206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Mount Pocono Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (570) 839-8950
CGID3601

Mount Pocono Campground

Camp Information
Sites
191
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   7   9   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
There is a long downhill gravel entry road with four “speed-dips”. These are actually trenches cut across the road for water run off. Go slow and you will be okay. It did rain some while we were here, but not enough to cause an issue going up/downhill. But, it could possibly become a problem with heavy, long-lasting rains. The campground is very clean and well tended. The only complaint is that the gravel caused everything to be covered in dust. A lot of seasonals (a couple that could use a good washing) but all that we saw were very neat, no trash or plastic totes of stuff stacked outside. Since we were only here a few days, we were placed in the “transient” area. It is open for good satellite reception and has two rows of gravel covered, terraced, pull through sites, wide enough for slide outs and awnings. But, our 40 ft motorhome filled the site from end to end so we could not have stayed connected. Check your site out before you set up as some are more level than others. Nice playground and very clean, heated pool, horseshoe game area, lawn area with volleyball and badmiton nets, rec room with pool table, big screen TV and fitness area. There are more improvements being made daily. A deck is being built, gravel being replaced and re-graded, and landscape updating. The free Wi-Fi had a strong signal, it was adequate (not hi-speed) but we got kicked off about once an hour. Electric voltage was steady, water pressure sufficient and the 75 cable channels were clear. We were here during the week and it was very peaceful and quiet. Weekends might be different when the seasonal sites are more in use. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
This is a really nice campground. Scenic, clean, peaceful, and friendly, but if you are in a large coach the steep hills within this campground may be somewhat of an experience. We stayed here during several days of heavy rain and the steep hills with their gravel covering required us to use 4 wheel drive to negotiate getting out of our site and up to the exit. We really enjoyed our visit otherwise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Sites are gravel and fairly level. Very nice at reception. Campground is run by a brother and sister and they are improving things every day. We didn't have shade, but there are trees at other sites. We thought the signage to find the campground could be better. Would have given it a "10" except for the steep, rutted entry drive. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Stayed in a Pop-Up on site C7, nice and shaded. Bathrooms were clean but very wet, I think due to the proximity to the pool and humidity, someone was always mopping them. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
I would recommend this campground to others who may be visiting the Pocono area. There is a lot to do in the area, but the campground offers activities throughout the day for those who do not want to leave. If you are not into the activities you may want to check out their library, play a few games in the game room, or start your morning off with a workout in the fitness room. The equipment appears to be well maintained and fairly new (bike, row machine, treadmill, weight machine, etc). We stayed at the campground with a group of friends and all of us took notice of how well kept the grounds were, from landscaping to the bathrooms. The campground is focused on families (check the rules) and making sure you have a good time during your visit. Here is why I did not rate them a "10". 1. Our sites were pull thru ( a plus), but not level at all. We had to use three rows of levelers and we were still slightly off. 2. The sites are smaller than we have stayed at in the past. By the time we parked our 19 ft. camper, moved the bench, parked the truck and then found the fire ring- we felt like we were on top of everything with little room to move. Now to be honest, there are some sites that seemed to have more room to them. I also think if they removed the grass area from the sites and made it stone, you would feel as if the sites were bigger. 3. The campground could use more lights, especially for people coming in at night (7-9pm). The roads are kind of narrow and if it rains can be a challenge to manuver. Though I would suggest not keeping the lights on all night, as it would be a waste of money and people are sleeping. 4. Some of the sites are on a slope, therefore if it rains, they have come over in the morning and start to fill in the washed out areas. Great! Though I wonder if they could reduce the time spent on refilling the washed out areas and making sure the sites are level, if they would either black top or concrete the sites. 5.Campground has two fishing ponds, but you have to find them! We were unable to locate them. We found a nature trail, which may have been washed out with the recent rains. Though no pond was found. There is no doubt that I would stay here again, especially with how well they maintain everything at the campground. I would just look for a site that meets our needs better in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
An excellent campground. As stated, the gravel roadways are narrow and steep. Not for inexperienced drivers. The campground is hidden at the end of the street. It is very clean, family friendly and well kept. The pull through sites are very nice with a picnic table and fire ring. They are fairly level although we needed several blocks to level out. The weekend we were there they had just been through severe thunderstorms and a lightning strike. The cable TV suffered from it but that is not the fault of the campground. Lots of recreation, history and entertainment in the area including the Mt. Airy Casino. This campground is one of my top picks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This is a great RV park and we will return for a longer stay next time. We just stayed one night and enjoyed the stay. The roads are narrow and steep and not for inexperienced RV drivers with trailers. A very clean and taken care of park. I want to return and spend more time on next trip here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This was a real gem find. Very clean and well landscaped pull throughs with picnic tables and fire pits. spacious sites, beautiful large clean swimming pool, (heated), and hot tub, game room, exercise room with plenty of equipment, large library, ping pong, volley ball, pavilion, horse shoes, you name it they have it. Well stocked camp store and super friendly staff. Close to town with Wal-Mart and plenty of services. Very woodsy atmosphere but we did receive roof top satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This gem of a campground doesn't reveal itself right away as you drive through a small residential area that leads you to a dirt road through some woods. Then, you start to see RVs parked on wooded sites as you approach the office. It is when you walk up the stairs to the deck outside the office and look around that you realize how nice this place is. Many of the RVs you see are seasonal and that's a reflection on how well Debbie and Scott, the owners, run the place. We parked our travel trailer in the middle of a section of terraced, manicured sites separated by decorative split rail fences. Each site was a level pull-through featuring nice bushes or young trees and a small grassy area. Full hookups were readily accessible. Cable TV had a full lineup of channels. Free Wi-Fi at the site was strong and fast. The bathrooms and showers were spotless with plenty of free hot water. Very friendly owners, beautiful campsites (either wooded or open), terrific amenities - can't get much better than this. We'll definitely be returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Year after year they have made some significant efforts in improving this campground, so I have to give the brother/sister team much credit. The difficulties we experienced were: 1) navigating the roads to the site, and 2) actually fitting into the site. Since we were camping late in the season, all the fallen oak leaves covered the camp "roads". The camp is on a mountain and the "roads" are quite steep and narrow; trying to meander/find our way around was very difficult. It would have been so helpful (and safer) if they blew the leaves off the main camp roads. Secondly, if you have a decent sized rig, be careful into which site you are assigned. Not only are the roads unwieldy, some site entrances are extremely narrow between trees or situated in a location that made it a real chore getting the trailer in and out! Yikes: it's not for the inexperienced driver! The campground went all out for Halloween though, and we truly had a lot of fun: adults and children alike! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Generally what others have already said here. 90% seasonals but the drive throughs for those passing through were adequate. The campground is built really into the side of a mountain. Surprisingly, the site was level front to back but not from side to side and really needed about a 3" lift to get the rig level. Very helpful staff, extremely clean restrooms and the place is kept up very, very well. The roads need work and you almost think your on a old logging road at the entrance to the park. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
In our search for the perfect weekend getaway campground we ended up here at Mt. Pocono Campground. This one is a 2 hour drive from our home which is within the distance we decided was acceptable for a Friday night through Sunday getaway. We arrived after dark on Friday night which wasn't the best of times driving a 37 foot motorhome and having reserved a wooded back-in site. Although the office was closed we soon noticed the owner was working her way over without us having to make a call. She was very pleasant and even offered us a pull through due to the darkness. I opted to stick with the plan. We stayed in site W3 which was a great lot and easy enough to back into. We were very happy with this site. The next day we walked the entire camp ground looking to see what was available. What we found on this very large campground was that about 90 percent were seasonal campers leaving only about 8 pull through sites available for transient campers with a few seasonal spots temporarily available throughout the year. The staff and all of the campers we met were very nice. The recreation hall was fairly modern with two sitting rooms loaded with hundreds of books to read as well as two computers ready for internet browsing. Upstairs was a fairly complete fitness room with a good deal of nice clean equipment. Everything was just as stated, cable, Wi-Fi, clean water, we asked for a 30 amp site and that's what we were provided. We had our 8 month old Springer Spaniel with us and were pleased to find a sizable exercise yard for us to play ball. Between that, the nature trail, and the size of the campground we had one happy and tired puppy. The only reason I couldn't give this campground a 10 is because we usually travel with our motorcycle most of the time and the road into the campground was loaded with large loose stones as well as pockets of soft dirt, these two combination's are extremely hazardous. It's because of this that I don't rate this as one of my top choices. If I didn't have a motorcycle then this would be a 10 and on the top of my list of places to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The good news is that the campground has lots of amenities and is kept up very well. The really bad news is that the voltage drop under load in our 50 amp site was terrible. Put a load on the circuit and the voltage drops to 110 volts from 120, which isn't really good for your 120 volt appliances. Also, the pull through sites are very short, but wide. We camped here in a 38' 5th wheel and barely had room for our truck sideways in front of the trailer. Also, the Wi-Fi is typical of a lot of parks that promise good Wi-Fi, the signal is very strong, but you can't connect to it. So if you aren't worried about possibly damaging your 120 volt appliances and don't need reliable Wi-Fi, but are satisfied with lots of great amenities, then this park is okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This campground charges a $25 site deposit, in cash, at check-in. At check-out, they inspect your site and try very hard not to return your $25. They will come up with one or another excuse. Anyone who wants to camp here: First check the site carefully and report whatever is not there, or if the site is not clean, or if any plant or tree is cut. Otherwise you will end up paying for damaged trees, plants or anything else of which you don't even know of. I say: a very nice way of making extra money. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Very nice campground. The pull through sites were nice and easy to navigate. We had no problem with our 30' trailer. The sites are all new with new hook-ups which made it nice. No leveling required. They were well landscaped which made it a treat. Decent site width and it is on a hill which made it feel very private. The pools are heated and clean. This campground does not nickle and dime you which is great. We did a free craft with my daughter which was a blast. Good hiking from the campground to nearby fishing. The seasonal campers were very friendly and really welcomed you to the campground. The owners are putting a lot of work into the buildings, and it looks great. They had a kids play area in the new rec hall with lots of good toys for her. We will be back again next year. If you stay here, you will definitely not regret it, and it will be your new Pocono stop! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Nice quiet and clean. Will come back if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Though it's listed as big rig friendly, the sites aren't really long enough for a long fiver and tow vehicle or a large Class A with a toad. You have to park across the front of your rig and our dual-wheel truck stuck out onto the road. The entrance road could use some work as it's a bit rutted and rocky. Now for the good: great cable; nicely landscaped (though not necessarily level) wide sites; clean pool; exercise room; friendly, helpful owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We stayed here for base camp while checking out the Poconos. The entire cg is on a hill but the site are perfectly level, no blocks under tires needed. Some back in sites were a little tight getting into, but the pull thu's were easy. Very clean cg, staff were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We would stay here again. Simple cg but nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We were very happy with our experience at this campground. Our site and all the ones we could see were level. It looked like the owners took great care to keep each site clean. The pool was large, clean and heated. The staff was very friendly. They engaged in small talk and joked with us. It gave you a sense that they enjoyed what they were doing. A "outdoor" movie was scheduled to be shown on the grass. My family were the only ones there. Were were asked a couple of times if we wanted them to start the movie at the scheduled time (was still a little light out) or did we want to wait until it got darker so we could see better. We were impressed that they cared. Overall, we had a great experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. The restrooms and showers were always clean. A handicapped accessible tub is even available. The staff is helpful and very cordial, and the owners really care. The lots are not always level, especially the one we had, located on an end, but it was not a major problem. A nature trail leads to the ruins of an old burned out stone home. There are plenty of attractions in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Very nice well kept campground. We had a large level pull thru site. The bathrooms are clean and the pool is very nice. A large game room with a big screen TV and an excercise room compliment the campground. A well stocked not overly priced store and the friendliest hardest working staff and ownership you will ever meet. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
I enjoyed tent camping at this campground. It was not a busy weekend and our site was shaded and private. The pool was a bit small and a bit dirty. The bathrooms were not finished from construction but were very clean. I did not enjoy the walk up and down a very steep hill to the camp store, rec area, pool, and bathrooms though. On our second day my son and I ran into a black bear who was very near the bathrooms. The employees were very friendly and overall we had a good stay. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$38
We reserved with deposit a 3-night stay and had a confirmed campsite - pull-thru & level. When we arrived in mid-afternoon they sent us to the site. It was already occupied. I had to walk back and argue for a level site. We ended up in a back-in. It was a large site. The rig was level but the rest of the site sloped with very little place to park toad. The manager did further grooming of the site after we parked. The roads are gravel and about impossible to ride a bicycle on. Beautiful area but many buildings are new & not completed on exterior (and some the interior.) They had a tranformer go out and the place was without electricity from 2pm to 10pm on a 95 degree day. Pool was acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a pretty good campground. We stayed here for two nights in a tent during the fourth of July. Our site was pretty spacious, and it was level. However, we paid for a water hookup site, but unfortunately, our site was just right next to a communal spigot, so we had to share it with others. I didn't think that was fair since we paid extra. Also, our site was big, but some of the primitive sites are really small. The campground is also on a huge hill, and if you are in the front sections, you have to walk up and down the hill every time you need to use the restroom. The sites at the very top of the hill have porta potties nearby. For being on a hill, though, the sites are very level. The amenities are nice, the game room has pool and ping pong plus a big screen tv. They also let you borrow board games to bring back to your site, and they have outdoor games like bocce and horsheoes for you to use. The pool is ok, a little small, but it wasn't too crowded, even though the campground was full. It was a little noisy at night, but again, we were there on a holiday, so it might not be like that all the time. Over all, this was a great campground, and I would go back again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$35
Very nice quite campground in the pocono mountains. Large olympic size pool, new bathrooms, store, game room, exercise room, luandry facilities. Near state gamelands, stream fishing, and hiking trails. Tobyhanna state park is a short drive away as well as many other pocono attractions. Probably the friendliest, hardest working ownership I ever met. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com