224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Redwood Acres Fairgrounds was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (707) 445-3037
CGID3610

Redwood Acres Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   2   4   6   6   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is definitely not a destination park. It is a relatively tight parking lot although there is big rig maneuverability. There was a fair occurring at the time of our stay but the noise was only mildly annoying. Utilities were good with the exception of wifi which was weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
The rate of $17.50 is Passport America and requires a two night stay. The RV park is part of the fairgrounds. No signage for RV park but pull into Gate 1. Some sites cement, some gravel, and some grass. Utilities are all good, electric water and sewer. WiFi is excellent. We did not use the restrooms or shower as they require a $25 deposit for key. We would stay here again as the redwoods are great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Very pleasant. Friendly and helpful hosts and front office people. Easy set up with lots of room to maneuver and walk the dogs. Best part was we picked blackberries from the back fence! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Traffic starts with workers in the fairgrounds as early as 5am. Constantly driving by with heavy equipment. Had someone trying to break into our outside storage compartments 3 times around midnight until we finally went outside with a weapon, and it stopped. Was in the shower in the RV the next day, and someone put a key in the door trying to open it, then yanked on it violently. Found a bunch of pot and smoking pipes at the fence behind the RV spots. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is a good place to stop for a rest. It is gravel and dusty. The wireless network works okay most times. The sites are narrow and long enough to have a tow vehicle in the same space. If the park was full you would not be able to open your slide if your neighbor had one. There are auto races each night ending at 11 pm so you may need ear plugs. They take Good Sams and AAA cards for a 5 dollar discount, other wise the rate is 25 dollars a night. I would stay here again if need be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Great location for visiting Eureka. It is basically a gravel parking lot with some paved sites near the entrance. The wifi worked well. There is enough space between units and sites were fairly level. No picnic tables. Some sites back onto a fenced, treed area. The road was extremely busy on Saturday because of an event at the fairgrounds. It was interesting getting into and out of the campground during the busy times because of the high volume of traffic. The campground host were friendly. The $20 rate is based on Good Sam or AAA and includes full hook ups, showers and wifi. The showers were really gross, but the water was hot. The shower curtains are like garbage bags with mold for lack of a better description. I'd recommend using the shower in your RV if you have one. The campground was quite at night. We would stay here again because of the great value, strong wifi and location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Directions to park need updated. From Highway 101 in town, north or south, take R St, which turns into Myrtle Ave. Follow Myrtle Ave. to Hall St., turn right. Hall Ave. turns into Harris St. From the fairgrounds, the left turn from Hall onto Myrtle Ave is a busy intersection, with limited views up and down Myrtle Ave. If following directions, Harrison Ave. is a busy hospital street. Sites are off Main paved fairgrounds road. Most sites are on dirt with limited gravel. My site had trash. Water spigots are almost at ground level. Water and electric are placed towards back of site. Sewer hook-ups are towards the front of site, otherwise trailer could be backed up further. Host on site. Trash disposal by restrooms and showers. My last two visits here the park has had permanent residents. Across from me is a large group with a messy site, lots of traffic. I would stay here again. The most convenient place to stay in Eureka, with no highway noise, even though Harris Ave. traffic can be heavy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This is an okay park for an overnight, but I wouldn't want to stay here for long. The park host was very pleasant and helpful. The Wi-Fi worked great. There are no picnic tables and if all sites are taken, you have about 6 feet between your door and the other camper's slide out. We had to share the connections with the camper next to us. He had used the 30 amp, so we ended up with 20, as we didn't have a converter for the 50 amp. We were backed up to a 10ft hill, with no view except people walking there dogs on the top of the bank. It was quiet during the night, but the traffic through the park started around 6:30 am. While we were here there was a construction crew staying at the end of the park, which started moving early (6:30). We would probably not stay here again, even though the price was okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Don't let appearances send you away. This park is OK. It looks a little rough, but everything works. Good wireless internet. There are a few full concrete pads near the front, otherwise it is grass/dirt. Half the sites back up to some tall Redwoods, so the sun (if there is sun) disappears mid afternoon. For $20 a night, full hookups, it is just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site gravel back-in and not level. Standing water around some sites due to poor drainage. Campground host not available so long walk to office to register. Did not use WI-FI as was not given password at time of registration and office closed early. No cable, but several channels available off antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
This is a bare-bones stopping place. We paid $20/night with the $5 Escapees discount for full 50 amp hookups. The park consists of one straight paved road with back-in gravel sites on each side. Most of the sites were very level, and all of them were deep and wide enough for any size rig. They are all double sites, though, with two sites sharing a water and electric pedestal. If both sites are in use, one party gets the 50 amp hookup and the other gets the 30 amp connection, and they will be quite close together. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The park was kept quite clean. The restrooms and showers were large, basic concrete facilities that were very clean. Good Wi-Fi. Not a great place for dogs. There is no place to walk a dog other than the fenced pet area, about 20' x 35'. The rules prohibit walking or exercising dogs on the fairgrounds, and the park is on a busy road with no sidewalk, or even a shoulder, to walk on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
The fairgrounds in Eureka offer a no-frills, economical place to park. They provide full hook-ups, good wifi and a convenient location. Sites are level, grass and easily accessed. AT&T phone and data service worked well. All units must be self contained so the old, uninviting restrooms probably get little use. It was surprisingly quiet and peaceful with a resident doe and fawns in the stable area. Occasional heavy trucks and horse trailers went through during the day or evening but the gate to the campground is locked at night and a guard was present during a public event to stop random traffic into the RV area. The price reflects a Good Sam discount. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Our price was based on a AAA / Good Sam rate. (Normal price was $25.) This is a "No Thrills" campsite, conveniently located in Eureka. Everything they offered was good, including the WiFi. The (2) showers were just fine, hot enough with good pressure. We were on a fully paved site near the road, but we did not have any problem with noise. There is a Safeway and a Walgreens in walking distance, and it is about 10 minutes drive to the center of downtown Eureka. The "Camp Hosts" were very kind and gave us free tickets to the "Stock Car Racing" at the fair ground, which we really enjoyed. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Arrived to find cardboard sign saying campground was closed for the duration of our reservation due to upcoming rodeo/carnival. Camp host went to office and resolved issue for us. The sites are long, grassy (some muddy spots), various levels and easy to back into. The width was ok, but any lanai would have to be at the back. The sewer receptacles were higher than our exit valve, which made emptying too risky for spillage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
The normal rate is $25, with a $5 discount for Good Sam/AAA etc. No frills, but its a good inexpensive place to base from for going through the Redwoods and Avenue of the Giants. Ferndale was a wonderful town with lovely restored Victorian homes. The host is very helpful and nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Nice place to camp, quiet, very nice and a friendly camp host that watches out for everyone. The ground was a little boggy but there are back up sites with concrete pads if you want them. You have to go way into town to get to the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This campground is a bargain, but we should warn you that it’s a large gravel parking lot with no real amenities. Still, it’s a much better deal than any of the neighboring campgrounds, and we liked the fact that it was very roomy. Our spot was level and easy to get into. We were pleased that the camp host came around and collected money. The free Wi-Fi worked great. The Spartan bathrooms had good security (you needed a key code to get in), but the men’s room was not clean. We attended a (free!) Halloween party at the fairgrounds and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We also toured historic downtown Eureka while we were there and loved the place. The $20 price is good if you belong to any of the common discount clubs (AAA, Good Sam, Escapees). Cash or check only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I stayed in this park for a total of 6 nights. This campground is part of the fairgrounds and has a very basic layout with sites side-by-side, backed up to Redwood trees. It was not busy during most of my stay, therefore I had plenty of room between my motorhome and the next one. However, during the weekend the fairgrounds had stock car races and roller derby and the campground was noisy from the events and space became very tight with the extra motorhomes parked here. Events were usually over by 10 pm and patrons were respectable in leaving. If noise bothers you, check the event schedule before your stay. The shower facility had a security code required to enter but was very basic with just a hook to hang your gear. It would have been nice to have a bench to set things on. Sequoia Park is within walking distance and is a beautiful place to hike or picnic. There is a nice grocery store 1/4 mile from the campground as well. With the full hookup discounted price of $20/night, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The price above is with a discount. The regular price is $25 per night. This is a great place to just park it. There are no amenities, so don't expect anything. It is in the fairgrounds and is just about a parking spot but you are backed up to redwoods right behind you. They give great shade in the afternoon. You don't have the high price of the other local rv parks, that is why I rated it so high and no campfires like public parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This was our first stay in a fairground type RV park so we didn't know what to expect. It wasn't a fancy resort, but it was great for the price. The kids loved to see the horses in the stables, along with the deer and raccoons that lived in the area. The showers could use some maintenance and upkeep. The Wifi was great though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This place is no 8 unless you are in and out for one night. Beware the electric here, we use a surge protector for the entire coach, thank God. The power was fine at first, but I do not hookup right away as we needed to work the genset for an hour or so. When I checked the 50 amp the voltage was ok and I clicked off the breaker. The 30 amp breaker was on so I clicked it off as well. Somehow the two hot feeds into the breakers must have touched, after running the genset when I went to hookup the shore power I was getting 250+ volts hitting the surge protector, which did not allow power to go through. We used the genset that night and in the morning the wires seemed to have moved apart because the voltage was fine. The second big item is the traffic, overnight it is very quiet here. But there are horse stables that are only accessed by driving through the campground, and man could they fly though all day long. CG was almost empty so they might slow down a bit if it was busier. Not a place for kids to be outside playing. But as mentioned the rate is good and the area is safe, just beware the electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This is a good park to stay if you are in the Eureka area and want a place to satisfy your basic RVing needs - full hook-ups and free WI-FI. The rate is normally $25/night, but with AAA or Good Sam's, it's $20/night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
For the price it is an excellent value. With GS the price was 20.00. Really surprised at the good wifi at no additional cost. You can either go to the yellow bldg or wait for the host to come around about 6:00 pm I talked to a deputy Sheriff to see if the park was safe and was assured that there was no problems. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This is a very nice park. Rate reflects Escapee or Good Sam discount. We had excellent Verizon signal and satellite reception on our TV. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
While it is located on one side of an access road, there was little traffic. The gates are closed at 10 pm, so it is quiet at night. The morning traffic starts at about 4:30 am and is heavy near 7 am. Most sites back up to a forest so there is afternoon shade. Very close to historic Eureka. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Good park for overnight stay. Easy access off US101. Quiet during the night. Big rig access is easy with plenty of room. Sites are choice of open or partial shaded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
This is a fairgrounds campground. It is really just a parking lot, but ok for the reasonable rate in this part of California. The road is paved & wide. Sites are backin, gravel/grass and not very level. Sites have side by side hookups. The park is about 5 miles off Highway 101. It is easy for a big rig to get in to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$18
Multi purpose facility. Stayed over the weekend (had stock car racing). City ordiance makes them stop 11pm because of noise. Staff friendly, close to shopping and dining. Not much more than a parking lot w/ hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com