223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Island Retreat RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (251) 967-1666
CGID36

Island Retreat RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
153
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   3   5   1   2   5   5   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This is a pretty nice park with a few drawbacks. The location is good, with only a short drive to many activities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Park roads are paved and sites are in good condition, with easy access to hookups. Several sites have shade, which is a big plus in the summer heat. Cable TV only consists of about 20 channels and most were snowy, but watchable. Internet was weak and pretty unreliable at our site. Maintenance guy had a German Shepard tied outside that barked frequently and lurched menacingly toward us whenever we walked by on the street. Some long term campers looked junked up around them. I'd stay here again but I might just check around for something better next time. Maybe that big dog will be gone by then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We almost didn't come because of the most recent ratings. This is a pretty good park. The office staff was very helpful and accommodating. Everything you need (Walmart, beach, restaurants) are within 2 miles. The showers/restrooms were kept clean. It is easy access and the sites are adequate. There are some FEMA trailers, but the vast majority are family campers. The park seemed to be very safe. The WiFi was good and the cable had enough channels to keep us entertained! Some of the slabs are cracked (like my driveway), but they all appear to be level. Water pressure and electricity were good. Overall, this is a good campground and I wouldn't have and concerns about recommending it. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This park is not being maintained and rules are not enforced. The maintenance man has two ratty trucks parked in the grass along side of his boat. His dog is tied up to the boat with no one outside. Many campsites look trashy. People have freezers, refrigerators, couches, multiple tents, shelving, and other home items outside of their units. They have pet areas but they are full with boats and trailers. Filthy old units look as if they have been abandoned. It is a shame that better care is not given to this park. The location is great and many nice people come for the summer. The pool area is nice. This could be a 7-8 if the rules they state in their brochure were enforced. Great potential but for now I cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
We were here in March for a few days between jobs. the campground has small sites that are close together, but we still enjoyed our stay. Clean laundry & restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Don't prepay for extra days I paid for 3 extra days and could not stay so I ask for a refund to my card They said we can't refund your card u will have a credit to stay another time. I didn't know that is how they do refunds so I have 3 nights 100 dollars credit that I will never get back. I myself consider that stealing but the manager says it's not. I will never be back there or recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Sites are so unlevel had to use blocks under my tires to even get close to level. The cement pads very broken up. Cable TV very snowy. Wifi in am worked fine but after 6 pm would not work at all. I really believe the Good Sams should review this camp ground and take it off the list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
This park has seen it's prime a couple of years ago. It is now in a downward spiral. There are a few former FEMA trailers, motor homes and 5th wheel trailers on site that have permanent year round residents, with their boats and belongings parked around and near their sites. Has that trashy look. Some of the pads are all broken up and never fixed. No spraying program. Fire Ants all over the park. You have to spray your own area or get bite. No formal grass cutting program and when it was done, it was hit and miss. If the owners would take an interest, and update this park, it could be a real gem. That being said, the park is in an ideal location close to everything. Rates are reasonable. Beautiful paved 5 mile long bike path runs through front of the park. The staff and fellow campers are very friendly. Roads and sites are easy to get around and into. This is a Big Rig Friendly Park. No problem for the biggest 5th wheel trailers or Huge Motor Homes. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
This is a nice park, close to everything on the Gulf Coast. such as beaches, shopping, fuel, restaurants, etc. The sites have cement pads and are level. Some of the pads are badly cracked and have chunks missing. It is easy in-easy out for all the sites. I would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$43
Large park and close to the action. The parks internet is poor and works less than one half the time. Cement pads are cracked and falling apart. The maintenance in the park is poor and the maintenance men sit around doing nothing. Dogs bark constantly from a trailer park next door. Night and day they bark. People at desk very nice but some seem confused about daily operations of the park. This RV park really needs updating and renovation. Good Sam park needs to look at this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
This is a nice park with level concrete pads for the RV, and picnic tables included. Site spacing is typical for a park of this size, not real wide, but long enough to fit a 40' motorhome and car. We were unable to fit into the first site assigned to us due to tree branches, but the staff was very helpful and gave us another site that worked out fine. The interior roads are paved and two-way. WiFi is available, but we brought our own so not sure about the speed. The bathrooms/showers are individual rooms and clean. The laundry rooms have very old machines, but they appear to work fine. Although this park is near a busy road, we were far enough back in the park that it was not a concern. You may want to consider this, though. There is also a fire station right next door, but not a busy one. We really liked the direct access to a paved bike/walking path that runs 3.8 miles to the west and all around Gulf Shores to the east. Grocery stores, banks and a mall are an easy 2-mile drive away, as is access to the beach and good restaurants. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Although many people were staying here for several months, we did not see any older, run down "permanent" sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
My family camped here again. We had a good time. Everything was taken care of very well. I give it an A+ on customer service, and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Great place. Very nice people. The sites were very level and mostly shaded. Enjoyed my week in this RV park and will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Too many people leave their RV's here and come up on weekends. Therefore I would only come on weekdays! The pool is small and was jam packed. There were not enough laundry machine. You almost had to fight for a washer dryer. Not sure where that shade was but we didn't get any. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This is a very good campground and near most Gulf Shore facilities. There were a few annoyances - such as smoke from campfires. In a crowded urban setting having to put up with someone's smoke in your RV is unacceptable. Some site pads are broken up and need to be repaired. There seemed to be a small HD motorcycle group in the CG for the winter. Noise from these machines is also annoying. We liked the place but would be cautious about going back. It's too bad that a few spoiled the friendly, helpful atmosphere from the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
A great location, with wonderful people. It was likely a great park when it was built 35/40 years ago but nothing has been updated. The laundry machines so old the paint has worn off and they are rusty. Bathhouses have individual shower/toilet rooms. Two bathhouses but only 4 unisex facilities operational for the whole park. The pool has no heater so its pretty much useless as its too cold. I was here a month and never saw anyone go near it. Our pull through site was gravel with a concrete pad. The pad was broken and sinking. I used more planks trying to level it than any other park in the last 5 years. When it rained, we had a puddle a foot deep under the RV. I had to set up part on concrete, part on gravel to get level. As others noted cable does not get CBS or NBC and the swing still broken in playground. Our rate based upon monthly stay and includes power and tax. If you don't need park facilities (pool, playground, laundry, showers, rest room, network cable channels) you might like this park but for me, its missing too much. The park really needs to upgrade or replace its facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Awesome park. Very close to the Gulf shores beaches. Very central location. No more than 5 minutes to get anywhere. Very friendly campers. We stayed with our two young children. Great family location. Only reason they don't have a 10 from me is because the playground had broken swings and didn't seem well maintained. Other than that, it was excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Very enjoyable stay. Everything worked as it should and the weather was perfect. Wireless was a little weak but was able to get email. Lots of traffic in the area but that is to be expected for a tourist area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
A nice campground overall. Needs a little maintenance but it is a much better park than most others in the area. Very friendly office staff, and there were toys for sale for the kids in the office as well as candy, ice cream and ice. The pool area is nice but needs a little attention. It's in a great location, convenient to everything. A very clean park. We will stay again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
The people were very nice.The park was well kept. We looked at several other campgrounds in Gulf Shores and liked this one the best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
As "snow birds" we have stayed here 6 months over the last 4 winters. This is a very average park. Due to limited camping in this area, it is full in the winter. When full the WiFi is very limited, they have few IP addresses available so WiFi is very slow or not working. This has been the same for 4 years, they always make excuses. Many of the concrete pads are broken, not just cracked, and some parts are 6" or more lower than other parts so leveling can be an issue. Also they often get reservations messed up. Saw this happen twice last month and both times they told the campers that this has never happened before! Their web site has not worked in several years. This could be a very nice park but needs some improvements and better management. Our rate reflects the monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This RV park is kid friendly. The downside was that the pool had too much chlorine in it and was way too hot to enjoy. The light in the pool had an issue that caused it to go off and on every few minutes. The bike path adjacent to the main road was very fun to ride on. You can easily ride your bike down to the beach without much trouble. There is a boat launch just across the road with a nice pier. Didn't see the staff much, but it is a very busy campground. I would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Wi-Fi was VERY weak, sometimes non-existent; Cable was pretty fuzzy and could not pick up the networks (ABC, NBC, CBS), but did pick up FOX. The cable channels (HGTV, History, Discovery, etc) can in well. We finally unhooked the cable and used our antenna to pick up the networks, which came in great. The park is mostly seasonal campers, but is still a decent park to go to. We normally stay at the state park, but due to the oil, we weren't able to get in the ocean, so we HAD to have a pool. The state park's is STILL not open, Island Retreat has a decent pool and my kids enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This park is average at best. The pull throughs are very long and fairly level with concrete pads. The back ins are short and requires that you park your tow sideways across the site. Park roads are paved but narrow. The entire park could use some care and maintenance. As mentioned before, the Wi-Fi is poor and the cable TV has only a few channels and is fuzzy on most of them. There are some nice parks in the area, but this isn't one of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
At best, this is an average campground but with a change of attitude by the staff it would be a lot better. I am a heavy internet user and found the Wi-Fi to be almost useless because of the very slow speed and the drop out frequency. I was unable to use You Tube or download WMV or MPEG files because of the drop out and freeze up of the system. The office staff denied that anyone else was having trouble but after chatting with other campers I found the internet never did work very well and that their complaints seemed to fall on deaf ears too. I never did find a Wi-Fi user here that was happy with the system and several folks were quite savvy when it comes to the internet. I took my laptop and found another site where the Wi-Fi works a little better so we moved there but it still is not very good. There is no garbage pickup and they do not offer assistance in finding your site. The cable TV has limited channels and it is quite fuzzy. The restrooms and showers are not dirty but they are not sparkling clean either. The attitude of the staff seems to be, "That's the way it is" with no attempt to keep or improve customer satisfaction. This place will probably be ok if you are "satisfied with a little less" but my advice is to check out other campgrounds in the area and use this one as a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$37
This is a nice park but it would be better if the internet consistently worked. When it does work, it is very slow like dial-up. The office people are friendly but I don't understand why all three of them go to lunch at the same time, closing the office for at least one hour midday. They also park all their cars right in the drive, making it horrible to get rigs in and out of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
This is a great place to stay. Everything was very clean and the RV sites have a lot of room. The cable TV was a little fuzzy but the office fixed it very fast. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Very friendly in the office when we arrived. Nice clean RV park. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
We like the park it was our first time to stay here on vacation. The park is nice, everything was kept up. Wi-Fi was on half of the time so if you stay make sure you get a good spot. I will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
We stayed here for two nights. This was our second stay here. We use it to organize ourselves after storing our 5er near Gulf Shores over the winter. For us it is an excellent stopover. For many people in the park it is a three month stay. The downside is that the park is a bit like a parking lot with very little room between sites. There are lots of upsides: friendly and helpful staff, great location, clean bathrooms, swimming pool, Wi-Fi. There is a new municipal park right across the road so you can sit by the lagoon and enjoy the water Gulf Shores has lots to offer: restaurants, golf, shopping, beaches and much more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
This is a good place and we would definitely come again. The rate is with the Good Sam discount. They have many activities in their clubhouse but the clubhouse is too small for the size of the park. The pool is outdoors and unheated while we were there. Nice sites with level concrete pads. No shade, at least where we were. The birds, peacocks?, next door that were mentioned by someone else were not a problem for us. There is a 5 mile paved bike trail at the park entrance and you can take the trail to Gulf State Park for a longer ride. Lots of "snowbirds" were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
We have stayed in the RV park for several years and the WiFI is always broken, unreliable or we just can't even get on. The management of this park promises that new equipment is coming and that has been the same story for 6 years. They advertise that they have WIFI and they DO NOT. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
We had a back in near to fence where a tropical bird business drove us crazy. We would go back but would ask for a pull through in the middle of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We found this CG right in the middle of the resort area so we could easily drive to anything we wanted to visit, including the public beaches. The sites are very nice. Gravel, concrete, grass, and sand. Very level. Paved roads to and from the sites. The size of our site was more than adequate to park our 32' rig, car dolly, and car. This is an older CG but well maintained. They have a very small office/store. The staff in the office was very friendly and helpful. Cable and the Wi-FI Internet were easy to use. Pool was maintained and clean. There was a mix of motorhomes and travel trailers. I saw no tents. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Nice clean park. WiFi was not available at our site; management said one of their antennas had been struck by lighting. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Friendly staff. Older campground. Located on a great tar walking path! Lots to see and do in the area. We will stay again sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
We stayed at this park for three nights in February and March 2008. We intended to stay at another park but we didn’t get in and scrambled at the last minute to find this park. We typically look for state parks and prefer more space and the great outdoors. This park was limited in space and opportunities to commune with nature but it was excellent nevertheless. Most sites are back-ins but there are a few pull-throughs. The sites are fairly small and there is no waterfront but this park has a swimming pool. There was some shade and dogs were allowed but had to be on a leash. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Most, if not all, sites have full hook-ups. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Rest rooms and showers were good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
This is our favorite park. We go here as often as we can. The grounds are always clean and well manicured. The staff is excellent. The only thing that I don't like is the slow wireless internet service. I have a business and much stay in touch by internet and sometimes it is just impossible. This park is very close to shopping, dining and the beach. My husband loves to fish so this is a great park which is close to fishing, saltwater or fresh water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
We camped here over a busy holiday weekend and the park was full. We did not see any empty spots on Saturday or Sunday. The Gulf Shores area experienced a massive thunderstorm (lots of lightning) on Friday night which brought the WiFi down for the weekend. The cable was good. We camped w/ 3 young teen boys, so we did not use the pool, but it seemed to be nice as we drove by. The paved roads were nice and we saw many kids on bikes. We enjoyed the Fort Morgan beaches! We will camp here again!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Nice clean park with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
The monthly rate for March including all hookups, cable and WiFi was $425. It is adjacent to a bike path that extends from Gulf State Park for about 10 miles in length. It is about 3 miles to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Overall a nice campground. Basically no shade so A/C was working overtime in the July heat. Not a whole lot of activitys for teenagers who become bored very easily. Toilet in mens room needed repaired. Was loose so it rocked and rotated on the floor. Rate was reasonable for a full hookup site. Pool was fairly nice. Bike path was nice, although it did not directly head to beach as stated. But since we spent most of our time either at the beach or site seeing the campground served our needs well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
We've had monthly reservations for quite awhile and after reading some previous posts were concerned. However, upon arriving are fears were calmed. WE LOVED ISLAND RETREAT! We plan to stay the entire summer with IR and every summer there after. The staff were very cordial and the park is well maintained. We didn't have a shaded spot, but I didn't come to the beach to sit in the shade. We did have a great view of the pool and play area. I would highly recommend Island Retreat to my friends!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
We found this park to very affordable and enjoyable. The staff was very nice but a little dis-organized. This was our first trip in our first travel-trailer. I was promised a pull through site. They did not find our reservation for a pull through and tried to put us on a back-in. When I questioned the site, they quickly put us on a pull through however. The bike path to the beach was not quite like the web site would have you believe either. It is more than a couple of miles to the beach along a very, very busy road. The pool was not heated so the water was only able to be enjoyed by sight rather than by swimming. However, the showerhouses and restrooms were the pits. We stayed for five nights and they were never clean. That being said, we toured other campgrounds in the area, and this one has the best overall package for a family. It was neatly arranged, had a nice playground, the pool looked great, and the people at the park were the nicest we've met. We had a great time at this park and would definitely recommend staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
The Island Retreat Campground is very clean and nice. It is very family oriented and has alot for everyone to do. It is very easy to get to and fairly close to any activity you may want to do. The bath houses are nice and I saw the maintenance crew cleaning it all the time. The wireless internet is a big plus also. I would recommend this to anyone and I will stay here again next spring break. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
All in all this is a good RV park, but not quite as advertised. The pictures on the website lead you to believe the lots are roomy, when in fact, they are rather "tight." While I could easily open my slide and awning, I sat on my neighbors picnic table to watch my tanks drain. The spot I had was a back-in and if the folks across the street hadn't been so kind as to move their vehicles I could not have made it into the slot. (Granted I have a long wheel base truck, but my 5er is only 30'.) Quite a few permanent/seasonal folks but was neat if crowded. Excellent location for snowbirds (nothing against that as I hope to be one someday). All in all not a lot of elbow room, very little shade in the majority of the park. Pull-throughs are limited in number and they charge an extra $3 a nite for them. If these things matter to you, check ahead of time. The Wi-Fi that is advertised hasn't worked in awhile according to a sign in the office and won't for at least another 90 days. (Nothing mentioned to me when I made reservations last month.) Propane service is only available Mon-Fri and when I tried to get an empty tank filled on Monday, I was told that their man would not be in until 2pm the next day (Tue). The folks in the office were friendly. The park is located close to Gulf Shores and local attractions. Bathrooms/showers were clean yet limited to two per location spread across a fairly large park. Since we prefer a little more open space between RV's, we will probably not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$26
Great park. Alot of snowbirds. Paved interior roads and concrete pads. Laundry facilities were clean and in good working order. Most of the sites are back-in, there were only a few pull-through sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This park is A-1. We were well treated and the owner and help. They did all was possible to keep you happy. Lots of activity in the club room. There was live entertainment every Friday night, A breakfast every Saturday morning for a donation, Real good cooks there.If you are in Gulf Shores this is the Park to be in. It is close to the beach and Grocery Stores plus good shopping within 7 miles. We have our reservations already for next year. I can hardly wait. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Monthly rates very reasonable- snow bird friendly- friendly helpful staff- very clean. Will definitely stay there whenever we go to Gulf Shores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com