214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Hoquiam River RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (360) 538-2870
CGID3597

Hoquiam River RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   8   5   9   5   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Beautiful riverfront sites. Sites a little close. Bathrooms excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed 3 days while visiting Olympic National park. Great location. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Staff very nice, hookups good, nice spacing. Small, quiet park with lovely grass walkway next to river. Nice facilities. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
We stayed here for 2 1/2 months and were very pleased. We had an excellent site next to the river. It was quiet and clean. Very friendly managers. We would stay here again in a minute. We paid monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is a lovely campground! Unlike the previous review that stated there were very few sites for travelers, we found there were many sites available! They have a lovely clubhouse and laundry. The restrooms are older, but they are fine! Woman who checked me in was lovely and even offered me a pumpkin bar. I was also escorted to my site and was helped with backing in. I would strongly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
OK for a day or two. Gravel sites mostly level. Mostly permanent rigs, but well kept. Some sites with river view. Sites close together with grass in between. Hosts very friendly and guides you to and into your site. Better then most parks close to the ocean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
In reality: a trailer park with 95% permanent residents. Perhaps 5 or 6 sites for visitors. Whilst on the river: none of the sites for visitors are. Friendly hosts, but narrow sites. We asked for a pull through months before, but permanent residents had them all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This park was absolutely delightful! The staff was so friendly and helpful; they even treated us to delicious homemade cookies! They provide community firepits and firewood; which keeps the smoke out of the campsites. The buildings were attractive and well-maintained. The riverfront is very beautiful. We just needed a place to spend one night and never expected to find something so nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
We stayed for one night, but wouldn't stay again and that's for a couple of reasons. The staff is extremely friendly, directing you to your site and showing all the hookups. But the site we got was sloped from side to side, so we needed a lot of back and forth and boards under the wheels before getting leveled. Hookups were fine. But as it turned out, the water was really dirty, muddy, thus clogging up our water filter within half an hour. Cleaning and letting the water run for a while didn't help. Still dirty water and the filter was clogged again and again. The night was quiet until early in the morning there was a lot of door slamming, truck engine warm ups and traffic on the gravel roads in the park. That's what sometimes happens in parks with lots of permanents. The park itself is well maintained but there is no privacy and mostly no shade. Not an issue in November, but summertime might be different. WiFi was hard to get. We needed a dozen tries when arriving and couldn't get online at all the next morning. After a walk to the office and reporting the problem it was resolved in a minute. We can't comment on the washrooms or showers since we didn't use them. I would expect them in good condition. However, we feel the campground is overpriced for what you get and we would try another campground when in the area the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
The management are a 10, really helpful. The RV site is OK for an overnight stop. Be aware that most of the pull-throughs appear to be permanents, as are most of those staying throughout the park. I called ahead earlier in the day and reserved the last one. You will need extra long sewer connections, 3 sections, to hook up here. Hoquiam appears to be a small, quiet town, with nothing to make you want st stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is one of the best managed parks we have used. The managers made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The on-site RV repair service was great for us since we had an a/c motor lock up. They ordered the motor, installed it and cleaned both units at a more than fair price. The park is clean and well maintained. The view of the river and the walking path adjacent to it are beautiful. We will definitely stay here again. They are also very pet friendly. This is a great jumping off point for area beaches and parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This is a nice park located on the Hoquiam River. However, the spots in the area we were in were very tight. We were assigned a spot where the rv's are parked back to back. It could have been a pull through but someone else was already occupying the front part so we had to back in. Tow vehicles were parked diagonally in front of the rv's making parking a little difficult. Adding to the difficulty was the fact we had trouble positioning our 5th wheel so that our slide out didn't collide with the neighbors awning. We did not use the park's wi-fi connection but our Verizon broadband worked very well. The cable television offering was very limited. If we are in the area we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
First time here. Sites are a little close; however the owners are great and our site was almost directly on the river. We enjoyed the area and would return in the future if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Price reflects Good Sam discount rate. We stayed overnight after a long drive and management was very helpful and accommodating, getting us in on short notice. We were guided to a pull through with a gorgeous view of the river. All hookups worked well, although we did not try the cable TV. Very convenient off of Highway 101, so there was some highway noise. No problem with Verizon cell or data signals. I do not ordinarily give unpaved parks an 8 rating, but this one deserves it. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
I'm not sure I'm staying at the same CG that previous reviewers stayed at. My experience (over 2 days) was one of the best. Site was level (#10), right on the river, WiFi was about the best I've encountered this trip, power and water were good, hosts were extra friendly and helpful. A nice trail along the river to an abandoned boat yard was a nice extra touch. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This was a welcome surprise at the end of a long drive. Management was friendly, sites were clean and spacious and everything worked well. Would drive a few extra miles to stay there again, even if only overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Campground is located right on the River. It has fairly well spaced and long pull-through sites with grass in between. Hook-ups were oddly placed at the far end of the site. We could hardly reach the sewer even when parked as far back as possible. Basic cable and Wi-Fi worked pretty well. Very quiet and dark at night. Surrounding neighborhood was not very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Relatively quiet, by nice river (if have a tall rig and on the edge, may have view over levee). Good strong Wi-Fi, very nice managers. And the water tasted good as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Really liked this park. We paid for one night and ended up staying for three. Park staff is great and the park is very clean. Quiet and right on the Hoquiam river. A great place to get away for a few days. A nice drive to Ocean Shore or Westport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
We have camped here several times, it is a quiet place, gravel spots, not real level. Wi-Fi is hit and miss and just seems to not be a strong signal. Cell phones, especially AT&T will have a real hard time getting any signal. But it is a friendly place to stay and about the only park around the area without going to Westport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
I cannot recommend this RV campground. The management was never cordial, rude may be a better word. After staying a night there I discovered I had a leak in my roof. I tried to cover only the roof with a white tarp. It was not noticeable from the ground. The manager came and said that no tarps are allowed. I had to remove my tarp and let the rain do it's damage. When looking around the park I saw tarps over boats and there were ugly pieces of machinery out in the open. Why was this allowed? Happy Thanksgiving to me. I could have kept out the rain with even a little understanding on the part of the management. I would think people would help someone when help is needed. Hoquiam River RV Park management is not that kind of people. I cant recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
As others have stated, this park has almost all the desired facilities: FHU, pull-through sites, good cable TV(70+ channels) and free, at site, Wi-Fi. It is a great park for the travelling RVers or groups but I would not recommend this park for families as there is no pool or other kids to play with. It was one of those parks that was almost too quiet: I walked around the park several times between 3PM and 9PM and there was almost nobody out and about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Gravel roads and sites. Older park with a lot of long term rigs staying there. Some even had wooden decks and storage sheds. Wi-Fi was fast and worked well. The owners are friendly. Good central location to Ocean Shores, Westport, and ocean beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
They said they were pet friendly: but if your pets make any noise, they shut off your power. If they keep making noise you will be asked to leave the park. So while my husband and I were at work, our dogs had to come with us, we were not allowed to leave them in the RV. Also, we had guests over one night and they were stopped at the gate and told they had to leave or park outside of the park. We moved to a different RV Park after that. I've never been to an RV park where no one is allowed outside their rigs to enjoy themselves. We have never felt so unwelcomed at an RV park before in our lives. So if you are planning to be in the Hoquiam area, stay elsewhere. The operators at this park are very rude. I would not recommend this RV park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This is an older RV park but is a nice stop for a night or two. Interior roads and sites are gravel, interior roads can be a little rough in spots. Clubhouse with laundry and showers is very nice/clean. Managers were very friendly and helpful. Pull-thru sites are very long (maybe 60ft) with all services at the rear of the site. We stayed in an end site (#38) which had a small concrete patio and looks right out on the river with a great view. Only 3 end sites in the park with this view and privacy. WiFi and cable TV worked fine. Easy drive to Ocean Shores and a drive on the beach. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
The grounds and landscaping are so-so, but the Office and Clubhouse appear to be relatively new and just cute!!! Laundry and shower rooms were very clean! The Clubhouse appears inviting, and people were playing games and watching TV in the Clubhouse. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The pull-through sites are quite long! If you are in a shorter rig (30 feet or less) and get put in a pull-through, you need to park near the back of the slot. If you pull all the way to the front (as you might be tempted to do), you will be far away from the connections. I asked for a "river spot" and the managers said, "we laugh when people ask that question." There aren't any "river" spots, but it's a short walk to the river, where you can sit on some benches and enjoy the view. The wireless worked great! They have it locked down with an access key. The one negative about this park is that the spots are close together in that you can look out your window to the patio and picnic table of the RV next to you. If your neighbors are eating on the picnic table, you can open your window and say, "Pass the ketchup." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We spent a week here. This is not a "resort" by any means, but it's one of the quietest campgrounds we've visited. We had a nice view of the river and a family of deer walked through our patio. There are many permanent residents but they are friendly and quiet. They do have a little junk spread around but much less so than many parks we have stayed in. The town of Hoquiam has experienced some hard times and is somewhat depressing, but Ocean Shores is nearby and this is as close to it as you can get and still have Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are spotless and the owners are friendly. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We stay here every year and do enjoy the park. The monthly sites are in a separate area and did not detract from our visit. Site #8 is the best. We enjoyed the river from our living room. Staff is great and the place is peacefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We stayed here for one night . The people were really nice but there are a lot of full timers at the park. The river is close by but it's not river front in that you have to walk to the river and you can't really see it from any site. We felt uncomfortable in the park and the sites are really really tight and close to each other. Our RV main door was basically on top of the dump for the next site over. We did a quick one night stop and we left early. Everything else was good, but we would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Friendly staff running a peaceful park. Lot of long term rigs in here, but they were also friendly. This is a busy park that fills up often, but they try to keep everyone happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This is still the nicest campground in Grays Harbor. Owners/staff very happy to have you and it shows. Quite, friendly, beautiful. We will stay here whenever we are in Grays Harbor area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
This is the first time of probably many stays here. They were really nice about my checking in early and out late as they weren't really busy. The owners are very pleasant, as was the camp host. The sites are level gravel, the hook-ups were handy, there was plenty of room on the interior roads for any size rig and were long enuff for my TT and TV. It is right on the edge of the river and has fishing, kayaking, and rafting possibilities. BD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Roads are gravel. This is a new park and it shows! Everything about this place shows care. Beautiful setting along the river. Great to sit and watch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$25
We stayed here in the summers of 2003 (the year it opened) and 2004. The owners are very friendly, helpful, and maintain a clean, neat park. It is big rig friendly. They did not have picnic tables at that time which would be nice to have. Our Verizon cell phone had a poor signal strength here resulting in "dropped calls", likely due to the nearby hills. The owner accommodated us by connecting us to a land phone. A great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com