224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Fruita Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (435) 425-3791
CGID3606

Fruita Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   6   8   10   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$5
$5 per night, using our Golden Age Passport half-price senior discount, was for a level asphalt primitive site with picnic table and pedestal BBQ. The Fruita campground has many large trees, which offer plenty of shade in the summer for the generous sites. The campground is located in a valley and has a spectacular 360° view of the surrounding geologic formations. Hiking, biking, touring the park via automobile, and picking fruit in season are the main activities in the gorgeous Capitol Reef National Park. Torrey, the nearest town, has the basic general store and several restaurants (but all will be closed during the winter). AT&T cell service was available starting at Panorama Point and continued into Torrey. Verizon service is nonexistent. For free Internet access we found the Travel Center (closed November – March) in Torrey to be very welcoming and comfortable as they have table and chairs inside and outside—just sign their guest register to help them continue to receive funding. There were no OTA TV stations. We received a couple radio stations in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$5
A beautiful campground with plenty of big cottonwood and mesquite trees to provide welcome shade. The sites in A and B loops tend to be short, but wide. C loop has some longer sites. We came in on a Tuesday morning and got one of the last two spots in B loop. We stayed three nights and the campground filled every day by noon or earlier. As others have mentioned, there are no hook-ups but there is a dump station with potable water available there. No showers, but there are flush toilets. The campground hosts were extremely conscientious and everything was well run and maintained. We paid $5/night with our Senior Access Pass. Lots to see and do at Capitol Reef - one of our favorite National Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$5
Deer abound. Ranger presentation one of the best on geology, really helped me understand the science behind the scenery. Camped on an August weekend and the campground did not fill. Level campsite. Can walk to many museums, orchards, visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Pretty campground in a nice setting along the Freemont River in Capital Reef. Great scenery from campground. No hook ups or showers. First come first serve and campground fills by mid to late afternoon. Water spigots are available and gens can be run for 2 hrs in the morning and 2 hrs in the evening. Dump station onsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$5
Used my senior pass to get half price. Beautiful campground in Cottonwoods with orchards around it. The fruit was not ready so early in the year but I heard you can pick it in season. There are no reservations so you must arrive very early to get a site, the hosts (who were wonderful) suggested by 9:00 am. This is the only campground where I have seen one spot rented to two RVs. The driveway area is asphalt and very wide but not that long. No cell service anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$5
One of the best National Park campgrounds we have ever stayed in, even though there were no hookups. They do not take reservations so get there early. We arrived at 11am on a Friday and there were about 10 to 15 RV spaces left. The campground is nestled in the trees in a little valley and surrounded by the red rocks and orchards. If the fruit is in season you are free to pick it. The scenic drive is wonderful as is the little historic store next to the campground that sells home made pies and Scottish scones. Yum, yum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
I think this might be one of my favorite CGs ever. It is first come, first served, so we got there early and had a choice of several sites, but it filled up early. We planned to stay three nights, but ended up staying six. Maybe it is because it is surrounded by natural beauty, but this is the friendliest place ever. I ended up getting to know at least 10 other campers quite well. There are some wonderful hiking trails near the CG, or you can drive. There are no showers, but there are places in nearby Torrey where you can shower. The visitors center has a list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$10
Water is available, but not for hook up. Dump station at camp ground. Each site had picnic table, grill and fire pit in grass area. Restrooms were clean, but no showers. BEAUTIFUL CAMPGROUND and park. Plenty to do. Deer everywhere! Views were incredible. NO cell phone service or internet for miles and miles. We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute. Bring plenty of food and supplies. We didn't see a real grocery store for over 100 miles. Gas station is in Torey 11 or so miles away. Torey has a few restaurants, but after Sept. all are closed for the season as with all other campgrounds in the are in October. No propane available for over 100 miles. We LOVED Capitol Reef National Park and Fruita Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Hookups would make this a perfect 10! We came in a terrible rain storm and were able to get our choice of several sites. They're fairly level and the big rig sites are in Loop C, next to the amphitheater and the orchards. Apples and pears were ready and you can eat as much as you want while in the orchard, for free. This park is like an oasis in the desert, it's so pretty. We wound up staying 6 days, twice as long as we planned. We would have stayed longer if it wasn't so isolated. In addition to no hookups, there's no cell phone, internet, or TV either. Most of the sites, like ours, are luxuriously covered with trees, so no satellite as well. We did a lot of hiking and sitting out enjoying the beauty. Overall, a really great experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
If you want to stay in Fruita, get there early as the sites during mid-week fill up by about 11. Excellent and very diligent camp hosts were helpful in directing folks who were too late to get into a Fruita nearby National Forest parking area off the road a few miles away. Spend one night there and get to the Fruita campground early the next morning for a site. Sites are all paved and mostly level. Some are quite short, but we also did see some large Class A rigs. Tenters have sites intermingled with RVs, so reasonable quiet is mandatory. The campground accepts no reservations and is dry camping only. There are no showers but there is potable water and a dump station. The rate shown reflects the 50% discount for holders of the senior pass. The old community of Fruita was very interesting. While we don't anticipate returning here, we'd stay at Fruita again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
Simply outstanding! Clean, well maintained, superb camp host, and then there's the scenery. We were in Loop C, right next to amphitheater and the apple orchard. If there was electricity, we'd just like to live here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Rate reflects senior discount. Sites paved and mostly level. Sites are first-come, first-served, and the campground tended to fill by around noon. Dry camping, but water spigots available. Restrooms were clean. All the beautiful sights of Capitol Reef are only minutes away by car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Although it can be difficult to get a site everyone should try to get a spot at Fruita if visiting the Capitol Reef park. Sites are all non-reservation so one must arrive early in the morning to get a recently vacated site. We stayed in loop C and got our site at 9:30 AM. All sites in all loops were filled before 11:00 AM. We spent a couple nights in town and then came out to Fruita early in the morning to lock up a site. Completely dry camping but we only stayed two nights so not a problem. Many tents were present and because of this the rather short generator hours (two hours morning and evening) are strictly enforced. Fruita is the most centrally located campground if you want to see the sites of Capitol Reef park. We will definitely try to stay here on future visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$5
This was a great campground and the location cannot be beat. Some of the campsites are quite small and it's a sort of free-for-all getting a site around noon. Our 5th wheel was crammed into a very small site while some very large sites had nothing but a car and a tent. It would make much more sense, for the traveler, if they had a reservation system. Still, the scenery was great and we had a good experience. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$5
Friday, May 3 – Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah This campground is open year round located a mile from the Capitol Reef Visitor Center right on the Scenic Drive. There are three loops A/B/C/ with 71 RV/tent sites. No hookups but a picnic table and grill. Located next to the Fremont River and under beautiful cottonwood trees for shade. Cost is $10 and $5 with a senior pass. The Fruita Historic District is right next to the campground so one can walk to the old barn, a one room school house, blacksmith shop, orchards and the historic Gifford House which is also a bakery. The bakery sells homemade fruit pies everyday and other goodies. Yum! Lots of hikes within walking distance and along the Scenic Drive. The Scenic Drive is a must and if you have an RV less than 26ft you can also drive the gravel roads in the canyons. We got there around 10 am and there was only two sites left in our site Loop A. The days we were there all loops were filled before noon. They don’t take reservations so it’s a first come, first serve campground. A herd and I mean herd over 30 mule deer feed in the morning and early evening in the campground and the meadow next to Loop A. Deer can also be found feeding in the orchards near Loop C. Great place to camp! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$7.5
This place would rate a 10 if it offered utilities. Nice clean quiet park with great views. This place is a find. We used our senior pass. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
Wow! This was one of our favorites ever. They could have charged us much, much more. It's basically a beautiful fruit orchard, with campsites. The kids swam in the river at the end of the walkway. The friendliest staff we've ever encountered. They even had specially assigned astronomers on site to offer a night sky show (including telescope use). This is because the area has some of the lowest light pollution, so star gazing is amazing. The trails nearby are fantastic. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
You need to arrive early to get a site, but it is worth it. The setting is fabulous. There are lots of activities and sights right near the camp including a rustic cottage that sells fabulous pies for $5. I just loved this place despite it having only cold water in the sinks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
What a beautiful, peaceful place. Definitely my favorite of National Park campgrounds. Good hiking here. I'll definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$5
Very nice level campground with very wide gravel sites, well spaced with lots of watered grass and trees. Small stream (in the west, they call that a "river") by the campground with cliffs behind. Apple orchard right by and you can pick ripe apples. The early Mormon settlers grew orchards, so the name "Fruita". Paid $5 on Golden Passport per night (stayed 2 nights). Base to explore the Capital Reef sights and canyons. Like most government national parks, no on-site W,E,S, but has dump station and water faucets about. Capital Reef National Park is a great gift to ourselves. We were in a Class B Roadtrek. Rate a 9 just for no showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
We really enjoyed this park and this campground. At noon we got the last site available for the day so it is necessary to get there early for this 1st come - 1s served campground. But is is a lovely campground. The site was well treed, fairly level and big enough for our 35' RV. But the best thing is that is near the fruit trees and it was fall so we could pick apples for dinner or for snack. We picked 3 and had apple granola pancakes for dinner. Next day, we took 2 for snacking on our hikes. We also bought an an apple pie still warm from the oven on our way out of the park. There are trails you can take right from the campground but there are loads of trails throughout the park. We liked this park better than many we have visited. The rocks had the best coloring we have seen, the trails were great and the history of the Mormons in the area has been preserved by the Park Service. The price above reflects the Sr. discount. We stayed only 3 days but will definitely be back and we've been telling everyone to visit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
We stayed here for 3 nights in our 45' bus with 7 children. The mature trees and quiet surroundings were spectacular. The night sky was beyond description. Plan to stay up for a couple of hours just looking. We spotted 4 satellites at one time! We were spoiled by this campground and we come from the Colorado mountains. Easy access for the RV dump on the way out (included with site fee). Pay attention to the generator hours: 2 hours in am and pm. Sadly the orchards were closed for picking when we arrived, but good to see they're managing the trees and not letting them run completely wild. Very comfortable area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
This National Park is entertaining to visit. It has a general store, animals to pet, orchards to pick from, a one room school house to view. The park has two campground hosts and they offer full hook ups for these volunteers. All other sights are offered a large gravel space, a picnic table and fire pit. No hookups. But, a dump is available for use on the way out. You are inside the Capital Reef National Park and seconds from the touring roadway. The park had rain and mud slides while we were staying there so most of the trails were closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$5
Nice big trees in this very crowded campground. Fills in early afternoon and is first come basis. Restrooms were heavily used and needed more frequent attention. Very historic place, we picked our fruit from the trees, also bought fresh baked pies from the volunteers. Beautiful red rocks, nice visitor center in this National Park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Nice NP cg, mostly due to shade trees in the desert. Watch out for families over-running the place on weekends. No cell, no Internet reception so this is a place to take it easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
Nice campground to visit Capitol Reef. Most of the sites are big rig friendly but very unlevel and you really don't notice it until you get in it and try to level. We ended up moving to another site the next day which was a little easier to level. We were here three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
Because we have a National Parks and Recreational Lands Pass, our nightly rate was $5. Spaces are of good size and configuration. Fruit orchard adjoining campground; you pick all you can eat there and pay $1 per pound for what you take with you. If you are afraid of deer then avoid this area. We shared the orchard and camp site with does, fawns and 3 bucks who one time rounded up the others and had some sort of meeting then left. Amphitheater with nightly program by a Ranger. Three of the 4 nights we were here: an episode of Ken Burns National Parks series was shown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$6
Beautiful drive to reach the campground. We were there during apple and pear season, and they were the best apples I've ever eaten. Petroglyphs from the Fremont Indians. Park was quiet, shady, and very peaceful. Several beautiful hikes. The most unique thing about this park was the restored family homestead of the original settler, who planted the orchards over a 100 years ago. The home contains furnishings and information about the family. The society that maintains it also sells preserves they make from the fruit, home made salsas, chutneys, dill green beans, etc. They also have freshly baked breads and tarts (strawberry-rhubarb, blueberry and apple)that they bring in each morning, as well as home made ice cream from the fruit. If you are on a diet, stay out of that house! There are peach, cherry, apricot, pear and apple orchards, all producing at different times of the year. Absolutely one of the most beautiful (and fattening) parks I have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
There is grass and shade at the sites in this primitive campground. The campground host was friendly, knowledgable about what to see and do in the area. There is a general store available. The historical sites were open for viewing, plus an apple orchard complete with wild deer eating the apples. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
Very nice campground. Beautiful area with many great hikes and wildlife viewing opportunities. Few amenities, except toilets and lavatories. Plenty of quiet time from generators. Much history associated with area, also. Be sure and try the pies from the CG store, as well as dine at the Cafe Diablo in Torrey if you have the time, and a few extra bucks. Well worth it. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This is definitely one of the most attractive camping grounds we have ever seen. In the middle of Capitol Reef NP with lots of trails starting right on or within a 100 yards from the camping. The price is ridiculous and fire wood is free. We saw many wild deer on the camping close to us. The fellow campers are all very quiet and enjoy nature. The (female) ranger organizes various activities as campfire and community singing incl. lectures in the amphitheater theater. We could have stayed here longer if we had not such a tight schedule. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$5
We got a Senior Pass rate of $5. Drive and sites are all gravel. Trees form a canopy over the park. 40' big rig access is very, very limited. Tent campers parked in the 45 foot RV sites, so the host let us park in the tent campers parking lot in our 36 foot motorhome. It was the last site available. The rule is first come, first served and there are no rules about what size site you can occupy. Common courtesy is the only rule which is obviously not in effect. To get a good site come very early. We dry camped, so we didn't use the facilities. The generator policy is very restrictive (8 AM to 10 am + 6 PM to 8 pm), but temperatures this time of rear required no air conditioning. The hosts and the rangers were very friendly. They had 2 park ranger programs that night. One on the Park System and one about star gazing. Deer were feeding along the roadway on the edge of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$5
We got a Passport rate that took the normal $10 to $5.00 No reservations, nice wide sights. It was a family weekend with lots of very large families. No hook ups and any grey water had to be strained. Potable water available, flush toilets but no showers. Stayed two nights and it was 45-50 at night. Good access to hikes, and nice strolls through beautiful red rocks. Dump station and water to refill the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
This is one of our all time favorites. First, it's smack dab in the middle of Capitol Reef national Park, a magnificent geological wonder, It's small (71 sites, rustic (no showers, covered with mature trees and lawn areas and set in a farm like venue along a creek with deer wandering to and fro and fruit orchards ripe for the picking. Rich in history as well as geology and nature, the campground is perfect as a base to explore the Park. Need a shower? head into nearby Torrey and buy one - the showers at the Thousand Lakes RV park are quite nice. At Fruita it's easy to imagine you are in an earlier time of pioneers. It's a magical place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
The park is awesome, but Fruita Camp Grounds is a bit limited. If you have a rig much over 20 feet make sure you camp in C-Loop. The generator policy (it was cold, 20's for the lows) is very restrictive (8am to 10 am + 6pm to 8 Pm). Most of the tenter's spent only one night as tenting was very uncomfortable. The volunteer guide who did the Cohab Canyon tour/talk was one of the best I have ever met/heard. It was well worth the 3 hours spent listening and treking up the canyon. A former geology professor with a passion for the park, he did a great presentation in a manner that really made the complex geology understandable.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
The Capitol Reef Campground is an oasis in the middle of an unbelievable beautiful desert red rock formation. No hookups, but a must to experience first hand on any trip to the Utah Red Rock country. Water and a dump station are available. There are three loops with small, medium and large campsites available in all. Loop C has the most large rig sites; however, it is best to arrive as early as possible in the day as all sites go fast. Tenters can camp at all sites and about 10 sites are dedicated for tenters only. No showers are available, but clean modern restrooms are provided in all 3 loops. The campground and visitors center is located in an old Mormon homestead town that is called Fruita. The fruit orchards still surround the campground and visitors can pick the fruit. All you can eat on the spot is free and a nominal fee is charged for the fruit you haul out with you. There are numerous trails to hike in the Capitol Reef National Park red rock formations that are anywhere from easy to very strenuous. At night the Park Rangers put on a nature interpitation talk at an outdoor theater which are very interesting and informative and include geology of the rock formations and ancient Anisazi Indian lore. We have visited this campground many times and will return many more. Holders of Golden Age Passes can camp at 1/2 the $10 fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$10
If you have a big rig, you'll want to use Loop C as those sites are larger. Lots of deer are in the campground, so watch where you step. The setting is very nice in the trees with great views from some sites. If you like to hike there are several trails that leave from the campground. The views from the Cohab Canyon Trail were fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
The Trailer Life description of this campground is wrong. According to park staff member about half of the sites will take a 30 ft class A. No electric or showers but potable water is available at the dump station. The campground was full when we were there and quite noisy and busy but still nice; the camp hosts were actively helpful and friendly. Views of the red rock formations surrounding the orchard oasis were quite stunning. Mule deer roamed freely through the area. Campground is a mile from the visitor center and right on the way to the scenic drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$10
This was a very nice campground. No hookups, but the scenery was incredible. Deer wandering through the sites, massive cliffs towering, etc. Close to several trails. We pulled in at 4pm on a late September weekday and got one of the last 3 spots. It definitely is popular! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
If you don't need or want hook-ups this is the best CG in the area. However, the number of sites suitable for rigs 25' and over is very limted. During the season these go fast. This park does not take reservations so getting one of the prime sites is pure luck. In general sites are fairly well separated from each other and need significant leveling. Dump station is convenient. As is the rule for NPS CG's there are no showers available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
Get here early or get reservations. Small campgroud in the orchards that have fruit you can pick and eat. Fun place to experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com