. The hot tub is inside, very large, clean and works wonderfully well. The park is clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Easy in and out. Only complaint is a little bit of airport noise. Airport is not really close, but there is some flight path noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
This was one of our favorite campgrounds. The grounds were very nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Wi-FI was excellent: we were told that there were routers all over the park, and that every site would have good reception, which we did. The lay out of the park is a little strange: the big sites at the front of the park require you to back your rig back down the entrance road in order to get into them. No other way to access these from the registration area. We were glad we called ahead, as we were told there was an extra charge if you didn't have a reservation, which I dislike. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Paved entrance, gravel roads and site. Clean, well-kept. Stayed here two years ago, and the park has shown improvement since then. Lots for kids to do. Wireless works well. Not far from sites in Louisville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
We only stayed here one night but loved it. The CG was very neat and the hosts were the best. Will go back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
We camped here as a waypoint on our trip to Florida. It was Thursday night before the Kentucky Derby, and the park was packed with beautiful and expensive looking rigs. The Wi-Fi worked well. We were escorted to our campsite by the host as it was dark when we arrived. The site was quite small, but there were only a handful left when we got there due to the Derby. The shower facilities were clean, if a bit dark. The proximity to the highway was the main attraction for us. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
Found this campground to be efficient for our given purpose. If I was traveling and using this as a true vacation spot, I would have been disappointed. It's location is it's biggest downfall in my eyes. The campground is in the middle of a neighborhood. The area around it is growing so they are making the best of what they have. It's proximity to I-65 and other tourist attractions is OK. There seemed to be a decent variety of sites although they were improperly utilized. The site next to ours was an RV site which was overcrowded with three cars, three tents and way too many people given the "persons per site" limit. None seemed to be "policing" the activities as the people camped there were throwing their leftover food into the grass next to their site. I did think the sites were too close together. The pet playground was interesting and we did take our dogs into it. Some of the buildings looked like their exteriors could have used some remodeling/refreshing. There was a shortage of available trash cans. You had to carry your trash to the dumpsters at the main entrance. If I was camping in a tent I would have asked for my money back as most of the tent sites didn't look like there was any level place to pitch a tent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$56
It's curious how varied the prices have been for all who've commented so far: and there were no events in the area at the time, so we felt our price was high. Anyway, it was easy to find, and the guy on the golf-cart was helpful in our set-up. This place did strike me as very pet friendly, even though we don't have one. People were out there meeting at the pet-park, it was a nice evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Nice park. convenient to Louisville, even the Bourbon Trail and Mammoth Cave. We are a big rig and they handled us easily. Sites are nice and wide with plenty of space between. Our teenage granddaughters loved the "bouncy thing", golf putting and the pool. Staff was nice and also helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
1. Did not get promised site and staff had a "oh well" attitude. 2. Safety - sites with nails coming out of wood that is holding back rock. These could inflict severe injury to anyone not seeing the nails. Could tell this just did not happen, has been there for awhile. 3. Overall we found the KOA to be in need of a overhaul - appears to be in general disarray. 4. We are mostly dedicated KOA campers so we were very disappointed with this facility. The office, pool area was in good shape though. The sites have much to be desired. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Staff was friendly. Sites were fairly level ( including pull thrus) Cable TV cost $2 a day ( very fair for short stay). This KOA has much more than other KOA's we've stayed at. Free continental breakfast each morning (8 - 9AM) in their activities building. They allow fires at each site. Firewood $6/ bundle. We would stay here again... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$51
We were extremely disappointed with this KOA. We called a day before to verify that sites were available. We arrived the next day and paid for two nights. The day of check-out we realized that we had been charged a $5 "walk-in" fee for EACH night. No where on our receipt or in the camp office was a notice about this "walk-in" (no reservation) fee. We told the staff that we had called the day before and was told that no reservations were needed but that we would have made the reservations had we known about this additional fee. Also, we paid for two nights and were charged a walk-in fee for BOTH nights. I questioned the 2nd night $5 charge. We were told had we walked in and paid for even 20 days each night would have this additional fee. They explained that it was KOA's rules and their hands were tied. So I give the campground a very poor rating. The lack of customer service ruined our stay. Of course it wasn't the $5 - it was the "too bad - so sad" attitude. We will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$58
A large,well established campground with all of the amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice playground for children.Dog play area included agility course and other fun things to do. Convenient to Louisville and Bardstown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Staff was very friendly and willing to help in any way. Do not count on internet/wifi connection. Very slow and many interruptions. Staff said it was being addressed, but was not while I was there for a week. All gravel sites and crowded together. Pool, putt-putt, playground, and a hot tub for adults. Nightly movies, too. Monthly rates are available at $400 plus electric. for 2 people. $25 per extra person. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$46
Staff was wonderful and helpful. Park facilities need some work. That is one of the reasons I rated it low. Price was high for what we got. That is the other reason. Second bath house was closed for remodeling and there were problems with the main one that were there the entire 3 days we were there. When the office closed at 8pm, so did the pool and adults only hot tub? I would give it another try just because of the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$47
We have stayed at this KOA campground several times, normally on a return trip from Florida, but since they have raised their prices, I don’t think I will come back. The campground is in need of some repairs and I feel $47.00 a night for water and electric seems too high for a campground in this kind of condition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$44
Nice park, a couple of miles off Route 65. Had a 72 foot long pull through site. Enjoyed the nature trail that goes down along the river. Also enjoyed visiting Bardstown to check out Makers Mark and Heavens Hill distilleries. Didn't have cable as it was $3/day extra and then found we had no satellite reception. They have Patio sites for another $10/day, but all you got was a small cement pad(not under the MH) with chairs and a table on it. If you are just traveling up or down Rt. 65 and looking for a quick stop look at Grandma's RV 1 mile and 1 exit south. We drove around it and will stay there next time we need a quick overnighter in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
Very friendly hosts - guided us right to our site and even offered to help us hook up (it was our first night using our travel trailer). Clean showers and restrooms. Nice sites. Hiking trail and pond on site. Free mini golf for the kids. Also had a playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Very nice clean campground. Staff was very friendly. Sites were adequate yet not very level. Most sites were gravel. The gravel portion of the camp site was laid large enough where in event of rain did not become muddy. Many activities for the kids. Have a large playground, nice sized swimming pool, putt putt golf, basketball, and have nice weekend activities for the kids like a movie and a magic show. Have a large hot tub for adults. Have two dump stations with lots of room to maneuver which is a plus, no waiting when in a hurry. Terrain is somewhat level which is good for bicycle riding. Lots of trees in the park but nice enough to let in sun. No problems checking in. Camp hosts provided escort service to our site. Rates are in the high side but well worth it with many activities going on at the campground pleasing to the kids. Had seven people in my party with full hook up (no cable) with the KOA discount to account for the rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Stayed for 4 weeks this summer. We encountered lots of confusion with reservations and with our arrival. Our visit coincided with a change in management and new employees not familiar with the park. We requested two sites for 40 foot 5th wheels with 50 amps when making reservations and was assigned a 30-amp site upon arrival that needed branches trimmed for one of the rigs to fit. We were escorted to our site from the opposite direction and had to circle the park twice in the rain to approach our back-in site from the appropriate angle. Wasp hive in 30 amp electrical box swarmed when opened as was stung several times. Camp host contacted manager to locate an appropriate size site and then moved us next door to a 50-amp site. Incurred minor damage to rig from lawn mower on two occasions. Rock hit rig one week and the following week the mower ran over an electrical cord. Police were called to different locations in the park 3 times in one weekend. This experience doesn’t appear to be consistent with previous posts so hopefully this was the exception and not the rule. I wrote a letter to the corporate office to share our experience and received an e-mail thanking us for our comments and referred to the park manager’s phone number. We don’t seek out KOA’s but this met our needs “on paper” prior to arrival. We have stayed in a couple of other KOA’s over the years with positive experiences but will think twice after this experience and with their upcoming KOA card fee increase next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Very nice park. Clean, convenient and the staff goes out of their way to help. The only drawbacks were the sites were not very level and some were washed out by heavy rains. Also the landing and departing air traffic from Louisville Intl. Airport was a nuisance. We would go back in a heartbeat though. I recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
Very clean, well landscaped park. Staff was very friendly. Sites were small and not very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
Roads from Hwy. to campground office are blacktop. All roads inside park and sites are gravel. All roads were very good and free of holes. Some sites on outside ring could use more gravel. Sites were level in most cases. Grounds around sites had grass and room. KOA people are reworking number of sites to add cement patio's, chairs, and wood burner. Park was clean, pool & spa was in good shape. Very nice playground equipment for kids. Staff was nice and very helpful plus you receive a lot of write up's with maps on places to visit. Office had a good stock of items you may need. Free WiFi worked well on our site. Long term people park on one side and people in and out or over night people park on other side. At times you have some road noise from I-65 but it was not a problem. Nice park to tour Louisville from. A Wal-Mart super store was about seven miles north of campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Great campground. Escorted to site. Helped by staff to work out some problems with our motorhome. Packages with sightseeing information and directions, recommended places etc. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2004
$39
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com